Australia to stop welfare payments for parents who dont vacinnate their kids

Egginacup wrote: »
    Yeah, and I could just stick my kid on Ritalin because the quack down the street says he or she is hyper.

ALL KIDS ARE HYPER!!

No they aren't. In my experience it's mostly bored/undisciplined children that could be considered hyper.

I agree that giving kids like that Ritalin is a horrendous idea. It's a bloody amphetamine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Into the frying pan.....:rolleyes:

I am one of those retarded people who did not get their children vaccinated. There is a strong history of autism in my family and I choose to opt out. I also...to the delight no doubt of the obnoxious right-wingers who populate this thread.... home-schooled all my children.

Suck it up Bozos. Vaccination is being performed on your children when they are defenseless infants with substances that have not gone through sufficiently long-enough medical trials to be declared safe. Refer to swine flu and narcolepsy, for example.

If you feel vaccination is so bloody marvelous and infallible, your kids should technically be able to cope with the demon spawn of left wing libtards who might get a disease.

Grand, I'll tell that friend of mine paralysed from the waist down by polio how lucky she is that she didn't get a neurological disease that you can't get from vaccinations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭ronjo

Into the frying pan.....:rolleyes:

I am one of those retarded people who did not get their children vaccinated. There is a strong history of autism in my family and I choose to opt out. I also...to the delight no doubt of the obnoxious right-wingers who populate this thread.... home-schooled all my children.

Suck it up Bozos. Vaccination is being performed on your children when they are defenseless infants with substances that have not gone through sufficiently long-enough medical trials to be declared safe. Refer to swine flu and narcolepsy, for example.

If you feel vaccination is so bloody marvelous and infallible, your kids should technically be able to cope with the demon spawn of left wing libtards who might get a disease.

I feel sorry for your children :(

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

none of those involve being in the same room with an infected child all day. Or instead of arguing the toss you could just do the sensible thing and vaccinate your kids.

According the kunst there was a measles outbreak in Disney World. Does that involve being in a room with an infected child all day?

I would imagine there are less confined, non ventilated spaces at an open-air theme park than in a cinema, shopping mall or bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,365 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Yeah, and I could just stick my kid on Ritalin because the quack down the street says he or she is hyper.

ALL KIDS ARE HYPER!!

you do talk some absolute nonsense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭daheff

VinLieger wrote: »
    Or better yet talk to some of the parents in the states who went to Disneyland with their baby who was vaccinated yet was still infected by another child which wasnt and the baby died as a result, now thats sickening

Surely that implies that the baby wasn't vaccinated** (and thus immune) then?

**I'm taking vaccinated to mean that child has received injection and sufficient time has passed between receiving injection & body being immune to the illness

According the kunst there was a measles outbreak in Disney World. Does that involve being in a room with an infected child all day?

I would imagine there are less confined, non ventilated spaces at an open-air theme park than in a cinema, shopping mall or bus.

most of the kids who caught it were unvaccinated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Basically if you want free money, we're going to make sure your kids aren't a public health risk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

kylith wrote: »
    Grand, I'll tell that friend of mine paralysed from the waist down by polio how lucky she is that she didn't get a neurological disease that you can't get from vaccinations.

As it happens Kylith I did get Polio and Diptheria vaccinations for my children, so you cannot hurl your friends terrible misfortune at me to score political points. It was one of the biggest decisions of my life. I spent months researching. People presume we ''libtards'' are high as kite loodelas, but I was fully aware of the predicament. And I had enormous pressure on me from the authorities...which erupts in bouts even to this day. Including my daughter being told that she was to come on in and get the HPV vaccine even though I had signed AGAINST it. She was told her parents wish did not matter. She physically fended of a nurse with a needle. I have been told by a HSE specialist when i sought alternatives to 3 in 1 (ie single vaccinations) that the single vaccinations coming from India were ''filthy dirty infected things.''
    So I got them vaccinated against those things that have an immediate effect on the body...eg Polio, Diptheria, Tetanus..and chose alternative methods to vaccinate them against measles etc. Good nutrition and excellent general health promotion is important when vaccination is decided against. I have read the material disassociating autism and vaccines but having watched my siblings 3 children revert to pre-verbal states in the immediate wake of vaccination I made my decision on the evidence before my eyes.

