Easter Lily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,086 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Oh Jesus, not this sh*t again, discussing the merits of wearing a symbol on your lapel, now a bi-annual event.
    Some choose wear them.... others don't, just get over it already.

I'd agree with you id posters were telling each other they have to wear it or have a to avoid wearing it.

I'm interested in why people would choose one way or the other so I'm pretty happy this discussion is happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I don't think it's particularly impressive or magnanimous to wear a poppy just when you're in England.

If I felt that way about it, I'd just place some flowers at the local cenotaph on occasion throughout the year. That's not ostentatious enough for the poppy-fascist brigade, no doubt.

The poppy is a much bigger and more divisive debate than the two WW's.

Well have never seen the poppy on sale here, so that's one reason for not wearing here, plus even if it was, I would certainly expect a reaction from people thinking I was celebrating a foreign army.

Saying that though, sligos war memorial does have poppy wreaths placed in it, without any distruction to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭fed up sick and tired

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Well have never seen the poppy on sale here, so that's one reason for not wearing here, plus even if it was, I would certainly expect a reaction from people thinking I was celebrating a foreign army.

Saying that though, sligos war memorial does have poppy wreaths placed in it, without any distruction to them.

For one reason or another, a lot of stuff that was unthinkable here a couple of decades ago has become normalised both on the political level and cultural level. Stuff like the funerals of Ian Malone and Robbie McKibben are probably an unfortunate litmus test of that.

As I say though, even in Britain the poppy is contentious. Much more than in my time there, there is now a kind of media-driven pressure to wear your poppy with pride. Jingoistic drivel of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    You'd get no reaction at all until you mentioned you were wearing it on an Internet forum where there'd be an army of people to tell you how awful it is to commemorate irish people using violence to achieve their ends unless they were fighting for the British Empire when it suddenly becomes OK. They were probably giving it all "we love you Madiba!" when Mandela died too.

Must be peculiar to feel like everyone on Earth should have the right to self determination except your own people.
    Very well put.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Do other countries that won their independence by way of insurrection against a colonist have this bizarre embarrassment about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Do other countries that won their independence by way of insurrection against a colonist have this bizarre embarrassment about it?

Just get over it. We need some one to oppress us. Now that the catholic church is losing it's strangle hold, I am looking forward to the imminent arrival of IS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

galljga1 wrote: »
    Just get over it. We need some one to oppress us. Now that the catholic church is losing it's strangle hold, I am looking forward to the imminent arrival of IS.

Or the ECB/ Germans :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Or the ECB/ Germans :rolleyes:

Ah yes, forgot about that. Feel better now. Hopefully it won't be 800 years.

galljga1 wrote: »
    Ah yes, forgot about that. Feel better now. Hopefully it won't be 800 years.

Though being honest there nearly as bad....at least British governments are responsible/accountable to electorate....the ECB accounts to Noone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭Full Marx

I always wear one at Easter time to remember 1916 and all those who fought and died for Irish freedom. Only hassle I've ever had is from a young power-tripping Garda a number of years ago who threatened me with arrest for selling them in pubs without a permit. (I did not need a permit)

Most frequent comment I get about it is people asking where they can buy one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Though being honest there nearly as bad....at least British governments are responsible/accountable to electorate....the ECB accounts to Noone

How dare they lend us money. The dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

It looks really enlightened and better than the plebs y'see.

How dare they lend us money. The dogs.

How dare an unelected unaccountable body dictate to countries what to do??

How anyone can call themselves believers in democracy and agree with that is quite a blind spot in them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Very fond of the ould lily, it winds up all the right people too, which is nice bonus

I wish there was some type of flower we could wear to remember the german fallen from both world wars, maybe some edelweiss or something

Bambi wrote: »
    Very fond of the ould lily, it winds up all the right people too, which is nice bonus

g

Despicable reason to wear it imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

The U.S. is very shy about July 4th. And the Boston tea party.

You will probably need to google both those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Bambi wrote: »

I wish there was some type of flower we could wear to remember the german fallen from both world wars, maybe some edelweiss or something

Ahhh no. We couldn't go round remembering some Empire mad shower of racists. That'd be mad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I wear a mint humbug to commemorate the owners of the sweetie shop which had its windows put in and then looted by the citizens on O Connel St who couldn't be arsed to listen to the proclamation being read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Berserker wrote: »
    Never seen a lily on sale, never worn one and never would. Totally disapprove of what it stands for. If others want to wear one then let them do so.

Quite right old boy.

It's just appalling that anybody would choose to leave the glorious racist Empire. And the violence!

Shocking stuff. Why just a few years later the n-words were looking for independence in equally violent fashion. Showed them a thing or two in Keyna, though! What!What!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

Never try to teach a pig to sing, It wastes your time and it annoys the pig.

Quite right old boy.

It's just appalling that anybody would choose to leave the glorious racist Empire. And the violence!

Shocking stuff. Why just a few years later the n-words were looking for independence in equally violent fashion. Showed them a thing or two in Keyna, though! What!What!

Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, but burn down his village and shoot a few of his neighbours and he'll do what he's bloody well told, eh? what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The U.S. is very shy about July 4th.
    No they're not. Fireworks & parades everywhere. Every MLB game seems to have jet fighters overhead.

....think ye missed the sarcasm tags there......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

He hopped the ball....and you jumped ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Notorious97

Whoosh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

The U.S. is very shy about July 4th. And the Boston tea party.

You will probably need to google both those.

Apparently the French have something called bastille day,they too keep that one very hush hush...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

OK, I get it now. I get sarcasm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭afro man

kneemos wrote: »
    Never in my life seen an Easter Lily.
    Poppy wins.

here you go kneemos :D220px-Metal_Easter_Lily.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Despicable reason to wear it imo

Think of it as a happy side effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

afro man wrote: »
    here you go kneemos :D220px-Metal_Easter_Lily.jpg

That's the one I wear.Notice that the shinners wear a large flimsy paper one?That's because they are the ones they sell.They do sell,or used to sell the metal ones but they obviously have to pay someone else to make them,so they always push the paper one with the safety pin.