Katie Hopkins - Outspoken or just vile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Underground

She's a professional troll who is good at her job. Probably doesn't even believe half of the stuff she is saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

microsim wrote: »
    snipped by mod

I bet you're a riot at dinner parties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,088 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Ah here microsim, leave it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

PLL wrote: »
    However some of the things she says, you can guarantee she isn't the only person thinking it.

Which doesn't confer the slightest validity upon what she says.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I'd never heard of her before and I'm now erasing that part of my memory again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,101 ✭✭✭✭lertsnim

dirtyden wrote: »
    I always get the feeling that she barely believes much of what she says and she just does it to hang on to the infamy and make a few quid out of it. I don't think she even thinks about the comments and its more of a case of its time I got my name in the papers again I need to up the ante and say something really repugnant.

That's it. She is a professional troll. I am of the opinion that she doesn't believe most of the crap she comes out with. If people ignored her then she would go away but humans do seem to enjoy being outraged so the likes of Katie Hopkins march on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

Vile.
    Should be done for incitement to hatred.
    Ignoring such talk is not an option when it can cause so much harm. Few months in prison might sort her out.

Which doesn't confer the slightest validity upon what she says.

Ah no, it does lend some validity to what she says but only in the sense that a satirical cartoon has validity. Satire usually has an extra dimension or some a double meaning or some clever take on the topic. She's just a one dimensional cartoon saying use gunships on immigrants.

She's not funny but I take it to mean that they should take a more serious approach to immigration but I don't think shes actually proposing using gunships. It's just basic hyperbole completely detached from empathy. How simple life would be if you could think like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Mod

Microsim banned for rape joke. Keep it civil folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I blame the media and national broadcasters for giving her a platform. I mean, there are plenty of head wreckers like her, doesn't mean they deserve national press coverage.

She 'deserves' it because people watch her and talk about her and discuss her on internet forums. I hate those people and we should use gunships on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

She's having her moment now. People will tire of her and move on. And all she'll be left with are the many dubious google results she'll generate. Shame, if looked at objectively, before her media "career" she had plenty going for her.

She says a lot of the same of what a lot of people on here say regarding dole merchants, travellers, roma gypsies etc. She does. She goes after the disadvantanged/benefit receivers and would fit in with a good amount of AH posters. She just dials it up to 11 makes money from it. Fair play I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

Omackeral wrote: »
    She says a lot of the same of what a lot of people on here say regarding dole merchants, travellers, roma gypsies etc. She does. She goes after the disadvantanged/benefit receivers and would fit in with a good amount of AH posters. She just dials it up to 11 makes money from it. Fair play I say.

She said alzheimers patients should be euthanised and that we should await immigrants with gunships instead of rescue boats, I think she's a bit more extreme than any AH poster Ive seen.

bb1234567 wrote: »
    She said alzheimers patients should be euthanised and that we should await immigrants with gunships instead of rescue boats, I think she's a bit more extreme than any AH poster Ive seen.

You obviously missed microcsim's beautiful example before it was deleted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

I thought at first "ah maybe it would be nice to hear someone who just says it how it is, instead of all the tip-toeing and PC nonsense, outraged and offended people" that get a lot of airtime.

I was wrong. So wrong. She is a cretin.

The very fact that she makes a living from targeting the weak and just ridiculing them is just obscene. I really cannot state enough how repugnant and pathetic she is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Plenty of AH posts just as extreme in the past, although the targets are different. Any death penalty thread will show that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

osarusan wrote: »
    Plenty of AH posts just as extreme in the past, although the targets are different. Any death penalty thread will show that.

An Ah post and a column in the Sun newspaper a bit different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

She's a Daily Fail sponsored troll just like Samantha Brick. Laughing all the way to the bank at how easily she has become famous just by making inflammatory comments.

Anyone who spends even five seconds of their time getting genuinely annoyed or typing anything other than a banterous response to something she's said has essentially allowed themselves to be trolled hilariously.

How does that make ye feel? Eh? Eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

to be fair, that sounds like a bit of banter

Appalling. Vicious, nasty and bigoted.

On the other hand, she's had some good lines, like that "today we are making cards for Fathers Day...Dwayne, Tylar, Kayle, you can go out and play" or "nothing makes my buttocks clench tighter and my teeth itch more than 'full time mummy'"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Must be galling for some people in AH seeing her getting so handsomely remunerated for trolling when they have to do it for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭B_Wayne

to be fair, that sounds like a bit of banter

Describing people as if they're not human is not banter. The statements below are the exact same type of comments that has justified slavery, racism and the Nazi regime. A despicable individual to hold humans in such low regard.
    “Make no mistake, these migrants are like cockroaches. They might look a bit “Bob Geldof’s Ethiopia circa 1984”, but they are built to survive a nuclear bomb. They are survivors”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I find her refreshing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭Bench Press

B_Wayne wrote: »
    Describing people as if they're not human is not banter. The statements below are the exact same type of comments that has justified slavery, racism and the Nazi regime. A despicable individual to hold humans in such low regard.
    ah here, leave it out

I think she's a bit more extreme than any AH poster Ive seen.

Leave the place unmoderated for a week and then see. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Is she wrong?

I'm not sure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

bjork wrote: »
    Is she wrong?

I'm not sure

Well then you are as well, really.

The only reason she escapes censure is because she avoids using traditional racist terms such as "Paki", "wog" and so on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Nodin wrote: »
    Well then you are as well, really.

The only reason she escapes censure is because she avoids using traditional racist terms such as "Paki", "wog" and so on.
    Am what?
    Wrong?
    Prove it

#JeSuisKatie :pac:

http://metro.co.uk/2015/04/18/fans-of-katie-hopkins-dubbed-hopkins-army-spread-je-suis-katie-across-the-internet-5156199/

bjork wrote: »
    Am what?
    Wrong?
    Prove it

Did you get your finger jammed in the keyboard there.