Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

just do it wrote: »
    One word - diversification.

But then you've to avoid being a jack of all trades and master of none.

Each to their own

Vertical integration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

kowtow wrote: »
    Vertical integration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

On the grant point Tim that 35k is taxable afaik

True but if instead of invest the 50k I'd tried to take it all out of the business as drawings it would have been taxable anyways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

kowtow wrote: »
    Vertical integration.

"Blessed are the Cheese makers"

Blackgrass wrote: »
    **cough ironically enough just the last 10 days word of a farm that grew from 200 cows to 1800 in 20 years gone tits up in the Sw. Bad price and breakdown of tb brought in the bank. Diversified into ad and a few other areas also

Rule 101 of logic....
    You cannot go from the general to the specific...

Hate to see business go under.
    The infrastructure in the UK needs an overhaul. Will the new order improve the structure?....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Dawggone wrote: »
    Rule 101 of logic....
    You cannot go from the general to the specific...

Hate to see business go under.
    The infrastructure in the UK needs an overhaul. Will the new order improve the structure?....
    Can't say I quite follow?
    Essentially there were a few buzz words being bandied about but sometimes A perfect storm just happens at the wrong time... Were on a feedstock contract with ad plant who seem to have given a 12th hour reprieve to save their own investment some what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭visatorro

keep going wrote:
    lads I think ye are missing the big one and this is not in jest,the laying hen.outside of farming there very few couples that are relying on one income to live on but in farming there tends to be a fascination with keeping herself at home.

I don't think that's as common as it was years ago.where possible I think women want to go back to work at some stage. I'm lucky enough to have two jobs myself so my better half can stay home. (which she wants to do for a few years anyway). does laying hen feed the kids and the Farm pay for the farm? remember fraz saying a long time ago that that money for the kitchen table comes out first. worry about the cows second,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭stanflt

keep going wrote: »
    lads I think ye are missing the big one and this is not in jest,the laying hen.outside of farming there very few couples that are relying on one income to live on but in farming there tends to be a fascination with keeping herself at home.

My wife works and it makes life so much easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,724 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

stanflt wrote: »

Big plus 1 ,can't beat the xtra wage in.she dropping hints about 4 day week though..,,,,;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Big plus 1 ,can't beat the xtra wage in.she dropping hints about 4 day week though..,,,,;
    It's a great idea, tbh. My wife is on 3 1/2 day week, 3 half days, so i only have to do the school runs 2 days a week and the homework afterwards. Takes huge pressure off in spring and she doesn't get stuck in huge pressure getting homework done every evening.

Different arrangements suit different people. It works for us but may change again in the near future so the farm may need a change in routine again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭visatorro

stanflt wrote: »

theres plenty of wives who also work,,,,,on farm along with husband, i wonder do they get a wage for that?!!

visatorro wrote: »
    theres plenty of wives who also work,,,,,on farm along with husband, i wonder do they get a wage for that?!!

I'd hate to be the one to break the news to my OH that she's working for free...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Dawggone wrote: »
    I'd hate to be the one to break the news to my OH that she's working for free...:)
    Can you wait till we get a bus load over for a 'visit' and then tell her?:P

You're welcome any time here Sheriff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

GDT +1.1% today. 👍👍

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭degetme

Did any kerry supilliers on here sign up to the fixed milk price contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,800 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

was in Dunnes today, 2 x 3 litres of Dunnes low fat milk for 4 euro. I assume its strathroy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

whelan2 wrote: »
    was in Dunnes today, 2 x 3 litres of Dunnes low fat milk for 4 euro. I assume its strathroy?

as far as i know strathroy dont sell milk to dunnes stores

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

whelan2 wrote: »

Thats still over twice what the farmer gets for low solids milk just for putting it into a bottle.

In fact id wager dunnes have more out of it than anyone else in the chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,800 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

as far as i know strathroy dont sell milk to dunnes stores
    packaged in Donegal fr Dunnes stores. It doesnt have the tri colour/ndc logo on it but has a stamp to say produced in ireland

Areabawn February milk price unchanged at 32.086 c/litre vat inclusive.interestingly nothing about poor milk market returns from coop which we got every month for last year or so .positive signs.next gdt tomorrow as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭oxjkqg

degetme wrote: »

No stayed away from it ta feck, duno was it right or wrong but sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Got a letter from Dairygold asking me to forecast my milk supply for the next three years and the same people can only call the price of milk two weeks in arrears. Jaysus if they could only indicate the price for this year I could have a fair crack at it.:confused:

Areabawn February milk price unchanged at 32.086 c/litre vat inclusive.interestingly nothing about poor milk market returns from coop which we got every month for last year or so .positive signs.next gdt tomorrow as well

Really shows what some coops can do when they need/want to

I like the need and want to bit,fairly relevant to our coop at moment.huge investment in plant in nenagh ,discontent group of suppliers wanting to leave.coop can't really afford to loose a big pool of milk and thus came out fighting over last 8/10 months.nanagement talking a good talk at moment re coop strength and milk price hope it lasts.

MJ, are ye being asked to sign contracts by Arrabawn. If they keep up that price difference they might pick up a few floating suppliers from elsewhere!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Henwin

degetme wrote: »
    ya we did, dunno if its right or wrong thing to do though at least its only 10-20 %

MJ, are ye being asked to sign contracts by Arrabawn. If they keep up that price difference they might pick up a few floating suppliers from elsewhere!

No contract to sign.on chopping and changing milk purchasers sometimes better the devil u know than the devil u don't!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

No contract to sign.on chopping and changing milk purchasers sometimes better the devil u know than the devil u don't!!

Dangerous game no getting suppliers to sign contracts.

If they're investing heavily in plant and paying the highest price to hold suppliers, what's going to happen when the money runs out. I think both sides need to give a commitment to have a mutually secure future.

I agree. There's a few around me that think they have the coop by the curlys because there are 4 milk lorries passing their gates. But I can't see any of the 4 breaking the "gentlemans agreement", so all they have done is soured their relationship with their existing coop
    If there are no contracts for Arrabawn, are they going to be under pressure to stay ahead on milk price to keep suppliers... Long term?
    (Edit, Frazz bet me to it)