Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Target Practice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭barryoneill50

Well raced and well written (or is it wrote).....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

annapr wrote: »
    when you say he gave you an iron... do you mean an actual clothes iron? or is it some sort of running medal jargon?
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Thanks Anna, yes an actual clothes iron...my o/50 colleague (also female :rolleyes: ) got one too...let's hope Raheny were handing them out to the fellas too, eh?!
    menoscemo wrote: »
    Didn't Krusty get a George Foreman grill at the raheny 5 mile? A real mans prize, not like that Iron. Mind you one of our male Masters at the Raheny 5k a few years ago was given a hair straightener, so there goes my theory :pac:

LOL, Raheny are legendary for giving out domestic appliances. I saw a (male) masters athlete with an iron tucked under his arm on Monday and a big grin on his wife's face when I congratulated him :D. A fair few toasters being carried away too :rolleyes::rolleyes:. Although I did win a pair of champagne flutes once at one of their midweek races. Maybe they can just see into your soul and select the perfect prize .....;) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Forgot to say : super report (as always). Never mind your da or your coach, we all knew you'd get the sub 70.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

What a race and a report DG, absolutely brilliant and so well deserved. Some PB and time difference from FD. Well done. x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Next goal for the 10 mile is to have a sub 67 during the early winter season and work down to 65 within the next 12 months...is that too much of a jump? Anyone followed a similar path?

Well done DG, superb racing AGAIN. I went from 78.xx to 67.21 in space of 12 months over 10miles. So 65mins is more than attainable for you, you'll be running that in August at the FD 10 mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    LOL, Raheny are legendary for giving out domestic appliances. I saw a (male) masters athlete with an iron tucked under his arm on Sunday and a big grin on his wife's face when I congratulated him :D. A fair few toasters being carried away too :rolleyes::rolleyes:. Although I did win a pair of champagne flutes once at one of their midweek races. Maybe they can just see into your soul and select the perfect prize .....;) ?

I think Pat Hooper usually tries to give the hair curlers / straighteners to female winners, but the irons, can openers, wine glasses, sheets etc are gender-neutral prizes from the Raheny prize cache.

I, myself, am the proud owner or several electronic can openers.

Also, fab time on Monday, Dubgal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 352 ✭✭NetwerkErrer

Well done DG! Cracking race and report! That progression is there for the taking if you keep the effort up, that's an awesome improvement over the last few months. I had similar improvements in the past and I've no doubt you can do the same.

I see you pipped me by a few seconds in the DCM last year!:mad::D Well done again!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Didn't Krusty get a George Foreman grill at the raheny 5 mile? A real mans prize, not like that Iron. Mind you one of our male Masters at the Raheny 5k a few years ago was given a hair straightener, so there goes my theory

