The Madness of Idiots on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Won't somebody please think of the children!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Surely the trouble is the fault of scumbags who decided to crash a party and trash everything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

Call the Gardai? No?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,462 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Have these people never heard of privacy settings?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

There ain't no party like an S club party.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Thread title is misleading. The family were naïve to set up this invite but the crowd causing all the trouble are thugs. There should be plenty of photos - teenagers put all this crap online - and they should be tracked down and made to pay accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

4 cans left out for the girls. Gone.
    Crisps. Gone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Imagine, kids doing stupid things. It wasn't like that in my day, I can tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Smiles35

Lucans gone down a lot it seems. Knife out for the oulfella. No word of neighbours out to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Won't somebody please think of the children!!

Yeah. The 11 year old special needs child thrown against the wall.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭Mallagio

I went outside because they were spilling through my garden but lots of these were recording this on their phones, they set up camp in the next door neighbours with a very loud sound system and proceeded to have their own party for say around 30 mins.

Then the Police was called and all hell broke out, Police didn't give a s*ite and didn't even get out of the car - the crowd went to another part of the estate throwing bottles and going mental - 2 or 3 couples were clearly seen going at it on the green - really mad scenes.

The sweet 16 girl told me that she sent it privately to her 20 or so friends but one of them copied the invite and put it on her own page for the world to see.

Honestly don't know how anyone wasn't stabbed - some of these kids called dealers to their gatecrashed party and these kids were off their f***in heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

anncoates wrote: »
    Imagine, kids doing stupid things. It wasn't like that in my day, I can tell you.

Stupid I can handle; this is violent, criminal behaviour.

"A knife was put up to the throat of Mrs Osifa's husband Igosa as he tried to prevent a gang of youths from ripping a television off his wall.
    A bottle was also smashed over Mr Osifa's head.
    "They were trying to take the television from the wall, and when my husband tried to stop them they got a knife and threatened him," Mrs Osifa said.
    "They said they'd kill him if he tried to stop them.
    "He then accidentally bumped into a girl at the party and this boy hit him over the head with a glass bottle."
    Shockingly, the couple's 11-year-old son, who has special needs, was repeatedly thrown against the sitting room wall as the chaos unfolded."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

The Peanut wrote: »
    Stupid I can handle; this is violent, criminal behaviour.

"A knife was put up to the throat of Mrs Osifa's husband Igosa as he tried to prevent a gang of youths from ripping a television off his wall.
    A bottle was also smashed over Mr Osifa's head.
    "They were trying to take the television from the wall, and when my husband tried to stop them they got a knife and threatened him," Mrs Osifa said.
    "They said they'd kill him if he tried to stop them.
    "He then accidentally bumped into a girl at the party and this boy hit him over the head with a glass bottle."
    Shockingly, the couple's 11-year-old son, who has special needs, was repeatedly thrown against the sitting room wall as the chaos unfolded."

I meant putting the party up on Facebook. People seem to think that's worse than a load of mad fcukers running amok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

Mallagio wrote: »
    I went outside because they were spilling through my garden but lots of these were recording this on their phones, they set up camp in the next door neighbours with a very loud sound system and proceeded to have their own party for say around 30 mins.

Then the Police was called and all hell broke out, Police didn't give a s*ite and didn't even get out of the car - the crowd went to another part of the estate throwing bottles and going mental - 2 or 3 couples were clearly seen going at it on the green - really mad scenes.

The sweet 16 girl told me that she sent it privately to her 20 or so friends but one of them copied the invite and put it on her own page for the world to see.

Honestly don't know how anyone wasn't stabbed - some of these kids called dealers to their gatecrashed party and these kids were off their f***in heads.

OP your story doesn't add up at all. I went to a party back in the day and about 300 people turned up. The gardai arrived in 10 mins of the birthday boys dad calling them. They called for help from other cars in the area. There was about 10 cars there and they were checking bags for drink. Anyone who was causing trouble was arrested.

