Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jamelia: 'High street shops shouldn't sell plus size clothing'

• 22-04-2015 9:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

Your one, Jamelia, on Loose Women, has sparked some outrage by suggesting that high street shops shouldn't stock plus size clothing.
    She thinks that high street stores are helping to promote an unhealthy image if they sell trendy clothes in bigger sizes.

The former pop star said: "I think everyone should have access to lovely clothes, BUT I do not think it's right to facilitate people living an unhealthy lifestyle.

"I don't believe stores should stock clothes below or above a certain weight. They should be made to feel uncomfortable when they go in and can't find a size."
    When asked again after reading tweets out from viewers, Jamelia denied she had said that trendy clothing shouldn't be available for bigger women before repeating herself.

Explaining that clothing for bigger people should not appear in stores, even from a size zero she said: "It shouldn't be normalised in high street stores. They should have specialist shops."

http://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-news/plus-size-clothes-should-not-5559151

I know little about her, hardly ever watch Loose Women, but found the suggestion seeming to lack any real insight, and I'd certainly have taken it more seriously coming from a bigger girl, who has a bit of a more first-hand clue.

Certainly comes across as quite the judgemental idiot.

I'm not sure what the means by plus size as such, given that some parts of fashion / modelling regard really low sizes (e.g. 14 upwards).

It's hard enough to find clothes in many high street stores. Primark as one example, it often feels like all they have in stock is 6 / 8 / 20... not literally, but basically that they maybe order the same amount of everything, then all the more common sizes are gone quicker, leaving the ones that less people need.

There's the other issues obviously that what is a 10 in one shop could be a 12 or 14 in another, since they all seem to make clothes differently.

I'm a 16 to 18, and have no problems saying that. I try to slim all the time, but have a problem with food, that is not that easy to combat, and I don't think just making everyone who's bigger feel more uncomfortable is the solution. Chances are many who are bigger already feel bad enough about it, are more likely to have self-esteem issues, so yep let's go with the tactic of fat-shaming them and making them feel worse, cos that'll help.

And nope I don't really see how high-street stores selling clothes that fit women is promoting a healthy lifestyle. It's just selling people clothes to wear.

EDIT: Much discussion has come out of this, not necessarily related to her comment or high street store clothes sizes. But for me this post says so much. Not about clothes specifically but about black-and-white attitudes, and willingness to try to understand fellow human beings, and I don't know empathise. Nothing to do with excuses or anything similar, just trying to understand and maybe show compassion and see beyond our own circumstances, and maybe see it's nothing to do with 'excuses'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Not all size 16 people are obese and you can wear a size 12 and still be overweight, I am. I know what she means but people need to have clothes what do you do if your not able to buy clothing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

eviltwin wrote: »
    Not all size 16 people are obese and you can wear a size 12 and still be overweight, I am. I know what she means but people need to have clothes Roberta, what do you do if your not able to buy clothing?

Let it all hang out of course ;)

(or, in her opinion, go to the 'specialist shops')

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

The only thing worse than a fatty is a fatty in clothes too tight
    So no feck that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Do you think this will happen OP? Or are you outraged of a celeb's un-PCness, over something that is highly unlikely to happen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

biko wrote: »
    Do you think this will happen OP? Or are you outraged of a celeb's un-PCness, over something that is highly unlikely to happen?

I think she dosent want to have to shop in place that also hires out tents for summer weddings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

These people say these things so somebody will talk about them on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Mmmmmmmm......Jam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

So if the plus size ladies can't buy clothes in their sizes, what are they supposed to wear Jamelia? It'll be track suits all round for every occasion which is far worse than overweight people in decent looking clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Who?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭Nucular Arms

Also, can someone please explain to me once and for all what the deal is with womens dress sizes anyway?

Size 12, size 16.. what is the major problem with using centimetres or some other standard unit of measurement that actually makes sense?

Never understood it. And it just makes buying nightwear for the other half so much more... awkward!

biko wrote: »

Neither, as it happens. It's a discussion forum, so I posted something for discussion. I know it won't happen, and I personally am not outraged in any form.

