Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Look. You said you have played under 21 international football.

All of us here would love to have someone around her posting who actually plays a decent level of football.

Don't be playing billy big balls and then the coy man. It dosent work like that.

If eamon dunphy or mark lawerson came on here for whatever reason under a different Name they would be laughed out of here with some of their views. I would prob add dietmar hamann in that as well, awful pundit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

There is no chance its thomas morgan he supports liverpool( or maybe reading some of bangkoks posts it is him:pac:) A class player won the league with Pats and the best player in his age group in schoolboy football.

Hallucinating it is then! :pac:
    bangkok wrote: »
    If eamon dunphy or mark lawerson came on here for whatever reason under a different Name they would be laughed out of here with some of their views. I would prob add dietmar hamann in that as well, awful pundit

They wouldn't need to use a fake name, they'd be laughed out here regardless. Because lots of their views are laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Come in to read the new posts... Starts off with people taking better corners than Di Maria.

Yup.
    3204840swsw.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Lads you're all feeding a clowns ego...
    We all know from past history this guy is full of it...
    By the way my names Roy and I used to play for Cobh before I went to
    England in the early 90's...
    Keano2907 is me Da
    He's a right langer

��

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

MagicIRL wrote: »
    Come in to read the new posts... Starts off with people taking better corners than Di Maria.

Yup.
    3204840swsw.gif

Atta boy Magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

astradave wrote: »
    Neale Fenn had a good LOI career tbh, same with Hawkins and Trevor Molloy

Definitely not Neale Fenn, guy runs just for strikers coaching and wouldn't have any kind of time to be spouting on here. He's none of the wingers in that squad either. Who coached that team Bangkok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

I seem to have stumbled into the 'Online Guess Who' thread.

Apologies.

Before I leave, I'll leave ye with a tip. If in doubt, it's always Maria.

MRfdNaV.png

Look at her. The smug bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Keno wrote: »
    I seem to have stumbled into the 'Online Guess Who' thread.

Apologies.

Before I leave, I'll leave ye with a tip. If in doubt, it's always Maria.

MRfdNaV.png

Look at her. The smug bitch.

God dammit she is doing the duckface

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,569 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Was he not the poster who said he didn't miss a minute of a United match in 30 odd years? Surely the age doesn't add up i could be wrong here it may have been someone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Was he not the poster who said he didn't miss a minute of a United match in 30 odd years? Surely the age doesn't add up i could be wrong here it may have been someone else.

It was him, he said twenty years.

Here's the post

Seriously, the guy is so full of it, he could be a latrine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

A pile of posts about a simple typo made when posting from a phone.

Your jimmies must be very rustled at the moment lads.
    Perhaps you could try responding to the content of the post instead.

Your manager has lowered himself to arguing with Big Sam over which team, United or West Ham are less of a long ball merchant/s.
    Is this how you hoped your press conferences would be? Are West Ham the metric with which your manager gauges his tactics on?

It was akin to Rafa's 'fhacts' sheet rant which proved to be the beginning of the end of Rafa's reign.
    Sleep well lads, if there are any typos, feel free to focus in on them in order to distract yourself from reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

Did we hurt your feelings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

Your manager has lowered himself to arguing with Big Sam over which team, United or West Ham are less of a long ball merchant/s.
    Is this how you hoped your press conferences would be? Are West Ham the metric with which your manager gauges his tactics on?

It was akin to Rafa's 'fhacts' sheet rant which proved to be the beginning of the end of Rafa's reign.
    Sleep well lads, if there are any typos, feel free to focus in on them in order to distract yourself from reality.

No one's biting. Did you look at the press conference? Tongue firmly in cheek IMO. Move on and get over it!

It's great to see that ye are all rallying around, keeping your spirits up by ignoring football talk and instead posting lots of pictures of funny cats and father ted videos clips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭ElChe32

The irony that he had to edit it :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

ElChe32 wrote: »
    The irony that he had to edit it :))

You could try editing yourself occasionally.

beaker.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

You should do the exact same thing. Watch it for context.

