Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How will you vote in the Marriage Equality referendum? Mod Note Post 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

DCU exams aren't finishing til the 23rd though, so there's a potential problem for those students. There's a campaign started though to not have any exams held on the 22nd. Not sure how that will pan out!

That is a good idea. If the Students Union really get behind it it could be a success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,259 ✭✭✭Daith

DCU exams aren't finishing til the 23rd though, so there's a potential problem for those students. There's a campaign started though to not have any exams held on the 22nd. Not sure how that will pan out!

Though people can change their address now. If I was a student had exams on Saturday, I'd change where I can vote.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Gunney wrote: »
    I guess you didn't look up a definition of sanctity then.

For me sanctity is about being holy, sacred and saintly. Is there anything holy, sacred or saintly about so called same sex marriage.

Seems to me a tiny percentage of the population is looking to redfine marriage for the vast majority of the country and change it from being child centered and selfless to being adult centred and selfish.
    Whilst you are whittling about the definition of words you seem blissfully unaware that for all intents and purposes words like 'saintly, holy, sacred' can be defined along the same lines as 'seance, scrying, Druids, ghosts, The force, crystal healing'. An argument based on such.......... stuff isn't much of an argunent

Seems to me a tiny percentage of the population is looking to redfine marriage for the vast majority of the country and change it from being child centered and selfless to being adult centred and selfish.

Oh child centered?

Despite no married couple requiring to produce children to remain married?
    Despite no parents having to marry to have children.
    Despite allowing infertile couples to marry.
    Despite the fact the homosexual people raise children anyway and they aren't married.

Yeah child centered all right.

Daith wrote: »
    Though people can change their address now. If I was a student had exams on Saturday, I'd change where I can vote.

That process is a little complicated though I mean definitely still worth doing but some will be lost if that is the only option.

proving not only mathematically but biologically there is no difference between men and women.

Strange thing to try and prove given no one on the thread is claiming that. I think the claim is not that men and women have no differences - but that there are no differences in the context of raising children - for example - that are in any way relevant.

I would not claim that a bus is the same in every way to a car either. But in terms of functionally getting me from my house to work - both are functionally identical in _that context_. And in the context of raising children I am not seeing any difference between the sexes.
    gender models are important and ideally kids should have a mother and a father.

Am I not entitled to that opinion?

Oh you are more than entitled to you own opinion - but not to your own facts. Are there any facts suggesting that "gender models" are actually that important - or is it mere opinion and no more that you are offering us? What supports the "ideal" of which you speak aside from your opinion? After all you did say:
    I prefer truth to opinion. Factually more correct.

So lets hear the facts not the opinion. What have you got for us?

That process is a little complicated though I mean definitely still worth doing but some will be lost if that is the only option.

I think it's less complicated than trying to get Universities to change exams dates!

Is it that complicated though?

Fill in RFA3
    Get it signed by Gardai
    Send to council?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Nonsense on all counts!

Whether or not it is a tiny percentage will be determined by the count of votes at referendum stage. If the votes here are representative it's over 70%.

Referring to the current laws on marriage as being child centred is incorrect, but in any event whatever implications the current laws have for children will not be changed by the referendum.

As for selfless and selfish - I just don't know where you're getting those ideas.

I think it's less complicated than trying to get Universities to change exams dates!

:pac: Probably not! An individual level I guess it would be more complicated for the kind of person who wasn't going to campaign to have the date changed if you know what I mean.

Fill in RFA3
    Get it signed by Gardai
    Send to council?

I really meant 'a little more complicated'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Flem31

Fill in RFA3
    Get it signed by Gardai
    Send to council?

Which council would the form go to......where the vote exists atm or where you want it moved to.
    Just interested

Flem31 wrote: »
    Which council would the form go to......where the vote exists atm or where you want it moved to.
    Just interested

Moved to. You include where you are currently registered and your new address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Oh child centered?

Despite no married couple requiring to produce children to remain married?
    Despite no parents having to marry to have children.
    Despite allowing infertile couples to marry.
    Despite the fact the homosexual people raise children anyway and they aren't married.

Yeah child centered all right.

The child centered argument only applies if your partner is the same sex as you. Otherwise you can get drunk and married in vegas with your infertile 80 year old lover you met 5 mins ago and nobody cares.

Well, I think they do care but can't say anything about it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

floggg wrote: »
    If you are referring to me
    NO!

I see Francis has revealed more of himself through comments to the media; expecting a strong endorsement from him for the yes side in the coming months.

I wonder when it'll be confirmed that the 22nd is definitely the date? Kenny said it was "likely" but I wanna know it's official before I fork out €85 to change my flights by a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Obviously, I'm for equality.

