[House sharers] Do you drink in your room?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

One thing I do know is that drinking alone rarely leads to sex but often to masturbation.

When youre so good looking its hard to say "No" to yourself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I'd say drinking alone leads to alcoholism in the same way masturbating alone leads to sex

Gateway sex. Be very careful, the hash of physical activity is rife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

No problem with drinking alcohol alone as against drinking with another person.

It depends on the motivation for drinking alone. I've drank in my room in the past when I lived with Americans. This was after being made the subject of guilt trips for drinking the equivalent of a bottle of wine. Every time I opened the front door I was in dread of an intervention. Some cultures just don't share our view of safe drinking

If you're drinking alone because you're trying to hide from your well-adjusted housemates the amount you really drink, you probably do have a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

thelad95 wrote: »
    Well yes it can be. Not always of course but someone can easily progress from occasionally having a beer after work to often having a beer after work to eventually not being able to go through a day without having a beer after work. Alcoholism is absolutely rampant on my father's side of the family and unfortunately the progression can be that simple.

Of course this is Ireland so anyone who highlights the potential dangers of an addictive drug like alcohol gets classified as an idiot.

I understand that of course there are instances where people who drink alone will turn to alcoholism. But so can the person in the pub who is out nearly every night of the week, or the ones who drink a load of shots on a night out, or ones who insist on going for the cure first thing the next day on a consistent basis.

Sorry to hear about your family, but if someone has alcoholic tendencies, it doesn't matter whether they're alone or in company, they're still at risk. Having a few beers at home after a hard weeks work, or if you'd just rather stay in and watch a movie by yourself, is perfectly normal. Everything in moderation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

No prob whatsoever with a few drinks in your room to unwind.

The problem begins when you're getting plastered in your room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

c_man wrote: »
    So was talking to a female work colleague today about alcoholism (as you do) and she thought the idea of having a drink in your room, as one of the lads mentioned he does playing CounterStrike, was "horrendous" and a clear sign of being an alco. Not wanting to be thought less of I didn't say anything.

But she's renting her own place you see. I don't think it's a big deal if you're sharing. I mean sometimes you just need to get away from the people you're forced economically (which c'mon, must be most of us) to partner up with. Imagine sitting down with a nice beer after a hard day's work and your bellend of a housemate sticks on Big Bang Theory. Fuk that.

Well, what say ye of AH?
    Probably one of the best shows on TV. You should be grateful that someone would put on such a show for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I see no issue with having a few - or as many as you'd like - when you're actively doing something, be it watching a movie, playing a game, or whatever. It's a good way to unwind.

There's nothing wrong with that at all. It's certainly not a problem unless you suddenly find that you can't do without it, or you start craving it with increasing frequency.

I have a fair few drinks once a week catching up on the latest episodes of whatever TV show's I'm currently watching. I don't drink outside of the one evening and feel indifferent towards it any other evening, and I can never be persuaded to drink when I've work the following morning.

I have had people - people who regularly spend half their wages on nights out that end up in them being legless - say to me 'That's not normal'.

Ireland...where it's par for the course to get ****faced on nights out, spend half your wages, lose most of your belongings, and remember nothing at the end of it all....but have a few drinks by yourself and only then are you entering problem territory. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

So was talking to a female work colleague today about alcoholism (as you do) and she thought the idea of having a drink in your room, as one of the lads mentioned he does playing CounterStrike, was "horrendous" and a clear sign of being an alco. Not wanting to be thought less of I didn't say anything.

But she's renting her own place you see. I don't think it's a big deal if you're sharing. I mean sometimes you just need to get away from the people you're forced economically (which c'mon, must be most of us) to partner up with. Imagine sitting down with a nice beer after a hard day's work and your bellend of a housemate sticks on Big Bang Theory. Fuk that.

Well, what say ye of AH?

