Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Is it random, or when you do something in particular?
    Has anything changed recently on it, updates or installed anything new?

It was grand til I connected to the wifi in my new place. Won't even turn on now, just straight to the blue screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

MsBubbles wrote: »
    26sdrawkscab how annoying. My surgery is the same :( it's a bit much to expect you to sit for hours with a sore back

I ended up in A & E late last year with pnemonia. I spent the first night there on a trolley in the A & E Department while they tried to sort a bed for me. I have never been so sick, the pain in my chest and side was so bad I could barely move and when I did I was crying out in pain. And yet, I was put under immense pressure to move to some kind of holding lounge where they wanted me to sit in a CHAIR for up to 4 hours:rolleyes: Even lying down was a chore but to expect someone suffering with severe pneumonia to sit in a chair is disgraceful.

Short story: the HSE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Vel that's horrendous

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Crumpets wrote: »
    It was grand til I connected to the wifi in my new place. Won't even turn on now, just straight to the blue screen.
    Is there a WiFi switch on the laptop, if there is try turning that off to see if the machine boots up that way.
    Otherwise you'll have to try to boot in Safe Mode. Delending on your machine, you hold down one of the F buttons while the laptop is starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Practically having to beg the secretary for an appointment with my GP after explaining I was rear ended on Thursday.
    "You can go to the clinic, there's 3 doctors on" - oh yeah, sitting waiting for an indefinite time (usually no less than an hour) sounds fúcking ideal in my condition.
    This fúcking country!!

No i the GPs not pulling their weight. and is why A and E is in such trouble. Read the thread on health science that GP do not even do simple stitches because they dont know how. I have come to the conclusion that all they do is refer on and write prescriptions, grumble re being called out even when they are being heftily paid for night emergency duty and demand that elderly patient attends surgery in bad weather just so they can charge extra before issuing a repeat scrip,, try complaining and they drop you off their list and then no one wants you,:rolleyes: HSE allocate and they refuse.. I have five medical cards here now. Rant over! Go to A and E!

MOD: User banned for ignoring mod instruction to stop posting in this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Zanablue wrote: »
    Actually the receptionist in our doctors surgery is the problem as well, she is like a guard dog, you just can't get anything past her. The only thing is she keeps everything private.

We had to change our doctor a few years ago because the doctor couldn't control his secretary, she used to discuss peoples problems with other patients. I left after something which I wanted to keep private was discussed with a family member. It was more then trivially annoying at the time.

The dragons! Where do they train these women! Last year one countermanded the medical instructions of the dr to my detriment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

More than TA that I have constant Tinnitus in my ear today. Enough already!

What?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Waiting 3 hours for a text with my new car registration number so I can change insurance for tomorrow morning. Just a TA, as the excitement was building because it arrived a month early but as time drags on now I just wish they'd text. I keep checking the phone every few minutes in case I missed the alert and can't concentrate on chores in the meantime.

Another TA is the abysmal mobile phone coverage for a radius of 2 miles around the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Waiting 3 hours for a text with my new car registration number so I can change insurance for tomorrow morning. Just a TA, as the excitement was building because it arrived a month early but as time drags on now I just wish they'd text. I keep checking the phone every few minutes in case I missed the alert and can't concentrate on chores in the meantime.

Another TA is the abysmal mobile phone coverage for a radius of 2 miles around the house.
    I thought this the reg would only take a few minutes to do Jaxen Curved Shaver? If you had a spare 1000e you could have booked a number..Huge TA in our house that the cost jumped from 350 to 1000e to order a number..its robbery:mad:
    Happy motoring and keep her between the ditches :)

Colser wrote: »
    I thought this the reg would only take a few minutes to do Srameen? If you had a spare 1000e you could have booked a number..Huge TA in our house that the cost jumped from 350 to 1000e to order a number..its robbery:mad:
    Happy motoring and keep her between the ditches :)

I thought so too and it was very swift any other time. Hence the anxiety and TA at this stage. I'll give it another half hour and maybe give them a call but I know people are busy and it can be a TA to them if they are badgered about something they may be working on.

Aaaah!!! Turns out it's the first of a new engine and the motor tax office will take at least 24 hours to process - it would be me! - so now it will probably be Wednesday or even Thursday. Had they said Thursday this morning I would have been chuffed but building me up like that! TA indeed.

