The Madness of Idiots on Facebook

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,335 ✭✭✭wendell borton

He should have told the Guards there was a water meter protest outside his house, they might have got the riot squad out then. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

To be fair, this stuff has been happening long before facebook, and before text messaging and mobile phones.

I know a guy who threw a party at his house for a couple of mates when he was 16. Around 11 o'clock 30 or so lads in their early 20s showed up, kicked holes into walls, shat in the sink, stole the TV and other electronics, beat a few lumps out of the lads, sexually assaulted one of the girls and left. This was the mid-nineties.

What happens is that the wrong person gets wind of a party happening and decides to make a point of hyping it up to see how many people they can get to go, for the craic. How many parties have we all been to where random people show up, but nobody gets assaulted and nothing gets stolen? I've been to loads of parties which had 100+ people invited on facebook, and about twenty show up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, this stuff has been happening long before facebook, and before text messaging and mobile phones.

I know a guy who threw a party at his house for a couple of mates when he was 16. Around 11 o'clock 30 or so lads in their early 20s showed up, kicked holes into walls, shat in the sink, stole the TV and other electronics, beat a few lumps out of the lads, sexually assaulted one of the girls and left. This was the mid-nineties.

What happens is that the wrong person gets wind of a party happening and decides to make a point of hyping it up to see how many people they can get to go, for the craic. How many parties have we all been to where random people show up, but nobody gets assaulted and nothing gets stolen? I've been to loads of parties which had 100+ people invited on facebook, and about twenty show up.
    10 times that came to our road though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Teenagers will flock to a party like bees to honey, its in their nature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭Desolation Of Smug

I came back to much the same thing when my eldest lad was having "a quiet" 16th. 300 people in the house, house wrecked and murder going on. They left quietly when I came back as I am a big horrible cnut. House was thrashed though. That was the last teen party at ours. Lesson learnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Poor family. Absolute Scum. With a bit of luck some of these idiots will upload the pics of them committing offences and the gardai could get hold of it.

Gardai just left there house, hopefully someone gets nicked for the madness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Anyone claiming that Foxdene is in Lucan should be done under the Trade Descriptions Act

Actually, it is in Lucan now. It used to be in Clondalkin, but was changed a good few years ago. I've no idea why.

It used to be a right kip too. I imagine that hasn't changed.

pablo128 wrote: »
    Actually, it is in Lucan now. It used to be in Clondalkin, but was changed a good few years ago. I've no idea why.

We all seem to scratch our heads about that and nobody believes this is Lucan when I say it to them.

Can't blame them really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,670 ✭✭✭renegademaster

Mallagio wrote: »
    You couldn't get near the house, when we did get in to them we were just happy to see nobody was either on their way to hospital or dead.

We sat with them for a few hours until we knew that the mob wouldn't be back. Police didn't come back to see how the people were.

I mean what more could any of us do? I've 4 kids myself and my door was being looked after first and foremost, only one other man on the road went to house with me.

I can hold my head high but the rest of the people on the road couldn't give a sh*te bar one man.

did the family get to view the facebook profiles of those who posted the event, maybe some of the troublemakers responded to the event and could be identified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Hiring a Dj for a party of 12 people

hmm

did the family get to view the facebook profiles of those who posted the event, maybe some of the troublemakers responded to the event and could be identified

They know who leaked it as far as I'm aware, obviously doesn't mean that person done anything wrong at the house but I wouldn't want to be that person after the trouble that came from it.

I'm not on FB myself so I can't even confirm if anyone posted their video of the event that many were doing that I saw.

I seen the damage the lunatic done to the armchair with the knife, so how anyone wasn't lunged at was beyond me tbh.

The article written imo has loads of bs, beyond the front door broken and the chair ripped up, I'd say from what I seen the article has loads of added bs.

Don't get me wrong though, it was pretty mental scenes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,113 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Talking about this on FM104 now..........some scrote saying it's all rubbish

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

I came back to much the same thing when my eldest lad was having "a quiet" 16th. 300 people in the house, house wrecked and murder going on. They left quietly when I came back as I am a big horrible cnut. House was thrashed though. That was the last teen party at ours. Lesson learnt.

That's the beauty of living in the country, if 300 people came to a party at my house, the village would be emptied out, anybody passing through would think a zombie apocalypse had taken place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

I went outside because they were spilling through my garden but lots of these were recording this on their phones, they set up camp in the next door neighbours with a very loud sound system and proceeded to have their own party for say around 30 mins.

Then the Police was called and all hell broke out, Police didn't give a s*ite and didn't even get out of the car - the crowd went to another part of the estate throwing bottles and going mental - 2 or 3 couples were clearly seen going at it on the green - really mad scenes.

The sweet 16 girl told me that she sent it privately to her 20 or so friends but one of them copied the invite and put it on her own page for the world to see.

Honestly don't know how anyone wasn't stabbed - some of these kids called dealers to their gatecrashed party and these kids were off their f***in heads.

You should have told the cops they where water protesters they would have sent helicopters, riot squad the works.