Who?

Exactly. Some has-been on the show that they pull in has-beens to share their opinions and have a moan on weekday afternoons, cos they sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Let me get this straight:

She says, "... high street stores are helping to promote an unhealthy image if they sell trendy clothes in bigger sizes" - but says nothing abotu the media potraying unhealthy images...??

No wonder there's so much pressure on women to conform. I wish they'd ever grow some "balls" so to speak and tell these pressurisers to just **** off. World would be a much happier place.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I hate the term 'fat-shaming'. You should be ashamed to be fat. You're literally walking around displaying your lack of self-discipline and gluttony for the whole world. And it's not like obesity happens overnight. It takes years of commitment to become and remain fat. People don't even realise how big they are anymore, or how much they're overfeeding their children for a life of misery and diabetes: http://www.theguardian.com/society/2015/mar/30/parents-of-obese-children-unable-to-recognise-child-is-overweight

People like the OP know that shops won't ban plus-size (even that term is ridiculously sensitive...) clothing because normalising obesity is a great way to boost sales. Yet if the high street decided to sell size 0 clothing they would be going crazy, claiming it sets a bad example and that teenagers will feel pressured to follow some unrealistic blah blah blah.

Obviously, however, shops are under no moral obligation to encourage shoppers to become healthier, so despite Jamelia's words, nothing will change. Waistlines will get bigger, as will contouring, spanx, apps that alter your body in photos, 'waist trainers', and every other delusional trend that has followed society's timidity in confronting obesity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Your one, Jamelia, on Loose Women

Well, the oracle hath spoken, so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm not sure who she is, nor why her opinion should matter - unless she own a high street fashion chain?

I can't even say what size I am - I've got clothes in my wardrobe from size 14 to 22, and interestingly enough they all fit me about that same way. It usually depends on how they're cut around the chest, I often have to go for larger sizes to fit the ladies in.

As I understand it, the fashion world regards size 14 to be puls size - that would leave the majority of people in the country having to go to "specialist shops".

And I seriously object to that notion that fat people need to be made to feel awkward at any given opportunity. Are there really people out there thinking that making someone feel miserable will help them in any way?

Shenshen wrote: »
    Are there really people out there thinking that making someone feel miserable will help them in any way?

Seems yes, and this often seems to apply to many other things other than just this example.

Common sense would surely tell us how silly / unlikely to work this is, but you know what they say about common sense, it's just not very common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Jamelia has never been the brightest bulb in the box, and only ever seems to be in the papers when she gives some moronic opinion she has barely thought about. Watch her try and wriggle out of it in the next few days before she fades away into obscurity again.

Shops should sell whatever makes them money. Like it or not fat people exist and they're not going to stop existing on the basis of whether or not they can get nice clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

In similar news

Abercrombie & Fitch and its CEO Mike Jeffries, the guy that refused to sell clothes to fat people, are now at least selling Large size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

Christ, I cannot stand that woman. Saw her on that Mission Survive yoke and how the others didnt feck her off a cliff, I will never know. She seems like an utter tw*t to be honest and I doubt anyone takes whatever point she was trying to make seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 774 ✭✭✭CarpeDiem85

I was watching a programme about 'plus size' women last night and how big the market is becoming, pardon the pun. I think it's an absolute disgrace that it's becoming so normalised. The UK now has the highest percentage of overweight women in Europe, we'll soon follow suit no doubt. I know that in some rare cases, some women find it hard to lose weight and are naturally bigger but 99.99% of the time, if you exercise on a regular basis and eat healthily then you will not be overweight! Sorry to be blunt but I'm fed up of seeing so many muffin tops walking about. It's unhealthy and people should take more pride in themselves, not treat their bodies as junk yards.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

Christ, I cannot stand that woman. Saw her on that Mission Survive yoke and how the others didnt feck her off a cliff, I will never know. She seems like an utter tw*t to be honest and I doubt anyone takes whatever point she was trying to make seriously.

