Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

That Spurs game sickened me a bit tbh, very soft penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭Robson99

Stoke play decent football now, far better than we do

Ya your right. Apologies to stoke. Wimbledon is what I should have said. Stoke have improved a lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,917 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Robson99 wrote: »
    Ya your right. Apologies to stoke. Wimbledon is what I should have said. Stoke have improved a lot

Miserable isn't it? Don't think it's unfair to say we play there or thereabouts the worst football in the league, which is shocking with the players we have.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

If we are setting the bar at the level of Fellanis performances this season then our standards and expectation of MUFC have really really fallen.

Ah here, that's really just twisting what I said and trying to argue against a point I didn't make.

Do I want hoofball to become a long term and permanent solution? Absolutely not. But as a manager, LVG absolutely should be working with who is in form and making the most of them. Felaini offers us something different when our strikers aren't firing and the team can't walk the ball into the net, and acknowledging that isn't the same as saying that the long term goal should be to put him as the pinnacle of what we should expect....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

LVG's Barca v United - Champions League 1998 on MUTV now :)

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Ah here, that's really just twisting what I said and trying to argue against a point I didn't make.

Do I want hoofball to become a long term and permanent solution? Absolutely not. But as a manager, LVG absolutely should be working with who is in form and making the most of them. Felaini offers us something different when our strikers aren't firing and the team can't walk the ball into the net, and acknowledging that isn't the same as saying that the long term goal should be to put him as the pinnacle of what we should expect....
    Whats the point even trying long ball football ??. Why not play Herrera there and give it a go??. I don't think anyone of us would mind losing a few games if we thought we were improving technically. But resorting to dog and duck tactics with the players we ave and money we spent is disgusting.
    Been following United for 30 odd years through thick and thin and can honestly say that the sight of Fellani as our no 10 or target man is one of the saddest parts of that time. We always played with flair. Now its hit the big man and hope for a goal against some of the weakest tens in the league. Pathetic

Sunderland 3
    Newcastle 3
    Spurs 1
    Liverpool 1
    Villa 3
    City 0
    Chelsea 0
    Everton 3
    West Brom 3
    Palace 3
    Arsenal 0
    Hull 3

23 points, I dont find that unreasonable to expect or to feel confident about.

Draws against Spurs and Pool, defeats to all of Chelsea, Arsenal and City and as long as we beat the rest we should have more then enough. Even go so far as to say a draw against Everton would do as long as the other wins happen.

Liverpool remaining fixtures

Southampton,City, Burnley, Swansea, United, Arsenal, Newcastle, Hull, West Brom, QPR, Chelsea, Palace, Stoke.

23-26 points is what I expect at best from their POV, maybe less given the European football

Southampton,

Liverpool, West Brom, Chelsea, Palace, Burnley, Everton, Hull, Stoke, Spurs, Sunderland, Leicester, Villa, City.

If they keep up their form they will certainly go close, the hope is still that they will run out of steam :)

I was gonna do the others, Spurs and Arsenal but I doubt anybody cares and I have lost interest myself!

Whats the point even trying long ball football ??. Why not play Herrera there and give it a go??. I don't think anyone of us would mind losing a few games if we thought we were improving technically. But resorting to dog and duck tactics with the players we ave and money we spent is disgusting.
    Been following United for 30 odd years through thick and thin and can honestly say that the sight of Fellani as our no 10 or target man is one of the saddest parts of that time. We always played with flair. Now its hit the big man and hope for a goal against some of the weakest tens in the league. Pathetic

I feel sorry for you in that case.

I don't think anyone of us would mind losing a few games if we thought we were improving technically.

To be blunt, nonsense.

If we were losing games but playing pretty, there'd be plenty of people crying havoc and calling for LVG's head.

The goal for the manager and the club this year is to get back into CL football first, THEN play attractive football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

No offence but if you have been following United & football for 30+ years, i would expect you to have a far better understanding of basic football tactics and whatnot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

To be blunt, nonsense.

If we were losing games but playing pretty, there'd be plenty of people crying havoc and calling for LVG's head.

The goal for the manager and the club this year is to get back into CL football first, THEN play attractive football.

We are not Wigan.

LVG said before that he's trying to defend by keeping the ball,I don't think he really trusts most of our defenders to do their jobs the traditional way as they make so many mistakes so this pointless keep ball is his way of negating those errors as much as he can,not good to look at though.

Top 4 and the bonus of an FA Cup would be a job well done after last season.I see big changes in personnel and style of play next season.

The club was in bad shape when he came in, huge changes have already been made and more are needed to be a top team again but there is no doubt in my mind we are on the right road and have the right man at the helm to put the infrastructure in place again.

I doubt anybody thought it was going to be an easy waltz back into the top four, it was going to be a struggle and is obviously proving to be that, not helped by the good form shown by the likes of Southampton who you wouldn't have expected to be up there at this point in time.

The team is in good position to reach its target and the time for histrionics is yet to come.

