Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

KatW4 wrote: »
    Am itchy nose. Grrrrrrrr

You're going to have a fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,813 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My gym isn't cheap but I go there because it's near my house, quiet, the equipment is top notch and people are friendly but keep to themselves. Perfect for me.

This morning, I was doing my warmup stretches and some guy comes over, gives me his phone and says "could you do me a favour? I need progress pics". I was still half asleep but said no problem. He proceeds to whip off his t-shirt in the middle of the gym, faces me and flexes. He said "make sure you get it all in there". I said it was done, but he turns to the side and flexes again. I sigh, take a pic and think it's over. He then faces away from me, flexes, so I take another pic. he said "one more from the front", so I take yet one.

Handed him his phone back. I thought it was over, but he then says "thanks a million man, you're the best", and extends his hand. I went to shake it back, but he quickly turns it into a bro handshake and half hug, still with his top off. I hadn't even begun to work up a sweat and I was already able to smell someone else's sweat on my clothes :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭davidk1394

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    I eat beef, and dairy products, and would probably try veal if the opportunity arose, however I doubt very much that cows are all that happy happy with the situation.

Well some of them may get a bit upset and try kill you but most are fairly content

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Well some of them may get a bit upset and try kill you but most are fairly content

How do you know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

My gym isn't cheap but I go there because it's
    Handed him his phone back. I thought it was over, but he then says "thanks a million man, you're the best", and extends his hand. I went to shake it back, but he quickly turns it into a bro handshake and half hug, still with his top off. I hadn't even begun to work up a sweat and I was already able to smell someone else's sweat on my clothes :mad:

I wouldn't object to a hot sweaty man giving me a hug ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

It's quiet simple really, he has the hots for ya, and I bet he will be there tomorrow.....;)

Yup...oldest trick in the book :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

The cows are grand and happy on grass and the cow and calf never built a bond so neither of them miss each other anyway and also most of the calves live till 24 months so they do

So many things with this post.
    1. Cows do form bonds with their calves and can tell their calves from all the others.
    2. When calves are weaned they certainly do miss each other.
    3. We had a cow who delivered a stillborn calf, and my dad moved it away on a transport box. For days, she wandered around looking for Her calf, and kept sniffing at the transport box because she could obviously smell it.
    4. Cows are so intelligent, and incredibly kind and gentle. That same cow that lost her baby, we had her for 14 years and she thought that I was her calf too. She got really really attached to me and could both give kisses (nose would touch my face, sometimes she'd lick my face) and hugs (her head on my shoulder, my arms around her neck). They are capable of emotion. Jealously, being lonely, being frightened, being sad.

It's not right people killing them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

Call the guards. What an asshole.
    That is the one thing that would get me out on the street shouting my head off. Pure ignorance. What if you had an emergency?

Do you know what lads if I was to fight with and call the guards everytime it happens, I think I would be fighting with everyone, it happens so often.

When I knock on doors I get "oh cant you get out I didn't realise" I feel like saying "yes I would have to drive thru your ****ing car" I suppose I will have to go knocking again in a little while. Totally pissed off!

Considering the closest I get to a cow, is when I buy a pound of mince, I think I am safe enough:D

I eat beef, and dairy products, and would probably try veal if the opportunity arose, however I doubt very much that cows are all that happy happy with the situation.

Recently had a meal cooked for me by a Japanese girl. At the start, I asked "what's the Japanese for bon appetit?". I explained it's something you say before a meal. She then says something that to me, sounds more like the Japanese equivalent of grace before meal rather than bon appetit. She then dissects it piece by piece to translate it for me; "<blablabla> means you thank the farmers for providing you with the vegetables. <blablabla> means you thank the animal for giving you their meat".

Jaysus, I don't think they would have the opportunity to say "you're welcome"! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭davidk1394

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    How do you know

Cause i have them

4. She got really really attached to me and could both give kisses (nose would touch my face, sometimes she'd lick my face) and hugs (her head on my shoulder, my arms around her neck). They are capable of emotion. Jealously, being lonely, being frightened, being sad.

Ah Lexie that's adorable. I'm nearly crying. I love animals that's why I'm vegetarian.

I was a vegetarian for 7 years, then I got really sick and needed to eat meat, but lately I've been really feeling like giving it up again. Lexie's post just made me feel that even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,201 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Possibly not "The Hots" per sé, but this "Bromance" bullhockey properly annoys me. What is it with sixteen-stone grown men acting like teenage girls (these days, with beards!)?? As far as I'm concerned the authorised way of expressing camaraderie and/or affection for a fellow-Bloke is after he's converted a hard-won try the getting of which will probably confine him to a wheelchair and he's fighting back tears of pure agony - the hands are placed on the hips, a good hawk spat on the turf, a quick stare into the middle-distance followed by a remark like "Daycent. Well-hoofed, chief!" before trotting nonchalantly back to your own half.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

People actually take pics of themselves in the gym these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Boom_Bap wrote: »

#gymselfie :pac:

Or they get me to take them instead :(

I dont judge anyone for eating meat but I physically couldn't stomach beef purely because i grew up on a farm, and made friends with so many calves and cows, and theyd trust you, they'd come running over in the field, nuzzling at me for food and attention, they'd trust you so much never to hurt them -- and then you allow them to be killed, and the worst part is -- it's your fault they don't even see it coming. I think it's more about me personally betraying them than them being killed. Like leading them to their death :( what's that about keeping your enemies closer than your friends

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I had 3 different types of animal on my pizza last night.

Cause i have them

Still doesn't mean you know.

I was a vegetarian for 7 years, then I got really sick and needed to eat meat, but lately I've been really feeling like giving it up again. Lexie's post just made me feel that even more.

I was too. Had my parents hearts broken 'cause I didn't eat veg either lol. I tend to stick with organic, free range and can see myself giving it up completely at some stage. I also dont eat it every day as I don't think we need to. If we only ate it once or twice a week we could afford to produce meat more sustainably and ethically, rather than being flesh guzzling hyper consumers eating low grade, intensely farmed cráp. I dont judge people who eat meat but I do challenge those who claim the animals are all happy and that they are living some kind of one track amoeboid existence, incapable of fear or sadness.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Possibly not "The Hots" per sé, but this "Bromance" bullhockey properly annoys me. What is it with sixteen-stone grown men acting like teenage girls (these days, with beards!)?? As far as I'm concerned the authorised way of expressing camaraderie and/or affection for a fellow-Bloke is after he's converted a hard-won try the getting of which will probably confine him to a wheelchair and he's fighting back tears of pure agony - the hands are placed on the hips, a good hawk spat on the turf, a quick stare into the middle-distance followed by a remark like "Daycent. Well-hoofed, chief!" before trotting nonchalantly back to your own half.

Yes, god be with the days when a man would go "over the top" with a tally ho ,and a stiff upper lip, swagger stick under the arm, with a revolver and six bullets.....to be sliced in half by a machine gun and be remembered as "a fine fellow"

People who stink of last nights drinks :(

ONW yuck the smell of stale booze is horrible it makes me gag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I only had two. :(

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    I was too. Had my parents hearts broken 'cause I didn't eat veg either lol. I tend to stick with organic, free range and can see
    I read that as I didn't eat Vag :p

Oh here we go with the euphemisms again:D

People who don't show up to appointments on time

Fcukers, it throws the surgery in to complete chaos, I usually insist on them having a Tetanus shot and a course of laxative to get my own back:D