If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Well I've to pay a few things, like getting the manifold sorted out, bills and the like, after all that im looking at a top stut brace, 330mm drilled and grooved front discs with redstuff pads, new rear discs, the other wishbone, a few little badges and stuff, get the 900 tracked and two new front tires, a few tools and new wipers for the two of them, might as well use the ol staff discount for something!

Jaysus! That's class, fair play for spending so much!

Do you get decent staff discounts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

166man wrote: »
    Jaysus! That's class, fair play for spending so much!

Do you get decent staff discounts?

Me and money never last long haha, eh as far as i know its around 25/30% off anything in the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Me and money never last long haha, eh as far as i know its around 25/30% off anything in the place!

What's that about a fool and their money ;) :pac:

They're soon partying ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

*cough cough* Does this, ummm... staff discount apply to motors boardsies too? :pac:

GvidoR wrote: »
    *cough cough* Does this, ummm... staff discount apply to motors boardsies too? :pac:

Cough cough, I'm not too sure, for a place that's very relaxed it's incredibly strict about that kinda thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Well I've to pay a few things, like getting the manifold sorted out, bills and the like, after all that im looking at a top stut brace, 330mm drilled and grooved front discs with redstuff pads, new rear discs, the other wishbone, a few little badges and stuff, get the 900 tracked and two new front tires, a few tools and new wipers for the two of them, might as well use the ol staff discount for something!

Jesus you must get paid alot. Note to self, where is nearest Halfords to apply for a job.

Minimum wage! But as I'm a fitter I get an extra bit i think, so whatever the minimum wage is by 4 weeks, and after tax and all that craic

Cough cough, I'm not too sure, for a place that's very relaxed it's incredibly strict about that kinda thing

Ya last year dad and I were in getting paint for the jeep, colour was way off, ended up getting a perfectly matching rattle can from local motor factors for €8. Anyway, they had to mix it, came to 51 yoyo (money down the drain) and dad was like will you leave it at 50. Yer man went off on one, I'll do no such thing etc etc, prices aren't negotiable blah blah. Ok fine, you didn't need to go off on one, you'd swear we were asking for a 50% discount!

Jaysis! We do perfectly mixed paints too, believe it or not, for 23 euro, its only a little can, but to give you an idea, I covered the engine bay of the 900 with one with a good few coats, like we do a lot of things people wouldn't think we would

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

http://cars.donedeal.ie/view/9043723
    98 audi s8 quattro

I think this is lovely, just the right amount of cool without being wrecked I think.

I'd love this...!

98 audi s8 quattro

I think this is lovely, just the right amount of cool without being wrecked I think.

I'd love this...!

Ultimate modern mob car right there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

98 audi s8 quattro

I'd love this...!

Would probably go back to a factory wheel setup but besides that it looks great, would be a steal at 3500

Jaysis! We do perfectly mixed paints too, believe it or not, for 23 euro, its only a little can, but to give you an idea, I covered the engine bay of the 900 with one with a good few coats, like we do a lot of things people wouldn't think we would

Two of them and a primer or lacquer or something made the 51. Paint still unopened in the press. Anyone want silverish paint for a pajero :pac: Half price!

Pity cheensbo doesnt have his now! :P

I'm blind, is there much thread left in these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

I'm blind, is there much thread left in these?

2mm

ish:pac:

edit: above the legal I mean so 3.8ish :)

Interslice wrote:
    2mm

Ad states "very good set of tyres"

Yeah...

Ad states "very good set of tyres"

Yeah...

I'm surprised theres not a lot more ads going around like that, or somehting along the lines of this

"has a few small dents but barely noticeable"

untitled-1.jpg

Bpmull wrote: »
    As if there wasn't already enough bmw owners on here :)

If it gets much worse I'll have to go buy one just to fit in :pac:

I suppose they do represent a lot of bang for your buck at that age although they can have a lot of problems but then any car that age can. My grand mother has a new f30 and I'm about to the only person in the family that likes it they are seriously nice and comfortable inside. Another relation had a few e90s that I liked also.

Won't turn into a BMW head don't worry! Life to short to be sticking to one brand/country or whatever IMO! Just like the idea of a RWD estate. Would like an audi quattro or a B4 legacy eithe rbut can't afford a decent one of them. Looking at 156 SW and civic aerodeck too, them and an E36 seem to be the best budget estate cars that won't bore you into a ditch!

I'm surprised theres not a lot more ads going around like that, or somehting along the lines of this

Ad is from a crowd up near you, meegans breakers. They wanted 400 for a set of alloys, not getting that with them crappy tyres! Any reviews/dealings with them?

"has a few small dents but barely noticeable"

untitled-1.jpg

Sure they even tell you to your face after you look over the car and pick out 7 or 8 jobs that it needs no work done. I've come to realise to be any use buying on DD you need to be a bit of a prick too. Don't be too worried about wasting peoples time or upsetting them!

Ad is from a crowd up near you, meegans breakers. They wanted 400 for a set of alloys, not getting that with them crappy tyres! Any reviews/dealings with them?

Never even heard of them! jaysis there in dundalk that's nowhere near me! :P that's out dgt country nearly, he probably has heard of them

Never even heard of them! jaysis there in dundalk that's nowhere near me! that's out dgt country nearly, he probably has heard of them

Maybe that's where he works, freebies? :pac:

Ah Dundalk, Kildare all the same :pac:

Maybe that's where he works, freebies? :pac:

Ah Dundalk, Kildare all the same :pac:

I hope you're not a geography teacher :P

I hope you're not a geography teacher

Anything East of Longford, I class as Dublin.

Dundalk that's a Dublin
    Kildare oh you better believe that's a Dublin!

Dundalk that's a Dublin

Christ and i thought cork people were bad :P

Dundalk that's a Dublin

250px-That%27s_a_paddlin%27.png

Fastest overtake I ever seen, cut in very fast though, almost too close for comfort. Goes about 2/300 metres before slowing down and pulling into the house. Suppose he had to prove his point  I'll check again, but I think it was a 335i. Anyway, that's my speel for the night.

Did it look like this from the rear:

BMW-335i_Coupe_2007_1600x1200_wallpaper_46.jpg

Only the 335i and 335d have the double exhaust like this. 325i and 330i have a twin tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Dundalk that's a Dublin

Wicklow == South Dublin
    Meath == North Dublin
    Kildare == West Dublin