Parkrun..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,458 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Hit a feckin kerb on the way to it and got a blow out. So I'm down getting a new tyre instead of the laps. Enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

beertons wrote: »
    Hit a feckin kerb on the way to it and got a blow out. So I'm down getting a new tyre instead of the laps. Enjoy.

Bummer. I hope you are still going along for cake when you get the tyre sorted.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,458 ✭✭✭✭beertons

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Bummer. I hope you are still going along for cake when you get the tyre sorted.

No. I got thick after and drove home. I wouldn't mind, but I'd have been quicker walking there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭edisonolmy

Ran Lees Road in Ennis today. Tough course. Quite a few climbs but enjoyable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭yankinlk

Did my first volunteering to day at Clarisford...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Amigaman

Hi Mike - just put 2 and 2 together - what a great video :-) If I ever get a chance to run clarisford , I'll drop you a mail and we can hopefully meet up ...All the best , Ed McGrane ( ex of Cherrywood :-) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭CassieManson

Hi does any one know if a Park Run time can be used as a qualification time for the mini-marathon. Hoping to run the Mini Marathon as a fast jogger - so need to show that I can do 10k in 75 mins or less.

Would a park run time of 37 minutes for 5k be accepted as an indicator of the standard required for the mini marathon over 10k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Amigaman

possibly best to email times@womensminimarathon.ie and ask their thoughts on that , fell free to post their reply , I'm sure that others would find the info useful - good luck with the WMM :-)

pac_man wrote: »
    In case you didnt know, there's a website the gives you a rough estimate of what your time will be for a given race.www.mcmillanrunning.com.

So for your 5k time it estimates that you should do 10k in around 76 mins. I cant really answer weather it will be accepted as a qualifying time. Good luck with the race.

Thanks thats very useful!

Amigaman wrote: »
    possibly best to email times@womensminimarathon.ie and ask their thoughts on that , fell free to post their reply , I'm sure that others would find the info useful - good luck with the WMM :-)

Will do! Was hoping for a quicker answer here. Will post the reply I get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I know they accepted parkrun times last year. A few parkruns had sub 30 pacers to get people into the runners (sub 60) pen. So I imagine you will be ok once your times was better then 37:30.

menoscemo wrote: »
    I know they accepted parkrun times last year. A few parkruns had sub 30 pacers to get people into the runners (sub 60) pen. So I imagine you will be ok once your times was better then 37:30.

Yes as far as I remember it was actually written on the mini-marathon website last year that Park Runs would count. Cannot find any mention of it in the new (VHI sponsored) website.

I have emailed them for clarification, hopefully will be ok.

This is the reply I got to my query:

"We accept 5k times (under 30 mins) for Fast Jogging Section. For Running section the time would have to be from an 8k to 10k race."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭MarkY91

so after missing the past few weeks due to birthday nights out and being a drunken/takeaway slob lately, im going back to my parkrun and will continue midweek running too. it really DOES make you feel better inside and out. i cannot wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Yes for sure parkrun times work for some of the slower corrals again this year. I got clarification from wmm recently and meant to post it actually. Will dig it out and post it when I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

is Cabinteely still starting this coming Saturday? hope the weather is as glorious as this weekend :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Firedance wrote: »
    is Cabinteely still starting this coming Saturday? hope the weather is as glorious as this weekend :)

Garmin link to Cabinteely
    https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/726045818

Cabinteely core group have been getting super support from lots of the wonderful parkruns around Dublin and are raring to go this Saturday. We have a super team of volunteers but we will gladly welcome more help so don't be afraid to come and say hello this Saturday.

Fingers crossed we get some more of this glorious Spring sunshine:)

Marthastew - best of luck in the final preps for Saturday and wishing you every success on what I know will be a fantastic event. From all at St. Anne's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Marthastew wrote: »

Cabinteely core group have been getting super support from lots of the wonderful parkruns around Dublin and are raring to go this Saturday. We have a super team of volunteers but we will gladly welcome more help so don't be afraid to come and say hello this Saturday.