I have issues with marriage - but that's for another debate. I've went from abstaining to voting yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joe912

I would have no problem with gays or lesbians marrying although I imagine being able to get married will leave it less attractive to them. I was initaially not going to vote as I don't ccare enough to bother. I am however going to vote no because the government have decided that they are smarter than the rest of us by bringing in legislation regarding gay adoption something I have a problem with, mostly that hetro couples will be overlooked in favour of gay couples to avoid discriminating against people on the basis of their sexual orientation (despite doing exactly that). I also believe it would be naïve to think that a child being brought up by a gay couple wouldn't be subjected to abuse from their peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

joe912 wrote: »
    I would have no problem with gays or lesbians marrying although I imagine being able to get married will leave it less attractive to them. I was initaially not going to vote as I don't ccare enough to bother. I am however going to vote no because the government have decided that they are smarter than the rest of us by bringing in legislation regarding gay adoption something I have a problem with, mostly that hetro couples will be overlooked in favour of gay couples to avoid discriminating against people on the basis of their sexual orientation (despite doing exactly that). I also believe it would be naïve to think that a child being brought up by a gay couple wouldn't be subjected to abuse from their peers.

Extraordinary reasoning , but it is your vote to do with as you will.

marienbad wrote: »
    Extraordinary reasoning , but it is your vote to do with as you will.

your right it is

The condescending attitude of the yes side doesn't help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,861 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Doesn't help what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Even worse reasoning, but there you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

I agree, shocking decision.

Maybe abstain, as you would be hitting the homosexuals instead of the Government ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

I also believe it would be naïve to think that a child being brought up by a gay couple wouldn't be subjected to abuse from their peers.
    I believe it would be naive to think that a child being brought up by a straight couple wouldn't be subjected to abuse from their peers.

Bullies are everywhere. Doesn't matter who you are, what kind of person you are, what colour, religion, or sexuality. Lot of dickheads out there to make your life miserable as you're growing up.

This 'good of the children' crap, thinking maybe they wouldn't be submitted to abuse if they had straight parents, that's a dumb view. Maybe you think if they didn't have gay parents that'd at least cut off one avenue for potential abuse. Doesn't work like that. Not for bullies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I don't know why people wouldn't vote - is your life so fun packed that anything, including voting in a referendum that will impact the lives of your fellow citizens massively, pale in comparison? What are ye going to do otherwise, like? Post on Boards? Voting is a day out: you can head down and vote and go for a pint after. Lovely. Is it that you've never voted before and never experienced the buzz of the polling station, the feeling that are you're actually doing something worthwhile and making a difference (when do you get to feel that on regular basis), the novelty of collecting the ballot, filling it out and dropping it in the box.

It's something to fooking do, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Condescending?

Ask me flute. Lads and lassies, read the proclamation. It's an excellent piece. Our Irish fellow citizens deserve the exact rights we do. It's as simple as that for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Em, what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I wonder when it'll be confirmed that the 22nd is definitely the date? Kenny said it was "likely" but I wanna know it's official before I fork out €85 to change my flights by a day.

Oh is it not definite? Almost booked my flight last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

And yet the people who know what they're doing says there is no problems. You are doing the very thing you accuse the government of doing. Im not sure how the government thinks they are smarter than the rest of us by bringing it in anyway.

The rest has as much evidence as claiming we'll all be forced to marry someone of the same sex.

I have a problem when my curry is too spicy, means nothing to anyone else though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

The Government weren't being sneaky, they just didnt want the two separate issues of ssm and same sex parenting getting mixed up...you can thank Iona and co. for that.

Same sex couples already foster, if we are good enough for that, then we should be good enough to be considered as adoptive parents.

Countless reputable studies show that kids of ss couples do just as well as kids from straight couples.

All types of kids get bullied, should we stop red heads from having kids too? What about fat people?

I don't think you understand the adoption process. No one has the right to adopt, just the right to be considered as an adoptive parent. No one is going to be picking ss couples over straight couples to avoid discrimination. Frankly I'm sure there are many hard working social workers etc who would really take offence to that comment. It is not easy work, they do it because they care about children. There are many criteria to go through when placing a child with a family. This is so that each individual child will be placed with the best family for their individual situation, That won't change when gay couples are allowed to adopt. It just means social workers will have more options. That is in the best interest of the child.

Believe it or not there are times where it is in the best interest of the child to be placed with a same sex couple. For example where one member of the ss couple is related to said child and they already have a close bond. Another is where a ss couple have been fostering a child for many years and now must be placed for adoption. Surely it is in the best interest of the child to live with the parents that have been fostering them for many years rather than going to complete strangers.

If I sound disinterested or condescending then I apologise. But I and others have had the same conversations here over and over again. Experience has thought me, people on the no side will rarely even acknowledge the above points....