Garda shot on holiday in America faces $1,000,000 hospital bill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

Who the **** goes to the 7th Ward of New Orleans at 4 30 in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

In other countries, we just pay taxes that go towards healthcare.

Should those taxpayers be paying for non tax paying tourists healthcare also?

That said the charge is rediculously inflated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I have a feeling that the travel insurance has clauses about injuries sustained will under the influence of alcohol. Typically they won't cover all or costs above a certain level. From the reports I think it is safe to assume he was under the influence of alcohol when this mugging occurred.

As for health care costs in the states, I saw it first hand when I attended an Emergency Room in Boston back in 2001. The standard of care I got was rubbish, they misdiagnosed me spectacularly incorrectly and when I got back here I found out my VHI was charged around $10,000 for the privilege.

Despite all the faults in our Health system here when you do get to the front line staff their standard of care typically is of a very high standard which is amazing considering the pressure most work under.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Who the **** goes to the 7th Ward of New Orleans at 4 30 in the morning?

Locals suspect he was trying to score some drugs.

They've seen it all before

http://wgno.com/2015/01/28/neighbors-question-irish-cops-motives-for-being-in-the-7th-ward/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Here in the states we raise money all the time for injured cops and their families

Yes, but here in Ireland most people treat the Gardai like dirt. Light sentencing of criminals who assault emergency services personnel, certain "politicians" and other factors contribute to a lot of people treating these brave men and women like crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Locals suspect he was trying to score some drugs.

They've seen it all before

http://wgno.com/2015/01/28/neighbors-question-irish-cops-motives-for-being-in-the-7th-ward/
    I don't know about that, they clearly dont know the lengths an Irish person will go to to find more drink on a night out.

It's not like he knew the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Egginacup wrote: »
    Even if he didn't have insurance do you think that any society should charge someone a king's ransom just to treat them after they got shot?

No, but I'm not the king of America.

I know how bad their healthcare or lack thereof is. I'd probably get cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't know about that, they clearly dont know the lengths an Irish person will go to to find more drink on a night out.

It's not like he knew the area.

He was originally out in the French Quarter that night, where loads of bars and clubs stay open all night because there's no closing time restrictions in the city. He withdrew $200 and went with a total stranger into what is an exclusively residential area at 5:30 AM

He was in his hole looking for drink tbh! And regardless of whether he was or not he should have had the cop-on not to get himself into that situation. He may not have known the area but it's no secret to anyone that New Orleans is an extremely dangerous place outside of the tourist areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

He was in his hole looking for drink tbh!

Looking for his hole more like.
    What will 200 get you?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

It's crazy and so so wrong. Whatever your political leanings think you have agree everyone should have healthcare. Scary.
    US culture can and does think a different way overall. The rich aren't so nearly impacted by it and don't want any more taxes, the poor generally believe the American Dream that one day they too might be rich and won't want to pay to fund public healthcare and the healthcare industry and the insurance industry and the drug companies make such a sickening(no pun) amount of money they really don't want anything to do with public healthcare. It's an enormous racket and one with very heavy hitting influence in US government.

To give you an idea. What is the biggest cause of bankruptcy in the US? Medical bills. They make up over 60% of all such filings(even if you're covered by insurance). Something that is alien in concept in every other western nation and many nations beyond. Why does the character in Breaking Bad start cooking meth?

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,565 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Nodin wrote: »
    It has to be said, it takes some neck to accuse a man with a good name of fraud when all he's done is get shot in a foreign country.

Not accusing him of fraud. I'm just saying the guy is a nobody, not up to anyone else to pay his bills for him . His mess his bills. I won't be chipping in that for sure.
    I can think of a lot more worthy people than a guy that was too stingy to pay for insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Wibbs wrote: »
    Something that is alien in concept in every other western nation and many nations beyond. Why does the character in Breaking Bad start cooking meth?

http://i.huffpost.com/gen/1371807/thumbs/o-BREAKING-BAD-CANADA-COMIC-570.jpg?3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Doesn't matter how or why he got shot. Wtf is wrong with some people?

What's wrong is that you have a country that expresses itself as the land of the free, when in truth your freedom to live and basic quality of life is measured by the depths of your pocket.

http://on.ted.com/Sandel

I don't think any country that has financial resources but chooses to maintain a tiered healthcare and education system to its citizens can really classify itself civilised. More selectively civilised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

However, Murphy says it’s easy for out-of-towners to be lured away from high traffic tourist areas, “Being from Ireland I can tell you they think it’s the southern hospitality.”

