BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Clifford T is singing live exactly as he sounds on the album.....

No messing with sound there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

I can see Clerys now, the crane has gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

"The best love songs are written with a broken arm"......

Check it out.

I'm sure that's what Karen sang!

That was bloody brilliant, the DC5 documentary!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Heydaytv has a bit of rare rock at 11 pm tonight - Van Der Graaf Generator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,722 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

zorro2566 wrote: »

Agreed :)

Gene Simmons never looked lovelier :D

Nerdy facty: Dave kept bedside vigil over Freddie Mercury when he died, and had to inform his parents of his death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭OldRio

Was I the only one who noticed that Dave Clarkes eyebrows seemed to possess a life of their own.

Found the DC5's 'Hold On' TV Special...

Swingin', Groovy, Far Out, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

The following is TOTP-related, which is why I'm posting it in this thread... :o:D;)

Since last October, the folks at the excellent TV Cream have been searching for the most unforgettable theme tune of all time.

They've taken 56 themes, divided them into fourteen groups of four based on their genre, and each week have taken one of these groups and asked the public to vote for the best theme from that group.

They've done eleven of the groups so far, with most of these providing clear winners (including Weekend World in the Politics group, Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads? in the Sitcoms group, and Tomorrow's World in the Factual group). ;)

The twelfth group won't provide a clear winner, however - it's the Pop Shows group, and it features both "Whole Lotta Love" and "Yellow Pearl". :D:D

And at the moment, Phil's tune is narrowly ahead of Led Zep's, 35% to 32%. They're fairly comfortably clear of the Cheggers Plays Pop theme (24%) and well ahead of the Old Grey Whistle Test theme (only 9%).

I've already given my vote to "Yellow Pearl". Who else here would like to vote? You've got a little over 41 hours from the time of this post - until Thursday at 5pm - to do so. :D:);)

http://www.tvcream.co.uk/?p=36478

CCS version of Whole Lotta Love is one of the finest 3.43 minutes ever recorded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Wow, that's cool.

Will have a proper look tomorrow when I have more time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Ah, the TV Cream Poll. I voted for Cheggers Plays Pop last week, then I listened to Yellow Pearl again and felt conflicted.

I will be at a different IP address tomorrow. I might have to split my vote :)

Three excellent theme tunes and the quite good OGWT one, I think.

Found the DC5's 'Hold On' TV Special...

Swingin', Groovy, Far Out, etc.

Wow,surprised this is available. Dave Clark seems to have bought the rights to all the DC5 output. You never see their albums in the stores unlike their contemporaries from the 60s. Brilliant docu though, on Saturday night last.

I didn't really get the Dave Clark programme, to be honest. He is clearly very talented but he Produced and Directed a two hour show about himself with nothing other than gushing praise. No criticism, no mistakes, no regrets, nothing.

The Elephant in the room is that the DC5 are all but forgotten these days, compared to their illustrious contemporaries. If he wants to spend an hour telling us they were once as big (or bigger) than The Beatles and The Rolling Stones, what about a few words on why they made little lasting impact and influence few who came after them?

Although I thought Tom Hanks's speech welcoming them to the Hall of Fame was epic.

Skid X wrote: »
    I didn't really get the Dave Clark programme, to be honest. He is clearly very talented but he Produced and Directed a two hour show about himself with nothing other than gushing praise. No criticism, no mistakes, no regrets, nothing.

The Elephant in the room is that the DC5 are all but forgotten these days, compared to their illustrious contemporaries. If he wants to spend an hour telling us they were once as big (or bigger) than The Beatles and The Rolling Stones, what about a few words on why they made little lasting impact and influence few who came after them?

That's what made it so entertaining :D

The very fact that Clark had the chutzpah to suggest that the DC5 were just as culturally relevant as The Beatles and The Stones was hilarious!

Like Herman's Hermits, they were no more than a one/two-hit wonder who had early success in America before their career was derailed by the Beatles recording 'Revolver'.

Add to that, the usual American 'celebrity' suspects who would say anything for a briefcase full of cash ($haron Osbourne, we're looking in your direction)!

That's what made it so entertaining :D

The very fact that Clark had the chutzpah to suggest that the DC5 were just as culturally relevant as The Beatles and The Stones was hilarious!

Like Herman's Hermits, they were no more than a one/two-hit wonder who had early success in America before their career was derailed by the Beatles recording 'Revolver'.

Add to that, the usual American 'celebrity' suspects who would say anything for a briefcase full of cash ($haron Osbourne, we're looking in your direction)!

