BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Love this performance ... George really gets that you can do a Freddie tribute, without doing a Freddie impression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Skid X wrote: »
    Love this performance ... George really gets that you can do a Freddie tribute, without doing a Freddie impression.
    Ah, he makes a fair good stab at it all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Was busy commenting elsewhere how I couldn't believe this is from 1991 - can't believe Freddie is dead that long.

But it's given away by how young Elton John looks!

And how not-grey Brian May's hair is :D

Queen were fecking brilliant. So many great tunes.

Freddie might have done some amazing music if he hadn't been taken so young, but he did a huge amount while he was here.

I still remember hearing his death announced at Midnight on the old BBC Radio 5, on a Sunday Night. Only a day after he said he had AIDS. I didn't sleep well that night.

He was only 45 when he died (or thereabouts). The sheer youth of that has only penetrated my brain lately.

It's positively scary to think what might have been, musically speaking, had he lived.

He (and Queen) left some catalogue behind when he departed.

On another note entirely - what in the name of God was that last singer wearing - hotpants? :eek:

(not well up on my heavy metaller singers, so not sure which one it was)

That was your man from Guns n Roses, Axl Rose.

They would have been huge at the time.

I saw the other fella, Slash, in concert a few years ago. Amazing guitar player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Did someone say Slash?

Best ever.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Did someone say Slash?

Best ever.

Yeah, he was pure genius Donie. Best thing to ever come out of Stoke.

Apologies to Stanley Matthews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

And Phil "The Power" Taylor. :o:D;)

Been to see him a couple of times in the last year or two. Rocks as hard as ever.

Some of his stuff with the conspirators is really top quality. Love the guy.

Actually met him after the Olymia gig the year before last. My signed ticket & plectrum in a frame has pride of place in my house.

And Phil "The Power" Taylor. :o:D;)

That's a very good point, GHG!

And Lemmy from Motorhead too. And at a push, Robbie Williams. Lots for Stokies to be proud of.

Let us celebrate this unlikely Beebrock detour to Stoke with a performance by two of its favourite sons. And Dave Grohl

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Been to see him a couple of times in the last year or two. Rocks as hard as ever.

Some of his stuff with the conspirators is really top quality. Love the guy.

Actually met him after the Olymia gig the year before last. My signed ticket & plectrum in a frame has pride of place in my house.

Wow, that's a great story to tell your visitors, Donie. Lovin' your work.

It's not as good as it sounds.

I really wanted a Slash plec, but I didn't get one at the gig.

So when I met him, I handed him one I had in my pocket.

He said "Um, what am I supposed to do with this?"

I said "Nothing!" and grabbed it back!

Honestly, I was like a star struck eejit!

Bizarrely, I did meet famous Stokie Phil 'The Power' Taylor once at the Darts.

Total Gentleman, couldn't have been nicer.

I would rather have met Slash, but I take whatever's going.

If grey_so_what was here, she would tell you about meeting Nelson Mandela but I don't think he's from Stoke.

Queen were fecking brilliant. So many great tunes.

Freddie might have done some amazing music if he hadn't been taken so young, but he did a huge amount while he was here.

I still remember hearing his death announced at Midnight on the old BBC Radio 5, on a Sunday Night. Only a day after he said he had AIDS. I didn't sleep well that night.
    Had the privilege of seeing them in Slane in 1986, they were some band,live! Freddie was brilliant at getting the crowd behind him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

For those that missed it The Irish Rock Story: A Tale of Two Cities is on BBC 1 tomorrow night (Monday) at 10.45 pm and on RTE 1 on Thursday at 10.15 pm. So no excuses.

Hiya,

It's a mixed bag this weekend, the big show on Friday Night is Dexys: Nowhere is home at 10pm, a feature length documentary about Dexys Midnight Runners

That's one of those programmes which might or might not be good. Earlier we have Sounds of the Sixties at 7pm and Top of The Pops: The Story of 1980 at 9pm

The post Dexys comedown is Kings of Soul at 11.30pm which is a "documentary celebrating the male artists whose vocal stylings have played an instrumental role in the soul genre from the 60s to the 00s. Featuring footage of Brenton Wood performing Gimme Little Sign and Curtis Mayfield singing Keep On Keeping On, as well as appearances by Billy Preston, Bill Withers, Billy Ocean, Alexander O'Neal, Bobby Womack and Barry White"

At 12.30am there is another chance to see The Godmother of Rock 'n' Roll - Sister Rosetta Tharpe which was quite well received in the past.

On Saturday there is nothing much at all, at 11.50pm you can see Top of The Pops:1980 where Kid Jensen bigs up Elvis Costello and the Attractions, Marti Webb, the Vapors, Michael Jackson, Liquid Gold, the Gibson Brothers, Peter Gabriel, Stiff Little Fingers, Dave Edmunds, the Police, Rainbow, the Shadows and Blondie

That is followed by Kate Bush at the BBC and The Rolling Stones at the BBC Or you could tog out for The Rocky Horror Picture Show at 1am on Film Four

On Sunday The Strypes are on BBC 2 at 10pm at 11.35pm you can see Kenny Rogers: Cards on the Table followed by Top of The Pops: The Story of 1980 yet again RTE1 has Other Voices: An Irish Affair at 10.50pm with "James Vincent McMorrow, Lisa Hannigan and John Smith, The Frames, Little Green Cars, The Coronas, Mick Flannery, Kodaline, Villagers, The Strypes and more"

Just to drag this out a bit, a mention for Vintage TV (Sky 369 and Freesat) which has increased their music output recently. http://www.vintage.tv/tv-guide/

And Spinal Tap is on Tuesday on ITV3 at 1.35am Sure why not :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Not a big fan of Dexy's, but the documentary should be interesting - Kevin Rowland has led quite a life so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Barry White!

***dances around room***

Bizarrely, I did meet famous Stokie Phil 'The Power' Taylor once at the Darts.

Total Gentleman, couldn't have been nicer.

I would rather have met Slash, but I take whatever's going.

If grey_so_what was here, she would tell you about meeting Nelson Mandela but I don't think he's from Stoke.

:P:P:P

I'd fancy a pic of myself and The Power!!.....

**jealous**

Music doesn't get much better than this!

I taped it, looking forward to seeing it soon.

Some terrific artists on there.

It's real easy listening Skid :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Call me Al

Just heard Al Green on BBC4 with a performance on Jools Holland. The man must be in his 70s and he's pitch and note perfect. An incredible performance just like all if these guys.

Call me Al wrote: »
    Just heard Al Green on BBC4 with a performance on Books Holland. The man must be in his 70s and he's pitch and note perfect. An incredible performance just like all if these guys.

Just a great performance.

I'm a big Jools fan...

He gets it right all the time on his show...

I'm going to tape this, night night Beebs! :) gswxxx

I taped it, looking forward to seeing it soon.

Some terrific artists on there.

Taped it? Very 80s ☺️

zorro2566 wrote: »
    Taped it? Very 80s ☺️

Keeping it old School. Sky Plussed it doesn't sound right!

Well look at this.

When i got up this morning I was not expecting the day to bring my new least favourite thing ever.

Congratulations to this Liquid Gold crap.

It's the worst thing I've ever seen. Ever.