Or just post blindly holding your lad in your hand

It's great to see that ye are all rallying around, keeping your spirits up by ignoring football talk and instead posting lots of pictures of funny cats and father ted videos clips.

Ok, here goes -

I read about 6-7 or pages in here before I finally came to one that had the LVG 'breakdown' posted, thinking by then that it would be horrific going by the reactions of some Pool fans and members of the Drama Society in here. Those 6-7 pages ended up being nothing but a prick tease, gave me the biggest dose of blueballs that I've had in a long time.

I clicked play on the link expecting to witness scenes of ushers handing out phamplets (wahey!) in the aisles and Louis standing in front of a drop-down screen with a powerpoint presentation on it and a pointer in his hand. "Na-ow, if I may deerect you to pages scheven" - he talking up past games' good results, good points and highs. Nothing like it, nothing at all. Here is what happened though;

LVG employed a tactic in the final 20 minutes of a match in order to salvage something in a losing game, nothing new to any manger. This unpopular tactic known as the 'longball' was used effectively as United went on to grab a draw. Absolutely nothing to see here apart from United being shít, and wouldn't have been, UNTIL...

Big Sam, friend to journos and a man who considers himself a serious underachiever "If I got a shot at one of the big clubs..." is in the midst of one of the best seasons he or any of his teams have had in a long time. This is probably as good as it's going to get for Sam.

On the night in question, his team were on the way to a home victory against Man United, one that wouldn't have been undeserving, and it was robbed from them at the death. In the video I've posted below where Sam makes the comments (and doesn't actually say "Long-Ball United" once) it is complied of him answering 2 questions which are cut out. The first was a general answer on his thoughts on the game. In it, amongst many other things, he mentioned how it's not the kind of goal you'd normally expect to concede against Man United with how it was "punted up the middle", and that was it.

By the time he stopped talking about 30 seconds later and had moved on to other things about the game, some hungry journalist had prepped a follow-up question to pull something out of him to criticise LVG. This is obvious since there is a cut after Sam naturally finishes talking and then he's back suddenly talking after the cut with a pensive look on his face saying "I might criticise Louis Van Gaal with...".

So we live in an age with those "sports writers" where rather than follow-up with something about the football, they look for something to suit their own narrative first. They don't care about the long-ball or the football behind it, they just want the fuel to feed the headlines. 'BIG SAM BLASTS LONGBALL VAN GAAL' is all that was required here. Incidentally, Sam even comments that the longball was effective, if not perfect. But no, doesn't matter, Sam said "maybe you can criticise LVG for the long-ball as much as me for being direct" after they asked him to criticise LVG. As far as the writers are concerned, it's "Job done boys, who's for pints? First round on me."

By the time the United press-conference rolled around today, the media had gone with this Big Sam and Longball United stuff for 2 days. These were 2 days where they might have been reporting how LVG's change had salvaged a point for United had Sam not been so vocal in 'defeat'. There was still enough fodder in the fact that United had to clinch a draw at West Ham for them to toy with if they were afraid of having to give any kind of praise to LVG.

We know LVG by now, every other press-conference he is telling off journalists for not talking about the football and asking the wrong questions. Also, the man is a cheeky, eccentric S.O.B. and there are numerous videos from his pre-United past to show it. All I see this "pathetic" and "embarassing" press conference as is another LVG schooling of the media with his tongue firmly in cheek. He has watched them report and blow-up this Big Sam stuff for 2 days now, so he came in totally prepared in order to get it out of the way.

I'd say that he definitely cock-blocked a few journos in the room, with his 'Here it is and then we'll move on for good' stance, who were itching to unleash their questions about Big Sam and he'll feel their wrath for it. Where another manager might have waited for the questions and then answered/deflected them, our 'long-bewildered with the English media' manager chose to come in and treat them like the school boys that they are. In the age of statistics falling from the sky and shooting up from the ground, the media chose to ignore every one of them and run with their own Soap Opera style reporting of a serious sport, triggered by a couple of comments from a sore manager in Big Sam moments after he got the equivalent of a kick in the nuts out of nowhere. And the reporting of this latest press conference is and will be no different. LVG has come in and talked football rather than give them something they can use to fire the flames, but because it was done in an unorthodox way they are going to focus on that instead, and try to paint it in the worst light that they can.