Ah, it all makes sense now! It went way over my head, nice one WM :)

Ozzy (every interview since the 70's): I'm a huge Beatles fan, I absolutely LOVE the Beatles - I wish I had been in that band.

Ozzy (2015, with Dave Clark holding a briefcase full of money just off-camera): Although I've always said I'm a fan of The Beatles, the band I REALLY loved was The Dave Clark Five. I wish I had been in that band.

:rolleyes: :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,044 ✭✭✭cml387

I remember reading (I'm not quite that old enough to remember) that the London press, i.e. the press,were ecstatic when the DC5 knocked The Beatles off no. 1, crowing about the end of the so called Liverpool sound.

Although I thought Tom Hanks's speech welcoming them to the Hall of Fame was epic.
    They might have remained in people's thoughts a lot more if Dave Clark allowed the DC5 back catalogue to be available to the public. You see all the biggies from the 60s in HMV etc but not any of their albums. The only one I have is a greatest hits cd that I bought on its release in 1993. Pity he wouldnt put out Ready, Steady, Go on DVD, that would be as big as the Beatles anthology releases back in the 90s!

Yeah, it's strange how he doesn't want the Music to be widely available, but he has still licenced loads of his songs to be played on adverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭trashcan

Thanks for that. I was beginning to think it was just me. I mean, Glad all Over was a nifty enough little pop tune, but , come on. Up there with the Beatles and the Stones, really ? (And I'm not even a Stones fan.) For Gods sake, the Kinks and the Who were far more important bands of that era. The Hermans Hermits comparison is about right, or Gerry and the Pacemakers. What amazed me was to hear Elton John and Springsteen coming out with this stuff.

Looking ahead on heyday tv Sky 192/Freesat 402

Fri 20/02/2015
    12:00pm Pink Floyd - Piper At the Gates of Dawn
    1:30pm AC/DC - The Brian Johnson Years
    3:00pm John Lennon - In Performance
    8:00pm The Bonzo Dog Band - Jollity Farm Pt. 2

Sat 21/02/2015
    12:00pm Foreigner - Live On Air
    2:00pm Greatful Dead - Broadcasting Live Pt. 1
    10:00pm Asia - Rock Milestones
    11:00pm Bob Dylan - Change On the Tracks

Sun 22/02/2015
    12:00pm Fairport Convention - Live Broadcasts
    1:00pm Deep Purple - In Their Words
    5:00pm The Eagles - In Performance
    6:00pm Elvis - The Rock & Roll Years
    10:00pm Johnny Cash - Music In Review

Tue 24/02/2015
    12:00pm The Bonzo Dog Band - A Complete and Nutter History (6 part)
    02:00pm Inside Uriah Heep 1970-1976
    11:00pm Creedance Clearwater Revival

Tonight

Status Quo on BBC4 again tonight. Hello Quo at 9pm and if you ever wanted to hear them playing an acoustic set then you might like Status Quo: Live and Acoustic at 10.20pm, from last year.
    Acoustic at the BBC at 11.20pm features "Heart of Gold by Neil Young, David Bowie's Starman, Bert Jansch, Johnny Marr and Bernard Butler with The River Bank, Chelsea Morning by Joni Mitchell and Wonderwall by Oasis. Also included is Jimmy Page's TV debut from 1958, as well as a rendition of Mountains by Biffy Clyro"

Saturday
    Tomorrow sees the start of Reginald D Hunter's Songs of the South on BBC2 at 9pm
    "New series. The Georgia-born, London-based comedian goes on a road trip to explore the American South through its songs both past and present, beginning with the music of Kentucky and Tennessee. He examines the disturbing tradition of blackface minstrels, and visits Dollywood theme park, a slave plantation, the home of country music in Nashville, a moonshine distillery in Gatlinburg and a string-band festival in Mount Air. Featuring contributions by Dolly Parton, the Handsome Family and Del McCoury"

BBC4 offers Queens of Heartache at 10.50pm followed by the very similar sounding Queens of Jazz: The Joy and Pain of the Jazz Divas at 11.50pm.
    Top of The Pops 1980 at 12.50am has the Tourists, Cliff Richard, the Boomtown Rats, the Nolans, the Chords, the Regents, Queen, the Selecter, AC/DC, Plastic Age and the Specials. Sounds of The Seventies runds off the night at 1.30am with X-Ray Spex, Joy Division, the Damned, the Undertones, the Buzzcocks, the Rezillos, the Stranglers, the Clash, the Jam and the Sex Pistols

Elsewhere, Sky Arts has The Who Weekend

Friday
    Classic Albums: The Who - Who's Next:
    10.15pm
    ​​The Who give a first-hand insight into the making of their 20th century masterpiece, Who's Next, as well as discussing its far-reaching influence.

