Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Baan Thai is awesome. I live right beside the Leopardstown one, takeaway only takes 15 minutes to be ready so I use it a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Diep have stopped delivering out my way for some reason. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

.ak wrote: »
    Best Thai take ways for me are Kanum (the beef massaman, oh lawdy), Diep (the penang curry!) and Kanoodle (I'm biased!)

If God orders take aways (and I like to think he does) I assume he orders the red curry with duck from Kanoodle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Duck with massaman is good too. Or the combo pad prik haeng.

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Massaman is awesome. Though Green Curry is the best.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

God the food in Switzerland sucks :(

Podge_irl wrote: »
    God the food in Switzerland sucks :(

I'm not too fondue of it myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Ravi's Kitchen in Ballsbridge is excellent too.

59852956.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,889 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

What was the name of the kids tv station that preceded Nickelodeon here? It used to show earthworm Jim. Trying to think and it's driving me nuts.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    What was the name of the kids tv station that preceded Nickelodeon here? It used to show earthworm Jim. Trying to think and it's driving me nuts.

Cartoon Network?

TCC formerly known as The Children's Channel? Went bust in the 90s and a section of it became Trouble.

It would have been the first station to give us things like Saved By The Bell.

TCC, jeeez... that brings back memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,889 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

TCC it was alright, thanks lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

I won an illuminous yellow sock on TCC years ago. The show where they turned a card and if it was the one you picked, you won the prize below the card. The second last prize was always the good one, and the last was the sock. I thought I had the good prize but alas, ended up with the sock. They posted it out to me and all :pac:

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,818 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Buer wrote: »
    TCC formerly known as The Children's Channel? Went bust in the 90s and a section of it became Trouble.

It would have been the first station to give us things like Saved By The Bell.

I thought Trouble started while TCC was still going. I distinctly remember being heartbroken as all the best shows went to Trouble and all we were left with was endless repeats of Gigantor.

Bigger than big, stronger than strong?

They did. The older children got Trouble and TCC remained for younger kids but went bang very shortly after. From checking their Wiki, Trouble then kept going for a decade and was then absorbed by Living 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Sweet! Ye olde P21 tax balancing statement arrived today, and with leaving Ireland a bit early in 2014...well Revenue refunding me a nice little 4 figure sum. Happy out.

050315-MATT-web_3220589a.jpg

The Telegraph's cartoonist is really good imo. Nice little Swiss-themed cartoon today.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Look at Paul O'Connell in this picture and tell me if his jersey is red and blue or green and gold.
    http://www.epcrugby.com/images/structure/backgrounds/ChampC_OConnel_Fofana_BG.jpg

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Sweet! Ye olde P21 tax balancing statement arrived today, and with leaving Ireland a bit early in 2014...well Revenue refunding me a nice little 4 figure sum. Happy out.

Got that the other year there, I gave up work in September and thought nothing else of it, didn't cop on for about a year that I paid all this tax at the higher rate that would have balanced out to the lower rate if you took my pay up to the end of August and stretched it out over the year.

The refund was very much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Serious finish to the cricket on Sky, touch and go if Ireland or Zimbabwe will win

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Serious finish to the cricket on Sky, touch and go if Ireland or Zimbabwe will win

U reckon that was out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Well if I was from Zimbabwe I'd be rather miffed.

What odds on a nice dose of Waikato rain for Hamilton for the India match?

Swiwi. wrote: »
    U reckon that was out?

I think it's nearly impossible to be sure either way. I'd like to think Mooney is honest so I'll say it is.
    Whole game hinged on that one incident, great entertainment.

The worry is the bowling just isn't strong enough.

P_1 wrote: »
    Well if I was from Zimbabwe I'd be rather miffed.

What odds on a nice dose of Waikato rain for Hamilton for the India match?

Makes no difference really, our run rate isn't good enough to jump Pakistan and the West Indies really so the Pakistan game will be winner takes all regardless of the India game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Makes no difference really, our run rate isn't good enough to jump Pakistan and the West Indies really so the Pakistan game will be winner takes all regardless of the India game.

But West Indies only on 4 points. Ourselves and Pakistan on 6.
    West Indies have one game vs UAE- a win will bring them to 6.
    If our game called off due to rain we will get a point, bringing us to 7.
    West Indies won't be able catch us- so run rate not important.

wprathead wrote: »
    But West Indies only on 4 points. Ourselves and Pakistan on 6.
    West Indies have one game vs UAE- a win will bring them to 6.
    If our game called off due to rain we will get a point, bringing us to 7.
    West Indies won't be able catch us- so run rate not important.

Forgot about them completely!

Rain dance please!