If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming ChitChat Ploughs On To Five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

On the pc in the kitchen in my place in ncd and have that sickening feeling that I have a "large" unwanted visitor behind the cooker/presses.
    There was noisy scratching going on a while ago and I was hoping that it was a fat mouse. However I know by the dogs reaction that it is probably a rat :mad:
    They are going mad and trying to excavate the kitchen floor.
    Not good....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,662 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Base price wrote: »
    On the pc in the kitchen in my place in ncd and have that sickening feeling that I have a "large" unwanted visitor behind the cooker/presses.
    There was noisy scratching going on a while ago and I was hoping that it was a fat mouse. However I know by the dogs reaction that it is probably a rat :mad:
    They are going mad and trying to excavate the kitchen floor.
    Not good....

Any entry points evident around the house or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

I wouldn't normally do this and I'll probably regret it, but I've had a bit of a **** day. Herself has moved out today, we're staying friends and all that, but I think it's just hit me.

Jaysus Con, really sorry to hear that. Hope things work out as good as is possible IYKWIM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Don't really know what to say con but keep the chin up anyway, at least it sounds like ye are still on goodish terms with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

I wouldn't normally do this and I'll probably regret it, but I've had a bit of a **** day. Herself has moved out today, we're staying friends and all that, but I think it's just hit me.

Con, sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reggie. wrote: »
    Any entry points evident around the house or anything.
    A few mins after putting up the post the dogs went mad to be let out the back door. Whatever it was has gone outside (I hope).
    I have just had a quick scan around the base of the outside of the house with the torch and cannot see any obvious signs. I have to head into the big smoke tomorrow to work but will have a better look when I get back home tomorrow evening.
    I am normally only here in ncd about 2.5 to 3 days a week. Eldest son is here full time and youngest is here on the weekends during college term. God only knows what vermin they attract about the place between unwashed towels, thousands of pairs of socks/jocks etc :rolleyes:

Base price wrote: »
    A few mins after putting up the post the dogs went mad to be let out the back door. Whatever it was has gone outside (I hope).
    I have just had a quick scan around the base of the outside of the house with the torch and cannot see any obvious signs. I have to head into the big smoke tomorrow to work but will have a better look when I get back home tomorrow evening.
    I am normally only here in ncd about 2.5 to 3 days a week. Eldest son is here full time and youngest is here on the weekends during college term. God only knows what vermin they attract about the place between unwashed towels, thousands of pairs of socks/jocks etc :rolleyes:

The feckers only need the smallest of gaps. The dogs might keep them out now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Jeez con. Really sorry to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Sorry to read this. Sure it will hit you. That's the nature of the beast. It's a tough time for you. Look after yourself. There will be better times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,031 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Feel for you Con. Married 10 years myself and I've stood on the brink once or twice. A lot of pressure on couples nowadays from financial stress, rearin kids in challenging situations, time pressures, husbands/wives working in different countries etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Sorry to hear your news. That can't be easy. Soldier on and give yourself time

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Jesus con sorry to hear that.
    Look after yourself, and try not to torture yourself about it. Mind yourself, and take care in the empty house. Take all the support you can. ()

Do any of ye have a cow without any maternal instinct whatsoever lads? Pulled a calf off a second calved yesterday evening that I shouldn't have need to pull but she literally spent 2hrs running around with the legs out without ever actually lying down and trying to calf. Pulled the calf from her very easily and no surprise that she doesn't want to have anything to do with it, I'm actually convinced that she doesn't know that she's calved. She did the same thing last year as a springer and I put that down to her being a springer but she took after a day when the sickness went off her. Not so sure that's going to happen this time though. Nothing could annoy me more than messing with her now trying to get the penny to drop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Had one that ran about the shed in the feeding passage for a couple of hours before she tired herself out and lay down and calved. Literally had to close her into a house with the calf and ignore her for a day. She was a bit of a mad berstard though, a black limousin. Am convinced those are crazier than red limos.

Kovu wrote: »
    Had one that ran about the shed in the feeding passage for a couple of hours before she tired herself out and lay down and calved. Literally had to close her into a house with the calf and ignore her for a day. She was a bit of a mad berstard though, a black limousin. Am convinced those are crazier than red limos.

Red limo she is. Fine and lively too so she is. I agree about the black limos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,298 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

heading out to do a few knap sacks of weeds, hope i dont get arrested as i havent the spraying course done:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

whelan2 wrote: »
    heading out to do a few knap sacks of weeds, hope i dont get arrested as i havent the spraying course done:rolleyes:

Not likely attack them with the power washer that ll keep the inspectors at bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,363 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Nice day for it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

creeping thistles are just poking their heads up at home, it'll be another 2/3 weeks before they're ready to be sprayed. noticed one clump of nettles that need hitting though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Ever the master of understatement Con. "A bit of a **** day"??? I'm sorry to hear about your troubles which is of little use to you I know.

No personal experience to draw on but if things were bad it may be for the best. One or two breakups in the locality and extended family and in the main where people are civil and the kids are high on the agenda the couples involved are in a better place than when they were together. Many if not all have moved on and are in new relationships.

I'm not suggesting you don't try to regain what you had but only you know if there's a future in it.

_Brian wrote: »
    Nice day for it..
    ye, just did 2 sprayers full, did weeds around yard etc

That's a job I must do myself while the weathers with us

Is there any job more boring than licking rushes? Going round and round and round and round. Took a break to dehorn two calves for a friend and now have a few more meadows to do!

Rolling. Picking stones. There's a few

Reggie. wrote: »
    Rolling. Picking stones. There's a few

Ah but at least you can peg the odd stone at the other people picking them :p

Shush, don't mention rolling, that's the next job after the licking.

Ah but at least you can peg the odd stone at the other people picking them :p

Shush, don't mention rolling, that's the next job after the licking.

I really worry about you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Hopefully will spray tommorrow. Is 1L of washing up liquid to 600L sprayer annof to use as a sticker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

chin up con, its a tough time
    its happened to my cousin and my best friend, it takes time and after a lot of soul searching and asking why both have moved on and discovered it was for the best (im not implying this in your case BTW)
    everyone including kids and adults are happier, so much so my friend and his new partner were at his kids confirmation and after match reception in his old house which was also attended by his ex and her new partner, a great day was had by all, so much so at one stage my friend and his ex's, new partner were discussing the best colour for the new fence
    life has a way of working itself out, the trick is too hang in there until it does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Hopefully will spray tommorrow. Is 1L of washing up liquid to 600L sprayer annof to use as a sticker?

dont know bout sticker but you will have a lot of bubbles, id only ever use a few squirts with 300l

depends if its fairy or cheapy stuff