What does Boards mean to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Browse through it whilst on the throne.

WAY too many posters seem to have nothing else going on in their lives apart from hanging around waiting to get offended over some minor slight.
    Spot on padd, the righteous indignation crowd. Seems to be that those who shout the loudest, get the most in this country and usually for nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Browse through it whilst on the throne.

WAY too many posters seem to have nothing else going on in their lives apart from hanging around waiting to get offended over some minor slight.

And you scan all the site whilst on the sh1tter? You're laying some serious cable.

At least 99% of the posts on this site will help with any blockages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭Wobbly_Legs

Since im a newbie.. and still only getting to grips with it. Boards to me = Avoiding doing work at work :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

A goldfish bowl, with me looking in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Sometimes I forget that there's actual people behind the posts. It freaks me out when I meet the IRL.

I liked being an anonymous keyboard warrior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I love Boards :) I've met some lovely people through here and hope to meet a lot more.

Great bunch of lads and lassies!

*I'm wearing my Boards tee-shirt today* :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

_Kaiser_ wrote:
    But at the end of the day though it's just a forum on the Internet. Some people here take thing WAY too seriously at times and need to step back from the computer and go live a little.

if you've ever visited the feedback and DR forum this is especially true. people literally fighting to the death to get their point across in a battle of wits between themselves, each other, and often the mods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Robsweezie wrote: »
    if you've ever visited the feedback and DR forum this is especially true. people literally fighting to the death to get their point across in a battle of wits between themselves, each other, and often the mods.

There's a pair of Kenjutsu Masters fighting with balloons! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,445 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I only started posting recently but it is apparent that there is a fair few cliques and in-jokes which have built up over the years so people obviously enjoy it.

In fairness to the site if you have any question about any subject invariably someone knows the answer.

I am still not sure whether it is the fountain of guff or fountain of knowledge? :D

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I only started posting recently but it is apparent that there is a fair few cliques and in-jokes which have built up over the years so people obviously enjoy it.

In fairness to the site if you have any question about any subject invariably someone knows the answer.

I am still not sure whether it is the fountain of guff or fountain of knowledge? :D

It's both. You just have to sift the dirt like an 1890s prospector. ;)

And don't mind the"cliques" - join in! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,445 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I just remembered why I joined it was to buy a guitar which I was "determined" to play properly....

I still am no better the determination dipped a bit :o

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

I like to think of it as a kind of training area for any future real life arguments. Next time some scanger with some drink on him comes up to me gettin all up in my "grill" Ill be able to point out that his resorting to ad-hominems just proves that it is in fact he that is the fag, then a quick roll eyes and a citation of the nightclub rules which include no fighting. I'll then receive lots of thanks from fellow revelers.

and the strawmen, don't forget the strawmen ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Its the only place where people can ask dumb questions and there results a 200 page thread.

Made great friends through it
    i suppose through that also and my trainer being on boards is how i got into lifting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭curioser

I just noticed that it's been nine years and a month since I joined Boards. This made me consider what, exactly, Boards means to me.

It's a mixed bag. On one hand, I've made some great friends here and made some of the funniest posts ever seen on the site. Great stuff, really. Fantastic.

On the other hand, I've seen agitated neckbeards and sadistic punishment fetishists foam at the mouth for such crimes as paedophilia and being religious. Real journal.ie comments stuff that makes the heart of this poster sink.

So to me, it means it's a good place to interact with interesting people you may wanna meet but also a great place to clash with people you may never wanna bump into.

What about you? What does Boards.ie mean to you?
    I have too much time on my hands!

oh and bargain alerts is great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

bluewolf wrote: »
    oh and bargain alerts is great

Saved so much money on dominos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

I just remembered why I joined it was to buy a guitar which I was "determined" to play properly....

I still am no better the determination dipped a bit :o

Go and pick it up, mess around with it, have a bit of fun, make it talk to you, and send some musical messages to yourself.

Repeat until there's something interesting there that you want to develop further - it won't take long.

