Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

U beat me to it. Read elsewhere that fonterra were looking to sell thru other means for high value products, can't remember where now wonder if it is affecting the gdt prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭visatorro

I for one am glad at last to hear some positive news. The news for the last few months has been more positive but people and particularly the FINDO don't want to report

good news doesn't sell newspapers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

keep going wrote: »
    the other side of that coin is if for example cheese is making 2750 a ton that roughly translate into a milk price of 27 cent so there is no margin in that if milk price stays at 30 cent odd so that dosent make sense.coops are hoping we have reached a tipping point in the market and with smaller volumes are willing to risk it for a month or 2.bear in mind that milk processed today hits the market in 6 months.those heifers came cheap,you were lucky I wasn't in the yard id say:D

They're good value alright, I'd better collect them before he changes his mind! Thanx for ur help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭red bull

Arrabawn held price, top of league again I think. What a difference the right product mix can make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,798 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

glanbia milk statements are on line, 0.5cpl bonus is very welcome:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

May or may not be the case, probably is but the reality is that bottom has been reached.

I for one am glad at last to hear some positive news. The news for the last few months has been more positive but people and particularly the FINDO don't want to report

The 'spin machine' got carried away in the Irish Coop's...
    Setting ye up for a fall that doesn't look like it's going to materialize!

Our crew on this side look to have called it correctly...
    Ye wouldn't listen to me last November when I called it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Dawggone wrote: »
    The 'spin machine' got carried away in the Irish Coop's...
    Setting ye up for a fall that doesn't look like it's going to materialize!

Our crew on this side look to have called it correctly...
    Ye wouldn't listen to me last November when I called it!!

Dodged a bullet dwag,drought and fronteras predictions of 3.5% reduction in supply in New Zealand have been a big help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

:Dbest part is it looks like nz caught the worst I hope for a change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Dodged a bullet dwag,drought and fronteras predictions of 3.5% reduction in supply in New Zealand have been a big help

Exchange rate movement is possibly the biggest influence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Exactly.

If we really want the milk price to recover we need to leave the Euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,722 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

kowtow wrote: »
    Exactly.

Hello Jim corr!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Spot on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

kowtow wrote: »
    Exactly.

You being a man who understands these things might explain how we'd deal with all of the other consequences of leaving the euro even assuming it was a cordial break up. Everybody being very adult and cosmopolitan about it joint custody of the kids and a fair division of the assets etc. How would we deal with whoever has replaced George Soros when he decided to have a go at the new punt. I'm no geriatric but I remember overnight rates in the high twenties and paying 18% on term loans all in the name of protecting our exchange rate. I'm happy enough to sacrifice a few percent on a euro milk price in exchange for the stability it brings. Maybe you can make a case for the rollercoaster but I'd take a good bit of convincing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

You being a man who understands these things might explain how we'd deal with all of the other consequences of leaving the euro even assuming it was a cordial break up. Everybody being very adult and cosmopolitan about it joint custody of the kids and a fair division of the assets etc. How would we deal with whoever has replaced George Soros when he decided to have a go at the new punt. I'm no geriatric but I remember overnight rates in the high twenties and paying 18% on term loans all in the name of protecting our exchange rate. I'm happy enough to sacrifice a few percent on a euro milk price in exchange for the stability it brings. Maybe you can make a case for the rollercoaster but I'd take a good bit of convincing.

+1.
    The brinksmanship going on atm is very serious.
    The ECB should stick to what they are supposed to do and not be making hard threats to the Greeks.

Let's face it, Greece should NEVER have been allowed into the Euro. Creative accounting by Goldman Sachs and slack regulations have left us where we are.

Now is deffo not the time for a Euro collapse...

Statesmen with the ability to lead Europe are needed now...we need extraordinary men for extraordinary times.

It's such a shame that banks take priority over people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

Just wondering if any one here is having trouble getting on to the Glanbia agrilink website?Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Aska

Just wondering if any one here is having trouble getting on to the Glanbia agrilink website?Thanks

Never tried looking online for the statement, but the paper edition didn't arrive here today (money in the account this morning though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,798 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

either go in on your phone or through internet explorer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

ok thanks . That worked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

How much is the sl fine if you go over it? Or dose that depend on how much Ireland is over quota?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

How much is the sl fine if you go over it? Or dose that depend on how much Ireland is over quota?

28c per litre.

Unused quota will distributed among those over with priority given to those with quota under350 k and levy paid on remainder lads are over.

Lads with good solids will still get 5 or 6 cent a liter which is abit more than youll make throwing it into friesan bull calves but some lads seem to prefer the calf route.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Fcuk that's steep. 5/6 cent L is better than feeding bull calves and the hassle of it to. I think I'd rather pull out the slurry tanker than pay .28L sl fine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Fcuk that's steep. 5/6 cent L is better than feeding bull calves and the hassle of it to. I think I'd rather pull out the slurry tanker than pay .28L sl fine!

You miss the point. Milk is making 30 / 35 cent depending on solids.

If you pay the 28cent you have a few cent left over. If you put it in the slurry tank you are losing the full value of the milk.

Sure all them big dairy farmers are rotten with money anyway so theyll be grand:D::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

18% intrest rates would have been no harm here from 03 through 08.

18% interest rates means the repayments on a 10 year term loan taken out at 8/9% rates double all in the name ( at the time) of political hubris. If you had experienced it you wouldn't be as flippant about it.

8/9% would have done a lot to cool things ten years ago, stricter lending controls on house mortgages would have done the same. Making residential property tax apply to all residential property incl zoned land would now help concentrate developers minds on developing not attempting to control the market. Lots of options before you'd consider rates like that.

In the 20 odd years we had the punt there were at least two if not three extended periods with interest rates as high as this. If you're sitting on piles of cash it's probably great fun but if you're trying to build a business it can cost you everything whether it's caused by political mistakes or the whim of some egomanical scumbag playing with other people's money. The euro is our best protection against it. Does anyone really think Nebraska and California are always in sync on interest/exchange requirements. I doubt that they are but Nebraska benefits from the stability of the dollar and California benefits from the drag places like Nebraska are on the dollar value much the way Germany benefits from the drag of the piigs on the euro. If you think '08 to now has been bad it would have been infinitely worse without the euro imo.

Btw nice stroke from glanbia on the electronic payments. Big companies always take the long view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Btw nice stroke from glanbia on the electronic payments. Big companies always take the long view.

what have they done,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭jaymla627

te="leg wax;94351484"]what have they done,
    :eek:[/quote]

Just trying to switch all milk payments to electronic payment, and have it nicely worded if you still want to be paid by the cheque in the post it won't be paid out on the 17th and there will be delays of a couple of days.

leg wax wrote: »
    what have they done,

Calm down legs. Just a small logistical change. If you've signed up for electronic payment the only difference is your statement will be arriving a few days later from here on. If you haven't signed up your cheque will now arrive with the later statement. Looks like the payments dept has finally been swamped.

I wonder how this sits with the commitment given all those years ago around the time of the avonmore/waterford merger that the cheques would always be in by the sixteenth. Afair that was a written commitment