Who cares? Do as you please, why is everyone so obsessed with comparing themselves to other people. Just cause some people on boards are saying two beers is okay but anymore than that and you have problems! doesn't mean they're right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Plenty of people have a nightcap all on their own to help them sleep. They sometimes rule nations. Some even live to be 100 +. We call these people grown-ups. A bottle of whiskey in the house is to them just as a jar of coffee is. Not to be consumed all in one go.
    Others will only drink in company. Mainly children of all ages, they binge drink, are great craic altogether - so they tell themselves. Absolutely not alcoholics. They may even be qualified to diagnose others as alcoholics. Check out your Facebook page...they're having a Great Time Altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

I sometimes have a refreshing beer while cooking, especially if it's something I have to stand over - takes the monotony out of cooking. I confused a housemate once when asked how long it would take to make something and I said "oh, that's a two beer recipe". She didn't know what to think:pac:

To be honest it's not a problem as long as you haven't reached a stage where you HAVE to have a beer while playing Counterstrike. I know some people who can't play games or watch TV WITHOUT some greasy/sugary snacks in hand. That concerns me far more than an occasional beer.

I sometimes have a refreshing beer while cooking, especially if it's something I have to stand over - takes the monotony out of cooking. I confused a housemate once when asked how long it would take to make something and I said "oh, that's a two beer recipe". She didn't know what to think:pac:

I'm the same except it's with cigarettes. "How long do three rashers take ?"...."eh, hear them sizzle then length of a fag, flip them halfway."
    Who needs clocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Eutow wrote: »
    Drinking at home doesn't make you an alcoholic. Many people, including myself, like drinking at home for various reasons, none of which will always lead to alcoholism.

You state that you drink before going out to have more drink, but why drink beforehand? By doing that don't you just end up drinking more than somebody having a few at home at not going out? Why don't you just wait till you go out to the pub?

And this stupid expression "pre-drink" does my head in. How can you call drinking before you go to have more drink pre-drink.

Usually when people pre-drink, they don't have any drink or maybe one drink in the club as it's too expensive. Let's see I can go down the offy and get 6 cans for say €7.99 or go out and pay €5.50 a pint. Massive saving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I love the "oh I had a glass of wine last night, really feeling it now! Have to cut back"

Feck off, I'd have a bottle of wine as a warm up.

Aaand I instantly know your old username!! :P

You know you've a problem when you're sitting in the bus shelter drinking cooking sherry in a brown paper bag with a bulbous red nose, broken veins in your eyeballs and two gout ridden toes. Don't give me the 'I had two bottles of bud lite watching Eastenders and I'm going down a bad road' bullcrap.

eternal wrote: »
    You know you've a problem when you're sitting in the bus shelter drinking cooking sherry in a brown paper bag with a bulbous red nose, broken veins in your eyeballs and two gout ridden toes. Don't give me the 'I had two bottles of bud lite watching Eastenders and I'm going down a bad road' bullcrap.

Myself and a mate drank a bottle of cooking sherry one night to celebrate getting our deposit back on a decrepit flat. Never ever again. Go down the DIY shop, buy some methylated spirits and water it down - you'll come out better.

Try white cider 8%, tear the lining from your stomach and give you a sore arse for weeks.

eternal wrote: »
    Try white cider 8%, tear the lining from your stomach and give you a sore arse for weeks.

Another flat cleaning celebration gone wrong. I've moved onwards and upwards from drain cleaner. But thanks anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭superglue

Well, what say ye of AH?

I don't see the difference between having a drink while watching telly in the sitting room (a widely accepted practice) and having a drink while gaming in the bedroom.

Similarly, it pisses me off when my housemate gets onto me about bathing myself in the kitchen sink just because he feels that personal hygiene should be confined to the bathroom.

I say your work colleague is a dick.

superglue wrote: »
    I don't see the difference between having a drink while watching telly in the sitting room (a widely accepted practice) and having a drink while gaming in the bedroom.

Similarly, it pisses me off when my housemate gets onto me about bathing myself in the kitchen sink just because he feels that personal hygiene should be confined to the bathroom.

I say your work colleague is a dick.

...its probably when he finds you sitting in the kitchen sink washing your bits. Just a thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,915 ✭✭✭worded

This thread is making me thirsty and I can't sleep

I'm Going to have a Heineken in bed.

Am I a bad television ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭superglue

...its probably when he finds you sitting in the kitchen sink washing your bits. Just a thought.

That's a bit hypocritical. He doesn't ever seem to mind me doing the dishes in the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭mighty magpie

Can we leave big bang theory out of this please? :mad::mad: