Guardian Angels

• 18-04-2015 12:09AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭

I know some of these people are nuts, would encourage nuts and I'm a nut for even suggesting it... ummmm nuts; but is it time for a movement like this is Dublin?

On the Luas and in a couple of the parks spring to mind. Would it maybe encourage the guards/luas to actually put on proper security.

As for the Lord Mayor's suggestion that there should be Park Rangers in Fairview Park. Well DUH!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

You mean... Vigilantes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

DrumSteve wrote: »
    You mean... Vigilantes?

Pretty much, some with some restraint ideally, for their own benefit at least.

It does always make me wonmder a little bit that we'll sit at home wringing our hands but someone does so much as join the neighbourhood watch and they're a busy body.

Maybe an Irish thing? Reaction to the Concerned Parent's perhaps?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 491 ✭✭Dozer Dave

The garda reserve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Atheists will not be able to see them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭qt3.14

How about a properly staffed, funded and trained police force?

Sounds mad, I know, but some countries swear by it.

qt3.14 wrote: »
    How about a properly staffed, funded and trained police force?

Sounds mad, I know, but some countries swear by it.

I could not agree more. I don't understand why Ireland doesn't have a transport police (may we do and I've never seen one in 15 years). But absent that, time to take back transit (and parks) New York style?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Do they flash boobs?

A similar thing was tried on the London Underground, but, they had to pay their fares before going on the trains, so didn’t last very long.
    As it is crime on the tubes is quite low anyway.

I can't comment on the trams (in Dublin) as I seldom use them, there are more than enough stories here on boards to sat that some law enforcement measures are needed.

Not a hope in Ireland, people would rather just complain than actually do something

It's not that bad, I (almost, as I was at the far end) witnessed an attempted bag snatch on a train and several other passengers tried to intervene, as it was the owner grabbed it back!

So don't be too dismissive of your average commuter.

A similar thing was tried on the London Underground, but, they had to pay their fares before going on the trains, so didn’t last very long.

I can't comment on the trams (in Dublin) as I seldom use them, there are more than enough stories here on boards to sat that some law enforcement measures are needed.

To be absolutely fair I frequently use the LUAS and it's isolated, but fairly predictable, incidents.

To blow my own thread out of the water, even more though; can you imagine a Dublin junky's reaction to someone in red beret and jacket?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Do what the Dutch do ,and get a Police reserve from the Unemployed .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Im pretty open minded, some of the experiences i have had question do i have a guardian angel, someone was looking out for me thats for sure but was it meant to be this way or was someone looking over me as in a guardian angel is stilll a open question for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭desbrook

Or complain that people complain rather than actually doing anything ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Everyone in the UK knows they're being watched once they go near any of the UKs transport networks, that keeps most people straight. There's also the fact that the police in London are protecting the transport network from terrorist attacks, so if you do any messing on the underground or trains, armed guards turn up ready to deal with an armed terrorist. Armed UK police are scary dudes, you don't want to do any messing around them.
    anto9 wrote: »
    We'd have to find some uniforms for them, apparently there's some black pants and tan tops available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

ScumLord wrote: »
    Everyone in the UK knows they're being watched once they go near any of the UKs transport networks, that keeps most people straight. There's also the fact that the police in London are protecting the transport network from terrorist attacks, so if you do any messing on the underground or trains, armed guards turn up ready to deal with an armed terrorist. Armed UK police are scary dudes, you don't want to do any messing around them.

We'd have to find some uniforms for them, apparently there's some black pants and tan tops available.

We could call them "the Black an.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

That'd go down well ........

I recall seeing security people on the Luas green line, not the red line strangely when I was last on it but that was a few years ago. What happened to them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You'd need street smart tough individuals to do it. It wouldn't work with young naive students, somebody would only end up taking a serious beating or worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

zero tolerance for anti social behaviour would be a good start... no bail just straight to jail...I don't care how many are to one cell..don't do the crime if u cant do the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Im pretty open minded, some of the experiences i have had question do i have a guardian angel, someone was looking out for me thats for sure but was it meant to be this way or was someone looking over me as in a guardian angel is stilll a open question for me.

Not that kind, jonjo. That kind doesn't exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Or better still,from the homeless lads you see around Dublin.

Call them Hobocops and pay them with oxtail soup.