Assault on Paul Deaton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

OP fantastic idea, have emailed them as well and offered to help if I can. If a whip round is needed PM me I'd be delighted to contribute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Einhard

heldel00 wrote: »
    Only back from ten days in Abu Dhabi and I never heard a siren nor laid eyes on police the whole time we were there. Zero crime rate because zero tolerance for it. You steal, your hand is cut off!

Umm, no it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Absolute scum whoever did this and that's me being mild. I can't understand this new breed of scumbags, reminds me so much of A Clockwork Orange where gangs would be violent just for the fun of being violent. Its scary to think teenagers exist like this who have not empathy or compassion for another person. That poor guy, I can only hope that somehow he is able to move on and get his confidence back and recover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Was also sickened by this incident, funny how these bravehearts are always mob handed and pick and choose their quarry. There's been a few goings on over the years in Fairview Park, certainly wouldn't chance the place after dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

porsche959 wrote: »

Trying to equate that this $hit was the same as 30 years ago is ridiculous. 30 years ago the sort of mindless scum would never record evidence of their brainless behaviour. Nowadays we got these vicious thugs willingly recording the violence they commit and proudly uploading it online for the world to see

Bullet The Blue Shirts

buried wrote: »
    Trying to equate that this $hit was the same as 30 years ago is ridiculous. 30 years ago the sort of mindless scum would never record evidence of their brainless behaviour. Nowadays we got these vicious thugs willingly recording the violence they commit and proudly uploading it online for the world to see

Err, would that have something to do with lugging the Camcorder out there would have been hard enough but inventing the internet might have been a bit beyond them.

Didn't live in Ireland in 1984, I do remember some pretty ****ty things happening in the UK though in the late 80s and early 90s.

I'm not trying to diminish the issue here but community deprivation has lead to scumbags for about a 1000 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

You need to turn off those shock jocks you listen to and try to engage your brain for two secs. What types of recording devices do you think were generally available to the public 30 years ago?

Err, would that have something to do with lugging the Camcorder out there would have been hard enough but inventing the internet might have been a bit beyond them.

Didn't live in Ireland in 1984, I do remember some pretty ****ty things happening in the UK though in the late 80s and early 90s.

I'm not trying to diminish the issue here but community deprivation has lead to scumbags for about a 1000 years.

Blaming 'community deprivation' is a bit of a cop-out, but apart from that I agree with your post.

It's not a cop out at all. I would happily find these little feckers and take some delight in giving them a good hiding. Do you think that's more or less horrific than what they go home to every single night?

No my point is that back then the likes of this trash wouldn't want anybody else witnessing their criminal acts lest they be identified and prosecuted. Whereas nowadays we got these scumbags willingly recording the crime to be witnessed by anyone and everyone. Surely there is a 'cultural' difference there?

Bullet The Blue Shirts

No my point is that back then the likes of this trash wouldn't want anybody else witnessing their criminal acts lest they be identified and prosecuted. Whereas nowadays we got these scumbags willingly recording the crime to be witnessed by anyone and everyone. Surely there is a 'cultural' difference there?

Take your point there to a point, the brazenness of it does seem to be increasing. Good in a way, makes the fookers easier to catch.

That said it was always about the word on the street. I just wish certain words on certain streets still resulted in the local hoods drawing the conclusion you'd gone to far and a good hiding followed. That is something I've noticed.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Absolute scum whoever did this and that's me being mild. I can't understand this new breed of scumbags, reminds me so much of A Clockwork Orange where gangs would be violent just for the fun of being violent. Its scary to think teenagers exist like this who have not empathy or compassion for another person. That poor guy, I can only hope that somehow he is able to move on and get his confidence back and recover.

You say 'new breed'. But Clockwork Orange was written 53 years ago, and partially influenced by a rape ordeal the author's first wife had undergone during the 1940s.

That's completely hypothetical. You cannot say whether they would or wouldn't, the technology simply didn't exist back then so it's academic.

Take your point there to a point, the brazenness of it does seem to be increasing. Good in a way, makes the fookers easier to catch.

That said it was always about the word on the street.

Yeah but the mindset of it is completely twisted and very worrying, to me anyways

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

You say 'new breed'. But Clockwork Orange was written 53 years ago, and partially influenced by a rape ordeal the author's first wife had undergone during the 1940s.

It was very much a work of fiction back then, I read it in school and it was alien to me. Now its normal, its not a shock anymore to hear of attacks like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

This stuck with me all day.
    There seems to be an increase in attacks on the most vulnerable people. The people, and I use that term very loosely, who did this are not big or hard or funny. They are wasters of the highest order and confronted by someone capable would brick themselves and scarper.
    In short, they are filth and a court setting is far to good for them.
    I would have no hesitation to want to see "eye for eye" treatment for these little scrotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

This story saddened me so much. He was not hurting or harming anyone, poor guy, just enjoying an innocent pastime.
    I wish that scum such as those who attacked him could ever get a glimmer of understanding of the harm that they do, but sadly, I doubt that they will.

Well done OP, I was, like many others, unable to think of any way to help.

eviltwin wrote: »
    It was very much a work of fiction back then, I read it in school and it was alien to me. Now its normal, its not a shock anymore to hear of attacks like this.

What you are forgetting is that it was partially influenced by real events. The gang rape happened to the author's first wife in the 1940s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

no jury in the land would convict you for giving these fcukers a hiding after doing this

Those misunderstood degenerates will not get jail. not for a single day! but anyone who lays a hand on them will get locked up without bail and possibly get a couple of years for assault/attempted murder.

the solution is to put these degenerate scum onto Spike Island or onto an offshore Island and just walk away from the dregs of humanity.