Nice report, though I got a bit distracted by the Sammy Wanjiru video. Love that :)
    Hi meno, he did. He's still thrilled with it hehe. Maybe that male master can use the straighteners to iron his ties? Now there's a useless gadget for the making...
    laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Well done again DG, delighted for you. You're really getting your mojo going. Very interested to see how you'll do after even more training behind you over the next few months/year. I hope you had a post race glass of vino instead :)
    Thanks Laura, really since I missed Ballycotton, I have been chomping at the bit so ally's good this month, plenty of races to make up for that! I did have a couple of glasses but ran out of steam, unusually for me...I was pretty wrecked I have to say...
    RedRunner wrote: »
    Really enjoyed the report. Well done again:)
    Thanks R and thanks to you for the support, it really helped!
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Brilliant run and a great account of it too. No shortage of guts. Well done again, and to your club too. Enjoy that hard won iron. :)
    Thanks Murph...did I mention I nearly left my guts on the path around mile 7?! I have to confess, my ironing pile has halved since Monday...the old one ironed more through force of pressing down hard manually than heat transference :D
    Well raced and well written (or is it wrote).....
    Haha thanks Barry, haven't a clue. My supervisor would tear it apart if I submitted it to him, I know that much!
    LOL, Raheny are legendary for giving out domestic appliances. I saw a (male) masters athlete with an iron tucked under his arm on Monday and a big grin on his wife's face when I congratulated him. A fair few toasters being carried away too :rolleyes:. Although I did win a pair of champagne flutes once at one of their midweek races. Maybe they can just see into your soul and select the perfect prize .....;) ?
    So your soul is bubbly and effervescent and mine is crumpled and wrinkled...sounds about right!! :D
    Forgot to say : super report (as always). Never mind your da or your coach, we all knew you'd get the sub 70.
    Haha, watch that backslapping now, the RSPP (rsp police) are on the prowl ;)
    aquinn wrote: »
    What a race and a report DG, absolutely brilliant and so well deserved. Some PB and time difference from FD. Well done. x
    Thanks hon, thank you :)
    tang1 wrote: »
    Well done DG, superb racing AGAIN. I went from 78.xx to 67.21 in space of 12 months over 10miles. So 65mins is more than attainable for you, you'll be running that in August at the FD 10 mile.
    Thanks tang...I hadn't planned to run the FD10, but....it is tempting :rolleyes:
    HelenAnne wrote: »
    I think Pat Hooper usually tries to give the hair curlers / straighteners to female winners, but the irons, can openers, wine glasses, sheets etc are gender-neutral prizes from the Raheny prize cache.

I, myself, am the proud owner or several electronic can openers.

Also, fab time on Monday, Dubgal!
    We should set up a swap shop thread for Raheny appliance prizes. Personally, I think they're a great idea and very much appreciated!
    And thanks Helen, missed meeting you again...this anonymous internet communication is a tricky one to overcome in real life!
    Well done DG! Cracking race and report! That progression is there for the taking if you keep the effort up, that's an awesome improvement over the last few months. I had similar improvements in the past and I've no doubt you can do the same.

I see you pipped me by a few seconds in the DCM last year!:mad::D Well done again!
    Thanks NE. I think we can wipe both our marathon experiences, by all accounts yours was even worse than mine! Hopefully you're about to get to the bottom of recent hiccups and are about to take off :)

'We should set up a swap shop thread for Raheny appliance prizes. Personally, I think they're a great idea and very much appreciated!
    And thanks Helen, missed meeting you again...this anonymous internet communication is a tricky one to overcome in real life!'

I wasn't there -- a few of us had planned a holiday in West Cork (taking in a 10k race at Sheep's Head to offset the Easter eggs :) ) before the date was announced for the Brian Boru 10 mile, so I wasn't in Dublin at the weekend. I was sorry to miss it as it's so local and my own club's race, but we had a fantastic time in Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Hi meno, he did. He's still thrilled with it hehe. Maybe that male master can use the straighteners to iron his ties? Now there's a useless gadget for the making...

I'll admit to a concealing a little info here.
    His name is Viv and they assumed he was a female and had him down for a ladies prize. So Ann Doyle was a little perplexed when he came up to claim the F60 prize :p
    Now it turns out he would have won the M60 prize too but it had already been given out to another man, so they let him keep the hair straighteners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

'We should set up a swap shop thread for Raheny appliance prizes. Personally, I think they're a great idea and very much appreciated!
    And thanks Helen, missed meeting you again...this anonymous internet communication is a tricky one to overcome in real life!'

I wasn't there -- a few of us had planned a holiday in West Cork (taking in a 10k race at Sheep's Head to offset the Easter eggs :) ) before the date was announced for the Brian Boru 10 mile, so I wasn't in Dublin at the weekend. I was sorry to miss it as it's so local and my own club's race, but we had a fantastic time in Cork.
    You forgot to mention your podium finish in Cork;)

RedRunner wrote: »
    You forgot to mention your podium finish in Cork;)

Yes, that was my next question, how did you get on?! Well done by the sound of it!

well, I did win a prize. it wouldn't normally be a winning time (44.20 for 10k - way slower per mile than all you ten-mile speedsters :)) but it was a small, hilly race. I was pretty happy as with the hills (most of the first half) I was expecting to run it in about 46 mins. Not a pb, but my best 10k time since 2013, so I am happy with that. Was beaten by my husband, despite his recent 50k race! Used my prize to take us all for a nice lunch :).

