Protesters block Mayor as she tried to visit sick daughter awaiting liver transplant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

They could have been protesting against the 10 guard incident recently or your man being arrested.

Not sure what the "10 guard incident", but why on earth would people protest against the Gardai in Jobstown at a County Council office in Fingal? You're making no sense here whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Greentopia wrote: »
    Is there another source for this article than Denis O' Brien's rag? I don't trust the impartiality or veracity of any news story regarding IW protesters that's written in that newspaper.

Wasting your time tbh, Opinions formulated already on 1 sided article designed to promote only one agenda. Sad people still lap it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Deub

Is there another source for this article than Denis O' Brien's rag? I don't trust the impartiality or veracity of any news story regarding IW protesters that's written in that newspaper.

I can't post link but there is an article on Herald website.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

i see the same trolls on here just like those who populate the journal, FG and Labour probably paying them to spam forums and news websites to make it look as if they have a lot of support and to label anti water protesters as "sinister elements" or "ISIS Members" or "unemployed bums" or whatever such tripe they dream up, in what is the most corrupt country in Europe with the most corrupt government / media / police , it defies belief that there is anyone gullible enough to actually take the side of the government,of course there are always those who live in D4 and such areas and turb their snotty nose up at anyone less unfortunate than them.

Wow the outrage,gutter corrupt media sensationalist bullsh*t, iPhone Joan goes to one of the most deprived areas in the country, and is trapped in her car, was she expecting people to give her a round of applause after what this stinking parasite and her lackeys have done to this country, she then orders the despicable gardai, the worst police force in Europe to round up the "sinister element" and arrest them. first up is Paul Murphy a man who unlike the yes men and corrupt parasites in Leinster house is not afraid to tell it as, it is gets held on some kind of trumped up charge, then you have 10 cops come to the door of a 16 year old boy to arrest him, was this an armed and dangerous criminal, a mass murderer a love / hate type gangster, you really couldn't make this up if you tried, political policing at it's "finest" then it backfires spectacularly on them, an own goal as more and more people become aghast at the sheer amount of dirty tricks this shambolic corrupt government will do knowing well they are in terminal decline and will be confined to history as the worst government in the history of this country.

Nothing surprises me anymore in Ireland, although you cannot feel more and more disgusted day in, day out when you see police brutality against water protesters, private security firms operating without impunity , a government who will go down in the history books as one of the most despised of all time for what they have done,lies, austerity,cuts, deceit, cronyism, jobs for the boys,etc,.etc the list goes on and on, i was never massively into political stuff, always took an interest but like thousands of others as a normal hard working citizen of this country i detest this government and everything they stand for, and ill continue to attend every protest i can, the gutter media are not to be believed under any circumstances,social media may have it;s bad points but it;s the likes of facebook where you can see first hand the absolute truth and not the tripe reported by RTE.,Independent,etc,etc who are basically in the pocket of the government.

I LOOK FORWARD TO THE DAY WHEN THIS GOVERNMENT ALONG WITH THE TOXIC SUPER QUANGO IRISH WATER DIES A DEATH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

This is perfectly ironic seeing as IW protesters are quick to remind Guards and others that DER'S A SICK CHOILE IN DAH CAR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

Link ?

https://twitter.com/CllrMcGuinness/status/564895124623482880?lang=en

When he was tweeting live from the scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Maybe they were angry about 10 guards arresting a 16 year old in relation to False imprisonment of a Minister. All it says in Anti Water.

Then why were they blockading Fingal CC instead of say, a Garda Station. Between roaring abuse at the President of Ireland and this crap, I think the protesters targetting computers must be on the frink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Gatling wrote: »
    About time the Gardai public order Units are let off the leash and let do the job there trained and equipped for.

But then these idiots will have their iphomes and ipads out recording all. Obviously, they have not posted anything of this incident as they bullied this lady (they seem to enjoy that).
    They only edit recordings when a Guard rubs against one of them and they drop like Didier Drogba.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Then why were they blockading Fingal CC instead of say, a Garda Station. Between roaring abuse at the President of Ireland and this crap, I think the protesters targetting computers must be on the frink!

I have no Idea as the Article says nothing, Was mealy giving a list of recent stuff that could cause this lot to protest. It's more interested in saying how sick the child is than any other facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

jonnny68 wrote: »
    i see the same trolls on here just like those who populate the journal, FG and Labour probably paying them to spam forums and news websites to make it look as if they have a lot of support and to label anti water protesters as "sinister elements" or "ISIS Members" or "unemployed bums" or whatever such tripe they dream up, in what is the most corrupt country in Europe with the most corrupt government / media / police , it defies belief that there is anyone gullible enough to actually take the side of the government,of course there are always those who live in D4 and such areas and turb their snotty nose up at anyone less unfortunate than them.

Wow the outrage,gutter corrupt media sensationalist bullsh*t, iPhone Joan goes to one of the most deprived areas in the country, and is trapped in her car, was she expecting people to give her a round of applause after what this stinking parasite and her lackeys have done to this country, she then orders the despicable gardai, the worst police force in Europe to round up the "sinister element" and arrest them. first up is Paul Murphy a man who unlike the yes men and corrupt parasites in Leinster house is not afraid to tell it as, it is gets held on some kind of trumped up charge, then you have 10 cops come to the door of a 16 year old boy to arrest him, was this an armed and dangerous criminal, a mass murderer a love / hate type gangster, you really couldn't make this up if you tried, political policing at it's "finest" then it backfires spectacularly on them, an own goal as more and more people become aghast at the sheer amount of dirty tricks this shambolic corrupt government will do knowing well they are in terminal decline and will be confined to history as the worst government in the history of this country.

