Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Cow that calved yesterday evening down with milk fever this morning. Two bottles into the vein and thankfully she was up in five minutes. I need a kick in the hole though. She's a good cow but inclined to be troublesome around calving.

Mornings like this the wholecrop comes into it's own. I threw a strong buffer feed into the feeder before milking. The buffer is just finished now as the rain is stopping. They'll mosy off now and won't miss a beat performance wise or plough any paddock. If there was only grass silage available they'd be blowing for road straightaway or if they were made stay in and eat it performance would suffer big time. It's a good feed when fully housed but on the shoulders of the season it's very valuable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

Cow that calved yesterday evening down with milk fever this morning. Two bottles into the vein and thankfully she was up in five minutes. I need a kick in the hole though. She's a good cow but inclined to be troublesome around calving.

Mornings like this the wholecrop comes into it's own. I threw a strong buffer feed into the feeder before milking. The buffer is just finished now as the rain is stopping. They'll mosy off now and won't miss a beat performance wise or plough any paddock. If there was only grass silage available they'd be blowing for road straightaway or if they were made stay in and eat it performance would suffer big time. It's a good feed when fully housed but on the shoulders of the season it's very valuable.

Have you used maize as a buffer? How do they compare, giving up on maize this year as stocking rate dropping for a bit due to extra land so have plenty forage and more so cos it's working out well over 55 a tone and waste on top of that, doing diets this year and it was same cost to include maize or just add barley, wheat, maize meal blend to mix, extra soya in maize mix was killing it to even bring it to 14% crude protein , way I see it now is your just paying for the feed before the winter vs paying through the winter by adding barley wheat and maize meal. (where are prices for these heading though)

Opened maize when they went to grass to buffer but wonder if I didn't have it would dry silage and something like soya hulls and barley do the trick?? Maize just costing too much at this stage and doing extremely well to get 18-20 ton crop

Crows are the real nuisance in a yard tho, **** made of grass silage pit here cos they think it's maize underneath after netting the maize pit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Cow Porter wrote: »
    Have you used maize as a buffer? How do they compare, giving up on maize this year as stocking rate dropping for a bit due to extra land so have plenty forage and more so cos it's working out well over 55 a tone and waste on top of that, doing diets this year and it was same cost to include maize or just add barley, wheat, maize meal blend to mix, extra soya in maize mix was killing it to even bring it to 14% crude protein , way I see it now is your just paying for the feed before the winter vs paying through the winter by adding barley wheat and maize meal. (where are prices for these heading though)

Opened maize when they went to grass to buffer but wonder if I didn't have it would dry silage and something like soya hulls and barley do the trick?? Maize just costing too much at this stage and doing extremely well to get 18-20 ton crop

Crows are the real nuisance in a yard tho, **** made of grass silage pit here cos they think it's maize underneath after netting the maize pit
    Cows usually go out here fairly quick full time most yrs.
    will have to change tack next yr more cows.
    will more than likely have to stay in at night for a good while.
    I'll hopefully have a good bank of quality silage and just feed that.
    can't afford to buy or grow maize :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Agree with u on wholecrop ,perfect foil for grass I think maby maize might be better but more expensive .mixing mine with hi quality wraps and cows fully content with neglible drop off in production during stages of poor weather and on/off grazing

G

We can't grow maize, soil too light, too high and coastal wind too harsh on it. Wholecrop works much better for us. Decent crop even in a wet year and therefore much cheaper to grow. Feed a lot of rapeseed rather than soya. I think soya inclusion was no higher than .5kg this winter. Took it out of the blend as soon as there was a decent amount of grass in the diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Cows usually go out here fairly quick full time most yrs.
    will have to change tack next yr more cows.
    will more than likely have to stay in at night for a good while.
    I'll hopefully have a good bank of quality silage and just feed that.
    can't afford to buy or grow maize :D:D

