Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm OK with St Patty's Day

• 14-03-2015 4:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭

I think we all should accept it as the new name for the holiday and move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

surpy wrote: »

No.

Thank you, now on ya go.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Never.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

What?! No!! Never ever ever ever! No!

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

Get out.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I thought it was being renamed O'Greens Day in the States.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

I'd rather they moved it to the Summer

• Registered Users Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I can't really remember anyone saying St Pattys Day before people complaining about others saying it.

Sometimes it feels more annoying seeing people complain about it than any annoyance anyone seems to have been caused by it.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

In fairness...

Patrick -> Pat -> Patty

Patrick -> ??? -> Paddy

*runs*

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

To our ears an American saying Paddy or Patty sounds the same.

Watch an episode of Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

What about Pato? We could have a Pato Banton day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Its not just St. Patricks they call Patrick, Patty. Im watching an American TV show and they keep calling Patrick, Patty in it

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Depraved

Should get rid of all these religious holidays completely and just replace them with beer days. Every 2 months, a Friday and the following Monday should be public 'get pissed' holidays.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

What about Peppermint Patty? She was a girl.

I hate St Patrick's Day

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

For me it always has been, and always will be, Paddy's Day.

• Registered Users Posts: 31,826 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Omackeral wrote: »
    In fairness...

Patrick -> Pat -> Patty

Patrick -> ??? -> Paddy

*runs*

Patricia - Patty - Pat

Patrick (Padraig) - Paddy (Paudi).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Id rather St.Patsys day.

Might catch on.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,257 ✭✭✭✭endacl

mad muffin wrote: »
    For me it always has been, and always will be, Paddy's Day.

I've never been an American. For me it'll always be March 17th. This year, I shall refer to it as 'next Tuesday'.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I don't know why people get riled by it, they get patty out of Patrick where we get paddy out of Padraig. I imagine this developed because immigrants didn't use the Irish version of the name over there.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

It's Paddy's Day. I'll correct people over here who say Patty's but I don't get all sh*tty about it. It's not even a holiday here, so the fact they acknowledge it is pretty cool. That goes for the rest of the world too.

I'm in Arizona and they have more on for the day than we had back in Galway

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

It just sounds so silly! I'll never accept it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭surpy

Great to see some sensible people are still out there.

It's a day to get drunk and be advertised to repeatedly by ATA security.

A bit of change can be good. Maybe both names can co-exist somehow

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭liz lemoncello

Wompa1 wrote: »
    It's Paddy's Day. I'll correct people over here who say Patty's but I don't get all sh*tty about it.

Can you actually hear the difference in the pronunciation or are you talking about seeing it written?

• Registered Users Posts: 41,017 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

It's Paddy's day

But why are we discussing this now when Paddy's day isn't for another three more days?

Except in Atlanta, they are celebrating Paddy's today and have their parade today with Enda Kenny as grand marshall. They do everything arseways over there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Celebrating the day in a secular fashion was started in the USA, so we should acknowledge that by using their naming system.

St Patty's Day it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Can you actually hear the difference in the pronunciation or are you talking about seeing it written?

Written! You're right, you can't hear the difference when they say it because they pronounce t's differently to us. They don't say them as hard as us

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

KatW4 wrote: »
    It just sounds so silly! I'll never accept it.

Exactly.

Patty is short for Patricia. Paddy is short for Padrick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

No, I think everyone excepts it's time for you to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭surpy

But why are we discussing this now when Paddy's day isn't for another three more days?

Giving out about it is "going viral" so i thought I'd stage this little sit on boards.ie in protest. I'll be here all the way up to the big day supporting all progressive Patty's day fans