She is hot, though.

Yes, she seems like an utter twat alright. Unfortunately there's always some that takes any idiot seriously, but thankfully in this case I think they'd be in the minority, and they certainly won't be high street shops.

I was watching a programme about 'plus size' women last night and how big the market is becoming, pardon the pun. I think it's an absolute disgrace that it's becoming so normalised. The UK now has the highest percentage of overweight women in Europe, we'll soon follow suit no doubt. I know that in some rare cases, some women find it hard to lose weight and are naturally bigger but 99.99% of the time, if you exercise on a regular basis and eat healthily then you will not be overweight! Sorry to be blunt but I'm fed up of seeing so many muffin tops walking about. It's unhealthy and people should take more pride in themselves, not treat their bodies as junk yards.

So we should deny them clothes as a punishment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Get all your internal organs removed -

I've meself booked in for next week

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

They definitely shouldn't sell certain garments in any size over 14, ie leggings, sleeveless tops, lycra dresses etc. There's way too much flab on show ruining the views this weather.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 369 ✭✭walkingshadow

The only women who should be denied clothes are fine ass biatches

sabat wrote: »
    They definitely shouldn't sell certain garments in any size over 14, ie leggings, sleeveless tops, lycra dresses etc. There's way too much flab on show ruining the views this weather.

Totally. Even better, I think having the flab on show without any clothing covering it is definitely the way forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Not all size 16 people are obese and you can wear a size 12 and still be overweight, I am. I know what she means but people need to have clothes what do you do if your not able to buy clothing?

Really? Who is size 16 and not fat?

Leggins and sleeveless tops - ok, that would leave me naked for my daily cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

I'm not sure who she is, nor why her opinion should matter - unless she own a high street fashion chain?

I can't even say what size I am - I've got clothes in my wardrobe from size 14 to 22, and interestingly enough they all fit me about that same way. It usually depends on how they're cut around the chest, I often have to go for larger sizes to fit the ladies in.

As I understand it, the fashion world regards size 14 to be puls size - that would leave the majority of people in the country having to go to "specialist shops".

And I seriously object to that notion that fat people need to be made to feel awkward at any given opportunity. Are there really people out there thinking that making someone feel miserable will help them in any way?

I posted this in the Trivial Annoyances thread the other day.

In the fashion Industry a US Size 8 / UK size 10 is where plus sizes start :eek:

(according to cosmoO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

awec wrote: »

Female rugby players who are around 6ft and built, that's about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 774 ✭✭✭CarpeDiem85

I'm not saying that but, for example, when I watched that show last night they were celebrating obesity when they should have been promoting a healthy and fit lifestyle. It's the fact that's it being normalised just makes me sad.
    One shop sold these Lycra shorts that you would wear under a dress so that your legs and knees wouldn't rub against each other. How is that good for you! You'll have severe joint problems in years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I saw something on tv about the disparity between the clothes sizes in shops. where for instance a 12 in M&S might be a lot more generous than a 12 in Harvey Nichols thereby fooling people into thinking that M&S clothes look better on them. I have often heard the women in my life talking about clothes from shop X being a better fit than from shop Y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Some people are physically bigger than others. You can't judge the health of an individual by their dress size. I'm size 12 but I'm overweight. Am I better or worse than a person who is size 16, no I'm exactly the same.

They referred to obesity vs fatness, not quite the same thing, for a start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

thats not a sizing/clothing thing, it's a person's mentality thing you can be a size 14 and not overweight and you can be a size 12 and overweight.

i have two friends who'd be a size "14" one will buy clothes (including leggings and dresses) in a size 14 and she looks great when she wears them,

the other one however insists she's a size 10 like me and will squeeze into a size 10 pair of jeans/leggings and leave the rest of her hang over the top, or stretch the leggings until they are practically see through.

we need to stop worrying about what size we "should" be and start dressing for the size we are,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Those of us with large bosoms

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Leggins and sleeveless tops - ok, that would leave me naked for my daily cycle.

