[House sharers] Do you drink in your room?

• 16-02-2015 08:40PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭

So was talking to a female work colleague today about alcoholism (as you do) and she thought the idea of having a drink in your room, as one of the lads mentioned he does playing CounterStrike, was "horrendous" and a clear sign of being an alco. Not wanting to be thought less of I didn't say anything.

But she's renting her own place you see. I don't think it's a big deal if you're sharing. I mean sometimes you just need to get away from the people you're forced economically (which c'mon, must be most of us) to partner up with. Imagine sitting down with a nice beer after a hard day's work and your bellend of a housemate sticks on Big Bang Theory. Fuk that.

Well, what say ye of AH?

[House sharers] Do you drink in your room? 62 votes

Yes, I enjoy snuggling up with a six pack now and then
    0% 0 votes
    No, I do my drinking elsewhere in the house
    62% 39 votes
    Sharing is for scum
    37% 23 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Being labelled a solitary, pathetic alcoholic seems a small price to pay for not having to share your drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I love the "oh I had a glass of wine last night, really feeling it now! Have to cut back"

Feck off, I'd have a bottle of wine as a warm up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,548 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

c_man wrote: »
    So was talking to a female work colleague today about alcoholism (as you do) and she thought the idea of having a drink in your room, as one of the lads mentioned he does playing CounterStrike, was "horrendous" and a clear sign of being an alco. Not wanting to be thought less of I didn't say anything.

But she's renting her own place you see. I don't think it's a big deal if you're sharing. I mean sometimes you just need to get away from the people you're forced economically (which c'mon, must be most of us) to partner up with. Imagine sitting down with a nice beer after a hard day's work and your bellend of a housemate sticks on Big Bang Theory. Fuk that.

Well, what say ye of AH?

Having a beer or two while doing something like playing CS is totally fine.

If you're just sitting in your room in silence drinking or getting pissed then you may have issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

what say ye

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Yeah, I do sometimes. Nothing wrong with it. Your female work colleague is a moron.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

I love the "oh I had a glass of wine last night, really feeling it now! Have to cut back"

Feck off, I'd have a bottle of wine as a warm up.

Hard kunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

If by drink you mean, from the furry cup, then yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Macavity. wrote: »
    Your female work colleague is a moron.

Probably the Irish archetypal moron that thinks falling down in the street with your mates after a rake of jager bombs is grand but having a few beers at home alone is alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

your female colleague is extremely boring.

nothing bad ever came from a glass of vino in front of the laptop on your own. Same as having it in your living room if you lived on your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭TheSheriff

your female colleague is extremely boring.

nothing bad ever came from a glass of vino in front of the laptop on your own. Same as having it in your living room if you lived on your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

Tell her to shut her face. On a Friday I love nothing more than sticking on the Xbox and having a few beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Well, what say ye of AH?

Think the reality in majority of cases people don't share the same televisual tastes if sharing with strangers. Can't beat tearing into a good box set and sipping on your favourite tipple on a Friday evening..

My housemate eats her dinner in her room which I think is more worrying tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

the people you're forced economically (which c'mon, must be most of us) to partner up with

That sounds depressing. I'd probably kill myself in my room rather than have a drink if I was that poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I hate people like that. A lot of the time they're the ones that go out 2-3 nights per week and spend hundreds on drink... but in their clueless little minds it's not a problem because they're socializing at the same time.

Nothing at all wrong with having a few drinks in your own company while playing a game or watching a movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Im not seeing any problem, His PC is in there so probably spends time there anyway. No different than watching something on the TV in the sitting room and having a drink. Its not like he sits on his bed all night drinking while doing nothing else except using his tears as a lube for himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

I've predrunk by myself from time to time if I know that I won't meet my friends until we're out.

However, I'd generally take a dim view of people drinking at home on their own if they're not going out. It is a gateway to alcoholism and anyone who says otherwise is in denial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Gateway to alcoholism? So you're saying someone having a bottle of beer after work at home/In their room is on their way to being an alcoholic?

Idiotic statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

Pyr0 wrote: »
    Gateway to alcoholism? So you're saying someone having a bottle of beer after work at home/In their room is on their way to being an alcoholic?

Idiotic statement.

Well yes it can be. Not always of course but someone can easily progress from occasionally having a beer after work to often having a beer after work to eventually not being able to go through a day without having a beer after work. Alcoholism is absolutely rampant on my father's side of the family and unfortunately the progression can be that simple.

Of course this is Ireland so anyone who highlights the potential dangers of an addictive drug like alcohol gets classified as an idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

thelad95 wrote: »
    Well yes it can be. Not always of course but someone can easily progress from occasionally having a beer after work to often having a beer after work to eventually not being able to go through a day without having a beer after work. Alcoholism is absolutely rampant on my father's side of the family and unfortunately the progression can be that simple.

Of course this is Ireland so anyone who highlights the potential dangers of an addictive drug like alcohol gets classified as an idiot.

well on occassion i have set in for the night on my own watching a movie with a bottle or two of really nice beer, i'm far from an alcoholic, generally only drink over the xmas period and maybe 3-4 other times of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

Drinking alone a gateway to alcoholism? LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

That is ridiculous. I like getting into bed and watching a movie with a glass of wine. Nice way to relax after a long hard, tiring day. I'm defo not an alco! I'm a student, its rag week and i'm in bed drinking tea and eating cookies. Stereotypes being shattered all over the joint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

That sounds depressing. I'd probably kill myself in my room rather than have a drink if I was that poor.

You really think that? Now I can't afford a E250,000 place (just yet), nor do I want/can really afford to shell out E1000+ a month on my own place. I don't think that's a sign of poverty, merely a reflection of economic reality for huge numbers of Irish people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭todders

Yes please, that would be lovely....pssssst

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

PLL wrote: »
    That is ridiculous. I like getting into bed and watching a movie with a glass of wine. Nice way to relax after a long hard, tiring day. I'm defo not an alco! I'm a student, its rag week and i'm in bed drinking tea and eating cookies. Stereotypes being shattered all over the joint.

How you doooooin ;)

I drink in my room all the time, and I live alone.

Sometimes Ovaltine, but mainly tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

I live alone. Whenever I venture into AH I'm drinking or have been drinking. What scares me is that some of the people in here are actually sober. At least I have an excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

thelad95 wrote: »
    I've predrunk by myself from time to time if I know that I won't meet my friends until we're out.

However, I'd generally take a dim view of people drinking at home on their own if they're not going out. It is a gateway to alcoholism and anyone who says otherwise is in denial.

Drinking at home doesn't make you an alcoholic. Many people, including myself, like drinking at home for various reasons, none of which will always lead to alcoholism.

You state that you drink before going out to have more drink, but why drink beforehand? By doing that don't you just end up drinking more than somebody having a few at home at not going out? Why don't you just wait till you go out to the pub?

And this stupid expression "pre-drink" does my head in. How can you call drinking before you go to have more drink pre-drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

I'd say drinking alone leads to alcoholism in the same way masturbating alone leads to sex

One thing I do know is that drinking alone rarely leads to sex but often to masturbation.