Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

No just adverts. Theres a bit i don't trust about donedeal so i tend not to use it

That's what's holding you back. Tbh, I never use adverts when looking for cars, never think of it. Anyone I know of wouldn't either know of it, or use it. Whatever issues you have about Done Deal, you should get over them, you're shooting yourself in the foot limiting yourself to adverts. I can guarantee you will have it sold in no time if you pop it on Done Deal.

Whats the best size to embed pics here? Toying with a new app that has numerous different sizes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

1024 x 579. Got that size off a recent post a picture of my car post and it was a reasonably good size picture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

80-fb_img_1423952318482_f36c6e12885074f16430a8b7d2df234a2454b286.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Was flicking through my haynes manual there and for a mk5 golf 1.9tdi they recommend the air filter element to be changed every 40k miles or 4 years :eek: talking about suffocating the engine. For such an easy cheap job to do I don't know why anyone would leave it that long. I change mine every service 15k km a dirty air filter would lead to lower mpg so i recon it's better to change it every service for the sake of 10 quid.

Well wrapped my Asti Rx Version R around a telephone pole. I said 'oh brother, throw it in the gutter and go buy another!' Eazy-E verse, for those into rap.

But I did crash the Mivec about 3 months ago. Was driving a Nissan almera untill recently, no timing belt in them which was cool. So I was on the look out for cheap fun and the Toyota Celica popped up. I was looking at a gen 6, 2 litre BEAMS redtop engine and the insurance company I am with would not insure them. Then I tried a Irish 190 gen 7 and again they would not insure me. So I got a inevitable for me a BMW 520i e39. Cruise control is amazing driving down the motorway with feet off the pedals relaxed such a joy. You really need to with this car the accelerator pedal is very, very heavy on these but you get used to it.

The 0-100 km/h is not as fast as the mivec but it overtakes so much better. With the mivec you really have to rev the **** out of the engine and with de-cat and cat back exhaust every one hears you coming.

Troubleshooting time................ again.

Awful "humming" sound from the front wheels when you pick up speed, especially after 40km/h. Intensity comes and goes. Not got to do with the gears, or clutch, noise stays when freewheeling. One of the lads suggested the front brakes might be rubbing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Wheel bearing, would be almost 100% sure.

Does the pitch increase with speed only?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

YbFocus wrote: »

+1, relatively cheap fix too.

YbFocus wrote: »

Ya, gets more prominent the faster you get, take a sharp turn it'll noise louder too.

Sounds like a wheel bearing. I had to change a rear wheel bearing on a Mk1 Focus, was handy enough but I think the front could be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

No just adverts. Theres a bit i don't trust about donedeal so i tend not to use it

Dude what a load of crap, donedeal doesn't buy the car off you, same way adverts doesn't. Put it on donedeal where the vast majority of people looking for a car go looking for a car.

Howl can you say you don't trust donedeal when every second person on adverts will offer you a broken mini pool table and half a packet of softmints for your car??

If that's all it is, then that's fine. Just won't get a chance to get near it. Supposed to be eating road all next week from 6:30 Monday through until Friday evening. I'll have to rearrange something :(

An hour with Autotronix today and this is my little before and after:

CCC553EBC3244DA6BB616157436594A3-0000333410-0003728033-00640L-5207CEB0943F4732ADB0E9BA6A7598CB.jpg

95533EF25FBE464E95EB35AA7D2D4EFB-0000333410-0003728032-00640L-BE06180E7366465083071D061AED3BEA.jpg

F4A89FD219DD47FCB226ABA29EAF1FD4-0000333410-0003728030-00640L-346CF1E87247488EA058DDD00251FA60.jpg

80348DE7C77D41C0AD0497378A39082A-0000333410-0003728031-00640L-7C54BD1CBC1648C69E18C4958F911BD2.jpg

He 'hardwired' it in, as it worked out cheaper (though it means, effectively, that the car will never have a different head unit now, from what I understand).

