Protesters block Mayor as she tried to visit sick daughter awaiting liver transplant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

So much effort defending these cretins!

Its a losing battle & looks tragic.

Ah sure if you believe I'm defending them. I'm just not jumping onto an article clearly designed to focus on one agenda. They may as well have said IW protestors run into hospital and drag mayor away from dying girls bedside. Where does it say what they were protesting about ? Is a public representative of this level immune from public protest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Ah sure if you believe I'm defending them.

Eh... when about 1/4 of the posts here are yours, then yes.... yes you are defending these numbskulls.

Its moronic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Held Hostage they were, it was terrible

I feel like I've discussed this before
    Steve Austin and Colt Seavers turned up in the end IIRC

Eh... when about 1/4 of the posts here are yours, then yes.... yes you are defending these numbskulls.

Its moronic.

Meh I feel sad for people that Can't see the article for what it is. Is it not IW/Isis protestors these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Is it not IW/Isis protestors these days ?

Eirigi may well be like the bastard spawn of the BNP & Stalinism.

But they aren't ISIS level yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭SweetChaos

A pack of scumbags hopefully the guards will do some investigations and lock them all up

SweetChaos wrote: »
    A pack of scumbags hopefully the guards will do some investigations and lock them all up

For what ? Protesting ? And to be fair article is scant on any info apart from IW protestors. It was at a cc office, Not a hospital Bedside.

For what ? Protesting ? And to be fair article is scant on any info apart from IW protestors. It was at a cc office, Not a hospital room

What gives them the right to block anyone going about their business?

Oh sorry did they just grab some random person off the street and detain them ? Or protest outside a cc office at a Government representative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,490 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Oh sorry did they just grab some random person off the street and detain them ? Or protest outside a cc office at a Government representative.

FF are in government now? Is the Mayor of Fingal a government representative?

Well there is protesting and there is barricading people in against their will these people claim they are peaceful which is far from it they are finally showing their true colours they are losing and getting desperate which makes them unpredictable and dangerous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What government representative?

The protesters are not the full shilling

Local government not answer to the Government now ?

The protesters are not the full shilling

I'm sure this lot are not, But they have every right to protest outside local Government offices to Local government representative's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Keep it classy, protestors... :rolleyes:

Has this sort of stuff gone far enough yet? What the heck is the point of preventing a woman visiting her sick daughter? Why were they even at the Council - they don't make decisions about IW?

I wonder if her daughter was on a trolley

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Local government not answer to the Government now ?

Does she represent the government, as you claimed?

Valetta wrote: »
    Does she represent the government, as you claimed?

Are we not being a bit pedantic now ? She is one of the top members of local government in that area. I stand corrected on being a direct representative of the current government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

There is only one answer to this: let's have universal suffrage, and allow the people to decide what sort of government we have.

Anyone got a better idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Deub

Are we not being a bit pedantic now ? She is one of the top member of local government in that area.

And that's enough to block her?
    It is completely disproportionate with the non issue that is IW.

Deub wrote: »
    And that's enough to block her?
    It is completely disproportionate with the non issue that is IW.

We have no idea what they were protesting, It chucks in IW In the article.

I'm sure this lot are not, But they have every right to protest outside local Government offices to Local government representative's.

People have a right to protest yes I have no problem with that but when it spills over to anti-social behaviour barricading people in screaming insults and foul launguage at people, unnecessary garda presence where they could be better use elsewhere then yes I disagree and have a huge problem with them I have no time for them

They have no clue what a peaceful protest and that incident was disgraceful

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

The people here defending the protesters really are clutching at straws in their ridiculous arguments.

Protesting outside a county council office is about as effective as protesting outside a primary school in trying to stop water charges.

We have no idea what they were protesting, It chucks in IW In the article.

They wanted the council to bring up IW first in their next meeting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    Keep it classy, protestors... :rolleyes:

Has this sort of stuff gone far enough yet? What the heck is the point of preventing a woman visiting her sick daughter? Why were they even at the Council - they don't make decisions about IW?

There's always those rent a mob fools who find any excuse to protest whatever cause is "in" at the moment. There was recently a protest outside Alan Kellys office in Nenagh and the protesters were utterly civil. The Gardaí came and told them to move on, they asked why they should and the Gardaí said that they were blocking the traffic. Within minutes the protesters were gone. They made their point and caused no trouble. These protesters are genuine. But eventually fools will cling on to some notion of civic duty and inevitably, trouble will follow..

What these eejits did to the mayor of Fingal has seriously damaged what genuine protesters are trying to do. This can't end well..

5starpool wrote: »
    The people here defending the protesters really are clutching at straws in their ridiculous arguments.

Protesting outside a county council office is about as effective as protesting outside a primary school in trying to stop water charges.

Do you know something the rest of us don't ? IW protestors is all it says. They could have been protesting against the 10 guard incident recently or your man being arrested. Odd the article is very careful not to mention what they are protesting about. But very in depth about evil protestors abusing public official on the way to see a sick child. With plenty of detail of the child's condition. Pretty one sided journalism tbh.

They wanted the council to bring up IW first in their next meeting

Link ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

About time the Gardai public order Units are let off the leash and let do the job there trained and equipped for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭SpaceSasqwatch

sounds like something those eirigi muppets would try .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

Is there another source for this article than Denis O' Brien's rag? I don't trust the impartiality or veracity of any news story regarding IW protesters that's written in that newspaper.