Look at wholecrop gg considering where u are and one cruical bit of advice don't go loading on a heap of cows just to say your carrying extra nos.from what we can gather u need more slurry storage,cubicles milk tank etc.chasing nos is a dangerous game a bit more dangerous than chasing production if u ask me.with ur sr moving up you'll need space to buffer cows and space for drys to accommodate poor spells of weather early and late in year.slow steady growth is my advice and sort above issues along way.if you've lots of stock u could offload some to part finance it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭Cow Porter

How much a ton is wholecrop worth and how much a ton would you grow it for given all work contract out.

http://www.teagasc.ie/calc/FeedStuffs.asp

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Look at wholecrop gg considering where u are and one cruical bit of advice don't go loading on a heap of cows just to say your carrying extra nos.from what we can gather u need more slurry storage,cubicles milk tank etc.chasing nos is a dangerous game a bit more dangerous than chasing production if u ask me.with ur sr moving up you'll need space to buffer cows and space for drys to accommodate poor spells of weather early and late in year.slow steady growth is my advice and sort above issues along way.if you've lots of stock u could offload some to part finance it
    No your right but tbh I'm not chasing numbers things are just free wheeling 110 to serve this yr between spring and autumn I could go and not serve a few cows that are getting old or that are getting wrecked looking that would cut a few out of it alright
    Myself dad and advisor were chatting this morning and a big lagoon sounds like best option.
    60 cubicles in shed across from it- we can do them ourselves easy enough. And put rest in when ever. Loads of shed space here for dry cows.

Tbh I'd prefer sort that first than a parlour.

How much a ton is wholecrop worth and how much a ton would you grow it for given all work contract out.

http://www.teagasc.ie/calc/FeedStuffs.asp

According to the link you posted it's the same value as maize. I think good maize is a better feed but we can't get it consistently. Wholecrop works better for us year in and year out. Fully contract grown a four tonne crop will cost you around 130 per tonne of grain combined. You can make your own adjustments for forager. We find you can push a wholecrop field harder as lodging and getting it ripe are not as critical. Tonnes go up for little extra cost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

No manure out here due to weather and busy and starting to panic. Lads that have it out are ye getting a response

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

No your right but tbh I'm not chasing numbers things are just free wheeling 110 to serve this yr between spring and autumn I could go and not serve a few cows that are getting old or that are getting wrecked looking that would cut a few out of it alright
    Myself dad and advisor were chatting this morning and a big lagoon sounds like best option.
    60 cubicles in shed across from it- we can do them ourselves easy enough. And put rest in when ever. Loads of shed space here for dry cows.

Tbh I'd prefer sort that first than a parlour.

Did it that way myself, and when I had the parlour sorted I said I should have done the parlour first. Seemed a bit like why a lunatic keeps banging his head against the wall, for the intense relief he gets when he stops.:D

keep going wrote: »
    No manure out here due to weather and busy and starting to panic. Lads that have it out are ye getting a response

Grass only starting now I reckon. Have much ed grazed?
    500 on first 3 paddocks I grazed

Did it that way myself, and when I had the parlour sorted I said I should have done the parlour first. Seemed a bit like why a lunatic keeps banging his head against the wall, for the intense relief he gets when he stops.:D

Parlour here is only 10 yr old ready for 12 but only 6 in its grand to milk in it'd Be a different storey if it was a 30 yr old dark damp old 6 unit in a little shed
    uncle tells me I should be putting in 18 while I'm at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭KCTK

keep going wrote: »

Can definitely see a response now from urea spread about a month ago, all field have a good green colour and growth definitely coming along, of course paddocks that got slurry after grazing before the weather went to sh!t down here are really motoring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

When will ya hit the 110? That's 19 rows in a 6 unit, doable with hired milkers but if you do all the milking yourself you'll have no life.

Timmaay wrote: »
    When will ya hit the 110? That's 19 rows in a 6 unit, doable with hired milkers but if you do all the milking yourself you'll have no life.

