Nurse hit by fallen Weetabix boxes gets awarded €135,000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Jesus, to think how much I could have if I was that way inclined. I have to date:
    • Had the wrong tooth pulled out (dentist made a f-up with the xray)
    • Had my arm broken when I was a teenager by a coach on a football camp who smashed a penalty at my face because I saved his 2 previous attempts when he was showing how a penalty 'should' be taken
    • Broke 3 ribs when I cycled into a Bord Gáis trench that wasn't signposted nor cordoned off
    • Slipped in a supermarket on a wet floor and tore my ankle ligament
    • Nearly had my arm pulled off by bouncers who got me mixed up with somebody else

Funnily enough, I just put these down to life's incidents and have never considered claiming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

RoboRat wrote: »
    Jesus, to think how much I could have if I was that way inclined. I have to date:
    • Had the wrong tooth pulled out (dentist made a f-up with the xray)
    • Had my arm broken when I was a teenager by a coach on a football camp who smashed a penalty at my face because I saved his 2 previous attempts when he was showing how a penalty 'should' be taken
    • Broke 3 ribs when I cycled into a Bord Gáis trench that wasn't signposted nor cordoned off
    • Slipped in a supermarket on a wet floor and tore my ankle ligament
    • Nearly had my arm pulled off by bouncers who got me mixed up with somebody else

Funnily enough, I just put these down to life's incidents and have never considered claiming.

lol.. are you Mr. Bean?

Well more fool you tbh. Maybe you see allowing such things to slide and face no consequences as being the moral or righteous thing to do, but all you're really doing is enabling others to continue being negligent in their own jobs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 yumyum10

eeguy wrote: »
    6+ years of pain for 135k.

I think I'd prefer my health...

I'd she's as in much pain as getting a feather smacked off my balls. Nothing wrong with her I would say, like the nurse who slipped on ice outside a hospital a year or two ago.

lol.. are you Mr. Bean?

No, but my life has been quite... interesting.
    Well more fool you tbh. Maybe you see allowing such things to slide and face no consequences as being the moral or righteous thing to do, but all you're really doing is enabling others to continue being negligent in their own jobs.

Or I just accept that life is life and accidents/ mistakes happen. If somebody done something malicious then I would think differently (yes, I could have thought the coach was being malicious but I think he was just frustrated).

Forgot to add, in Dublin airport in the departures restaurant and I sat on a chair that was broken and I ended up on the floor with the table and its contents on me. The manager was bricking himself but I couldn't put in a claim. I was a bit sore and covered in coffee and scrambled eggs, but I just don't see the point in making somebodies life a misery for an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

What a nice little earner!
    I'm in bits going to physio with two fecked up shoulders, fecked up hamstring and hip. Fell down stairs two years ago. was Don't know how it happened to get so bad but I've been struggling along. can't afford to give up work. physio isn't cheap.
    I think I'll try that later in work, although I think I'll try it with frosties or something. don't want them thinking I'm a copycat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

RoboRat wrote: »
    No, but my life has been quite... interesting.

Or I just accept that life is life and accidents/ mistakes happen. If somebody done something malicious then I would think differently (yes, I could have thought the coach was being malicious but I think he was just frustrated).

Forgot to add, in Dublin airport in the departures restaurant and I sat on a chair that was broken and I ended up on the floor with the table and its contents on me. The manager was bricking himself but I couldn't put in a claim. I was a bit sore and covered in coffee and scrambled eggs, but I just don't see the point in making somebodies life a misery for an accident.

Whatever helps you to sleep at night. You do know that businesses have insurance for such purposes right?

If somebody rear-ended your car would you not put a claim in because it was just an accident?

There's a big difference between some joe sap making an honest mistake and a professional being clearly negligent in their duties. Whatever about falling off a broken chair, deciding to do nothing about medical malpractice or being assaulted by an adult as a kid; is just stupid. They probably laughed their holes off when they realised you'd do nothing about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

J. Marston wrote: »
    She owes that medical examiner a few quid.

Maybe she already gave him a few quid ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,662 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

And her court costs paid as well, no way that should have happened.