Everyone has a story to tell in that language, and that includes YOU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

A link with home.

It's close to four years since I moved away and I find boards keeps me in the loop with loadsa stuff that's going on back home and that kinda thing, not just the news but also people's responses which really helps me get a better idea for what's happening.

It's also hilarious.

Let's not feel we have to respond to every post.

How other will I get to the 10,000 posts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭pmy.murphy

Boards is full of genuine ground troops like us who come on for a bit of discussion/craic/info etc and then theres the rest which consists of the mods/admins/nazis/punishment junkies whatever people like to call them who are a bit like an aggressive dog who pisses in the garden to remind other dogs that its their territory and constantly feel the need to remind us that the buck stops with them by handing out infractions and bans for the most mundane of actions to do nothing more than assert and reinforce their power and egos respectively. Sometimes I forget these mods are actually real people their so controlling. That being said I think boards.ie should give itself a massive pat on the back for being the number 1 totalitarian forum on the Internet thanks to these mods.

Ps: "Backseat Moderating" is probably the most laughable and outrageous excuse for an infraction I have ever heard

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

How other will I get to the 10,000 posts?

Not long to go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Great starting point for learning new things, good source for Irish specific information, and advice I sometimes take with a grain of salt.
    Love clicking on random threads when I'm bored, discovered loads of interesting stuff that way.
    It's something to do when I simply can't indulge in any more online shopping 😀
    And finally, and I know this may raise eyebrows, it's a great spot for a bit of adult conversation, for one who spends a lot of time in the company of children. I'm most active on boards when Mr M is on tour, it's a lonely time for me, and between the children I work with and my own in the evenings, there isn't much opportunity for discussing the day news. That's when boards means the most to me.
    AH is great for a laugh too, love the Irish wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Copa Mundial

I'm on to my 3rd account now, I could live without it but it's fun to drop in now and again.

AH can be a laugh sometimes, no point taking it seriously as every thread takes a similar spiral.
    The YLYL threads always throw up a few gems.

Boards is full of genuine ground troops like us who come on for a bit of discussion/craic/info etc and then theres the rest which consists of the mods/admins/nazis/punishment junkies whatever people like to call them who are a bit like an aggressive dog who pisses in the garden to remind other dogs that its their territory and constantly feel the need to remind us that the buck stops with them by handing out infractions and bans for the most mundane of actions to do nothing more than assert and reinforce their power and egos respectively. Sometimes I forget these mods are actually real people their so controlling. That being said I think boards.ie should give itself a massive pat on the back for being the number 1 totalitarian forum on the Internet thanks to these mods.

Ps: "Backseat Moderating" is probably the most laughable and outrageous excuse for an infraction I have ever heard /

what a post,couldn't of said it better myself, the pissing dog imagery was creative :-) but often the problem lies just as much with the posters. some of them barge in like mouth almighty, the types that would regularly bully and verbally abuse shop assistants, call centre workers and other unfortunates finding themselves at the receiving end of their crap, full of complaint and outrage.we all know those people. then they come in here
    , do their usual routine and are shocked when someone stands up to them, answers back and puts them in their place, unlike the poor souls who came before. that's where the mod tension comes from Imo. there is wrongdoing on both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

There are some serious forums on here that are of great use to some people. At the trivial end, Bargain Alerts. Always nice to save a few pennies.
    After Hours, nice to have a place where someone is always more stupid, stoned or drunk than you are.
    On the practical level, Work and Jobs, State Benefits, and Legal Issues.
    At the very serious side, Bereavement, Personal Issues, Non-Drinkers. Some of those have saved lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

I've been here years but I've only just discovered the Bargain Alerts forum! Thanks, thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Jaxxy wrote: »
    I've been here years but I've only just discovered the Bargain Alerts forum! Thanks, thread.

It was my first post 3 years 5 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭pmy.murphy

It was my first post 3 years 5 months ago.

My god you must be some scrooge when youre at it this length

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Boardum