How about this look?

https://fitisafeministissue.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/4de83-looknohands.jpg?w=400&h=378

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭The Dark Side

Plazaman wrote: »
    So if the plus size ladies can't buy clothes in their sizes, what are they supposed to wear Jamelia?

A mumu?

Well, at least it might scare drivers into actually giving me a bit of space when overtaking me :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Who?

Is Google down?

I'm not saying that but, for example, when I watched that show last night they were celebrating obesity when they should have been promoting a healthy and fit lifestyle. It's the fact that's it being normalised just makes me sad.
    One shop sold these Lycra shorts that you would wear under a dress so that your legs and knees wouldn't rub against each other. How is that good for you! You'll have severe joint problems in years to come.

It's hardly the fashion industry that is "normalising" this, though, is it?
    Yes, obesity is a problem. Yes, it needs to be addressed. But should we start that with a holier-than-thou attittude when it comes to clothes?
    Or should we rather educate people, teach them long-lost skills like cooking and support them when they try and make an effort getting some exercise rather than ridiculing them?

Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,401 ✭✭✭✭x Purple Pawprints x

I'm not sure what the means by plus size as such, given that some parts of fashion / modelling regard really low sizes (e.g. 14 upwards).
    I thought it was 12 and up, but someone else just said that 8 - 10 is considered plus size now. In that case, I've gone from a size 18 to a size 10 and I'm still considered plus size. How does that make sense? :confused:
    eviltwin wrote:
    I'm a size ten and my BMI is still in the overweight category.
    Shenshen wrote:
    Tbh I think it works both ways. I don't think anyone has the right to judge another person by their weight, fat or thin.
    She is hot, though.
    Yeah, because that's what matters. :rolleyes:

To answer the original post, I think it's ridiculous to suggest that plus size clothes should only be sold on specialist shops. People that are overweight feel insecure and ostracised as it is without having to shop for clothing in a specialist store. I know what some people are going to say, that losing weight is the way to go and all that jazz, but I still don't think specialist shops would be a good idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

They would be arrested for public indecency if they had no clothes to wear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Just so people can get an idea - these women all weigh the same but have vastly different body shapes and dress sizes, so one womans size 10 is anothers size 14 :

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Some people are physically bigger than others. You can't judge the health of an individual by their dress size. I'm size 12 but I'm overweight. Am I better or worse than a person who is size 16, no I'm exactly the same.

Dunno. Don't think I've ever seen anyone who wears size 16 clothes who isn't clearly fat.

I'll believe you though, but I would definitely say it's an exception rather than a rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Tayla

I saw something on tv about the disparity between the clothes sizes in shops. where for instance a 12 in M&S might be a lot more generous than a 12 in Harvey Nichols thereby fooling people into thinking that M&S clothes look better on them. I have often heard the women in my life talking about clothes from shop X being a better fit than from shop Y

It's called vanity sizing and it can make it very hard to find clothes if you're a smaller size, before shops started selling size 6 clothes I was always an 8, next thing suddenly they were all too big for me even though I hadn't lost weight, then they introduced a size 6 and bam i'd lost a dress size.
    Now some shops have a size 4 and I fit into those, that would be the American size zero that they talk about, I am in no way, shape or form a size zero, it's just ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Lady is entitled to her opinion, even if it is daft. If someone continually court controversy with their opinions, the tide can easily turn on them via social media.
    There seems to be unhealthy attitude all around us. It just seems more endemic in women circles than in men's. Variously we have skinny shaming, fat shaming.
    Where either is a result of unhealthy behavior by an individual, surely we need to start by treating the individual, rather than the symptom. This approach should have happened decades ago to be fair. Now the issue of obesity is actually pretty normalised. The TV show "Supersize Wars", really showed this, and showed how pigeon holed peoples mentalities can be. One of the plus sized women, with a large social media following, started an exercise program and lost some weight, she received some seriously backlash and was more or less told she was betraying her principles. You can love yourself but still embrace change.