No more pink snacks?

I think Cadbury's chocolate is an insult to the word chocolate. When I was at home for Christmas my nephew offered me a bar of chocolate from his selection box. While I'd prefer to have refused, I decided I'd keep with the festive spirit so chose a Curly Wurly bar. Disgusting. Unbearably sweet. An utter abomination.

Ingredients included filth like glucose syrup, cocoa mass, palm oil and dried whey. Were these the ingredients used in Cadbury's chocolate back in the 80's? No wonder so many people are obese.

Chocolates from a good chocolatier are a beautiful occasional treat. The taste might be slightly too sharp and rich for people used to stuffing their faces with the vile chocolate produced by Cadbury and Nestlé.

Cocoa mass is one of the core ingredients in all chocolate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭sunshine and showers

If they're not getting rid of chocolate bars they're making them smaller and ridiculously expensive. :(

The soaring cost of cocoa beans dictate this,although the price has started to come down recently,that doesn't guarantee the actual price of chocolate will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,365 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Breakingnews.ie seems more concerned about the Time-outs and pink snacks than the job loses.
    Pink Snack and Time Out to go amid job uncertainty at Cadbury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Club Milk !!!!

That is all :P:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

RayCon wrote:
    Good .... waffery bastards ... I hate anything waffery.

I too hate wafery things...I don't know why.. I hate Pink Snacks the most. There has to be a higher ratio of chocolate/ caramel/peanut than wafer to disguise the light dry horrible crispiness of the wafer before I can accept a wafer bar. Kit Kat I can tolerate as the chocolate is thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

hate pink snacks. wafer sticks to the roof of my mouth:o
    used to love purple snacks, but they've gotten smaller and more expensive:(

pity about the job losses though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Kat1170 wrote: »
    Club Milk !!!!

That is all :P:P

Club milks changed a few years ago and were never the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

A sad day...

Now I see what they were doing when the Pink snacks went from 3 fingers to2 fingers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

wont be buying from them in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭ollaetta

except kit kats which are boring

Oi! Leave Kit Kats alone. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I prefer a club milk myself and they better not touch the double decker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Club milk's chocolate changed years ago and not for the better. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭zega

ScumLord wrote: »
    It's company restructuring. It's not like their going to kick them out the door and give them the finger. It wouldn't surprise me if there are some long term employees looking at some substantial redundancy packages. It's an opportunity for people as much as anything.

Opportunity for the company to get rid of staff and the people who stay go onto worse terms of employment.win win for everyone ¬___¬

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Ah its all a load of molasses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Wasn't it only Pink Shnacks that Jacksie sold in the Bunan Bui in Killnascully. There would be some craic over this if it was still on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭melted_face

anyone who doesn't have pink snack as their favourite colour of snack is subhuman scum and should be viewed with deep and extreme suspicion , nqat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Someone start a thread about the jobs - you can forward the cries of racism to moi.

id do it but im too lazy and inefficient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

It's the time outs that I am sad over. I use them as a straw for my coffee on days where I decide to be as indulgent as possible. Also I always get them free when I give blood :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I've always loved Time-Outs; always selected them over any other chocolate/biscuit on offer and have bought them religiously for years.
    I'm going to stock up on TONS of 'em before the year is out.

ollaetta wrote: »
    Oi! Leave Kit Kats alone. :mad:

Oh I will, don't worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭DeKing

Jaysus just had a look, cant believe nobody set up a bookface page "Save Our Pink Snacks" yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,730 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

No more pink snacks?!

Looks like I'll be raiding the shelves in Tesco tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Mr.McLovin

First the bailout now this

Just shoot me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Mr.McLovin wrote: »
    First the bailout now this

Just shoot me

It's just one thing after another in this country.

Fûck the water protests

Bring back pink snack. That's a movement I could get behind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,585 ✭✭✭✭The Cush

fussyonion wrote: »
    I've always loved Time-Outs; always selected them over any other chocolate/biscuit on offer and have bought them religiously for years.

Timeout is probably safe with production moving to Poland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

fussyonion wrote: »
    Exactly. I can't believe there's a hullabaloo about pink snacks, and not a miog about the demise of Time Outs. Philistines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Time outs nooooooo!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

Fecking crap news about Time Outs. :mad:

Purple Snacks are so much more chocolatey (with nicer chocolate) than Club Milks. Never understood the Club Milk love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

The Cush wrote: »
    Timeout is probably safe with production moving to Poland.

But the quality will be abysmal. Look at the eclairs. I havent eaten them in years.
    Anyway , most of this is due to maxing returns for shareholders. (Quality is already suffering)Before long there will be one person employed per factory and he/she will be bitched at for costing too much. There is no end to this nonsense.