The hottest new drinking fad for this season is here!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Reminds me of watching the brother doing his Neck Nomination video last year or whenever it was. Full bottle of After Shock poured into two glasses by his own personal bar man/best friend. Down in one, then t'other. Scary stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

What student in their right mind would have the extra money for a naggin - then buy a naggin - and then give it away? :confused: Are students richer these days or something?

Can't see this one catching on ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Goodness gracious me!
    Next they'll be smoking hashish and protesting against the man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

What student in their right mind would have the extra money for a naggin - then buy a naggin - and then give it away? :confused: Are students richer these days or something?

Can't see this one catching on ...

€5.50?

Seriously, where do people think we live? Some impoverished African colony from the 19th century?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

An File wrote: »
    Reminds me of watching the brother doing his Neck Nomination video last year or whenever it was. Full bottle of After Shock poured into two glasses by his own personal bar man/best friend. Down in one, then t'other. Scary stuff.

How was the funeral?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

cloud493 wrote: »
    How do you force someone to drink something exactly?

Water board them, with vodka.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 31,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Pyr0 wrote: »
    How was the funeral?

The story goes he made himself throw up as soon as the lads stopped the camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭seventeen sheep

€5.50?

Seriously, where do people think we live? Some impoverished African colony from the 19th century?

I'm a working professional in a decent job with a pension and all those grown up things, and €5.50 is still a lot of money to me!

Certainly more than I'd spend just to look "cool" on Facebook for participating in the latest fad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Wouldn't do it now but I downed many a naggin back in the day
    6 Seconds was my record back in 1990. Grant's Vodka the tipple of choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Lidl don't sell Naggin's. The smallest unit they sell is 500ml for 13.99, and it's excellent vodka. Their 'cheaper' vodka, at 12.99 for 700ml, is also pretty decent, much better than that Tesco Imperial/Dunnes Kinsey crap which is actually more expensive.

Back on topic, I believe what you were looking for is 'Glen's Vodka'.

Won't comment on the 500ml stuff from Lidl as I haven't tried it. The bigger 700ml bottle however is just horrible, tesco much less of a taste.
    The best vodka, should be almost tasteless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭North of 32

I'm a working professional in a decent job with a pension and all those grown up things, and €5.50 is still a lot of money to me!

Certainly more than I'd spend just to look "cool" on Facebook for participating in the latest fad.

It's probably because they don't have those adult responsibilities that they can afford to buy alcohol. In all likelihood they cut back in other areas too, like food and clothing.

I'm with you on the thought of giving away a naggin being appalling. But let's not pretend we don't live in a wealthy country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

You're not meant to do this in class no? TBH a couple of pints really helped Jurisprudence make sense yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

In my day we didn't get pished for the craic.

It was a choice between Jeremy Beadle on telly, watching Four Weddings And A Funeral in a crappy cinema drinking Mc Daids Banana or coping a half bottle of brandy into yourself and waking up in a shuck.

Kids today rabble rabble etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

In my day we didn't get pished for the craic.

It was a choice between Jeremy Beadle on telly, watching Four Weddings And A Funeral in a crappy cinema drinking Mc Daids Banana or coping a half bottle of brandy into yourself and waking up in a shuck.

Kids today rabble rabble etc.

I didn't understand any of that!

Frynge wrote: »
    Young wans today don't know they're living.

Speaking of kids, some snotty nosed wet behind the ears work experience yahoo has put Top Gun on the Comedy Channel! The Comedy Channel!!

At least its in HD I suppose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Speaking of kids, some snotty nosed wet behind the ears work experience yahoo has put Top Gun on the Comedy Channel! The Comedy Channel!!

You would swear you were in your late 60s to be listening to you :rolleyes:

eternal wrote: »
    You would swear you were in your late 60s to be listening to you :rolleyes:
    I feel it sometimes for all the scowling I have to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I don't think I'm that young as in the late 90's I accomplished a naggin of vodka in 11 seconds and a naggin of jack in 8.

Different sittings.

I feel it sometimes for all the scowling I have to do.

Nobody asked you to scowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Vex Willems

6 Seconds was my record back in 1990. Grant's Vodka the tipple of choice.

Not sure what my record was but it would have been under 10 seconds followed by a can to wash it down

eternal wrote: »
    Nobody asked you to scowl.
    Ah it's good craic giving out about the young wans though, little do they realise we were twice as bad when we were young.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Whosthis wrote: »
    Water board them, with vodka.

This will probably be the next 'fad'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

€5.50?

According to some very bitter people, every student without exception is a good for nothing waste of tax-payers/daddy's money.

Ever. Since Universities were founded hundreds of years ago.

According to some very bitter people, every student without exception is a good for nothing waste of tax-payers/daddy's money.

Ever. Since Universities were founded hundreds of years ago.
    They have bad manners, contempt for authority; they show disrespect for their elders and love chatter in place of exercise; they no longer rise when elders enter the room; they contradict their parents, chatter before company; gobble up their food and tyrannize their teachers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

vienne86 wrote: »
    Always wonder where students get the cash to buy a bottle of booze, even cheap. They're always broke.

Theres always money for booze, esp when your a student, I said it back when I was one and still true looking back, you could be broke as feck even if your working parttime as well as college (getting less than minimum wage though :mad:) but youll always somehow find you have enough for beers for most of the day and a chicken roll :D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Frynge wrote: »

Ah your a young wan so, id say :pac::)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Anybody seen any evidence of this actually being a thing?

Besides that Independent article and the Mirror with pretty much the same I couldn't find anything.

Only video of it on youtube is from 2006 and no mention of it on twitter. :confused:

What's the big deal? What teenager hasn't collapsed in a pile of their own vomit after sinking a few naggins? Rite of passage and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

I heard of this. From a friends brother. But it wasn't surprise a friend in class with a naggin and have them drink it on next night out. It was surprise a friend with a naggin and have them drink it in the class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

I know plenty of us used to get wasted drunk when in college but not downing a naggin of vodka in one go as part of a "craze".