This Orwellian piece of legislation ye are all wetting yerselves over is disgusting. It is the wedge in the floodgates that lets authorities tell all of you exactly how you will rear your children. It may not be on this issue that you will choose to make a stand, but somewhere down the line you may find you object to something the nanny state insists upon and find yourself all out of rope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

So just how many "defenseless infants" got the swine flu vaccination? And of those how many ended up with narcolepsy?

ronjo wrote: »
    I feel sorry for your children :(

And you are just a prick to say that. My children happen to be the most amazing humans I have ever met. I am immensely proud of them. Fcuk you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

It could be countered that you are the one being an idiot with your kid who can't get a vaccine on medical grounds yet you are putting your little snowflake at risk by not locking them up indoors in a fucking oxygen tent.

Your kid has a condition so it's everyone else's responsibility to be your damn babysitter?

Get real!

So you're happy enough to let other possible immuno-compromised kids run the risk of serious infection by not getting your kids vaccinated? You sound like a stand up guy.

My kids are happy, healthy and vaccinated and hope that vaccination rates in this country are kept up so that a herd immunity can protect people that are at risk. But sure, all I'm doing is trying to protect little snowflakes…

And you are just a prick to say that. My children happen to be the most amazing humans I have ever met. I am immensely proud of them. Fcuk you.

would you feel so proud of yourself if you had to watch them suffering for a week with whooping cough?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MOD Understandibly this is a heated topic. But please be civil to each other and I don't want to see any more insults flying about.

I can't say it any better than Kunst Nugget did:
    So you're happy enough to let other possible immuno-compromised kids run the risk of serious infection by not getting your kids vaccinated? You sound like a stand up guy.

My kids are happy, healthy and vaccinated and hope that vaccination rates in this country are kept up so that a herd immunity can protect people that are at risk. But sure, all I'm doing is trying to protect little snowflakes…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

Sounds to me like it's simply business as usual then. The funny thing is, it's mostly parents that don't need the tax rebates or the welfare payments are the people who are declining getting their children vaccinated, the new agey hippy lefty types -

http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2015/feb/22/anti-vaccine-mothers-explain-measles-backlash

(just one example of many I've come across, I know there was a scientist in NZ too who refused to vaccinate his children, one nearly died, but I can't find a link now)

But I have to agree that vilifying these parents, does absolutely no good. They only dig their heels in further -

http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/guest-blog/2015/02/02/vilifying-parents-who-dont-vaccinate-their-kids-is-counterproductive/

It's less about holy books, and more to do with the fact that these people simply don't care about anyone else but themselves and their 'rights'. "Responsibility" is a dirty word for leftie nutbars.

Not sure where alll the 'tinfoil hat', 'left wing', 'nut job' business is coming from in this thread. I read that full article and don't believe any of those tags apply to those particular parents. Whether they are right or wrong , they are certainly not 'nut jobs'. I'm not surprised this parent has doubts after the experience she had.

" Moore, an MBA graduate who runs an agriculture-related business, traces her feelings to the time she took Lariam, a supposedly safe anti-malaria medication. Instead, she said, the drug saddled her with multiple health complications. She questions whether the government knew about the risks at the time. Health officials now acknowledge Lariam can cause severe side effects, some of which can be permanent.

That experience broke Moore’s trust in the medical establishment and launched her on years of research into how vaccines can affect people’s health. When she got pregnant, Moore and her husband delayed immunization for Sierra and Savannah.

“It was not an easy decision,” she said. “The thought of something happening to them because we chose not to vaccinate is terrifying. But I have so many questions, and I do think it’s the right decision for our family.”

you do talk some absolute nonsense

What are you on about?
    If a kid acts like a kid, you know, running around, climbing, acting the maggot, a ball of energy, then fucked up teachers and quacks think that the kid has ADHD or some crap or is hyperactive.

All kids act this way. They are kids.

I posted here to put the other side of the picture, that's all.

I will leave you righteous right wing rabblers to froth amongst yourselves.

Unfollowing...

What are you on about?
    If a kid acts like a kid, you know, running around, climbing, acting the maggot, a ball of energy, then fucked up teachers and quacks think that the kid has ADHD or some crap or is hyperactive.

All kids act this way. They are kids.

and what does this have to do with vaccinations?

most of the kids who caught it were unvaccinated.

What's your point? You stated that you wanted unvaccinated kids banned from schools and creches because they could be little typhoid mary that would infect your kids who can't get the vaccine for some reason.