She must be very fragile altogether if a box of weetabix did this, I work in a warehouse and if I claimed everytime a box which are a lot heavier than that hit me I could retire.

And we the taxpayers are the ones that have to foot the bill for these ambulance chasers.
    Amazing. Every single sentence is completely factually incorrect. You might want to look into those boxes which rain down upon your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Soft tissue injuries, would that not be in the toilet roll aisle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

hairyslug wrote: »
    Soft tissue injuries, would that not be in the toilet roll aisle.

"Allo Vera, you softie"

Whatever helps you to sleep at night. You do know that businesses have insurance for such purposes right?

I do, and I also know what its like to run a business and have to pay massive premiums.
    If somebody rear-ended your car would you not put a claim in because it was just an accident?

If there was no visible damage no. I got a tip at a traffic light about 8 years ago and my bumper was a bit scuffed and had a little dint that I managed to hit out with a good slap. My car was about 10 years old and of no real value so I hardly seen the point in making a claim. Funnily enough, the same thing happened to me about 3 years ago and the woman I tipped did the same.
    There's a big difference between some joe sap making an honest mistake and a professional being clearly negligent in their duties. Whatever about falling off a broken chair, deciding to do nothing about medical malpractice or being assaulted by an adult as a kid; is just stupid. They probably laughed their holes off when they realised you'd do nothing about it.

Perhaps... or perhaps they were happy and appreciative that they wouldn't be hauled up to court over an accident/ mistake and possibly lose their job. I just don't see the point, if it doesn't cost me anything bar a bit of pain, then why go after somebody. I have broken multiple bones, lost teeth and torn muscles through sport and I just got on with it. Life is life and sh1t happens, don't get me wrong, I could do with the money but I wouldn't feel comfortable with myself. I am not taking the moral high ground either, there are many cases where people are 100% right to make a claim and fingers crossed I hope I am never one of those people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Compo Culture. She's a nurse, she knows that soft tissue injuries are difficult to disprove. Essentially she got 136 grand for straining herself. Fricking disgraceful.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

sugarman wrote: »
    'She has trouble sleeping at night' ...what, is she having constant nightmares of being showered in boxes of wheeatabix?!?

...I'm sure the €135k has made it easier

See how easily you can lie down and drift off into a gentle slumber when you've got a neck injury.

Calibos wrote: »
    She tried to get her injuries sorted with Reiki and Acupuncture.....

In other words, she didn't try to get her injuries sorted. :rolleyes:

"Judge, I couldn't have known that taking a box of weetabix from the bottom of the stack would make the ones above fall and I've done my best to try and resolve my known to be hard to diagnose soft tissue injury by getting a dopey hippy young one to wave her hands over me while playing dolphin sounds through speakers and even got a chinaman to stick some drawing pins in me"

"Oh you poor thing, heres €135,000 euro"

GIVE....ME.... STRENGTH !!!! :mad: :rolleyes: :mad: :rolleyes:

So you're a medical expert now, are you?

Egginacup wrote: »
    So you're a medical expert now, are you?

Oh come on now, she might as well have said she tried magic jelly beans.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

True, but as she tried real medicine also, it may be seen as a sign of desperation.

Nodin wrote: »
    True, but as she tried real medicine also, it may be seen as a sign of desperation.

You could be right, only she knows the truth. It's just that people are clued up about what they need to say in order to get the maximum amount of compensation, so it makes it hard to believe. Personally, I don't believe that straining yourself warrants 136 grand compensation, it really is nuts and seems as though we're heading towards the kind of insane payouts as America. No medical expert could prove or disprove that she's experiencing pain from soft tissue injuries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

How much weetabix was it for injuries as severe as the article suggests :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,021 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

She was open to examination by as many Doctors/Specialists as the Defence legal team wished to use. They are not known for their sympathy and would have known if she was exaggerating.