I'm gonna be up in Omagh at the hm this Saturday but certainly over the next few weeks I hope to make it down to this event. Best of luck with everything O!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭edisonolmy

Of the 3 new runs starting up this Saturday, Limavady has the most registrations. I'd imagine numbers will be lower in the 2 Dublin ones, mainly because they are quite close together. Having said that, Victoria and Ormeau in Belfast continue to go from strength to strength - both over 300 runners a couple of weeks back - and they are closer to each other than Cabinteely and Shanganagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 LiamMcC

edisonolmy wrote: »
    Of the 3 new runs starting up this Saturday, Limavady has the most registrations. I'd imagine numbers will be lower in the 2 Dublin ones, mainly because they are quite close together. Having said that, Victoria and Ormeau in Belfast continue to go from strength to strength - both over 300 runners a couple of weeks back - and they are closer to each other than Cabinteely and Shanganagh.

I think that a lot of people who will run at Cabinteely & Shanganagh are already registered at Marlay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,480 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

LiamMcC wrote: »
    I think that a lot of people who will run at Cabinteely & Shanganagh are already registered at Marlay

People thought the same about Tymon but it didn't really happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭pconn062

Was out supporting my OH who was running the Oldbridge parkrun the other day and doing my own jog as the run was happening. For anyone familiar with the Oldbridge run it is all run on grass and loops around a number of fields.

As I was jogging around I followed the course and passed a woman who was in last place, really struggling. As I went around one of the fields I seen her walk diagonally across one of the fields, cutting about 500m of the course and skipping ahead of 4 or 5 people in the process. This areas is not marshalled and I think I was probably the only one who seen her. I made my way down to the finish line and when I seen her come in the people at the finishing line obviously knew her and gave her a big cheer for getting a "new PB". She was a member of a local club and a group from said club gave her a big cheer as well.

Now I know she is only cheating herself but it really bothered me to see her pass out those honest people who completed the course. I know a parkrun is not a race but I heard that people can use their parkrun time as proof to get into the runner/jogger section at the WMM. But worst of all I just thought it went against the whole spirit of the event. Any, just thought I'd mention it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭ger664

Marthastew wrote: »

Best of luck, it will be alright on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

yankinlk wrote: »
    Did my first volunteering to day at Clarisford...

And a great job you did! I did my first run there on Saturday and it was fantastic. Got a new PB of 26,30 so was really happy with. Unfortunately, I'm doing half marathon training for the next few weeks so it doesn't line up for me to go again for another few weeks but seriously impressed by the organisation and it was a really lovely course.

This is what you can use parkrun for vis-a-vis the WMM (taken from an email sent from the organisers to me):

We are accepting the times achieved at ParkRun 5k's for Jogging and Fast Jogging Sections. The qualifying time for Jogging Section is under 40 mins and under 30 minutes for Fast Jogging Section. They have until the 11th May to forward qualifying times to times@womensminimarathon.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Got a mail regarding the cancellation of the Tralee park run tomorrow so said I'd share it in case anyone is travelling down.

"As a mark of respect to the young parkrun participant who died tragically on Thursday, Tralee parkrun will not take place tomorrow. The parents of the deceased are founder organisers of Tralee parkrun and our deepest sympathy is extended to the family.Thank you for your understanding at this time."

I think this is relating to the student who fell from the building in UCC as he has been named today and stated he's from the Tralee area.
    May he rest in peace and condolences to the family on their tragic loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Best of luck to all in the Cabinteely park run today. Lovely day for it.

See you next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Results are up for Cabinteely already

http://www.parkrun.ie/cabinteely/results/latestresults/

Nice turnout for a first run in such windy conditions and amazingly almost everyone had their barcode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

Beautiful but windy day for the inaugural Shanganagh parkrun.

I'm guessing 150 participants. Guess who collected the badge! :)

photo%2028-03-2015%2011%2048%2020.jpg?dl=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

wrstan wrote: »
    Beautiful but windy day for the inaugural Shanganagh parkrun.

I'm guessing 150 participants. Guess who collected the badge! :)

photo%2028-03-2015%2011%2048%2020.jpg?dl=0[/quote
    112 afaik. Well done Richard and team, fantastic and seamless inaugural parkrun. Can't wait to be a participant and not a spectator :)