Speeders

• 20-04-2015 01:43AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

I travel the Cork to Dublin road quite a bit and the amount of people speeding is scary. Sure theres one or two areas where people might not realise its 100kph and not 120kph.

Just today in a 120kph zone where I've been doing the limit I've been passed by cars that made me look like I was standing still. Easily doing 140-150. Except for one Golf they were a mix of Audis, Mercs, BMWs and all no earlier than 2013 regs.

My assumption is people in expensive, new model cars reckon the speed limit doesn't apply to them and if they get caught they can well afford the fine.

The guards should have unmarked cars patrolling these roads at the speed limit and pull these clowns over when they go past at speed.

Do you speed AH'ers ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Heckler wrote: »
    I travel the Cork to Dublin road quite a bit and the amount of people speeding is scary. Sure theres one or two areas where people might not realise its 100kph and not 120kph.

Just today in a 120kph zone where I've been doing the limit I've been passed by cars that made me look like I was standing still. Easily doing 140-150. Except for one Golf they were a mix of Audis, Mercs, BMWs and all no earlier than 2013 regs.

My assumption is people in expensive, new model cars reckon the speed limit doesn't apply to them and if they get caught they can well afford the fine.

The guards should have unmarked cars patrolling these roads at the speed limit and pull these clowns over when they go past at speed.

Do you speed AH'ers ?

I'd hate to see you on an autobahn. They are in newish good quality cars on a modern motorway. What's the problem?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

I think we should all live in caves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

pablo128 wrote: »
    I'd hate to see you on an autobahn. They are in newish good quality cars on a modern motorway. What's the problem?
    Ah feck it sure why not do whatever we want to do and fúck the laws and the safety of other road users.

The dopes that break the speed limit should have their cars impounded for a minimum of 7 days as well as 6 points on their licence for doing more than the limit. they should also be forced to have the speed of their cars limited to 100Kph for at least a year. They are stupid enough to think that they can't kill other road users just because they are in a newer car that is capable of greater speed, bloody morons!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭yer man!

You should see it over in the states. Drove in New York today, Maserati and a nissan 350z were racing on the motorway, I'd say they easily got up to 170km/h. Crazy stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

yer man! wrote: »
    You should see it over in the states. Drove in New York today, Maserati and a nissan 350z were racing on the motorway, I'd say they easily got up to 170km/h. Crazy stuff!

AFAIK the Max speed even on perfect highways in the US is 55 miles per hour. Texas built flawless straight roads between its major cities and there was out rage that they were going to an unsafe 70 miles per hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Heckler

Eh, we have speed limits. Not autobahns. You think its ok for someone to drive 20-30 kmh over the speed limit because they have a good car ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭BMJD

who the fcuk invited gay byrne in here?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

Eh, we have speed limits. Not autobahns. You think its ok for someone to drive 20-30 kmh over the speed limit because they have a good car ?

Its the green partys fault, people with newish cars need to drive fast to clear the dpf.

All these speeders cars seem to have come with optional indicators too. Then others indicate after they have passed you and are half way across the line and pulling back in. Then they they put on the indicators. By which time I've figured out what you're up to asshole.

The word "indicate" should give it away. You "indicate" your intention before you actually do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,644 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

You don't need a very good car to be safe at 140 km/hr. In a good car, 200 km/hr would be quite ok on most of our empty motorways.

Not the M50, now, seriously, driving standards on the rest of the network drop horribly every weekend when the M50 warriors decide to head for Galway or Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Big Wex fan

The speed car travels should match how safe the road is. Going 130 or 140Kph on a motorway in light traffic & good driving conditions doesn't cause accidents. It's when not correcting speed when conditions change or not adherring to simple rules like using correct lane when driving slowly that causes the real dangers.

You don't need a very good car to be safe at 140 km/hr. In a good car, 200 km/hr would be quite ok on most of our empty motorways.

Not the M50, now, seriously, driving standards on the rest of the network drop horribly every weekend when the M50 warriors decide to head for Galway or Cork.

So you think because your car is up for it you can drive well over the speed limit ?

The speed car travels should match how safe the road is. Going 130 or 140Kph on a motorway in light traffic & good driving conditions doesn't cause accidents. It's when not correcting speed when conditions change or not adherring to simple rules like using correct lane when driving slowly that causes the real dangers.

So the speed limits don't count for you ?

I understand all about going with the flow and speed of traffic etc but ye think even on an empty motorway that its ok to drive at 140-150kph ? I hope ye get done before ye kill someone. If ye kill yerself it's your own look out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The problem is outdated limits for the most part rather than people doing an extra 10kph on the motorway. Many limits need to be reviewed up (and down in some cases) in light of progress made in both car and road design over the last 50 years.

