The ones who got away?

• 22-02-2015 02:16AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭

Does anyone ever think about the girls/boys you could have got with/slept/ or had a relationship with with ect? Not a serious one for me but there was serious sexual tension between me and another PhD. I couldn't do anything really because it would have messed up the work relationship.

Another one was when I was living in Tanzania for a few months and this beautiful blonde volunteer stayed in the hostel for a while. I could have banged her (I'm an aul romantic) but instead of going on a date I went off to look at monkeys :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,103 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I went off to look at monkeys :(

Is that what they call it now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Is that what they call it now?

Yes I believe that's the term for looking at primates.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

I am the one that got away.

His loss.

Fceking eejit/b@stard/pr!ck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

I am the one that got away.

His loss.

*Fceking eejit/b@stard/pr!ck*.

That sounds like it ended on good terms XD

I don't think I have any "ones who got away".

Just "ones I shouldn't have gone near in the first place" and "ones who are too good for me and know it". :(

*pours another shot of Wray and Nephew*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Nah, I usually just fap to my imagination of fuking them and then move onto the next person, maybe a little sneaky cry in between those stages though.

I don't think I have any "ones who got away".

Just "ones I shouldn't have gone near in the first place" and "ones who are too good for me and know it". :(

*pours another shot of Wray and Nephew*

They were only too good for you because you thought it. Don't put them on a pedestal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Tearin It Up

That sounds like it ended on good terms XD

The whole relationship was on his terms, so it ended on my terms.

sexual tension between me and another PhD.

Thinly veiled "I have a phd" thread :)

But to answer your original question - Not Yet :) Does anyone get away when you have a direction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

The whole relationship was on his terms, so it ended on my terms.

You cold blooded fox! :D Fair play to ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭Aspiring

You're so well travelled doctor :pac:

They were only too good for you because you thought it. Don't put them on a pedestal.

Pfft, don't inderestimate how unattractive and inferior I am! :p

Thinly veiled "I have a phd" thread :)

But to answer your original question - Not Yet :) Does anyone get away when you have a direction?

Glad you asked mate. It's in biological physics we're trying to elucidate the electron relay system of a number of enzymes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Exact same thing happened to me OP. Not in somewhere as exotic as Tanzania though.

No, I was deep in the amazon rainforest somewhere on the Colombia Peru border.

Oh, and it wasn't monkeys i went looking at. I think on that particular day, I went off in search the endangered spectacled bear. Also known as the Andean short faced bear.

Look up neural plasticity. You can literally think your way out of thinking patterns. I may be worth trying. Inferior is a relative term not absolute.

Lapin wrote: »
    Exact same thing happened to me OP. Not in somewhere as exotic as Tanzania though.

No, I was deep in the amazon rainforest somewhere on the Colombia Peru border.

Oh, and it wasn't monkeys i went looking at. I think on that particular day, I went off in search the endangered spectacled bear. Also known as the Andean short faced bear.

Wow! I seen his cousin the sun bear recently. Did you find one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭creolebelle

That's the best thing about Facebook and all the other social network sites

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,183 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Wow! I seen his cousin the sun bear recently. Did you find one?

Not yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,444 ✭✭✭Trebor176

I've let a good few get away, never to be seen again. Why? Because I'm a feckin' eegit, who wasn't confident to approach them, get chatting to them, and ask them out! Maybe the negative side to me reckoned I'd be turned down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Yeah, one girl for sure. I think about her a lot tbh. I'm getting on a bit now but I can remember back just after we did the leaving (1991) I started going out with her. I also got my first car around then and we used to go for spins down the beach, listen to Radiohead, Johnny Cash and stuff like that. We used to nick her folks alcohol all the time. Her gaff was huge and some nights we would go up on the roof. I can remember us talking about how we'd always be together. On her birthday once we even got the same tattoos. I got mine removed a few years later though. Wonder what she's up to these days.

Glad you asked mate. It's in biological physics we're trying to elucidate the electron relay system of a number of enzymes.

"No" would have been better :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Yeah, one girl for sure. I think about her a lot tbh. I'm getting on a bit now but I can remember back just after we did the leaving (1991) I started going out with her. I also got my first car around then and we used to go for spins down the beach, listen to Radiohead, Johnny Cash and stuff like that.

We used to nick her folks alcohol all the time. Her gaff was huge and some nights we would go up on the roof. I can remember us talking about how we'd always be together. We even got the same tattoos on her birthday. I got mine removed a few years later though. Wonder what she's up to these days.

Probably riding some other lad.

I let this girl who was mad about me get away years ago. I lacked the balls to ask her out and wanted to be sure that she liked me :rolleyes:. Real man I was ha ha. Many years of toughing up knocked that sh1t out of me.

Look up neural plasticity. You can literally think your way out of thinking patterns. I may be worth trying. Inferior is a relative term not absolute.

I'm well into CBT* at this stage, trust me when I say that I'm not one to fall for quackery or believe in unscientific absolutes. However, I'm still unconvinced of my potential to break free of my self-imposed inferiority complex. :(

*cognitive behavioral therapy, not the dirtier BDSM/LGBT acronym! :p

I'm well into CBT* at this stage, trust me when I say that I'm not one to fall for quackery or believe in unscientific absolutes. However, I'm still unconvinced of my potential to break free of my self-imposed inferiority complex. :(

*cognitive behavioral therapy, not the dirtier BDSM/LGBT acronym! :p

Well look up the science. The brain can rewrite itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I let this girl who was mad about me get away years ago. I lacked the balls to ask her out and wanted to be sure that she liked me :rolleyes:. Real man I was ha ha. Many years of toughing up knocked that sh1t out of me.

why do I hear a Scottish accent in my head when Im reading your post? Are you Scottish?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Well look up the science. The brain can rewrite itself.

He's right, we are a product of the projections of our own thoughts.

why do I hear a Scottish accent in my head when Im reading your post? Are you Scottish?

Dublin ha ha. Stream of conciousness maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Tell me about it..

I have always hated myself and when I read about about body dysmorphic disorder, was sure I had it but the doctor just said 'Nah, man, you kinda do look as bad as you think you do'.

Dammit.

Dublin ha ha. Stream of conciousness maybe.

Stream of conciousgotaway :p