A win is a win is a win, you got to take them when they come along, well done! And husband...next time, 100k ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ooh, a cash prize then? Nice. None of yer aul toasters and kettles and irons from the Cork lads. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Mimojo

Wow Dubgal I am just getting a chance to catch up on training logs after being awol for over a week, I have missed so much! Super super running on Monday & excellent race report, really enjoyed reading it - Well done ya big superstar!!

Mimojo wrote: »
    Wow Dubgal I am just getting a chance to catch up on training logs after being awol for over a week, I have missed so much! Super super running on Monday & excellent race report, really enjoyed reading it - Well done ya big superstar!!

Haha *blush* thanks mimojo! :)

w/b Mon 6 April 2015

Rest and recovery week: easy miles only

Mon 6
    Brian Boru 10 mile incorporating Leinster 10 mile road ch'ship
    7th lady overall, 3rd o/40 and ? Team?
    PB 69:28 (see race report)
    T: 12.5 miles

Tue 7
    2.5 miles

Recovery run in the evening, just to ease achy muscles really. Right hamstring a bit tight but eased out as jog progressed. Tired but not wrecked.

Wed 8
    5 miles

Easy effort and pace, felt surprisingly good on this. Some remnants of Monday's race but nothing too bad. Planned a 10k but lower back started to niggle after a longish hill of 1k or so, so took 'early exit route' home. Physio in the morning, it's nothing serious, just a general iron out.

Thur 9
    Physio went well, sacro-iliac joint at the base of my back had been 'locking', all released and another exercise to add to the list :rolleyes: ...actually I really like lists so that's not a prob (doing them, however...) There is some inflammation in my lower back so was advised not to do any strength work for a few days...darn :rolleyes:
    The usual calf torture-pinching-thing happened, theoretically leaving me all loose and uncoiled for the 2-3 *important* races over the next few weeks. (I was told this evening that the track Fit4Life mile at the end of the month is NOT a target race ie not balls out. So.un.fair.)

In the evening, ran three miles to the park for club session but as this is an RnR week, I happily paced another lady around 5k of long and gentle surges.
    T 7.5miles

No word yet on Monday's team results :(

Senior team gold for us and silver for the men!! Well done Sli Cualann!!!

I saw Sportsworld announcing their team prizes on FB earlier, so somebody knows the results!!!

Hmmmm clearly saving the best till last ;)

Well, we had 3 ahead of their first male finisher and their seniors got bronze, so I'd say its between Tallaght and Sli Cualann for Gold. But how will they divide them up into seniors, masters etc? grrrr

Yeah, they gave KC senior silver and no masters but....teams are organised senior, o/35 and o/50 aren't they?
    Our ladies team are all masters and finished 6th, 7th and 9th overall I think, surely a senior gold?

Yeah, they gave KC senior silver and no masters but....teams are organised senior, o/35 and o/50 aren't they?
    Our ladies team are all masters and finished 6th, 7th and 9th overall I think, surely a senior gold?

Yeah you would have thought so.
    We had 6 starters all of which were over 35 except ECOLIII, so it would be interesting to see will they give us senior silver or 035 gold. As 5th Finisher and 4th O35, I will get nothing though :o If I had been Sportsworld I'd have a senior Bronze :(

Sportsworld Ladies are claiming a Bronze as well btw...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Hiya

I know the log-back-log feeling. Not 47 but still a fair few to catch up on, and when you're catching up on one you know the others are building up.
    • There really has been a lot happening here in the last few weeks.
    • First and foremost well done on the sub-70 and the great report that came with it.
    • Also a tasty 3K only a few days before - maybe there's something in that?
    • Very good 2K + 2K + 800 session in there as well.
    • The pain stuff is great. I've a 10K TT in a week's time and I'm already starting to dread it. I will definitely give the come-on-in-you're-more-than-welcome approach a shot. It sounds too good to be true. If it does work then it might reduce some of the dread I feel ahead of races/tough sessions. I think you quoted Tunguska saying that a race is a neutral event and shouldn't create any anxiety, instead it is your perception of the race that introduces anxiety or excitement (I may have interpreted incorrectly). Right now a race is not a neutral event for me, with a race I expect a mental and physical challenge against pain and discomfort, present and anticipated. I look forward to the prospect of winning that challenge, but I don't look forward to the pain/discomfort that is involved?
    • How do we survive until the new season of Walking Dead?

