Do you ever try to hide your accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,696 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Im from Cork city and my accent can be pretty strong at times. I do use my telephone voice at work though because I deal with people all over UK/Ireland who might find my accent a small bit hard to understand.

Too many people in Cork think because you have a thick inner city accent your a scumbag but I was raised very well.

The only thing that annoys me is teenage girls and there D4/Californian airhead sounding accents. Absolutely sickening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

I toned down my Cork accent after I got married: herself wasn't fond of watching ladies sliding off their chairs when I spoke to them.

I've moved around the country a few times and my accent has probably been affected by that naturally and I deal with foreigners on a regular basis so have learned to speak more slowly to avoid misunderstandings. It hasn't been too badly damaged though: Cork people know I am from Cork and others ask where I am from. I'm happy with that.

rohypnol can have that effect alright........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

Not my accent, no and in fact, I think it's gotten stronger since moving out of Ireland 10 years ago. I teach English, so I have to be careful of using slang, local idioms etc. and I have to make an effort to strengthen my t as in, "greatttt" as opposed to "grash" and to speak clearly and slowly but otherwise, I don't adjust it or try to hide it ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Zamboni

I have a solid dublin accent. It will probably sound like Ronnie Drew when I'm older.
    I neutralise it purposely sometimes in work scenarios, interviews etc because people react negatively to it.
    I can change my accent but I can't change their ignorance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Thankfully I have a fairly neutral accent, although I do change it if I'm speaking to someone with poor English, which would be often enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

I don't try to hide the accent I have, no. I've only heard myself speak on video a few times and its not a strong accent anyway so thats grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

If this thread is an indicative sample, then nobody in Ireland actually has an accent.

Or all the people from places like Louth and Limerick are lying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

yep, back in the 80s during a family holiday in england....did my best to hide my oirish accent felt very-self conscience about it esp as the IRA were the blowing the crap out of everyone at the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭whatismyname

No point, as I couldn't if I tried. I am not aware of my accent, it's just how I talk, but no longer living in Ireland, people here where I am find it brilliant.

Especially when they ask me to say dirty tree and a turd.

Very proud of my 'twang' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

No way, my accent is beautiful.

Kerry accent. My friends who have the misfortune to be from places that are not Kerry like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,614 ✭✭✭Mozzeltoff

I have an awfully strange accent :o. I am from North Tipperary originally, which is mostly a flat(ish) accent. However I have being living in Kerry for the last few years and I have obviously picked up a "hint" of the accent :pac:

Down here in Kerry people can't seem to place where I am from. Some think I am from Laois, Limerick or Waterford. I think only one person ever got Tipperary :pac: But when I am up home my family and some of my old friends rip the piss out of me for having a "PUUURRREEE KERRRRRYYY accent". The way they bang on about it, you'd swear I was hiding out in the hills of Kilgarvin with the Healy Raes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Only when I'm drinking heino with the goys watching the rugby in Kiely's.

For pure blending in on the bandwagon purposes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I try my best to hide it when I speak German. Starting to manage it a lot of the time after three f*cking years. Grew up in different English-speaking countries though, so my accent's all over the place anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I live abroad and have to make a conscious effort not to use irish phrases and to speak a bit slower sometimes, especially on the phone. Otherwise they don't understand me! I don't even have that strong an accent, it's fairly neutral dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

According to one of my colleagues I speak German like a 'farmer from the south of Austria'. Even though I'm fluent; I'm aware that I do have a tendency to roll my soft H when speaking. I'm still well able to discuss complex financial instruments with native German speakers. Being able to break into English at the drop-of-a-hat is a compelling selling point if we need to bring our American or British colleagues into a conference call. My German is better than the English of the vast majority of my colleagues!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    I live abroad and have to make a conscious effort not to use irish phrases and to speak a bit slower sometimes, especially on the phone. Otherwise they don't understand me! I don't even have that strong an accent, it's fairly neutral dublin.

Likewise, I've spent 5 years living abroad at this stage and you naturally tend to slow down your speech in an effort to be understood. I had a neutral accent to begin with so it wasn't that hard for foreigners to understand me. The pace is the key, we tend to speak very quickly amongst our own.

Conversely we had a guy join the company with a strong inner city Dublin accent. He made no effort to alter his speech and nobody had a clue what he was saying. He lasted 4 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

I've a flat, boggery midlands accent but I currently live in Germany and people seem to find it cute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Yeah I change it a bit when talking to the fordiners in work. Or if I'm heading up to the big Shmoke I might posh it up a bit. Usually I'm not even aware I'm doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

People usually just nod and smile politely when I'm talking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

well boi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭QuantumP

Dublin-ish accent but mostly neutral. Often quizzed on it. Someone mistook it for a Tipp accent recently which was odd. I spent some time in Austria where I had to moderate it to be understood. I was with another Dublin lad who has a strong accent and he didn't adapt his at all so nobody ever understood a word he was saying. I ended up playing the role of English to English translator :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I don't have an Irish accent, apparently. For some reason people can't place it and always ask me where I'm from. I think I've got a Yorkshire twang to an Americanish accent, I don't know really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Only the morning after the IRA bombed the **** out of London.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

No point in even attempting to hide mine. Despite living in city suburbs for almost 15 years now the accent remains 100% culchie. No chance of hiding it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

No, I'm lucky to have a good, clear speaking voice.

I do think it's funny when the culchies arrive in TCD or UCD from Cavan or West Cork.

In Week 1, it's all confused babble.

By Week 2, most sound like they've lived all their lives in the Pembroke electoral ward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

I'm from Donegal and currently living in Cork.

My day consists entirely of vacant head nods. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Most people think I'm American / Canadian. Even Irish people. i get a fair amount of grief.

Always had a neutral slightly refined accent which I consciously toned down in Canada to kill the "oh you're Iyyyyyyyyerish!" comments and gradually over time the twang became a subconscious thing.

It's a million percent less now that I live in UK but I still speak a lot slower and pick up the twang again when I'm in the office and surrounded by Americans.

It's a weird phenomenon, the accent thing. Since I live abroad I'm always super conscious of having an accent but I don't quite seem to fit in back in Ireland either. To my recollection no one has ever guessed my hometown correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

beks101 wrote: »
    Most people think I'm American / Canadian. Even Irish people. i get a fair amount of grief.

Always had a neutral slightly refined accent which I consciously toned down in Canada to kill the "oh you're Iyyyyyyyyerish!" comments and gradually over time the twang became a subconscious thing.

It's a million percent less now that I live in UK but I still speak a lot slower and pick up the twang again when I'm in the office and surrounded by Americans.

It's a weird phenomenon, the accent thing. Since I live abroad I'm always super conscious of having an accent but I don't quite seem to fit in back in Ireland either. To my recollection no one has ever guessed my hometown correctly.

Gort?