Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Sobanek wrote: »
    75bhp! :D

OK so Pedantic Pat, whatever car has 96 bhp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

beertons wrote: »
    Ordered 4 center caps for the alloys, tenner each. And 2 sets of nut covers, 8 quid, in Sheehy's. Replacing the ariel is 120 + vat. Anyone fancy taking the cloth off the roof and changing it?

Sheehys is normally where I get parts for my one. They are a lot better and cheaper than my local vw garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Hal1 wrote: »
    Custom air intake.

vioQmgj.jpg

Heres mine. 400 quid for a sparco induction kit to do the same thing. Just the prototype. Will tidy up the heat sheid too when everything is back together.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bpmull wrote: »
    Sheehys is normally where I get parts for my one. They are a lot better and cheaper than my local vw garage.

If you were to get the ariel changed, cloth on roof off, the whole shibang, who would you go with?

beertons wrote: »
    If you were to get the ariel changed, cloth on roof off, the whole shibang, who would you go with?

George dalton is a very good vw specialist in portloaise I've used him before along with loads of other posters and he can't be faulted. I do most things on my car myself but if there was something I couldn't do Id be going to him or the main dealer.

Accident happened at 5:20 or before it. It was 6:05 before any one of the emergency services were there. Guards, followed by fire brigade and ambulance at pushing 6:15.

Did anyone actually ring the ES though? I find, from what I've seen of crash scenes (which is fairly limited, to be fair) that people tend to shout 'call an ambulance' all day, but are too busy recording things on their phones to actually do it themselves.

I find it's usually whoever has been involved directly in the accident that will be the one to ring it in.

It just seems like such a dire response time that I instinctively think that's what happened. Even if the Gardai were tied up with something else, the fire service are generally ready to go and would arrive first if need be?

Completely unrelated...

I did the Focus service today. The Rav4 wasn't that hard to service. The focus was even easier. Don't think I could justify spending money on getting someone else to service the car for me, to be honest. Seems like such a relatively easy DIY job (and this is speaking as someone who has to 'jack up the car' on rubber mats to get under it).

If every car was as easy as a Focus, I think I'd start offering it to people as a service. :P

Anyway, when I took out the air filter I kinda looked at it and thought "hmm.. that's not so bad, actually".

IMG_2776.jpg

Then I took out the Cabin air filter/pollen filter.. Jesus... :(

IMG_2777.jpg

It's disgustingly dirty. Looks like it's just been ignored for years.

As an aside, is it just placebo, or would changing the spark plugs make the car a bit 'tastier' when it turns over? I know a 1.6 Focus isn't exactly a performance car, but it did seem to give a bit more of a 'roar' when I turned it over after changing the plugs. Could be just my imagination though?

I don't know how to really tell, to be honest, how old or worn spark plugs are. For example, the ones below are the ones that came out of it. I wouldn't be able to say if they were put in ten years ago or ten weeks ago. :o

IMG_2784.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,311 ✭✭✭✭beertons

George dalton is a very good vw specialist in portloaise I've used him before along with loads of other posters and he can't be faulted. I do most things on my car myself but if there was something I couldn't do Id be going to him or the main dealer.

I'll make contact with himself so. Heard the name mentioned loads. Be patient George, I need to get the Bob Dylan's together first.

No harm in changing them plugs kkv. Wouldnt have been a placebo effect. Id say there about 2 years old. Depends on the car. Some need new plugs every year others arent as hard on them. Breather systems and throttlr body clean are nice jobs to do on a new car. Smooths out an engine.

Interslice wrote: »
    No harm in changing them plugs kkv. Wouldnt have been a placebo effect. Id say there about 2 years old. Depends on the car. Some need new plugs every year others arent as hard on them. Breather systems and throttlr body clean are nice jobs to do on a new car. Smooths out an engine.

Don't suppose you'd have any links or such to a 'how to' on either of those? Wouldnt mind learning a bit more, and 'breather hoses' (or pipes? Not sure which) were mentioned by the chap that was looking over the car before I bought it. So if there's a handy DIY in there I'd much rather that than pay a mechanic to do it.

Headin out and on the phone. Get on the google! Some tb are hard to get at as are the breathet pipes. 'Eric the car guy throttle body clean'. 'Focus mk 2 1.6 breather pipes' I think breathers give hassle on them. Could be wrong. Plugs looks a bit oily.

Since we are taking about servicing what's people opinion on using an oil auction pump to drain the oil through the dipstick. Some think it's terrible but it still ultimately get the vast majority of the oil out of the sump. The reason I ask is my own car needs a service fairly soon and space is limited enough so would be a lot handier to use the suction pump we have one. The oil was drained via sump plug the last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Definitely not!

To me there definitely has to be deposits left in the sump after using them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Since we are taking about servicing what's people opinion on using an oil auction pump to drain the oil through the dipstick. Some think it's terrible but it still ultimately get the vast majority of the oil out of the sump. The reason I ask is my own car needs a service fairly soon and space is limited enough so would be a lot handier to use the suction pump we have one. The oil was drained via sump plug the last time.

No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

YbFocus wrote: »
    Definitely not!

To me there definitely has to be deposits left in the sump after using them!

Surly there is a certain amount left when you drain via the sump too though as unless the car is perfectly level all oil won't drain most people tend to jack up the front of the car meaning the sump will be at an angle and oil will be left at the back. Obviously on a lift that wouldn't be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

No no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no no

It's not a Saab though.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    It's not a Saab though.

So? It's not a honda either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I'm still laughing at you! :pac:

Surly there is a certain amount left when you drain via the sump too though as unless the car is perfectly level all oil won't drain most people tend to jack up the front of the car meaning the sump will be at an angle and oil will be left at the back. Obviously on a lift that wouldn't be the case.

I reckon the much higher flow and larger escape would be way better.
    Just my two cents!

Cheensbo wrote: »
    I'm still laughing at you! :pac:

Second half of that roundabout was slippier than the first :pac:
    I ran out of lock :D

I reckon the much higher flow and larger escape would be way better.
    Just my two cents!

Thanks for the input. I figured that draining through the sump would better but didn't think it would be too bad to do every second service with the suction pump.

Second half of that roundabout was slippier than the first :pac:
    I ran out of lock :D

Ah sure all in the name of good fun, you gave me a hell of a laugh :)

I wish I was in the paj, show ye how it's done :pac:

Thanks for the input. I figured that draining through the sump would better but didn't think it would be too bad to do every second service with the suction pump.

Maybe so man, i don't know.

All i think is that draining down is better than sucking up :)

Maybe so man, i don't know.

All i think is that draining down is better than sucking up :)

3d9.png

Ah sure all in the name of good fun, you gave me a hell of a laugh :)

I wish I was in the paj, show ye how it's done :pac:

I was like "oh yeah baby.... wow we're on the lock stops now... and she's still going... and I'm gone.... oh the embarrassment :o"

Hahahahahaha only you! I can't do anything right tonight!!

:pac: that's mah job sure! :P

I was like "oh yeah baby.... wow we're on the lock stops now... and she's still going... and I'm gone.... oh the embarrassment :o"

If only I had a dashcam :p

I have but that footage will never surface :p
    :pac: that's mah job sure! :P

And of course inviting lads to your house to freeze to death, that's your other job :)

I was more thinking of a ransom type situation if i had footage :p go on put it on youtube as link only and give us a look

And of course inviting lads to your house to freeze to death, that's your other job :)

And that too :pac: cheers for the help though, hopefully the brakes will work now haha, I'll find out tomorrow or sunday