Edit: oops beaten to it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Irishguy16

This story is absolutely shocking, and makes me sick. I can't believe this could even happen in Ireland. I have never heard a story like it in my life, and I never knew how vicious and visceral teens in Ireland could be. Not even animals would react like this!

I don't know the full details, but I'm just writing on behalf of what I know.....

Firstly,I feel that the parents should take the full blame, not sure why they didn't react sooner, particulalry with the large crowds that managed to appear, it's not like 250 people all showed up at the same time. They should have called the guards straight away, or tried to get assistance from the neighbours, or some close friends before it got out of hand.

Secondly, not sure how the news leaked in the first place.I guess the daughter could partially be to blame, for posting the events online, particularly with such a popular website like Facebook.Social media is a dangerous tool and should be avoided, specially when the daughter was only 16. The parents should have monitored the event more carefully online and set the function as a private event, or tried to get a clear number of people that were meant to show up, and no more.

Lastly, we should all learn from this event, particularly when unmonitored teens are involved. Advice would be to avoid social media at all costs, leaving the invites by text messages, or emails only! I hate social media so much and it's getting more and more dangerous and this should be a clear enough example

What do you guys think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Feel sorry for the neighbours.

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    Feel sorry for the neighbours.

I feel more pity for the birthday girl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Irishguy16 wrote: »
    This story is absolutely shocking, and makes me sick. I can't believe this could even happen in Ireland. I have never heard a story like it in my life, and I never knew how vicious and visceral teens in Ireland could be. Not even animals would react like this!

I don't know the full details, but I'm just writing on behalf of what I know.....

Firstly,I feel that the parents should take the full blame, not sure why they didn't react sooner, particulalry with the large crowds that managed to appear, it's not like 250 people all showed up at the same time. They should have called the guards straight away, or tried to get assistance from the neighbours, or some close friends before it got out of hand.

Secondly, not sure how the news leaked in the first place.I guess the daughter could partially be to blame, for posting the events online, particularly with such a popular website like Facebook.Social media is a dangerous tool and should be avoided, specially when the daughter was only 16. The parents should have monitored the event more carefully online and set the function as a private event, or tried to get a clear number of people that were meant to show up, and no more.

Lastly, we should all learn from this event, particularly when unmonitored teens are involved. Advice would be to avoid social media at all costs, leaving the invites by text messages, or emails only! I hate social media so much and it's getting more and more dangerous and this should be a clear enough example

What do you guys think?

She didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

anncoates wrote: »
    Imagine, kids doing stupid things. It wasn't like that in my day, I can tell you.
    I've been to a few of these myself (all controlled and mannered I assure you) but there was a few where stuff got nicked and broken because a large crowd heard about the party and decided to join in.
    Herd mentality, scary stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,113 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

She's getting ripped apart on FM104.....if it is her.

I feel more pity for the birthday girl

Poor girl was destroyed.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

I went outside because they were spilling through my garden but lots of these were recording this on their phones, they set up camp in the next door neighbours with a very loud sound system and proceeded to have their own party for say around 30 mins.

Then the Police was called and all hell broke out, Police didn't give a s*ite and didn't even get out of the car - the crowd went to another part of the estate throwing bottles and going mental - 2 or 3 couples were clearly seen going at it on the green - really mad scenes.

The sweet 16 girl told me that she sent it privately to her 20 or so friends but one of them copied the invite and put it on her own page for the world to see.

Honestly don't know how anyone wasn't stabbed - some of these kids called dealers to their gatecrashed party and these kids were off their f***in heads.

No wonder the police couldent do anything,it's outside their juristriction.Shouldive called the guards.

No wonder the police couldn't do anything,it's outside their juristriction.Shouldive called the guards.

Boom Boom Boom.:rolleyes:

biko wrote: »
    I've been to a few of these myself (all controlled and mannered I assure you) but there was a few where stuff got nicked and broken because a large crowd heard about the party and decided to join in.
    Herd mentality, scary stuff.

teens, alcohol and little parental guidance are not a good combination. I went to a vicious party a few years ago, where an uncontrolled amount of people barged into the house over a 30 minute cycle. Even though there were only a few invited, piles shoes up.It was mostly due to word of mouth, friends,friends of friends, and aquintances all squashed together. About 75 people showed up, really should have been less than half of that. Wasn't as bad as this party, but still a very controversial night. Guards reacted fast and nobody got hurt thankfully. The crowds got moved quickly, scattered all over. Not a lot of damage, but alcohol got stolen, and a mess here and there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

Not from Dublin and correct me if I'm wrong but is Lucan not a fairly posh area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Poshest of areas can have the biggest scumbags and vice versa. But more importantly, it was on Facebook, depending on how much notice, you had hours or days to show up or plan it, anyway.

darkdubh wrote: »
    Not from Dublin and correct me if I'm wrong but is Lucan not a fairly posh area?

The real part of Lucan is :D

Foxdene is that type of place that would never ever have a pub..... last shop was closed well over a decade ago.

darkdubh wrote: »

Not a posh area, actually was 10 minutes from Lucan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

Not a posh area, actually was 10 minutes from Lucan

Read the thread. It happened in Foxdene, which is in Lucan.