To be blunt, nonsense.

Can we not get into the CL by playing attractive football????

When was the last time we played consistent attractive football in your opinion?

Imo, not with the players we have right now...

It's also a case of not being spoiled and wanting everything. You have to create a list of priorities and importances. And I'd imagine the vast majority, this season, will see getting back into the Champions League as priority number one, and "playing attractive football" as a distant second.

No offence but if you have been following United & football for 30+ years, i would expect you to have a far better understanding of basic football tactics and whatnot.

Fellani may be a good player on PlayStation or Xbox but in reality he is not. I understand tactics well enough to know how desperate we have become when w have to resort to lumping long balls into the box in hope that our 6ft 6 play maker will get a knock down. Jack Charlton how do

kryogen wrote: »
    When was the last time we played consistent attractive football in your opinion?

Probably Ferguson's second last season. But we have invested a lot of money since and have the players capable of playing attractive football.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Fellani may be a good player on PlayStation or Xbox but in reality he is not. I understand tactics well enough to know how desperate we have become when w have to resort to lumping long balls into the box in hope that our 6ft 6 play maker will get a knock down. Jack Charlton how do

What on earth has Anybof that got tondo with Fellainis ability as a footballer? van Gaal uses him that way, what can he do about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

The only time "lump long balls into the box" happens is when we are losing and need and equaliser, all teams do this..... desperate times etc.

Normally we pass and pass and pass, not very effectively a lot of the time i might add. We are far from a hoofball team.

How many hoofball teams regularly have 500+ passes per game and over 85% passing accuracy? I'll give you a clue, it's none.

Probably Ferguson's second last season. But we have invested a lot of money since and have the players capable of playing attractive football.

We have a fundamental disagreement there then, I don't see how you can call that football attractive either, it has been at least 6 years (imo) since we were playing consistently good, attractive football.

If you are following the team 30+ years you must surely understand the process of building to something? Take into account how bad the football was in Fergies last season alone, in the season Moyes was in charge, it was not going to be solved by buying a few players, the entire squad needs an overhaul while also meeting the demands of keeping CL football.

That is not an easy thing to do, if we get back into the CL this year it will have been a very good season, and one to build on next season, by hook or by crook. Van Gaal has developed teams before, we know this, he has had his teams play some outstanding football, consistently, we know this. Keep the faith and trust that even if you don't know what he is doing, he does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Rob Thomas

If you think goals are hard to come by now wait until Carrick comes back and LVG plays him, Fellaini and Blind in the same team.

Seriously though, for all the gloom about the performances and the lack of a cutting edge, it is all about top 4 this season. Given the way the season has panned out with Spurs and Liverpool it should have been much easier and we should be odds on by now, but it's still the minimum requirement and it's how LVG will be measured at the end of the season.

Given the big two are out, you would also expect a good crack at the FA cup. To go out to Arsenal would damage LVG in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

Draw in the match coming up please. Failing that a Southampton win. Lesser of two evils IMO and I just cannot cheer Liverpool on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Draw is best for us but feck that, hopefully Southampton win.

The only time "lump long balls into the box" happens is when we are losing and need and equaliser, all teams do this..... desperate times etc.

Normally we pass and pass and pass, not very effectively a lot of the time i might add. We are far from a hoofball team.

How many hoofball teams regularly have 500+ passes per game and over 85% passing accuracy? I'll give you a clue, it's none.

Sadly the only time we look like scoring is when its lumped into the box. We have created fuk all all season, playing Fellani in the hole or at the top of a diamond is not going to create anything either bar we lump it up and hope for the best.
    I'm not expecting us to play like Baca or Bayern but the least we should expect from LVG is that he plays the players in their best positions and tries to play proper football

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Ah shoot

This is very worrying how in form some of the teams behind us are and the quality of football they play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭IrishSkyBoxer

Ye are septic poor under lvg. Big clear out required. Falcao van gall and gigs the first to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

But you are suggesting we lose games?

How are we supposed to qualify?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Ye are septic poor under lvg. Big clear out required. Falcao van gall and gigs the first to go.

Lol no. I hope you're not a utd supporter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,071 ✭✭✭✭titan18

kryogen wrote: »
    The club was in bad shape when he came in, huge changes have already been made and more are needed to be a top team again but there is no doubt in my mind we are on the right road and have the right man at the helm to put the infrastructure in place again.

I doubt anybody thought it was going to be an easy waltz back into the top four, it was going to be a struggle and is obviously proving to be that, not helped by the good form shown by the likes of Southampton who you wouldn't have expected to be up there at this point in time.

The team is in good position to reach its target and the time for histrionics is yet to come.

150m and we're not that much better off than we were under Moyes. Playing crap with some stupid team selections and usage of players.Not sure how you're so confident LVG is the right man or that we're on the right road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

We're shít, Liverpool are playing well and getting away with murder.

It's 2013/14 all over again.....