Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Pro. F wrote: »
    It is wrong to think that people are only concerned about performances because of how they relate to the pleasure of the fans. People point out when performances are bad because that is a good indicator of when we can expect results to be bad.

Well I think it's more just the hyperbolic nature of them really.

Yeah we have been playing awful, no one is disputing that, but we are also getting results which the drama society don't like to factor in, only doom and gloom

The way I see it is if we play badly and can get results, then it's not as bad as people think. Obviously playing well will give the players more freedom and confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

With players like Rooney,RVP,Mata,Falcao DiMaria, rojo,blind,shaw i thought we might have a chance.

I was hoping we'd consolidate mid-table myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

bangkok wrote: »
    Scholes must have seen my post yesterday as he has the exact same opinion as me....

Aye, you pros all stick together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

I said it here before, but if Madrid were mad enough to get rid of Anchelotti in the summer, I would say thank you very much to van gaal for your contribution and go all out to make him the next manager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Hate that too adox.

We are Manchester United and thumping our chests.

Totally discounts the other teams and players we have to play against
    It's funny because I was saying that on here last year under Moyes and almost every single person on here gave me a bollocking for it.. The LVG effect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Spazdarn

Van Gaal is definitely a bit of a spoofer, all talk of philosophy, but no results... he's been at the club 9 months now, we'd surely see some progress.

I am happy though that he has trimmed the squad a bit though, far too many freeloaders left over from Fergies time, and he's moved quite a few of them on.

He's been left with a fairly crap defence in fairness, so I won't go on a witch hunt until after the summer, if he hasn't bought adequate defenders by then, he can go do one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Hate that too adox.

We are Manchester United and thumping our chests.

Totally discounts the other teams and players we have to play against

Yeah, having spent 150 million in the summer how dare we believe that we can beat teams like West Ham and Aston Villa.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Tyson Fury wrote: »
    Yeah, having spent 150 million in the summer how dare we believe that we can beat teams like West Ham and Aston Villa.

yea + 64m on mata and fellaini

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Well I think it's more just the hyperbolic nature of them really.

Yeah we have been playing awful, no one is disputing that, but we are also getting results which the drama society don't like to factor in, only doom and gloom

The way I see it is if we play badly and can get results, then it's not as bad as people think. Obviously playing well will give the players more freedom and confidence.

"People" is a very broad group. Some people are exagerating with their criticisms of the team and some people are exaggerating in their defence of the form and performances.

If somebody points out that the performances haven't been good enough, responses talking about a cup final from 10 years ago are just obfuscation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I'm sure City fans having the same anger at them drawing at Hull, or completely failing to defend a league title.

Money spent on players does not quantify instant or immediate success. That shouldn't need explaining. Our two most successful signings from the summer were the two cheapest....

So we wave our willies at them and hope they roll over?

You and Bangkok particularly show such disrespect to other teams. Ye think the other team can't even kick a ball. You're discounting the fact they are also in the top division and play soccer as their job. They will try not to lose and try to win. There is no 'bad' teams.

Conversely lvg shows a bit too much, maybe me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭squadro

"People" is a very broad group. Some people are exagerating with their criticisms of the team and some people are exaggerating in their defence of the form and performances.

If somebody points out that the performances haven't been good enough, responses talking about a cup final from 10 years ago are just obfuscation.

Think I agree, just have to check what obfuscation means.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Spazdarn wrote: »
    Van Gaal is definitely a bit of a spoofer, all talk of philosophy, but no results... he's been at the club 9 months now, we'd surely see some progress.

I am happy though that he has trimmed the squad a bit though, far too many freeloaders left over from Fergies time, and he's moved quite a few of them on.

He's been left with a fairly crap defence in fairness, so I won't go on a witch hunt until after the summer, if he hasn't bought adequate defenders by then, he can go do one.
    No results? A draw tonight at home to Burnley would fire Man United above Arsenal into 4th, a win could even get upto 3rd if West Ham carry on from Sunday. Where exactly were you expecting to finish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

TheDoc wrote: »
    Erm, maybe Van Gaal's presser had an actual effect?

SSN have been rolling out loads of stuff about it this morning explaining how we are high in the table of "long passes" but low on "long balls".

Even OPTA have been clarifying the difference between long balls and long passes, and that while United do heavily utilise a long pass, they do not use a long ball (playing a ball over 35 metres into space, rather then at a team mate)

Again maybe feel it's something that didn't need to be addressed, but has had some decent coverage today somewhat vindicating his point.

It's also shown the continued seething of Jackson and Ogden of their agenda, as people questioned them this morning if they intentionally misused the long pass table to fit their own agenda/narrative.

Pathetic. Embarrassing even.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I'd take Rooney playing at 10 tonight and Ander in midfield, it's not ideal but it's surely going to be better than what we've been seeing lately with a proper midfielder in there

Ideally Rooney to replace RVP or Falcao and both Mata and Ander in but when have we ever got an ideal lineup from Van Gaal...

That somebody who in particular is one if the most hyperbolic in this thread.

I don't value his opinion as I and many others thinks it is nonsense. I can take it at face value. Would I treat you or someone else differently who haven't been crying. Of course.

his posts have no credibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

bangkok wrote: »
    http://www.lovellsoccer.co.uk/Football-Boots/Puma/King-Mixed-Sole-SG-Football-Boots-Metallic-White-or-High-Risk-Red-or-Black

the puma boots on this site seem to be very cheap?? are they real leather, I've worn the black puma king all my life normally cost €120?

INPHO_00021317.jpg

Just saying...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Some lads on this thread. Van Gaal a spoofer, yeah some spoofer alright, won the league with every team hes managed. Set the framework in motion for 3 of the greatest club sides of the last 25 years.

Some nonsense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,300 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

bullvine wrote: »
    Some lads on this thread. Van Gaal a spoofer, yeah some spoofer alright, won the league with every team hes managed. Set the framework in motion for 3 of the greatest club sides of the last 25 years.

Some nonsense!

Wasn't he sacked at both Barcelona and Bayern?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,608 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Its typical ****e really.
    When United are winning they are never that good ,they get all breaks, refs are afraid of them,they got lucky etc etc.
    When United play poorly or have a bad result they are finished, never will win the league again or get CL football,the club is in free fall.

Same tired old clichés from the usual suspects.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

CSF wrote: »
    No results? A draw tonight at home to Burnley would fire Man United above Arsenal into 4th, a win could even get upto 3rd if West Ham carry on from Sunday. Where exactly were you expecting to finish?

Arsenal have a better GD- you stay 5th unless you win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

If we were to avoid managers that had been sacked/resigned before then you could write off nearly every other manager that was touted as the right man for the job. Mourinho, Ancelotti, Klopp...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

My main concern tonight is whether West Ham can take points from Southampton. Madness to be genuinely worried about Burnley at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,882 ✭✭✭✭CSF

efb wrote: »
    Arsenal have a better GD- you stay 5th unless you win
    Not a United fan, I stand corrected nonetheless. Can't see United not winning tonight though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Nobody is immune to sackings, look at Mourinho. I have every faith in Van Gaal, yes hes done crazy things, but so has Fergie and Mourinho.

Give me a viable alternative to Van Gaal? with the exception of Ancellotti who has already been mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,051 ✭✭✭digzy

Who was the player involved in the alleged incident with the girl in the jacks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

digzy wrote: »

Could that question be any more vague? I suppose if you replaces 'jacks' with 'place'.

digzy wrote: »

The answer is in your question.

Alleged.