Senior team gold confirmed for you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Only just reading the race report now, had to set aside a bit of time ;). Great report and no surprise to any of us on the sub-70.

Love the story of the M60 and his hair-straighters ;). Maybe next year ....

Congrats on the team gold too!

Thanks meno! Just saw the results posted on the Race thread and made my whole family jump with a ginormous yelp :D Can't wipe the smile off my face even as I'm typing this :D Men came second too :D I love my club!! :D

outforarun wrote: »
    Hiya

I know the log-back-log feeling. Not 47 but still a fair few to catch up on, and when you're catching up on one you know the others are building up.
    • There really has been a lot happening here in the last few weeks.
    • First and foremost well done on the sub-70 and the great report that came with it.
    • Also a tasty 3K only a few days before - maybe there's something in that?
    • Very good 2K + 2K + 800 session in there as well.
    • The pain stuff is great. I've a 10K TT in a week's time and I'm already starting to dread it. I will definitely give the come-on-in-you're-more-than-welcome approach a shot. It sounds too good to be true. If it does work then it might reduce some of the dread I feel ahead of races/tough sessions. I think you quoted Tunguska saying that a race is a neutral event and shouldn't create any anxiety, instead it is your perception of the race that introduces anxiety or excitement (I may have interpreted incorrectly). Right now a race is not a neutral event for me, with a race I expect a mental and physical challenge against pain and discomfort, present and anticipated. I look forward to the prospect of winning that challenge, but I don't look forward to the pain/discomfort that is involved?
    • How do we survive until the new season of Walking Dead?

Hey ofar, fair play for trawling through all that! :eek: And thanks for the encouragement, really appreciate it.
    I'm glad you've found the pain talk useful. My take on the 'event' is the measure of control you have over this 'inherently neutral event'. On its own, to somebody far removed from the whole 'training-for-entering-anticipating' a race, the event is far more neutral. The more closely you become involved, the greater the level of emotional investment there is...and I suppose, more to lose.

For me, the emphasis prior to a race is less on the physical discomfort and more on performance (will I do myself justice/will I fail to do what I know my body can do?) .
    Both of these emphases are out of my hands until the gun goes so I suppose in the meantime I focus on the element I can do more with. For me, it's preparing mentally for running well, visualising it and reinforcing it with memories of the best training sessions I have done. I don't know, but anticipating pain might introduce all sorts of negative thoughts and trigger points. For me, it's enough to manage the pain on the day and I'd wonder if I spent any amount of time anticipating it that it wasn't a lot of energy spent on...something not worth worrying about?
    What works for me is controlling how I feel about the race, rather than letting it control me.
    And now, during the race, we have the tool for banishing pain and panic....;)

And yes....walking dead withdrawal symptoms :eek: lucky for me, I am a fickle creature and will soon be saying "you knaw nuthing John Snaw..." :D

Fri 10
    Rest, no core as prescribed...

Sat11
    8am run on empty: 10k, low-medium effort for easy-steady pace. Meh.

Sun 12
    Lsr 12.5 miles, easy and comfortable pace with company :) missed the rain this morning and the sun even came out towards the end. A win-win run, came home to roast pork and a glass of red. La vita e bella ;)

Weekly T: 46.25

Breakdown:

6 days running
    1 race
    1 light session
    1 lsr
    3 x easy/recovery days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MKDTH

I just read your 10 mile race report. Congrats on another great race and amusing report to boot, although I am very disappointed that the irons were not just for you 'gals'.