Agreed. But thats not what I'm talking about. I'm talking about people driving at 140 plus in designated 120 zones. For no good reason other than their cars can do it. And don't tell me they were all speeding pregnant wives to hospital or rushing home to put out a fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭Recognition Scene

hfallada wrote: »
    AFAIK the Max speed even on perfect highways in the US is 55 miles per hour. Texas built flawless straight roads between its major cities and there was out rage that they were going to an unsafe 70 miles per hour.

Well... that's not remotely true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

.. they were a mix of Audis, Mercs, BMWs..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Listen, feel free to mangle yourselves on the motorway: I won't even blink or bother to slow down as I pass.

But for all of our sakes, don't delay us.

Kill yourselves in your own time.

I don't see why anybody should care anymore. Everybody's had their warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

I speed a lot, especially on the Motorway. I do think the law applies to me, so if I get caught I'll take it on the chin and pay the fine and take the points. I don't have any points at the moment, so it's like having a get out of jail free card, I'd be crazy not to speed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

What a stupid argument.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Not enough enforcement is a real issue in my view. Only a matter of time before all cars are fitted with mandatory 120klms per hour speed limiters. Trucks and buses already have them and it works very well. Far too many idiots who think "sure I've an Audi or Merc, doing 160klms per hour is perfectly safe". It's not. It's incredibly dangerous as well as selfish much in the same way drink driving is or driving whilst on your mobile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Not enough enforcement is a real issue in my view. Only a matter of time before all cars are fitted with mandatory 120klms per hour speed limiters. Trucks and buses already have them and it works very well. Far too many idiots who think "sure I've an Audi or Merc, doing 160klms per hour is perfectly safe". It's not. It's incredibly dangerous as well as selfish much in the same way drink driving is or driving whilst on your mobile.

If it's incredibly dangerous, how come there are folk doing 300kmh plus on German motorways daily, and don't end up in a blazing fireball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,178 ✭✭✭Mena

A lot of learner/novice/inexperienced/geriatric drivers here thinking 140kph on a motorway will ruin civilisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Worked in Cork for the guts of a year and drove the equivalent of Ireland to New Zealand on the M6/M8 without seeing a speed check. 150-160 all the way in a 15 year old Audi on a dry bright day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

Agreed. But thats not what I'm talking about. I'm talking about people driving at 140 plus in designated 120 zones. For no good reason other than their cars can do it. And don't tell me they were all speeding pregnant wives to hospital or rushing home to put out a fire.

Are you for real..you think doing 140 on an empty motorway is dangerous...any car can do 140kph...so "For no good reason other than their cars can do it" makes no sense at all.

I have driven over 170 on german roads..and funnily enough it wasnt dangerous...

If you want to take a very negative view..the difference between a car crash at 120kph and 140kph is nothing...your probably dead in either case..so..

AND to take your very pedantic view on german cars..yes if i crash at that speed i do have a greater chance (still slim) of surviving than someone in a ford fiesta (or any car not in your list :P)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

I understand all about going with the flow and speed of traffic etc but ye think even on an empty motorway that its ok to drive at 140-150kph ? I hope ye get done before ye kill someone. If ye kill yerself it's your own look out.

Sorry but this is threading into drama queen territory. Its not ok to drive at those speeds on an empty motorway because the law says so and we all have to accept that. However, it is perfectly (no more unsafe than driving at 120) safe to drive a properly maintained car at those speeds on an empty motorway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Doing 140 on a 120 limit motorway is speeding by 15%. At 120, you're already going fast enough to kill yourself or someone else.

Accidents on motorways are caused by failing to anticipate what's up ahead. If you don't pay attention then the extra 15% won't make a difference.

What's far more dangerous on motorways are the Sunday drivers who pootle along at 85 in the middle lane, occasionally pulling out without indicating into the fast lane so they can think about speeding up to 90 and overtake the car in front.. After half an hour.

And if you look at accident black spots, they're practically all country roads with totally inappropriate 100kph limits where there's no road marking, lights, cats eyes or barriers where the locals barge around blind corners and drive home drunk from the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,226 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Fact is, I've worked and studied very hard to get a job that lets me afford the car of my dreams. I love my car, I have gone on good driving courses, I check the car properly, pay big money for good tyres, brakes oil etc. Why shouldn't I reap the rewards and see what my car can do.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

flazio wrote: »
    Fact is, I've worked and studied very hard to get a job that lets me afford the car of my dreams. I love my car, I have gone on good driving courses, I check the car properly, pay big money for good tyres, brakes oil etc. Why shouldn't I reap the rewards and see what my car can do.

Its not the car that people will be worried about