Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Garda fleet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Doesn't surprise me in a country where you now have to do training to lift a box at work.

Health & Safety , gone mad !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Yiikes

Daaryl wrote: »
    There's a video of a lad drifting around a roundabout in a skyline and a gaurds in a yaris trying to chase him lol

youtube.com/watch?v=VqXjsi97OWg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Daaryl

Yiikes wrote: »
    youtube.com/watch?v=VqXjsi97OWg

That was in a private estate and the lad got permission to be fair :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

I hope they've had a new tendering process for the servicing and maintenance of the squad cars.

Same with the fuel.

they seem to have stuck with the renowned 'priciest' garage in my local town for fuel/servicing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Old diesel

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    I hope they've had a new tendering process for the servicing and maintenance of the squad cars.

Same with the fuel.

they seem to have stuck with the renowned 'priciest' garage in my local town for fuel/servicing

The garage might have done a better deal for the gardai on the servicing.

Is it a main dealer????

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Old diesel wrote: »
    The garage might have done a better deal for the gardai on the servicing. Is it a main dealer????

More likely the owner is the brother in law of the Super ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Same with the fuel.

Isn't the fuel bought from the distributor, fuel card type thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Old diesel wrote: »
    The garage might have done a better deal for the gardai on the servicing.

Is it a main dealer????

Pretty sure, at least it was the case, it was all done in house in the Phoenix Park (Servicing that is)

Fuel is on a fuel card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

ironclaw wrote: »
    Pretty sure, at least it was the case, it was all done in house in the Phoenix Park (Servicing that is).

Servicing of all cars in the Park hasn't been done in several years. It is done by selected garages across the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

'Selected' garages indeed

same with buying the fuel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Not sure about the car choice.

Would these be as quick and reliable as the Fords? 1.6 diesels..
    garda.jpg

10606417_10152972870323001_4100555890891408438_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

In before the hyundai bashing.

Given the gardai's needs, i'd say they'l do fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Congrats to whoever plasters the right side lower corner with an AA sticker. Might seem trivial but the entire windscreen should be clear.

Also, where are the tax discs? :P

But seriously, Gardai don't need 'fhast' cars. No training and poor driving from the vast majority means its a receipe for disaster. Keep the higher end stuff in the hands of those that can use it properly.

mitsubishi_lancer-evolution-x-police-2008_r16.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Hyundai i30's? Fair enough. I can't comment on the reliability stakes, but surely they are appropriate for city driving.

And I was driving from Cavan to Kells last week, and a Traffic Corp one went passed me (I think it was a Hyundai anyway) like I was stopped, so they can shift as well.

5 year warranty too, don't know if that applies to fleet cars, but still. Hyundai must be confident enough to offer it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Hyundai i30's? Fair enough. I can't comment on the reliability stakes, but surely they are appropriate for city driving.

And I was driving from Cavan to Kells last week, and a Traffic Corp one went passed me (I think it was a Hyundai anyway) like I was stopped, so they can shift as well.

5 year warranty too, don't know if that applies to fleet cars, but still. Hyundai must be confident enough to offer it.

Yeah but they are not going to keep up with a quick getaway car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,754 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Congrats to whoever plasters the right side lower corner with an AA sticker. Might seem trivial but the entire windscreen should be clear.

Five years unlimited mileage warranty and (5 years) membership of AA Roadside Assist comes when you buy a new Hyundai in Ireland so I'd say the distributor put those stickers on the windscreen.
    Also, where are the tax discs? :P

Not required unless the vehicle is on a public road and even then, the discs on official cars will have 'exempt' as the amount paid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

OSI wrote: »
    They must be laughing at the poor suckers in the UK stuck with Subaru Imprezas, BMW 530ds, Jaguar XFs, Range Rovers and Mondeo STs

Yeah, and the astra 1.7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Pataman

That is what the helicopter is for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

And the Mondeo/Avensis/whatever you're having yourself is a sportscar now?

They're decent cars, hopefully gotten at a good price, and will (hopefully) be maintained.

Christ, if they were kitted out with RS4's, people would still be whinging.

tax payers money... recession... gardai driving m3's...

I can see the comments now. The hyundais were a sensible purchases!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,110 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Looks like they all have inbuilt cameras under the rear view mirrors, a great addition if they do for recording dodgy driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭thadg

Pataman wrote: »
    That is what the helicopter is for.

oh right, how many helicopters do force have??

not all chases are in the big smoke....

ask any garda , they will tell you the Hyundai are not fit for purpose, if they arrest someone there is no legroom in the back of the car for them. the cars are falling apart, the mondeo was a far superior car.

there was more talk about the 12 "high powered" opel insignias 180 bhp that the traffic corps received.

why cant they just follow the UK's footsteps and get proper cars

thadg wrote: »
    oh right, how many helicopters do force have??

not all chases are in the big smoke....

ask any garda , they will tell you the Hyundai are not fit for purpose, if they arrest someone there is no legroom in the back of the car for them. the cars are falling apart, the mondeo was a far superior car.

there was more talk about the 12 "high powered" opel insignias 180 bhp that the traffic corps received.

And the standard UK patrol car is an Astra isn't it? The i30 is hardly that different?

Didn't realise we cared so much for the legroom of the typical type of client that the gardai would have in the back seat anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Grand for pottering about doing regular local Garda stuff in.

Not really grand for any kind of Motorway or high speed work but I'm presuming they have better stuff for that. At least I'm sure they would rather be stuck with pretty much anything else than a low spec Toyota.

Do they still have the unmarked Foresters and the like for the M50?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,110 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

thadg wrote: »

Ok say all Garda cars are M5's, they can pretty much catch up with almost any car on the road today. Lets say there's a Toyota Yaris they are chasing on the M1 and they catch up with him doing a maxed out 150kmh, what do they then do in the M5 that they couldn't do in a bog standard Mondeo to stop the car? A good plan with putting down stingers or arranging road blocks up ahead with a coordinated plan is better than catching up with the offending car with high speed cars risking additional collisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

mailforkev wrote: »
    Grand for pottering about doing regular local Garda stuff in.

Not really grand for any kind of Motorway or high speed work but I'm presuming they have better stuff for that. At least I'm sure they would rather be stuck with pretty much anything else than a low spec Toyota.

Do they still have the unmarked Foresters and the like for the M50?

The mothers Megane 1.5 will happily trundle along on the motorway at 160. I'm sure these will do similar. Do the Gardai need to be patroling motorways at much north of that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭thadg

And the standard UK patrol car is an Astra isn't it? The i30 is hardly that different?

Didn't realise we cared so much for the legroom of the typical type of client that the gardai would have in the back seat anyway.

no we don't but it is harder for the garda to get them into the car, and the front seat passenger then suffers.

the astras are only used around cities and large towns as panda cars in the uk, here nearly every station will have this scrap as there main car.
    in the uk when they arrest people there is transit vans at their disposal for collecting them

ford would have been a far better choice.

they are predicting that 500 cars will be decommissioned this year, and they are adding 370, makes a lot since what they are at:rolleyes:

looks far better too when you see the police in the uk with high power cars eg 530d , Volvo v70 etc, chases are cut short in no time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Not a patch on the remapped volvo diesel wagons they use for high speed stuff.

Those insignias are crap for overtaking too. Feck all mid range punch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Looks like they all have inbuilt cameras under the rear view mirrors, a great addition if they do for recording dodgy driving.

Think there just a blue led dash light mounted behind there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

Its only an led dashlight. Only some traffic cars get anpr cameras.