What does Boards mean to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

This place has made me realise I never really had a stutter, I was just inartic, inarticu, inartic, inart inart te te te

ah fvck it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Boards to me is a place to kill some time and just have some craíc. Certainly are some characters around this place, for better or worse.

I keep meaning to go to a Boards beers so I might go to the next one when it rears it's head around the west again.

Maybe pretend I'm a different user and make a holy show of meself :D

Me: "Hi, I'm.............eh............Bluewolf
    Person: "I thought you were a woman?............"
    Me: "Uh...........shít..........."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

anncoates wrote: »
    Try not to fashion a directive based on your own creative failings.

Try to remember that not everyone needs to read a load of self indulgent meandering.Keep it brief is my philosophy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Keep it brief is my philosophy

Let's not get carried away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Its a bit of everything really.

Its a place to just pass the time, have a laugh.

Some days its a lifeline, it gets me though a bad day or a tough time, some posters here are just the best tonic you could get for a bad day. I've had so much advice and help on here from everything to dealing with my kids to where to find a good mechanic.

Its been educational, I've learnt a lot from people and their stories, made some new friends, been frustrated at people's opinions, encouraged by other people's opinions.

Its inspired me to try new things, read new books, go to new venues.

Its a great place, don't ever change Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

These days I just laugh at most of it.

How to start an argument on boards :

1. Post a comment

2. Wait

You're an eejit. That comment shows what an insufferable human being you can be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

eviltwin wrote: »
    Its a bit of everything really.

Its a place to just pass the time, have a laugh.

Some days its a lifeline, it gets me though a bad day or a tough time, some posters here are just the best tonic you could get for a bad day. I've had so much advice and help on here from everything to dealing with my kids to where to find a good mechanic.

Its been educational, I've learnt a lot from people and their stories, made some new friends, been frustrated at people's opinions, encouraged by other people's opinions.

Its inspired me to try new things, read new books, go to new venues.

Its a great place, don't ever change Boards.

I would agree with all you say except the bolded bit.

We need more flashing lights in here.
    And some background music.
    And a sobriety test before being allowed to post on a saturday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

You're an eejit. That comment shows what an insufferable human being you can be.

Ding ding ding we have a winner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

A momentary respite from the tedium of work.

Let's not get carried away.

Let's not feel we have to respond to every post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Beam in your own eye there much Aongus?

Ah I love you anyway, AH would certainly feel the loss of your observations channelling Patrick Kavanagh in full flight :D

Excuse me, but what does that mean? I'll admit to descending down to the level of those trying to take swipes at me from time-to-time. That was in my early days. There are a handful of posters who follow Aongus around this site trying to get a rise out of me. I now ignore them, but can only surmise that their need to do so is as a result of jealousy and begrudgry.

I have a belief system that involves working hard, continuous learning, good grooming and dress sense, plenty of exercise, a positive manner, a balanced diet and a selection of interesting and fulfilling hobbies. This seems to drive some people batty. Maybe I should grow a neckbeard, smoke weed and play computer games all weekend. 'Get down' with the lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Limitless opportunities to discuss Gays and Travellers...:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

'Tis a great place to get free medical and legal advice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Aongus Von Bismark?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Let's not feel we have to respond to every post.

Let's n...

Damn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I love boards and usually dip into about six different forums. After hours is the best though:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Excuse me, but what does that mean?...

It means you're like a peculiar hybrid of Paddy Kavanagh and a Teutonic Gordon Gecko. G'wan de AvB bah!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Excuse me, but what does that mean? I'll admit to descending down to the level of those trying to take swipes at me from time-to-time. That was in my early days. There are a handful of posters who follow Aongus around this site trying to get a rise out of me. I now ignore them, but can only surmise that their need to do so is as a result of jealousy and begrudgry.

I have a belief system that involves working hard, continuous learning, good grooming and dress sense, plenty of exercise, a positive manner, a balanced diet and a selection of interesting and fulfilling hobbies. This seems to drive some people batty. Maybe I should grow a neckbeard, smoke weed and play computer games all weekend. 'Get down' with the lads.

Oh the ironing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

jimgoose wrote: »
    It means you're like a peculiar hybrid of Paddy Kavanagh and a Teutonic Gordon Gecko. G'wan de AvB bah!! :D

Paddy Kavanagh/Teutonic Gordon Gecko?
    On Raglanstrasse
    On an autumn day
    I met her first and knew

I'm highly intelligent
    Very well-groomed
    And earn considerably more than you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

No matter how right you think you are your not someone will always argue lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Paddy Kavanagh/Teutonic Gordon Gecko?

The sleety winds fondle the rushy beards of Shancoduff
    While the cattle-drovers sheltering in the Featherna Bush
    Look up and say: "Who owns them hungry hills
    That the water-hen and snipe must have forsaken?
    A poet? Then by heavens he must be poor."
    I hear, and is my heart not badly shaken?

For I practice Mindfulness, and command a handsome salary indeed,
    unlike these cattle-drovers who obviously choose to hang around
    Shancoduff playing video games and smoking weed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Went to the dogs years ago.

I'm only here for the bargain alerts and lulz now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,098 ✭✭✭Soups123

I love it, its always my first point of call to catch up on world events. Whether its football or news, I usually come straight here digest other peoples opinion.

I generally stick to the soccer forum and love nothing better than popping in for debate after a game.

It has also thought me how much ****e I can spoute when I read back :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

MrWalsh wrote: »
    Not limited to boards.ie but the "interwebs" in general has allowed some very dark individuals to have an increasingly vocal anonymous voice over the past few years. It worries me that there are so many people with apparent unaddressed mental health issues out there.

You could have just said "mods" for brevitys sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,191 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Means nothing to me, passes the time when I'm bored.

Let's n...

Damn.

Let's finish a post once we have started it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

hollster2 wrote: »
    No matter how right you think you are your not someone will always argue lol :)

Thats simply not true.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

I like to think of it as a kind of training area for any future real life arguments.
    Next time some scanger with some drink on him comes up to me gettin all up in my "grill" Ill be able to point out that his resorting to ad-hominems just proves that it is in fact he that is the fag, then a quick roll eyes and a citation of the nightclub rules which include no fighting. I'll then receive lots of thanks from fellow revelers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Browse through it whilst on the throne.

WAY too many posters seem to have nothing else going on in their lives apart from hanging around waiting to get offended over some minor slight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Hey!

Take that back :(