Doubt I'll milk 110 next yr if I milk 90-95 ill be doing well.
    Id stick it for a yr
    it'll be a decision between slurry storage and some cubicles or the parlour.
    I want slurry storage and some cubicles dad is more inclined to go for parlour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,791 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

water is all leaking out of the bottom of the water heater i have in dairy, its not that old and only put a new element in it before christmas:mad: what water heater do ye use?

whelan2 wrote: »
    water is all leaking out of the bottom of the water heater i have in dairy, its not that old and only put a new element in it before christmas:mad: what water heater do ye use?

We got a stainless last year. Can take a pressurised feed. Pricey enough but should last. Bil goes for cheap and nasty and hopes to get two years out of them. I'll check make later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Grass only starting now I reckon. Have much ed grazed?
    500 on first 3 paddocks I grazed
    Currently at 24%grazed , would be in alot of trouble only for fodder beet to graze which is doingv2 jobs its streching the grass and its keeping great condition on the girls.
    Was thinking of going at bag tomorr but with forcast im thinking of going out with the tank instead might cover less ground but less risky I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Doubt I'll milk 110 next yr if I milk 90-95 ill be doing well.
    Id stick it for a yr
    it'll be a decision between slurry storage and some cubicles or the parlour.
    I want slurry storage and some cubicles dad is more inclined to go for parlour

15/16 rows so, if it was say you the am your dad at night perfectly fine but if your always in the pit like me, give the parlour a 2nd thought ha. Barebones frazz style will do fine ha.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Timmaay wrote: »
    15/16 rows so, if it was say you the am your dad at night perfectly fine but if your always in the pit like me, give the parlour a 2nd thought ha. Barebones frazz style will do fine ha.

I'd agree with that, if the pit and stall work is there for another 6, then for the sake of a few quid I'd throw them in straightaway. It won't break the bank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

The one bit of money I don't regret spending is the parlour. I'm in there twice a day for the bones of three hours in total and that's long enough for me.

I have some chance of a life besides being stuck in a pit for 6 hours a day with 7 units.

You won't regret it, gg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,992 ✭✭✭Markcheese

whelan2 wrote: »

Get your water tested - and find out what it reacts with - (high iron content will rot a copper cylinder - high copper will rot an iron one- clorites will rot stainless ect ect)
    , no point sticking a really good heater in and it lasting no time -

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

I'd agree with that, if the pit and stall work is there for another 6, then for the sake of a few quid I'd throw them in straightaway. It won't break the bank

Can't be added on to. Pipes are too small as well as pump. If they weren't I'd push it up no problem but it has to be a whole new job.
    27k 2 yrs ago when we priced it feeders nit Inc in that.
    I'll be putting 13 through it this yr.
    grant is there too which has to be used by august

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Can't be added on to. Pipes are too small as well as pump. If they weren't I'd push it up no problem but it has to be a whole new job.
    27k 2 yrs ago when we priced it feeders nit Inc in that.
    I'll be putting 13 through it this yr.
    grant is there too which has to be used by august

Stay going with what you have. Get compliant, get boots on the ground and get cash flowing. Get a local young lad to do Sun pm milking €50, he'll be delighted and you'll get out of the place from 8am sun am till 6 on Mon am.

Lifestyle is some thing you can only consider when you can afford it. Lifestyle can be very expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭stanflt

Stay going with what you have. Get compliant, get boots on the ground and get cash flowing. Get a local young lad to do Sun pm milking €50, he'll be delighted and you'll get out of the place from 8am sun am till 6 on Mon am.

Lifestyle is some thing you can only consider when you can afford it. Lifestyle can be very expensive.

ill be putting 150 through 10units here this year and maybe up to 200next

parlour is 3years away-if milk price stays above 32c this year i might start the shed next year as i can afford it

relief lad is a better option than spending 250k at the moment imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Two heifers aborted last night.
    Both were about six months incalf.

Lifestyle can be very expensive.

Very true.

Having said that I'd give anything to be in Cheltenham.....!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Dawggone wrote: »
    Very true.

Having said that I'd give anything to be in Cheltenham.....!! :)

I have no knowledge or interest in horses..... but in Cheltenham I am. ;) there is a difference between lifestyle and having a life.

Lucky man!!
    Fire on plenty cash on Faugheen and you'll be grand for spends for the week.