Ha. A Garda detective (so presumably not a naive idiot) winds up in a sh*t part of town after withdrawing $200 with two random lads and apparently he was beguiled by the 'southern hospitality' of two dodgy looking lads hanging around at 5.30am.

Some load of cod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Had the mugger got a gun? Would have thought a cop should be able to restrain someone, even if they had an knife.

I...

٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶

He was originally out in the French Quarter that night, where loads of bars and clubs stay open all night because there's no closing time restrictions in the city. He withdrew $200 and went with a total stranger into what is an exclusively residential area at 5:30 AM
    He wouldn't really have known where he was being taken though, unless he regularly goes to new orleans and knows the place?

Maybe he didn't like the kind of tourist bars you'd get in the french quarter and was looking for something more local. I know I've wandered into some shady areas, with some shady looking people, looking for more traditional places to drink. Once you've done it a few times it doesn't seem like a bizarre thing to do.

Maybe he was looking for drugs or whores but you can't say either way based on the fact he got himself in a stupid situation while drunk. I've boarded ships in the galway docks looking for drink at 5 in the morning. That was years ago when I was young and stupid. I know better now, there's no easy access to drink on large vacant ships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

323 wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly when first seen this in the news. Seen him quoted as saying "I'm a lucky man." The idiot is very lucky to be alive.

Traveling internationally with piss poor insurance, I suspect none. Stupid.

To go on the beer on your own anywhere in New Orleans is begging for trouble, let alone heading to the 7th Ward, I wouldn't go there in a car in broad daylight, let alone on foot at 4AM, suicidal.

Then after getting himself into a situation where he was at best asking to be mugged, to refuse to hand over a measly $200, he's obviously not very bright.

$1,000000 sounds about right for plugging multiple gunshot wounds and keeping the fool alive, probably bee the same here it all toted up. The price of stupidity. Amazing so many here suggesting he should be allowed to avoid payment.
    not stupid at all. its a rip off. he shouldn't pay a cent. how was he to know that the 7th ward is not far off being like bagdad. not everyone knows every little thing about every little place in america

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭Iranoutofideas

The drink story is complete and utter bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭cerastes

I'm really surprised at the travel insurance, I pay 28 a year, and it covers me for over 10 million?

who with, always good to have some go to info if i need it in the future.
    Had the mugger got a gun? Would have thought a cop should be able to restrain someone, even if they had an knife.
    Why try over such an amount, either dont carry cash or much on you and dont fight with someone where your life is in jeopardy, so if they are pointing a gun at you or even holding a knife, why risk it, he's not John McClane and it wasnt a movie.
    I wouldnt want to lose 200 euro so I dont carry it on me, but 200 dollars isnt worth fighting with someone over, especially someone with a gun,and while he might have been drunk, its no excuse to be stupid, wheres he based? makes him sound woefully stupid and unprepared,
    and into the bargain, I doubt telling anyone to f off helped, maybe he's used to being able to push his view here? might sound tough at the time, but better off without 2 bullets in you and risking all over it. Lucky he isnt dead.

???

What else do you think he was shot with?

bullets?
    I was under the impression that life-saving care was free in the US, ie injuries exactly like the above. Whatever about the guy not handing over the cash, noone deserves this. Perfectly exemplifies the vile nature of for-profit healthcare. I'm dreading what the Tories'll get upto if they win in May,

And this is the type of system Harney wanted us and it seems we eventually will go to as if it is somehow better.
    I wouldnt rely on anything like that being free, especially there where its widely known that healthcare is serious money.
    Are you serious? Not everybody will bend over backwards for a mugger. If they did, they're basically telling the muggers to keep on mugging because we're not going to put up a fight.
    bollox, is it worth getting shot once for 200 dollars, if thats all he had on him, then thats all they suspected or knew and they probably wanted it for drugs themselves, he was very foolish.
    They wanted that money and out of there, still they might have shot him anyway, but he got himself into that situation and was very naive.
    Egginacup wrote: »
    Why does anyone have to raise funds to pay his medical bill? Shouldn't the state pay it?