I stated that this could happen in many places outside of a school, like a cinema, sportshall, wherever. You stated that these places didn't equate to being in the same room all day. I brought up the Disney outbreak ... you know, NOT cooped up in a classroom.

You want non-vaccinated kids banned from schools and creches because your kid is in danger (poor mite), then by that logic (used loosely) you would want these non-vaccinated untouchables banned from everywhere, no?

I posted here to put the other side of the picture, that's all.

I will leave you righteous right wing rabblers to froth amongst yourselves.

Unfollowing...

I wouldn't have considered being in favour of vaccination a right wing issue. I guess you learn something new everyday…

What's your point? You stated that you wanted unvaccinated kids banned from schools and creches because they could be little typhoid mary that would infect your kids who can't get the vaccine for some reason.

I stated that this could happen in many places outside of a school, like a cinema, sportshall, wherever. You stated that these places didn't equate to being in the same room all day. I brought up the Disney outbreak ... you know, NOT cooped up in a classroom.

You want non-vaccinated kids banned from schools and creches because your kid is in danger (poor mite), then by that logic (used loosely) you would want these non-vaccinated untouchables banned from everywhere, no?

my kid? i dont have any. Yes It could happen anywhere. But it is more likely to happen in an enclosed space with close contact. can you not see that?

I wouldn't have considered being in favour of vaccination a right wing issue. I guess you learn something new everyday…

me too. i would have thought it was a "what is best for your kid" issue. but apparently not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 416 ✭✭Steppenwolfe

I wouldn't have considered it anything to do with politics either. Which is why I find it puzzling a lot of posters here characterise anti vaccine parents as left wing nut jobs. Maybe it's just an AH thing.

And good for you. I never said I was anti-vaccine, did I? Just don't force it on me or anybody else. And don't try the emotional blackmailing guilt-trip ploy to try and besmirch someone who doesn't like to be forced to do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Hang on, so out of ten kids, only nine are vaccinated. If the one left picks up, say measles, can he still give it to the other nine? Kind of defeats the purpose of vaccination, imo, if that's the case.

And good for you. I never said I was anti-vaccine, did I? Just don't force it on me or anybody else. And don't try the emotional blackmailing guilt-trip ploy to try and besmirch someone who doesn't like to be forced to do anything.

I don't like being forced to stop for red lights but supposedly I have to for other people's 'safety'. Nanny state nonsense designed to save little snowflakes…

Not sure where alll the 'tinfoil hat', 'left wing', 'nut job' business is coming from in this thread. I read that full article and don't believe any of those tags apply to those particular parents. Whether they are right or wrong , they are certainly not 'nut jobs'. I'm not surprised this parent has doubts after the experience she had.

" Moore, an MBA graduate who runs an agriculture-related business, traces her feelings to the time she took Lariam, a supposedly safe anti-malaria medication. Instead, she said, the drug saddled her with multiple health complications. She questions whether the government knew about the risks at the time. Health officials now acknowledge Lariam can cause severe side effects, some of which can be permanent.

That experience broke Moore’s trust in the medical establishment and launched her on years of research into how vaccines can affect people’s health. When she got pregnant, Moore and her husband delayed immunization for Sierra and Savannah.

“It was not an easy decision,” she said. “The thought of something happening to them because we chose not to vaccinate is terrifying. But I have so many questions, and I do think it’s the right decision for our family.”

"Tinfoiler" and "Leftie nutjob" is a term used by those who run with the pack and / or can't think for themselves, to refer to people who don't run with the herd or can think for themselves or like to exercise a bit of individuality.

It'd make most sense, but would be unfeasible.

Unvaccinated children are at risk not only of diseases (such as measles) and their complications (like blindness and brain damage) but are little petri dishes that allow diseases to mutate so that vaccinations are no longer effective; putting everyone at risk whether they're vaccinated or not.

Hey, remember when you were vaccinated against smallpox? Oh wait, you weren't because so many people were vaccinated in the past that smallpox has been eradicated. We could do the same with measles if only people would vaccinate their kids, and in 40 years or so no-one would need to be vaccinated against it because it wouldn't exist any more. It was all but wiped out in the US before this anti-vaxx nonsense came about.

and what does this have to do with vaccinations?

FFS, I was talking about quacks prescribing Ritalin to kids just because they act like kids? Can you read?