Whatever about saying they are disadvantaged there is every chance these dregs of humanity are from quite well heeled families and calling them brats or misguided kids etc is actually telling them and the world that you agree with what they did, it says they should not be punished because they didn't really do much wrong. So they made a mistake or error of judgement etc etc........that kind of talk just sickens my hole!

LynnGrace wrote: »
    This story saddened me so much.

Take some heart from the absolute fact that Paul Deaton is an proper example of a young decent gentleman and that his cowardly attackers are just a bunch of doomed trash, who will more than likely end up as doomed trash for the rest of their pitiful existence.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

Talk some heart from the absolute fact that Paul Deaton is an proper example of a young decent gentleman and that his cowardly attackers are just a bunch of doomed thrash, who will more than likely end up as doomed trash for the rest of their pitiful existence.

Who unfortunately give birth to more doomed trash who will start the cycle all over again. I can't feel sorry for these teenagers, I just can't, but I can at least understand how they might get to this stage, that's probably pretty sad in of itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Who unfortunately give birth to more doomed trash who will start the cycle all over again. I can't feel sorry for these teenagers, I just can't, but I can at least understand how they might get to this stage, that's probably pretty sad in of itself.
    You are assuming that the yokes that carried out this latest attack are from poorer areas or from anti-social criminal families but they are more likely to be the spawn of Satan middle class bankers or accountants or Gardai or other civil servants.

Not 'sad' at all man, I'd be interested to hear what you have to say about that TBH

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

There are some good souls in this thread particularly you OP

Great to hear JCB offered the lad a day out, the good people in this world far outweigh the shítebags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

We've bought new JCBs off eci and gotten loads of free stuff, party invites (with free buckets of beer), clothes and a ****load of overalls for kids. By all means eci are a decent bunch. Havnt read full thread yet so not sure if it's sorted but if there is anything I can do pm me.
    Edit: caught up, never mind, fair play to everyone...

Not 'sad' at all man, I'd be interested to hear what you have to say about that TBH

I have the most wonderful mother in law (yes I know that's an oxymoron). From Kerry - I mean proper went to school on a horse Co. Kerry who spent 40 years working in social services in Liverpool and Manchester. Still one of the nicest people you could ever meet. There is also someone I've worked with and who taught me that is an absolute wagon when she wants to be, which is most of the time, very middle class, well educated, highly intelligent I know that works on the legal side.

Both of these people have recounted stories, partly prompted by my career change that have literally reduced me to tears. How it's not turned both of them into very maladjusted human beings is beyond me.

Lets just put it this way, when you're constantly beaten, humiliated and abused at home on a daily basis I can see how you might consider even something a heinous as this to be 'a laugh'. They're picking on someone unable to defend themselves, some one vulnerable. Pretty much what's been done to them all their lives probably.

I'm not trying to excuse or justify it for one second. Frankly I'd love an Iron bar and 15 minutes alone with their parents in a locked room. But as I say I have a tiny measure moderation with the perpetrators.

@Foggy - you don't do something like this unless you're damaged yourself. You don't have to be poor to be damaged of course I grant you. I also concede that the vast majority of people that grew up in abject poverty wouldn't ever stoop to this level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Lord PuppyMcSnuggle of Cuddleshire

But it was the randomness of the attack that has stayed with me ever since. This was ten years ago and it still affects me when I walk around the city during the night.
    Yup, mine were surprises too and the effect lingers on. I felt pretty safe right up until it happened, which is why I laugh when people say "I feel perfectly safe walking around Dublin". How safe you feel is surprisingly irrelevant to how safe you are.
    And it takes becoming a victim to see how the event unfolds in such a logic-defying way. Like this person who I've never met before, have no issue with, exchanged no words with, and who I presume good things about, suddenly would like to put me in hospital because I have something he wants. He acts like he hates me and wants to kill me, even though I've done nothing to him.
    Seeing a person transform like that is really disturbing... you can no longer trust strangers not to turn into monsters.
    People are always "in shock" when things like that happen to them, and it's hard to process because the level of inhumanity makes no fucking sense at all.

We've bought new JCBs off eci and gotten loads of free stuff, party invites (with free buckets of beer), clothes and a ****load of overalls for kids. By all means eci are a decent bunch. Havnt read full thread yet so not sure if it's sorted but if there is anything I can do pm me.
    Edit: caught up, never mind, fair play to everyone...

Something has been sorted. Fantastic idea those who thought of it and Kudos to the suppliers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

http://www.rte.ie/news/2015/0417/694704-dublin-assault/

This is an awful and upsetting story. I think I have had the tv on too much today and it keeps popping up, must change off that rte rolling news channel.

Anything that we can do? I sent an email to JCB's Irish distributor ( http://ecijcb.ie/ ) to ask if they could give him a site tour. I don't know the man or his family.

I know that means I've done the sum total of **** all, but it's all my brain could think of.

P.S Diggers are cool.

The only question I would ask is: if it happened to a 'normal' 31 year old who like diggers, would you have sent the same email?

petrolcan wrote: »
    The only question I would ask is: if it happened to a 'normal' 31 year old who like diggers, would you have sent the same email?

There really is 'one' everywhere you go isn't there.

Do you really need it explained to you that the fact the guy, quite obviously, has learning difficulties is a massive aggravating factor. A condition with which you can surely sympathise.