Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

This day off in the middle of the week malarkey has me all befuddled. I keep thinking today is my rest day!

Monday - Actual Rest Day.
    Still a bit of DOMS going on from the descent off Brockagh on Saturday.

Tuesday – 5K effort intervals
    Had a very short window to get these done so stayed close to home and ran these off-road on in the park. Did these purely by effort and tried to keep as relaxed as possible. No clue as to pace or distance for the intervals. Strava didn’t have any kind words or stats after the fact (sometimes it throws in a random Well Done! or Keep It Up! or awards me a trophy for 400m). But no such praise today and I suspect I did not deserve any.
    • 5.3 miles incl 5 x 4 mins @ 5K effort (3 mins rec) 47:00

Wednesday – Perceived but not Actual Rest Day:o
    I’ll have to set the alarm on the phone to remind me to go do stuff this evening:rolleyes:

Wednesday

Really didn’t feel like Strength & Conditioning tonight and was contemplating picking up some popcorn and heading to the cinema instead. Maybe one day I will :D Did Pilates, gym with some foam rolling and Body Balance, sandwiched between 2 runs, one easy, the other recovery. Saw the most spectacular sunset in Clontarf during the first run. Ya wouldn’t get that in the cinema!
    • 5.5 miles total (50:00)

Thursday – Hill Sprints

Was early so got a lap done then met Annapr, fresh from her 10K PB, for another one through the misty Fairview highlands. Fog didn’t lift at all so it was fairly chilly (during the recoveries anyway). We did 8 reps, whoop whoop, which I think is the max number Pete Magill recommends (for 5K training anyway). Done and dusted in plenty of time for work.
    • 3.3 miles including 8 x 8 sec hill reps off 3 mins

4 or 5 easy miles tomorrow with strides as prep for the last XC of the season on Saturday. Then a nice long run off-road on Sunday.

Friday

Booked an emergency* trip to the physio who was able to fit me in this morning. Everything that had been niggling started seizing up last night and I was terrified it was something to do with my back. Did some foam rolling and tennis-ball antics and it eased up, but just didn’t feel confident that I would be able for XC on Saturday unless I got a proper treatment. So, of course, I went for my run first thing this morning figuring in for a penny….:rolleyes:....guessing it wouldn’t get any worse and if it did, well wasn’t I going to the physio anyway. Perfectly logical :D. The run was fine, a bit heavy going compared to normal but happy to bank the miles.

Physio worked on my quadratus lumborums (me wha’ ?), glutes and quads and all’s well again. Always a relief to know it’s not the discs. Should be good to go in the morning. I’ve decided to take a few days of complete rest after Dunboyne 4 anyway and then I’ll have 4/4.5 weeks before my goal 5K on the May Bank Holiday.
    • 4.2 miles on grass (38:30)

*not a emergency except in my world :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Friday

Booked an emergency* trip to the physio who was able to fit me in this morning. Everything that had been niggling started seizing up last night and I was terrified it was something to do with my back. Did some foam rolling and tennis-ball antics and it eased up, but just didn’t feel confident that I would be able for XC on Saturday unless I got a proper treatment. So, of course, I went for my run first thing this morning figuring in for a penny….:rolleyes:....guessing it wouldn’t get any worse and if it did, well wasn’t I going to the physio anyway. Perfectly logical :D. The run was fine, a bit heavy going compared to normal but happy to bank the miles.

Physio worked on my quadratus lumborums (me wha’ ?), glutes and quads and all’s well again. Always a relief to know it’s not the discs. Should be good to go in the morning. I’ve decided to take a few days of complete rest after Dunboyne 4 anyway and then I’ll have 4/4.5 weeks before my goal 5K on the May Bank Holiday.
    • 4.2 miles on grass (38:30)

*not a emergency except in my world :rolleyes:

I hope it wasn't that 8th hill sprint that tipped you over the edge! Hope you'll be ok for tomorrow, then take it easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

I think that, along with ososlo, you are really in tune with your body and do all the necessary 'stuff' to prevent injury...so glad to see you'll be pulling back soon for a little whole. Sounds like between hill sprints, run, xc and lsr Sunday, three of those four days are stress-inducing days....a race stresses all systems so don't be pushing yourself Sunday, hear?! ;) Your body needs to stay in recovery mode to get the full benefit of Saturday. Lecture over ;)

annapr wrote: »
    I hope it wasn't that 8th hill sprint that tipped you over the edge! Hope you'll be ok for tomorrow, then take it easy!

