Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

The feckin Greeks! As much as you might say fair play to them for standing up for themselves, they have a lotta people nervous about the euro. Even apart from quantitive easing.

They also invented gayness..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Cheensbo wrote: »
    They also invented gayness..

I did originally phrase my post as "fair play to them for sticking it to the man" but thought better of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Are all petrol prices back to normal? everywhere I see its around 1.31 to 1.35.

Noticed that myself. Cheap prices didn't last too long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Are all petrol prices back to normal? everywhere I see its around 1.31 to 1.35.

1.24 still here in one garage, was 1.23 till yesterday.
    HQugQZ7.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Hmmm long story short - my car was parked next to 06' Audi A8 today. I had a good look inside of it and I really loved it. Very nice looking interior and exterior is not too bad, even if it is like any other Audi out there, but just bigger. All in all I really liked in the flesh, but then I had to snap out of it as it is Audi after all and one of the most expensive ones to maintain at that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Ffs I really need to sell a car to get a car but I don't want to get rid of anything :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ffs I really need to sell a car to get a car but I don't want to get rid of anything :(

Don't end up like me....!

Got my engine, wooot! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Just came back from hospital with my health tests results... Depressing to say the least :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Sobanek wrote: »
    Just came back from hospital with my health tests results... Depressing to say the least :(

As long as you don't have to give up driving for a few days, it can't be that bad. I've been off work/can't drive since Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

****e day for health all round then.

Sobanek wrote: »

Sorry to hear that and I hope it's sorted.
    Only way to look at these things is at least you are on a road of care, many folk don't know they have serious issues healthwise until it's far too late.

On a motoring note, was getting tyres today, people coming and going.... a guy comes in, tyres for a 156, lad there says Pirelli in that size are reasonable €115, Firestone €105, something else (didn't catch it) €90 and finally a chinese option for €78.

Guy goes Chinese be grand thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Lads I don't know if ye are following the clocking thread but my god is it kicking off..
    The clockers have showed up!!!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057335812&page=18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

What's up Sobaneck if you don't mind me asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Sorry to hear Sobanek! At least you have 12 cylinders to cheer you up everyday :)
    Augeo wrote: »
    On a motoring note, was getting tyres today, people coming and going.... a guy comes in, tyres for a 156, lad there says Pirelli in that size are reasonable €115, Firestone €105, something else (didn't catch it) €90 and finally a chinese option for €78.

I was the same yesterday, when I went in asking about tyres I said I wanted them to be good and not the cheapest and you could hear the rest in reception gasping :pac:

The lad selling the tyres was impressive enough, he mentioned how the Pirelli were value at the price in that size, said the firestone were good. Offered something else that he said was midgrange and than said the Chinese tyre was available at €20 less than the midrange option.

Aside from saying the Chinese was rubbish that he stocked as people want the cheapest option he couldn't have been more clear.

To be fair to the customer though tyres are a grudge purchase for most people and we all have bills to pay.

I rationalise it as the Pirelli is €37 more than the cheapest option so worth the extra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Sorry to hear Sobanek! At least you have 12 cylinders to cheer you up everyday :)

:

Does he not have 8 and 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭coolisin

Woot. Push start and into second got her going. Will get the battery checked though.

The car would be telling you the battery is low with. Yellow warning drawing of battery on the instrument panel.
    It would've told you that as the car was sitting there charging your phone with a constant annoying binging.

No harm in getting it checked though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Does he not have 8 and 6?

12 and 6. Trying to get rid of 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

That drive was an adventure.

Turned off the N81 because dawdler doing 60kph, so I thought I'd give it a shoeing over the Sally gap. Should've been 'Silly Gap'. So much ice and gof up the top that even crawling at 30kph, the car was going straight on at every corner... including the ones with very long, dark drops out the outside of them...

Then down the other side, and Dublin is glittering at night, sprawling before me like this golden galaxy of civilisation.

The amount of idiots that were driving with just their parking lights on a minute ago was ridiculous! Same with BMW drivers using just Angel Eyes and Fogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Like in your sig?

They're being cool :)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Like in your sig?

Exactly like my signature, but actually driving :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

The amount of idiots that were driving with just their parking lights on a minute ago was ridiculous! Same with BMW drivers using just Angel Eyes and Fogs!

Was getting so much glare from the fog that I had to turn mine off and run with just the foglights to see where I was going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Same with BMW drivers using just Angel Eyes and Fogs!

That's the way I roll dude! :p

Big Nasty wrote: »
    That's the way I roll dude! :p

I suppose of all the cool kids are doing it :P

If only one of my fogs wasn't blown :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Like in your sig?

BOOOOOM :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Like in your sig?

hqdefault.jpg

Rekt.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Augeo wrote: »

Similar happened the last time I was in my local tyre place a lad pulls in in an Audi A6 the car was a year old still on original tyres all the toys s line the works really great car his young kids were in the back the tyres were almost completly bald he said it was his wife's car to the tyre guy :eek: anyway tyre guy starts giving him options most expensive to cheapest starts at Michelin / Goodyears, then hankook, then triangle now when you start going below triangle things are bad but he took the cheapest wanli chinese sh!t they had.

I love when you walk into a tyre place and there like we have tyres there for 59 euro in your size and you say Yep I actually want decent tyres the shock in their face and they say we have bridgestone there you say what model bridgestone are they ? And their jaw nearly hits the floor :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H