Nurse hit by fallen Weetabix boxes gets awarded €135,000

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

There is no way you'd have that much damage to warrant that kind of money. Car accident victims don't get near that even after serious collisions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

hfallada wrote: »
    Im totally against a claims culture nation. But this case seems genuine. She worked before the injury and after it. She even changed her hours and switched shifts. She tried to get her injuries sorted and 6 years later still has failed. This women seems like an individual who is entitled to compensation.

She is not some scumbag, who hasnt worked a day in their life and broke their ankle(now totally recovered), while **** faced at a nightclub. This women deserves something

Too right
    Mr Justice McDermott said there was no evidence to indicate that Ms Butler would fully recover from her injuries and it was "a tribute to her that she did not exaggerate her injuries and has taken every step to ensure that she could stay at work”.

Trust the week i start eating porridge :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

eternal wrote: »
    There is no way you'd have that much damage to warrant that kind of money. Car accident victims don't get near that even after serious collisions.

These figure aren't pulled out of the Judge's arse, they are worked out on the basis of medical expenses, lost wages etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

My fave from childhood.

The voiceover is an almost threatening unnerving one.

As if to say, if you haven't eaten, you'll get Weetabeaten.

ETA: Wait that's the whole point of the ad isn't it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 227 ✭✭Baby Jane

Trust the week i start eating porridge :rolleyes:
    There is hope - a bunch of porridge packages landing on you would give you a right clobbering!

These figure aren't pulled out of the Judge's arse, they are worked out on the basis of medical expenses, lost wages etc.

But is she like paying you to stand up for her or something. The article says she was able to manage shifts so it's not like she can't work at all. I have been in car accidents and there is no way the therapy would go to that amount. I probably have more damage to myself than she does seriously like.

Yet another person that's never sat through even 10 minutes of the other side cross examining the victim in these cases. Defence barristers can and do reduce people to tears.

They're also not fools in properly testing the medical evidence submitted.
    Go away with your legal knowledge and experience of courts and let us be the judges!
    Also, something something woman with hot coffee from McDonalds.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

I find it hard to believe that even the heaviest box of weetabix (900g) falling from the highest shelf in Tesco could generate enough momentum by the time it reached her shoulder to cause the type of damage she's claiming. It's fortunate she's a medical professional so she was able to give such comprehensive, accurate and technical description of her suffering...

But is she like paying you to stand up for her or something. The article says she was able to manage shifts so it's not like she can't work at all. I have been in car accidents and there is no way the therapy would go to that amount. I probably have more damage to myself than she does seriously like.

Lets take a couple of paragraphs in a rag, over trial played out over several days. Lets take some jurno scoring a few cheap laughs over a very well funded, professional and no doubt skilled legal team arguing for the defence.

Baby Jane wrote: »
    Go away with your legal knowledge and experience of courts and let us be the judges!

My favourite one (although it may have been made up) was the woman falling over a child in a department store and recovering damages; her own child I hasten to add.

Lets take a couple of paragraphs in a rag, over trial played out over several days. Lets take some jurno scoring a few cheap laughs over a very well funded, professional and no doubt skilled legal team arguing for the defence.
    Well I want a piece of her legal team. Momma needs new shoes.

Better Call Saul

There is hope - a bunch of porridge packages landing on you would give you a right clobbering!

I'm gonna keep a closer eye out for the Jumbo Oats in Lidl, although knowing my luck, they'll break my fall :(:P

Lucky it wasn't a tin of beans or she could have been permanently brain damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I remember reading about the hot coffee story, happened in America if I'm not wrong. The burns she suffered were quite nasty and it wasn't just a simple case of it being "quite hot" but indeed scalding, which led to third degree burns.

I'm gonna keep a closer eye out for the Jumbo Oats in Lidl, although knowing my luck, they'll break my fall :(:P
    They've them fecking feather-light cylindrical boxes of porridge oats now too, probably no use. :mad:

I remember reading about the hot coffee story, happened in America if I'm not wrong. The burns she suffered were quite nasty and it wasn't just a simple case of it being "quite hot" but indeed scalding, which led to third degree burns.
    Oh I know. It's just that it tends to be brought up as an example of compensation culture gone mad when "Woman burnt herself with coffee that she knew was hot" doesn't tell anywhere near the full story.

There was a woman in Dunnes awarded 5 grand for slipping on a grape. She was very grapeful.

True story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Or at least he get his oats.

They've them fecking feather-light cylindrical boxes of porridge oats now too, probably no use. :mad:

Nah, they're usually sold out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

The most unnerving thing about this is that box of cereal is probably still out there somewhere

I came across a box of wheatbix in the press the other day, must have been there at least five years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Not sure if I am more shocked by the amount, or a registered nurse going in for reiki mumbo-jumbo. Do they actually teach science-based medicine in Nursing Schools these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

And her court costs paid as well, no way that should have happened.

She must be very fragile altogether if a box of weetabix did this, I work in a warehouse and if I claimed everytime a box which are a lot heavier than that hit me I could retire.

And we the taxpayers are the ones that have to foot the bill for these ambulance chasers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

Was it a box of weetabix as in one box or a whole shelf of cereal that fell on her?

That's outrageous.

I'm off to tesco now to climb on the highest shelf. I'd be a millionaire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

I'm staring down the barrel of a court case myself after being smashed within an inch of my life by a van travelling 60 while I crossed the road. The driver was an unsupervised learner. I nearly died 3 times and almost lost my leg. I'm in constant pain and will never walk properly again let alone run. I haven't slept properly in. 2 years because of the pain. I don't think I will get anywhere near that ridiculous amount for soft tissue injuries, let alone the 3 steel rods 4 plates and 20+ screws in my body. That is a farcical judgement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

MadsL wrote: »
    Not sure if I am more shocked by the amount, or a registered nurse going in for reiki mumbo-jumbo. Do they actually teach science-based medicine in Nursing Schools these days?
    I know actual doctors who refer people for acupuncture. The mind boggles that such an educated person could be so ignorant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

[Further surgery could be required

No mention of original surgery. What was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

conorh91 wrote: »
    Carmello v Casey [2007] IEHC 362

Carmello was in a car being driven by Casey, when he lost control of the vehicle at a bend going 80mph, hit a ditch, rolled over, and caused serious injury to Carmello, which included a life-long loss of sensation around the head.

Carmello sought to recover damages from Casey, who admitted liability. Some time later, Carmello was struck in the face by the branch of a tree, and required minor hospital attention. In his reply to particulars three years later, Carmello forgot to mention the incident with the branch of the tree.

Notwithstanding the fact that liability had been admitted, the entire case was dismissed. The Court assessed damages at 50,000 euro, but made no award in light of the failure of the plaintiff to mention the minor incident with the tree.

s.26 Civil Liability and Courts Act, 2004

nice find to prove your point

However I'm bored waiting on a supplier so I dug deeper.

http://ie.vlex.com/vid/carmello-v-casey-anor-68725605

Now i'll admit there is some detail missing behind the pay-wall and I aint paying but there appears to be a little more to the story.
    magic pains with no evidence under CT scans etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Compo Culture alive and well it seems.

Is there no such thing as accidental injuries and personal responsibility anymore?