That's was the one that did it all right ;)

Actually the physio wasn't 100% sure of the cause but she's sure it's nothing sinister so it's all good. I think once the racing schedule calms down I'll be better able to practise the hard/easy/hard easy rule!
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    I think that, along with ososlo, you are really in tune with your body and do all the necessary 'stuff' to prevent injury...so glad to see you'll be pulling back soon for a little whole. Sounds like between hill sprints, run, xc and lsr Sunday, three of those four days are stress-inducing days....a race stresses all systems so don't be pushing yourself Sunday, hear?! ;) Your body needs to stay in recovery mode to get the full benefit of Saturday. Lecture over ;)

Thanks DG, and not a lecture at all, makes perfect sense. I'll stay off-road on Sunday and take time to smell the roses :) Then next week will be a mini taper for Dunboyne and after that it'll be R&R central chez Bungy.

I'm sitting on an ice pack as I type, fully appreciating the absurdity of it all. But I guess it's just what we runners do.

Good luck tomorrow... But if you are going to follow your own good advice to yourself... Shouldn't Sunday be a very easy/recovery run, not too long??? 50 mins or so at recovery pace?

Can we compromise on 70 mins :o:o ?

I'm going to keep it off-road and easy on Sunday. Depending on how I feel after tomorrow (it's only 2 miles, normally there's no after effects at all) I'll keep the duration sensible. If I'm in bits or sore I'll take a rest day. I swear I won't be a numpty about it :D.

Kick ass today BG ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Good luck!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

+1 for the good luck wishes!

Saturday – BHAA XC Maynooth (2 miles)

XC race #12 of the season today and the last one. This time last year I was a bit weary of all the cold, wet and muck but at the moment I feel like starting a campaign for year round XC: short, sharp, competitive and varied races – what’s not to love ?

Today’s race didn’t go spectacularly well or anything, I ran a decent enough race but I need to work on my sprint finish :(. I just really enjoyed it and don’t get the same buzz from road racing so it’ll be a long wait until October. I hope I remember to clean my spikes between now and then :rolleyes:

BHAA website seems to be down all day so I’ve no confirmed stats. Hoping to have placed in the winter league though (which I should point out is more about attendance than performance :o) and think I snuck into the top 20 today.
    • 2 miles XC + 2 miles w/up + drills + 1 mile c/down

We'll done BG :) how bout we take you out on the rainiest days across the muddiest trails as a substitute fix til October? We'll support from the comfort of the car park ;)

Will there be flapjacks ??

you've been enjoying those long runs so much, I can see you would really enjoy a HM race... we'll arrange flapjacks ;)

Sunday

Having spent most of the day sitting in a sandpit in the playground in Malahide I couldn’t wait to get out for my run. The original plan was for 90 mins off-road but a combination of sense, fading daylight and the grief I knew I would get on here for over-doing it (you know who yis are ;)) meant I just did two laps of St.Anne’s. The trails have really dried up over the last few weeks, my runners ended up cleaner at the end than they were starting out. This made for easy running on a fab evening. So tempted to do another 20 mins but ultimately sense won out. See, I do listen! :D
    • 8 miles (70:00) on trail
    TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 31

Mini taper next week for Dunboyne followed by a complete rest from running for probably 4 days after that.

Sssh don't wake her, she's sleeping.....

Seriously, how's the taper going? Wallowing in taper madness yet?* Or should I not even be in here, reminding you that you are a runner :o;)

*expect lots of back niggles....

Sssh don't wake her, she's sleeping.....

Seriously, how's the taper going? Wallowing in taper madness yet?* Or should I not even be in here, reminding you that you are a runner :o;)

*expect lots of back niggles....

It's Wednesday, I'm awake and wired to the moon after my S&C extravaganza. 'Tis only a mini taper....be grand :D Actually had a lovely run this evening before pilates and resisted the urge to run home for the double even thought it was peeing rain. Totally got this ;)

...and then there's the Fartlek plan for tomorrow!!!! You really know how to taper... :D

Ssssshhhhhh!

Monday
    My dentist cancelled on me, the osteopath can’t see me for another 3 weeks after my appointment was ‘misplaced’ AND I handed over the equivalent of at least 4 pairs of new runners to a consultant who was very nice but I’m none the wiser. Not happy with the medical profession today.