The Who: Live in Texas, 11.15pm
    ​The Who perform at the peak of their success in 1975. Electrifying concert from the rock legends, shortly before the demise of exuberant drummer Keith Moon.

Saturday

The Who: Quadrophenia Live in London
    , 9pm
    ​An electrifying concert film captures The Who as they complete their Quadrophenia and More Tour at Wembley Arena in 2013.

The Amazing Story of The Who, 11pm
    ​Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey discuss the history of The Who, looking back at their heady tours, recent reunions and the deaths of Keith Moon and John Entwistle.

Sunday

The Who: Tommy and Quadrophenia Live
    , 8pm
    ​Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend are joined by Phil Collins, Billy Idol, Elton John and Patti LaBelle, as they perform hits from their rock opera masterpieces.

The Who: The Vegas Job, 9pm
    ​Returning to their original five-man structure for the first time in 20 years The Who play to an audience of 3,000 in this recording of their 1999 concert at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Well, that's a bit of a mixed bag, eh?

Acoustic Quo? Eeesh! Folkin' All Over The World, more like.

Great news about Reginald D Hunter. One of my favourite comedians (well, panel show guests) talking about one of my favourite things. Excellent.

I think I watched that jazz queens one before. It sucked more than it should have.

Nice on Skid, as usual.

Sky Arts has the upper hand this weekend its fair to day! :)

Watching Charlie Brooker's Weekly Wipe this week, I was reminded of another great TOTP theme which didn't make the TV Cream Shortlist

In a way it's weird watching the video for it, without hearing the Chart being read out.

I like it, Paul Hardcastle giving it socks in that TOTP performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Watching Charlie Brooker's Weekly Wipe this week, I was reminded of another great TOTP theme which didn't make the TV Cream Shortlist

In a way it's weird watching the video for it, without hearing the Chart being read out.

I like it, Paul Hardcastle giving it socks in that TOTP performance.

"The Wizard" was a great theme too - just a shame that it was used during a less-than-glorious period for TOTP (1986-91).

Because during this period, the likes of John Peel and Simon Bates were replaced by the likes of Anthea Turner and Jenny Powell (though the younger Radio 1 DJs, like Gary Davies and Simon Mayo, stayed on), acid house became popular (a genre the show never really got to grips with), and there was a clear lack of energy and imagination.

It was around this time, of course, that ITV tried their luck with The Roxy. If this show had had a regular networked Tuesday evening slot (instead of some regions airing it at 7pm, others at 6:30pm, and others still at 7:30pm opposite EastEnders), and if it had been produced by Thames in London or by Central in Birmingham instead of by Tyne Tees in Newcastle, it could very well have given TOTP a major fright - even more so than CD:UK ten years later.

(For the record, "Yellow Pearl" held on to win with 35% - though with 31%, "Whole Lotta Love" may very well make it to the next stage of the vote too, as a high-scoring runner-up. :D)

joydivisionovengloves.jpg

Hello, I must get myself some Joy Division Oven Gloves. Speaking of which, there is a 95 minute Joy Division documentary from 2007 at 9pm tomorrow on BBC Four. It hasn't been broadcast on the Beeb before now.

The Synth Britannia and Guitar Heroes at the BBC compliations follow.

On Saturday, BBC2 has part 2 of Reginald D Hunter's Songs of The South: at 9.15pm, followed at 10.15pm by the HBO film James Brown: Mr Dynamite

BBC Four rounds off the evening with a repeat of Brothers In Arms, a doc about Brothers in Bands at 11.55pm and The Kinks at the BBC at 12.55am

That's about it for the Weekend, no TOTP or TOTP2 but it's nice to see some new-ish programmes. Thank you for reading.

Nice oven mitts, Skid :)

What unknown pleasures will you be cooking up?

Sorry.

Nice oven mitts, Skid :)

What unknown pleasures will you be cooking up?

Sorry.

Ha :)

In truth, I wouldn't claim to know a whole lot about Joy Division but I always liked that artwork.

I was very surprised to learn it was lifted from a diagram published in an Academic Journal of "a comparative path demonstration of the frequency of a signal from a pulsar (pulsating star)."

http://www.huhmagazine.co.uk/4393/video-peter-saville-explains-joy-divisions-unknown-pleasures-cover

A pleasing collaboration between Science and Art.