Took about 45 minutes I'd say. The 'after' head unit, which I initially bought for the Rav4, but took out of it before selling it on, wouldn't fit into the Focus, so he had to cut bits off and make it fit.

It also doesn't have a proper surround/facia as I didn't buy one and wasn't that bothered, to be honest (this car is supposed to be cheap and cheerful after all), but that said, it actually looks grand sitting in place and, although i thought it'd bug me if it didnt have a proper surround, it's actually grand (although I haven't seen it during daylight yet. Maybe tomorrow I'll have a lot of regret).

Hat's off to Dave from Autotronix, though (if anyone here knows him?). Rang him at 3:45 to get a rough price off him, and by 4:15 he was in the car taking the old head unit out. Can't beat that kinda service! :eek:

I have to change my BMW head unit. Like Ford they have their own weird ass size units.

Well if you're in the area and require assistance I'd highly, highly recommend the chap from Autotronix. I had nothing but a head unit (no wiring harness, cage, facia, etc) and he still got it in there. Was a thing of beauty looking at him.

Just wish I had the same knowledge, myself. What he did in half an hour would take me days. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

But I did crash the Mivec about 3 months ago. Was driving a Nissan almera untill recently, no timing belt in them which was cool. So I was on the look out for cheap fun and the Toyota Celica popped up. I was looking at a gen 6, 2 litre BEAMS redtop engine and the insurance company I am with would not insure them. Then I tried a Irish 190 gen 7 and again they would not insure me. So I got a inevitable for me a BMW 520i e39. Cruise control is amazing driving down the motorway with feet off the pedals relaxed such a joy. You really need to with this car the accelerator pedal is very, very heavy on these but you get used to it.

The 0-100 km/h is not as fast as the mivec but it overtakes so much better. With the mivec you really have to rev the **** out of the engine and with de-cat and cat back exhaust every one hears you coming.

Is it the 2.2 or 2.0 520? For head units, if you don't mind spending a bit of money, get an Eonon D5124F.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

Anyone know where I could get hold of a 28mm blanking grommet for a de-wiper? Seems to be an awkward size to find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I wouldn't mind this... :o

37881911.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-cinquecento-sporting-98-tax-nct-bargain/

for 800quid with nct and tax it's not bad. It'd mean my panda would be the "big car" in the family though ahahaha :(

Dord wrote: »

37881911.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/fiat-cinquecento-sporting-98-tax-nct-bargain/

for 800quid with nct and tax it's not bad. It'd mean my panda would be the "big car" in the family though ahahaha :(

That seems to be up for sale every second week :p

I'd imagine it's ridiculously fun though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Turbo Tom wrote: »
    YA CANT POLLISH A TURD

What do you mean by that?

That seems to be up for sale every second week :p

I'd imagine it's ridiculously fun though!

Yeah maybe not this particular one but I'm sure it'd be great to hoor around corners in. The panda is good for that also. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Dord wrote: »

37881911.jpeg

I'd love that...Go everywhere in it!

Gonna keep an eye on that one....:D

Is it the 2.2 or 2.0 520? For head units, if you don't mind spending a bit of money, get an Eonon D5124F.

1998 so it's the 2.0
    I have a normal car stereo here which is going in once the surround comes from UK. I don't have the money to spend on a Eonon D5124F.

1998 so it's the 2.0
    I have a normal car stereo here which is going in once the surround comes from UK. I don't have the money to spend on a Eonon D5124F.

You don't want my pixilated MID Radio-CD no :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

10959708_879208702121355_4967320896837147185_n.jpg?oh=e4ebfe4485cea746fad88d7b1be69932&oe=558B63CE&__gda__=1431228790_3b8e6042ea8fb92aea4e843e2de121c6

My brother sent me this. Seems pretty legit if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Top gear on now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

That Mercedes is/was tasty. Red seat belts are GACK though....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

The M3 was nice too liked the colour. Some difference in mpg from claimed on the i8!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I think the red seatbelts are class, mainly due to the fact that they're not black and it's something different. THe A250 has them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Read seat belts clearly make the car go faster