Nothing surprises me anymore in Ireland, although you cannot feel more and more disgusted day in, day out when you see police brutality against water protesters, private security firms operating without impunity , a government who will go down in the history books as one of the most despised of all time for what they have done,lies, austerity,cuts, deceit, cronyism, jobs for the boys,etc,.etc the list goes on and on, i was never massively into political stuff, always took an interest but like thousands of others as a normal hard working citizen of this country i detest this government and everything they stand for, and ill continue to attend every protest i can, the gutter media are not to be believed under any circumstances,social media may have it;s bad points but it;s the likes of facebook where you can see first hand the absolute truth and not the tripe reported by RTE.,Independent,etc,etc who are basically in the pocket of the government.

I LOOK FORWARD TO THE DAY WHEN THIS GOVERNMENT ALONG WITH THE TOXIC SUPER QUANGO IRISH WATER DIES A DEATH.

What has that diatribe got to do with this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Valetta wrote: »

:rolleyes: im not even going to furnish you with a response

jesus wept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Valetta wrote: »

diatribute? Isn't that the thing with Zenu? I believe those lot are bad news :)

Are we not being a bit pedantic now ? She is one of the top members of local government in that area. I stand corrected on being a direct representative of the current government.

She's from a completely different Party to those in Government - so no. She also has nothing to do with IW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

:rolleyes: im not even going to furnish you with a response

jesus wept

I'll take that as a "It has nothing to do with it" so.

As I thought.

GerB40 wrote: »
    There's always those rent a mob fools who find any excuse to protest whatever cause is "in" at the moment. There was recently a protest outside Alan Kellys office in Nenagh and the protesters were utterly civil. The Gardaí came and told them to move on, they asked why they should and the Gardaí said that they were blocking the traffic. Within minutes the protesters were gone. They made their point and caused no trouble. These protesters are genuine. But eventually fools will cling on to some notion of civic duty and inevitably, trouble will follow..

What these eejits did to the mayor of Fingal has seriously damaged what genuine protesters are trying to do. This can't end well..

That's the difference - the protesters outside Kelly's office were genuine, and nobody in a democratic society can find fault with the way they did things. These morons bawling abuse at the Mayor did their cause no favours.

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    She's from a completely different Party to those in Government - so no. She also has nothing to do with IW

Eh ? When did IW completely take over provision of water and Sewage. Local council still provide these services and will do in conjunction for what 10-15 year with IW. So yes local council do have something to do with IW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,501 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Seems odd no one called the Guards before this even got to happen. She knew they were there had been for 12 hours. And I don't think high level public servants have a normal working time 9-5 again she was still probably on the clock due to the car probably being claimed for in expenses or even supplied for by the tax payer.
    A mayor isn't a high level public servant.
    It carries a salary of 32k

ted1 wrote: »
    A mayor isn't a high level public servant.
    It carries a salary of 32k

What's wage got to do with anything. You do know what local government is responsible for now after all the reforms ?

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

This is hilarious in its pure rage.

It's a paranoid rant, but still hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,501 ✭✭✭✭ted1

What's wage got to do with anything. You do know what local government is responsible for now after all the reforms ?

Do you, come in lets see you list it out .
    Then have a look at the role of the county manager V mayor

These guys are the high ranking civil servants http://www.fingalcoco.ie/your-council/management-team/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

LOUD NOISES

AAAAAAAAAAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,944 ✭✭✭fedor.2.

I get happier and happier every day with the fact that I am paying my water charges.

Anything groups like this want, I will do the complete opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

That rag the independent loves this ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭feargale

The title and indo story is hyperbolic, they were protesting outside the cc buildings not the hospital.

"When I told them my daughter was sick one of them said, 'if your f***ing daughter is that sick what are you f***ing doing here'.

feargale wrote: »
    "When I told them my daughter was sick one of them said, 'if your f***ing daughter is that sick what are you f***ing doing here'.

Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Deub wrote: »
    I can't post link but there is an article on Herald website.

Ok what I should have asked is, is there another source that is not owned by Denis O Brien?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,343 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Ok what I should have asked is, is there another source that is not owned by Denis O Brien?

Irish Times, monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'm sure this lot are not, But they have every right to protest outside local Government offices to Local government representative's.

They have a right to "peaceful" protest, not carte blanche to do what they like and say "ah but we're protesting, so its ok"

Protest all you like, but do it where it doesn't block other people from doing what they are trying to do.

Pherekydes wrote: »

Odd that it's a completely different slant to the first article. Maybe people will not jump to conclusions now on a completely 1 sided article in the future. And they were there the whole time it seems, So again why were the Guards not called ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Do you know something the rest of us don't ? IW protestors is all it says. They could have been protesting against the 10 guard incident recently or your man being arrested. Odd the article is very careful not to mention what they are protesting about. But very in depth about evil protestors abusing public official on the way to see a sick child. With plenty of detail of the child's condition. Pretty one sided journalism tbh.
    Does peaceful protest involve different things depending on what your protesting?