Why should we pay for his stupidity, if he can afford a holiday, then he'd have been better putting that 200 dollars equivalent to some decent insurance.
    He either had none or very basic? tbh I have no idea how he'd pay for this and Id hope whatever medical fund he has with his job isnt forced to pay out for it.
    As someone said, they seem to write off huge amounts when bills cant be paid, still even if the hypothetical 50k was what it came to, that'd be a hell of an amount anyway.
    Makes you think alright, get the right level of cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

cerastes wrote: »
    bullets?

Do bullets commonly come out of things other than guns? Am I having a stroke or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Just thinking I'm glad I was never shot in some of the dodgy places I've found myself in from time to time, boardsies would have me hung, drawn and quartered for treason before I got home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

That's why you never ever go to the US (or anywhere that's not in the EU) without adequate medical cover!

Emergency care is normally covered by your travel insurance and it's usually fairly heavy.

The problem is that people don't comprehend how big a sum "adequate" is for the US in particular. They've an incredibly expensive system.

I don't think you can be extradited over a debt though in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

ScumLord wrote: »
    Maybe he was looking for drugs or whores but you can't say either way based on the fact he got himself in a stupid situation while drunk. I've boarded ships in the galway docks looking for drink at 5 in the morning. That was years ago when I was young and stupid. I know better now, there's no easy access to drink on large vacant ships.

I got on the train to sligo so i could keep drinking with a friend. There's a bar on the train you see.

Only when we sobered up someone told us there was a bar in the train station that we walked past.

I've also been in bars that were raided by the Bolivian military twice. They were fun nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

$53 charge for every pair of non-sterile disposable gloves used during your stay

http://www.rd.com/slideshows/wildly-overinflated-hospital-costs/#slide5=&slideshow=slide5

Sterile ones are more expensive apparently.

Seriously, fcuk that kip

Looking through that,I have to doubt the accuracy. Box of 100 gloves may cost 20 dollars,however as they buy in bulk they may get them for 5-10 dollars.
    Same with swabs,box of 100 would probably cost 10 dollars.

If there is any truth behind the numbers its one messed up healthcare system.

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    If there is any truth behind the numbers its one messed up healthcare system.
    Well it's likely how they've decided to invoice their customers. Some companies like to price out everything in such a way as it covers the cost and gives the customer an itemised bill. They're charging you for the use of a rubber glove but in actual fact that money is going to cover disposal. If you tell the customer their paying for disposal of syringes it seems like something unrelated to their care so you have to put that cost to the customer in a different way. In Ireland it's the other way you just get a big number but it's not itemised to price out every little thing that went into your care.

So the price of $50 per glove isn't to cover the price of the glove but to pay the wages of the person wearing the gloves.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

TheDoc wrote: »
    Why should the state pay for a citizen abroad on holidays getting a high medical bill?

I've got all the love for our police and armed forces, but I don't think they should get special treatment abroad as private citizens.

All this story does it highlight how silly it is not to take out basic cover when travelling to the states. I've paid in the region of €40-€60 in the past on trips that cover medical expenses in excess of €6m.

I wasn't talking about Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭kingchess

Will he not have to go back to the USA to appear at the trial of the muggers??Bad example if a Garda wont turn up for a court case,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭cerastes

Do bullets commonly come out of things other than guns? Am I having a stroke or something?

They come out of boxes also

is your speech slurred? face dropping? do you have a burny thing on your head?

Dunno why, but I have a picture of Dr Evil in my mind, pinky in mouth, demanding the money.."One million Dollar...."

Nice round number, eh? 1 Million. I wonder do they get that for most patients they treat. Nice money. Someones cleaning up..
    Many of these US healthcare providers are Christian charities, or started out as such, and despite their sumptuous profits, have a philosophy of pouring profit back into the organisation.

That's why so many of sick Irish and British kids get sent to the USA for advanced treatment.

Those pearl-toothed Americans have a Darwinian tendency toward perfection, whereas we Europeans (and particularly in the British isles) are a more miserable lot who see death and morbidity as necessary and imminent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Just thinking I'm glad I was never shot in some of the dodgy places I've found myself in from time to time, boardsies would have me hung, drawn and quartered for treason before I got home.

Well you were probably looking for drugs and hookers anyway so it would have been good enough for you to get shot. And I bet you were drunk too weren't you ? Well then, what do you expect? ;-)