On the face of it, it sounds like a very large amount of damages and using the brand of cereal in the headline purposefully aims to mitigate the seriousness of the injuries.

If she was faking it, Private Investigators (regularly used by Insurance Companies) would have more than likely found that out.

If the Defence legal team believe the amount is too much, they have the avenue of appeal.

Don't buy into the whole hand wringing to be honest..

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

Did not the judge say that (quote) "soft tissue injuries normally resolve themselves, though sometimes this was not the case"

So to all those hard-ass, hippy-hating, medical experts on here who bitch at her for getting acupuncture......since these injuries apparently normally right themselves then she shouldn't have had to do anything, just wait. The pain didn't go away so she got treatment. How do you know that her GP didn't recommend she have acupuncture, reiki, massages etc. Doctors can't cure everything with a fucking pill or a scalpel. Many a doctor has recommended meditation for people who are stressed out or suffering from migraines. Would you prefer they get pumped up to the gills on ibuprofen and codeine 24/7? Maybe have holes drilled in their skulls?

Roy Keane was advised to take up yoga for his injuries and health and while skeptical at first he now swears by it. I'd like to see you take the piss out of him. You'd bleed all the way to the ER, haha.

everlast75 wrote: »
    She was open to examination by as many Doctors/Specialists as the Defence legal team wished to use. They are not known for their sympathy and would have known if she was exaggerating.

On the face of it, it sounds like a very large amount of damages and using the brand of cereal in the headline purposefully aims to mitigate the seriousness of the injuries.

If she was faking it, Private Investigators (regularly used by Insurance Companies) would have more than likely found that out.

If the Defence legal team believe the amount is too much, they have the avenue of appeal.

Don't buy into the whole hand wringing to be honest..

Both sides use experts for medical examinations and both will tend to lean towards whatever benefits whomever is paying for their services. I'm not saying that the experts lie, just that if there is room for debate that it is in their own financial interests to give evidence that will support their clients. Some companies will use the same experts for all cases, just as some barristers/solicitors will use friendly experts repeatedly for their clients.

Did not the judge say that (quote) "soft tissue injuries normally resolve themselves, though sometimes this was not the case"

So to all those hard-ass, hippy-hating, medical experts on here who bitch at her for getting acupuncture......since these injuries apparently normally right themselves then she shouldn't have had to do anything, just wait. The pain didn't go away so she got treatment. How do you know that her GP didn't recommend she have acupuncture, reiki, massages etc. Doctors can't cure everything with a fucking pill or a scalpel. Many a doctor has recommended meditation for people who are stressed out or suffering from migraines. Would you prefer they get pumped up to the gills on ibuprofen and codeine 24/7? Maybe have holes drilled in their skulls?

Roy Keane was advised to take up yoga for his injuries and health and while skeptical at first he now swears by it. I'd like to see you take the piss out of him. You'd bleed all the way to the ER, haha.

He is taking it as gospel that she is telling the truth about still being in pain. Most of us will have strained or sprained ourselves many times in our lives and it resolves itself. Funnily enough though most of the people who take civil action for soft tissue injuries still haven't 'recovered' before the case is heard, years later. If they had the compensation would be substantially lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

hfallada wrote: »
    Im totally against a claims culture nation. But this case seems genuine. She worked before the injury and after it. She even changed her hours and switched shifts. She tried to get her injuries sorted and 6 years later still has failed. This women seems like an individual who is entitled to compensation.

She is not some scumbag, who hasnt worked a day in their life and broke their ankle(now totally recovered), while **** faced at a nightclub. This women deserves something

No she's a worse. She's one that knows the system. She knows the medical and psychological games to play and is able to milk it. She has trouble sleeping at night. Was this confirmed by a psychiatrist or medical report showing a degredation in her health as a result (simply was she put on medication to aid her getting sleep)?

