Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

One thing about lvg vs moyes.

He really knows how to get results when playing mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭aperture_nuig

Lads. how are we third? We've played well in about 2 games all season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

If we continue to play that bad and still manage to get the wins I don't think my heart will be able to take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Leave them off so.

We are in third. Would you have taken third last summer with 5 points off second. Course you would.
    I can guarentee you we won't be in the top 4 if we continue to play like this.. This was Burnley, not fúcking Chelsea, City or Real Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Philosophy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

advertsfox wrote: »
    Time to put Falcao back in the packaging me thinks, feel a lot more comfortable with Wilson's pace up front.

RVP and Falcao both look ****e because they are isolated up front with 0% service coming there way due to a complete lack of a MF, a sorry shambles of a MF selection going on behind them.

LVG seems more than happy to haul Falcao off when RVP has less fight in him but he seems to favor him. Watch the press scapegoat Falcao and go to town on him.

The manager and his team selections are our biggest problem right now.

We will not get fourth unless he changes things quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

irishfeen wrote: »
    I can guarentee you we won't be in the top 4 if we continue to play like this.. This was Burnley, not fúcking Chelsea, City or Real Madrid.

We have been doing it the last 25 games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

You'd swear United were getting outplayed by teams of Burnley's standard on a weekly basis.

We have been doing it the last 25 games
    Yes but now Arsenal, Liverpool, Spurs have found form .. On current form we must be favourites to drop out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

All the mistakes are magnified that you would think United are in the relegation zone.
    They haven't been that bad really, 1 loss in 18 games etc

Plus De Gea has been majestic, so United got some wins due to this , such as Stoke or Everton at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Evans has regressed so much it's unreal. We looked absolutely at sea at the back and most of it was down to him. If there's one thing I hope for this summer it's that him and Jones get the door and replaced with real quality - neither can be relied upon to stay fit or play consistently well. Hopefully it'll be Rojo and Smalling next time out.

Falcao looked poor again and can't blame service for losing the ball so easily or not having any pace at all. Di Maria looked better as did Januzaj.

We still looked disjointed in midfield but to be fair Burnley battled hard - they did look like a team battling for their lives in the division. A win is a win, just got to keep going and win the next two, and hope some more results go our way with regard the other sides to give us a cushion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

That was painful to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

kona wrote: »
    Falcao looks ****e because there is **** all being created.

When are people going to stop sprouting this nonsense.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

Burnley who recently drew away to the team in second place, the defending champions, Chelsea who we have aalready drawn with and City who we narrowly lost away to, while down to 10 men for the last half hour.

Sure things are far from perfect but people need to calm down a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Yes but now Arsenal, Liverpool, Spurs have found form .. On current form we must be favourites to drop out.

Lucky that we don't play Spurs, Arsenal and Liverpool every week then isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    When are people going to stop sprouting this nonsense.

Sorry your right we create loads of chances and falcao just keeps missing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

We don't have to play Real Madrid in the race for top 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

To be fair, Falcao was septic tonight. Everything he touched turned to ****. Van Persie won some ball back on the flanks and actually had a pretty decent game. Rooney was good in the second half.

Smalling and Evans so bad. Like, actually comical at times.

Di Maria was pretty decent. Showing signs of form as against Leicester the other week.

Burnley were completely wiped out after their first half effort and couldn't rise a gallop at all in the second half. Besides Smalling and Evans trying their best to throw one in second half was very comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Winston Payne

Quandary wrote: »
    How long can we go on playing like that and get away with it? We have a tough run of games coming up soon and if we continue to play like we did tonight against the better opposition we will see our top 4 hopes evaporate.

The positives -
    McNair was decent
    Smalling was decent
    Di Maria is back running at defences from midfield which is freeing up space and causing problems

The negatives -
    Pretty much everything else was a negative IMO.
    A special mention goes out to Jonny Evans who outdid himself, reaching new levels of sh1tness.

Also, Rojo needs to play in the centre of defence in every match. He is our best central defender by a mile and is wasted at LB.
    Smalling was not decent. He had a nightmare first half in between his goals. Left behind repeatedly by Ings' movement, was dreadful for their goal. I rate him the highest of our defenders but Jesus was tonight bad. I haven't seen him play so poorly in literally years. Never seen him look that cumbersome either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

RVP and Falcao both look ****e because they are isolated up front with 0% service coming there way due to a complete lack of a MF, a sorry shambles of a MF selection going on behind them.

LVG seems more than happy to haul Falcao off when RVP has less fight in him but he seems to favor him. Watch the press scapegoat Falcao and go to town on him.

The manager and his team selections are our biggest problem right now.

We will not get fourth unless he changes things quickly.

That's bollix. Whatever about the service, Falcao offered zero in that game. Couldn't hold the ball up, could control it. Van Persie dropped deeper second half, held the ball up, kept possession in tight spaces and picked a pass out. I would have been livid if he'd have been hauled off ahead of Falcao.

Liverpool, Spurs and Southampton much bigger favourites not to make it:

http://www.oddschecker.com/football/english/premier-league/not-to-finish-top-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

kona wrote: »
    Sorry your right we create loads of chances and falcao just keeps missing.

His finishing has overall been poor since he joined.

I suppose he did get an assist tonight, in fairness

Lucky that we don't play Spurs, Arsenal and Liverpool every week then isn't it?
    Your dead right but the chances are if Spurs, Arsenal, Liverpool beat us in the coming fixtures it's highly likely we will finish outside the top 4.

We don't have to play Real Madrid in the race for top 4
    Ha you know what I mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Actually on current form City would be favourites to drop out, followed by United.

WDLDDW vs DLWWDW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,142 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Your dead right but the chances are if Spurs, Arsenal, Liverpool beat us in the coming fixtures it's highly likely we will finish outside the top 4.

No utd will do enough. Although the game at anfield could be huge.

Quandary wrote: »
    Smalling was decent

ozL1p6Q.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

After the last two performances, my expectations for getting in top 4 have dwindled.
    Just pure ****e really. No matter whether the tactics and personnel were right or wrong, the players on the field are just not performing.
    They are getting bullied, showing very little fight and their basic touch & passing is a shambles at times.

Our next 3 games will determine whether we make top 4 or not.
    Swansea (a)
    Sunderland (h)
    Newcastle (a)

Have to take the full 9 points from those games imo and at this moment in time I just can't see it happening unfortunetly.

I'll try keep the faith though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,522 ✭✭✭kona

adox wrote: »
    That's bollix. Whatever about the service, Falcao offered zero in that game. Couldn't hold the ball up, could control it. Van Persie dropped deeper second half, held the ball up, kept possession in tight spaces and picked a pass out. I would have been livid if he'd have been hauled off ahead of Falcao.

So falcao has one bad game and it's drop him time? There's plenty more players ahead of him in that q.

Set up the team to create chances , put pace into the attack. If falcao still hasn't scored then drop him and send him
    Back to Monaco.

Before the game, united and villa were the only two teams not to have been awarded a penalty. We all know how about villa and scoring. Create chances and space and you get goals and penalties.
    We need our players running at defences and creating spaces rather than knocking it sideways and backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

Smalling was not decent. He had a nightmare first half in between his goals. Left behind repeatedly by Ings' movement, was dreadful for their goal. I rate him the highest of our defenders but Jesus was tonight bad. I haven't seen him play so poorly in literally years. Never seen him look that cumbersome either.

Based on the first half and his marking for the Ings goal I would agree with you but I thought he was far better in the 2nd half. When Blind went off the centre halves had no protection and I thought we would go to sh1te but Smalling did fairly well I felt. The same can't be said for Evans.