The A.B.U.s and Pool fans doing this, I can understand. But members of the mainstream media who try to be taken seriously as sports writers? That's a bit disappointing if not still surprising. LVG did their job for them after 2 days of misreporting from them and showed them up for it, that's his crime here.

So if you're still with me Iheartchewinglouis, or anyone, my own jimmies are certainly not rustled over this, and neither were those of quite a few others in here. The ones who are, most of them their jimmies are always on the look for a good ol rustling and it doesn't take much at all to get those jimmies a rustlin'. You guys can enjoy it for something it isn't, LVG is not "lowering himself to fighting with Big Sam", he's just calling Sam and the media on their bullshít and getting it out of the way first thing at the press conference so they can move on from this non-issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Yesterday draw would have been a nice result but next to it Liverpool win is the second best result for us. Spurs were just 1 point behind us, now if we can win next game then we are 4 points ahead of Spurs and 5 ahead of Liverpool.

Next 3 games are very important for us, Burnley, Swanswa (Away) and Sunderland at home. Any points dropped means I can see us finishing outside top 4. We have very tough end to the season so we should be taking max points from all winnable games.

Lads, to find out which one is Bangkok we'll need a video of the match to see who was the best at taking corners.

Sure I played a bit of ball myself at a decent level. Had a rough patch when I got an 8 month ban for karate kicking a fan who was giving me a bit of lip. I retired early enough so some little asthmatic ginger kid could get games in midfield. #memories #seagulls

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭MythicalMadMan

Big Sam makes tongue in cheek comment.
    Media blow it up knowing the haters and doubters will run with it getting them hits.

Our mangers wonders wtf is going on uses a very basic print out so media cant twist it further.

I wondered could be a slight at the media if someone handed me something saying 4 outta 12 is 33.3% I'd wonder did they think I was an idiot.

Nothing story blown up my Media, blown up more my haters, blown up more my the self-haters who actually get embarrassed by something that the manager of Man united does and blown up even more by people trying to explain its a non-event (myself included)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

My jimmies will be rustled if we don't win tonight, other than that they are completely rustle free.
    Funnily enough, I actually know a guy called Jimmy Russell, as carefree as they come unfortunately. It would be fantastic if he was always on edge, worrying about every little thing. Why oh why can't people live up to their name???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

I take it your name is not actually Will :D

It did make him look silly but only because it happened in England. If this happened at Bayern it would be added to the list of things everybody was fawning over when it was announced he would be the manager. Up there with getting his liathróidí out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Well what would people think if he did something similar at Friday's press conference?

How would the media react to him regularly tackling their headlines head on - and not dancing around their questions allowing them to twist the story their way?

I take it your name is not actually Will :D

Pseudonym man. And I do live up to it, I am the anti-Will-I-Am, I stand for everything against that abomination to music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I'm just a gowl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,224 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

Its not the how LVG delivered the response that is the issue, its the fact that he felt he had to do it all.

He is basically saying that we are not as long ball as West Ham. West fecking Ham! Is this what we have got to. Argueing over which team is the worst! How about he forgets Sam and starts to compare himself to Chelsea.

How about he plays the right tactics so that we are forced to play hoof ball in the final 20 minutes to try to salvage a point against West Ham, who were missing a few players lest we forget.

Forget whether the press conference was terrible or not, the fact that this is what we are talking about shows how much trouble we are in. Mourinho makes some silly comments some time in his conferences, but guess what, his team is winning so he can bloody well talk as much sh1t as he likes, the performance on the pitch is all that matters.

Some of you seem to think that since LVG is funny at press conferences and seems to take no truck from journalists that that makes everything ok.

Arsenal are starting to power ahead, Liverpool as getting their act together and even Spurs (yesterday result could have gone either way) are a threat. And what have we got? Well we statistically play less long balls than West Ham in a game that we are chasing, after having assembled one of the most expensive sides in the league.