I'm sick of these claims. Yet another scurrilous case, like that moron who was drinking at Slane and impaled herself climbing over the gate. Legislation needs to be put in place limiting the amounts of money paid out, if any at all based on soft tissue damage.

I think the UK are, or have put legislation in place because they are having a similar/worse problem with people making whiplash or soft tissue claims in their courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,021 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Gannicus wrote: »
    Was this confirmed by a psychiatrist or medical report showing a degredation in her health as a result (simply was she put on medication to aid her getting sleep)?

If you don't know the answer to that question, then you shouldn't base your nasty assumptions of her presuming that the answer is negative...

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

You could be right, only she knows the truth. It's just that people are clued up about what they need to say in order to get the maximum amount of compensation, so it makes it hard to believe. Personally, I don't believe that straining yourself warrants 136 grand compensation, it really is nuts and seems as though we're heading towards the kind of insane payouts as America. No medical expert could prove or disprove that she's experiencing pain from soft tissue injuries.

Ah come on now yourself. The incident in the supermarket happened nearly 7 years ago. If she was the kind of scab who was looking for a payout the article would have stated that she lay writing in agony on the supermarket floor and claimed "she couldn't feel her legs" or some shit. She was taken away in an ambulance on a stretcher with a neck brace on and her lawyer driving behind.
    Appears to me that she got up, finished her shopping and went about her business but then the pain started to flare up and she sought treatment. She continued to work. If she was a sponger she wouldn't even have a job or would claim she can't work because of her "devastating" pain and injuries.

What the fuck will it take for some of you people to actually say "Yeah, she's not a scab. She's honest. Tried her best but got injured through no fault of her own and may never be fully cured." ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

See how easily you can lie down and drift off into a gentle slumber when you've got a neck injury.

She shouldn't have any problem in that regard considering how quickly she lay down when she was tipped by a cereal box.

He is taking it as gospel that she is telling the truth about still being in pain. Most of us will have strained or sprained ourselves many times in our lives and it resolves itself. Funnily enough though most of the people who take civil action for soft tissue injuries still haven't 'recovered' before the case is heard, years later. If they had the compensation would be substantially lower.

The accident occurred in 2008, ok?

according to the High Court she didn't file a case until 15/9/2011

3 YEARS LATER

http://highcourtsearch.courts.ie/hcslive/common.processNavigationButton

Just type her name Butler, Christina into the record search.

Are you trying to say that, since she is such a scammer and would likely have contacted a shyster the day after the accident if not on her way home from Tesco but it took him 3 years to prepare a case and get it to the courts? Get real.

She had a medical in 2013.....5 years after the accident. So she gets injured and then says to herself, "right I'll wait 3 years and then contact a lawyer, then I'll wait another 2 for a diagnosis." That kind of chicanery would make the most avid conspiracy theorist blush.

Calibos wrote: »
    She tried to get her injuries sorted with Reiki and Acupuncture.....

In other words, she didn't try to get her injuries sorted. :rolleyes:

"Judge, I couldn't have known that taking a box of weetabix from the bottom of the stack would make the ones above fall and I've done my best to try and resolve my known to be hard to diagnose soft tissue injury by getting a dopey hippy young one to wave her hands over me while playing dolphin sounds through speakers and even got a chinaman to stick some drawing pins in me"

"Oh you poor thing, heres €135,000 euro"

GIVE....ME.... STRENGTH !!!! :mad: :rolleyes: :mad: :rolleyes:

Sounds like the kind of expert opinion you'd hear from the barroom oracle in between gulps of Guinness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

conorh91 wrote: »
    The Irish Times is scraping the journalistic barrel on this one.

What does it matter which logo was on the containers that hit the woman?
    I would imagine if it was tesco own brand weetabix they would not have had a big photo of them, or mentioned what brand or type it was at all.

• Administrators Posts: 56,569 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's amazing how traumatic such trivial things can be once people get a whiff that they can pocket some serious cash.