Physical Therapy session = torture

0 miles, €255 on the credit card

Tuesday
    According to ‘the plan’ this should’ve been 5K intervals but after physio (scheduled this time, rather than emergency) the previous night and with a nod to my mini taper I thought it wise to give it a miss. So just did a few easy miles before and after an evening appointment and was home for storytime :).
    • 3 miles total (28:30)

Wednesday
    Even though it was cold and grey this evening I had a fab run along the coast before Pilates. Legs felt good, back is mending and even the fact that the wind was in my face out AND back didn’t wreck my buzz.
    I changed a few things in the gym in an effort to eliminate whatever is causing my QL’s to overfire. (It’s improving with stretching but I wouldn’t mind getting to the root cause of it). So I ditched the side lying leg raises, the oblique crunches, the seated row and the lat pull down and replaced them with standing side bends, bicycle crunches, lunges and some cat stretches. Body balance was ok but I wish they’d change the routine already! It’s been the same for months and I’m pretty sure we could all teach the class at this stage.
    • 30:00 (3.6 miles)

Thursday – Fartlek

I’m in an awesome mood after this session! Pete Magill, my new BFF, recommends introducing faster than (5K) race pace work in the weeks before race day. With 5 weeks to go until Tallaght (must enter!), it’s timely enough as I’ve been feeling that I’ve lost a bit of my ‘kick’ when it comes to the XC races. Pete (yes we are on a first name basis now) suggests 8-10 bursts of 30-90 seconds duration at 3K effort with equal recoveries. I decided to keep the bursts short enough in a pyramid form (30/40/50/60/70/60/50/40/30) and was surprised how quickly the time passed even though it’s only 7 minutes of faster running. The effort was simple to determine, I just imagined I was in a XC race, chasing down my nemesis :D
    • 4 and a bit miles incl. 9 x fartlek bursts 30-70 secs (equal recoveries) on grass. 37:00

Is it tomorrow? Best of luck! Not that I am wishing you pain, but do your Tunguska homework tonight ;)

Friday
    Pilates first thing following by a short long run (see, I am totally on top of this tapering lark). Headed to the Phoenix Park because I haven’t run here in ages apart from the occasional race. It actually reminds me of training for long races *shudder* which may be why I’ve been avoiding it. These days I’m a lot more familiar with the zoo, the playground, and the location of the best ducks than I am with the trails. I parked at the Visitors Centre with vague hopes of grabbing lunch there afterwards (by myself, alone, in peace…..) but by the time I’d finished my run the place was jammers and I never would’ve made it back in time to collect Junior.
    I picked up a trail just beside the moat surrounding the Centre and decided to see where it led and it was only when I ended up at the bottom of Kyber Road staring vertically up at the Magazine Fort that I realised the flaw in this strategy. Jeez that is some climb! :eek: Took in most of the Novices/BHAA xc route with all its ups and downs and then back across the Kyber to the other side on to what I think is the Dublin City Triathlon run route. Then kept on the flat up towards the Castleknock Gate and back down to the Visitors Centre. Still had some minutes to go so did mini loops OCD-style to get to the even 60 before heading home.
    • 60:00 (6.5 miles) on trail. Not flat.

Saturday
    Had an epic lie on until 10 a.m. and the rare luxury of an empty house for another couple of hours. Didn’t get out for a run until 5 or thereabouts though. Back feels good, a lot less twinges than of late so the stretches must be working. The park was deserted, fair enough I suppose given the weather, so there was the added bonus of not being challenged to a race by a teenager during the strides. Yes that has happened. No I didn’t win. And yes I should know better.
    • 3.5 miles incl 6 x GAA pitch strides (31:00 moving time)

Is it tomorrow? Best of luck! Not that I am wishing you pain, but do your Tunguska homework tonight ;)

It is! Thanks, I will have another read of that and prepare accordingly. Looking forward to it, just hope this wind dies down. There will be cake at the end of it though, which is the main thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Good luck, focus on the cake!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

It is! Thanks, I will have another read of that and prepare accordingly. Looking forward to it, just hope this wind dies down. There will be cake at the end of it though, which is the main thing.

good luck tomorrow!

Best of luck in Dunboyne tomorrow... go kick ass!!! all that tapering has to pay off ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Good luck in dunboyne!