What does a drug dealer look like ? I seriously doubt he is going to travel a 16th to sell €20 worth of weed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭The_Captain

Noblong wrote: »
    Lucans gone down a lot it seems. Knife out for the oulfella. No word of neighbours out to help.

Anyone claiming that Foxdene is in Lucan should be done under the Trade Descriptions Act

Noblong wrote: »

You couldn't get near the house, when we did get in to them we were just happy to see nobody was either on their way to hospital or dead.

We sat with them for a few hours until we knew that the mob wouldn't be back. Police didn't come back to see how the people were.

I mean what more could any of us do? I've 4 kids myself and my door was being looked after first and foremost, only one other man on the road went to house with me.

I can hold my head high but the rest of the people on the road couldn't give a sh*te bar one man.

hfallada wrote: »
    OP your story doesn't add up at all. I went to a party back in the day and about 300 people turned up. The gardai arrived in 10 mins of the birthday boys dad calling them. They called for help from other cars in the area. There was about 10 cars there and they were checking bags for drink. Anyone who was causing trouble was arrested.

What does a drug dealer look like ? I seriously doubt he is going to travel a 16th to sell €20 worth of weed

I couldn't give a toss what you don't believe, I can only tell my side of the story.

Terrible thing to happen. Problem is these scum may not be from the area. They would travel to get there (kinda like how all the knackers travel to howth etc during the summer)

The other thing i dislike is this whole Facebook bollox. If you actually go into a busy garda station and overhear or even ask a garda how many people going into to report abuse and issues they have with Facebook or crimes starting from Facebook it's ridiculous. I mean people here have become so depended on it and it's become a normal part of life for them.

I can see it becoming like those American tv shows where all the kids and adults are having fights and all sorts eastenders style over Facebook and the likes and I tell you all now I'm not taking part in any of that muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

Hoop66 wrote: »
    Surely the trouble is the fault of scumbags who decided to crash a party and trash everything?
    there were supposed to be 20 invites, but 250 young people under the age of 18 showed up, and trashed the place,
    who goes to parties uninvited,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

hfallada wrote: »

You went to a party "back in the day". Not this party. So you don't know what happened or didn't happen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Buzz Meeks

The idiocy of madmen.

Buzz Meeks wrote: »
    The idiocy of madmen.

Indeed, sure what can ya do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Has Lucan moved as some posters reckon the police were called????

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

This isn't the first time something like this has happened, and it won't be the last

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2245796/Facebook-party--30k-trail-destruction-800-descend-Billericay-home-girl-14.html

Kids seem too naive to realise that just because they only send the invite to '20 friends' there's nothing stopping any of those from sharing it on there page for all to see. Some kids have 400 facebook "friends" so if one of them re-posts it, that's 400 people who can definitely see it, plus the potential for more people to share it and all their friends seeing it too. I think the moral of this story is, if you don't want hundreds of people gatecrashing your party, don't make any mention of it on facebook.

Truckermal wrote: »
    Has Lucan moved as some posters reckon the police were called????

Ah come on will ya - kop on :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

How come no arrests were made?

Crazy as it sounds, the Guards just couldn't cope with it, I spoke to them in their cars and when they heard FB they just threw their eyes to heaven.

At that stage there were bottle being thrown at them but weirdly they done nothing.

Very strange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

goat2 wrote: »
    who goes to parties uninvited,

Gatecrashers usually do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Mallagio wrote: »
    Crazy as it sounds, the Guards just couldn't cope with it, I spoke to them in their cars and when they heard FB they just threw their eyes to heaven.

At that stage there were bottle being thrown at them but weirdly they done nothing.

Very strange

It wouldn't be all that strange if their priority was simply to disperse the crowd, but considering the man had a knife held to his throat and a bottle broken over his head, and his 11 year old son beaten up; you'd think they would have at least made a few arrests in the process... even if just as to act as a warning to the rest of the scummers.

The bottle over the head and son attacked is bull. 100%