Congratulations on the new car Srameen. I'm annoyed for you it's taking longer than expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

The young one threw her hardback A3 sketch pad into my shopping bag, and now my naan breads are in pieces :(

TA that Srameen has a new car and I am stuck in my old one. Its just not fair.

73Cat she's done you a favour, bite size naan bread pieces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

TA that the ankle that I broke is still so swollen I can't get proper knee high boots to fit me, that will zip up over the ankle. I went up a size, my left leg floating around in it, and the zip barely would go over my ankle.

TA that Srameen has a new car and I am stuck in my old one. Its just not fair.

You just knuckle down and work hard and someday the dream lifestyle may be yours too. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Aaaah!!! Turns out it's the first of a new engine and the motor tax office will take at least 24 hours to process - it would be me! - so now it will probably be Wednesday or even Thursday. Had they said Thursday this morning I would have been chuffed but building me up like that! TA indeed.
    Its an Ecar isnt it Jaxen Curved Shaver?Tell me Im right:D Im guessing its metallic grey...and Im hugely TA that you have to wait,you must be itching to get it.

Colser wrote: »
    Its an Ecar isnt it Srameen?Tell me Im right:D Im guessing its metallic grey...and Im hugely TA that you have to wait,you must be itching to get it.

Not a hope. I drove an electric car for a few weeks about four years ago and suffered from the dreaded range anxiety.

Insignia 2 litre diesel I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭saralou2011

all this 50 shades of sh1te hype.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

All of the casual racism and bigotry floating around on social media since the Charlie Hebdo incident is pissing me off. It'd be really great if people just grew the frick up and realised that all it does is encourage people to join the nut job jihadists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

Can we bring in these road signs ?

£100 fine for using the outside lanes in U.K (afik) but you wouldn't think so by the amount of yellow reg plates that use outside lanes here, or do they come over here to cut loose, Should bring it in over here too, a great revenue maker and lorries/hgv's could be fined double for continuous driving in centre and treble for being in third lane, :mad: doing 80kmh...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Being soo pissed off....wanting to go drinking since 9 am :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Ad on radio for SSE Airtricity. Yer wan calls out the phone number. 40 40 80
    "Fordy Fordy Aidy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

People who never shut up during a lecture. If I'm gonna pay the guts of 9 grand for a course, i'd like to do it in a peaceful quiet environment.

Also that particular brand of mature student who asks silly questions every lecture and tutorial without reading the notes properly. There is always one!! For the record, i'm not judging all mature students, as i know they are only a minority and I'm one of the grumpy ones:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

TA....the grass is growing like wildfire again! Hate having to mow it. Such a pain in the Aras.

Anyway, the weeds won't be long now too. Feckers.

I need to get the garden low maintenance. But it's big. 90ft long. Feck.

Anyone any ideas?

(move house I suppose, but I love it here!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

TA....the grass is growing like wildfire again! Hate having to mow it. Such a pain in the Aras.

Anyone any ideas?

Sheep's!!!

Also you can get slower growing grass varieties...but u will need to reseed for thar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Sheep's!!!

Also you can get slower growing grass varieties...but u will need to reseed for thar

OK, you are welcome to come over and dig it up and re seed it for me!

Sounds like a big job.

I would pay someone to do it, but haven't a clue where to start looking for a reliable grass cutter!

It's not that I am incapable or anything, just takes up too much of my valuable time! Mind you, when the grass is cut and edged and all the rest of it, it does look good.....

But I don't :P

OK, you are welcome to come over and dig it up and re seed it for me!

Sounds like a big job.

I would pay someone to do it, but haven't a clue where to start looking for a reliable grass cutter!

It's not that I am incapable or anything, just takes up too much of my valuable time! Mind you, when the grass is cut and edged and all the rest of it, it does look good.....

But I don't :P

You must have a teenage boy neighbour who would be happy with a tenner every couple of weeks for a bit of mowing?

Anyone any ideas?

A piddling 90ft? My lawn alone 120x180. I'll swap you.
    The weeds grew all winter - as they will.
    Grass shouldn't be growing until a succession of days with the ground temp above 6 degrees?
    Where are you? Florida? ;)