Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Source of my oil leak is either the camshaft or crankshaft seal. Once I get to them will replace both to be sure, but getting to it is the hard part. I'm told the timing belt needs to come off along with other parts in order to replace it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Source of my oil leak is either the camshaft or crankshaft seal. Once I get to them will replace both to be sure, but getting to it is the hard part. I'm told the timing belt needs to come off along with other parts in order to replace it.

I had to do that on my focus I think the timming belt has to come off well the mechanic done it when I was getting the timming belt done anyway.

Forgive me for saying this, but you seem to be ignoring a lot of the advice on this thread because the car is cheap.

In fairness, there's not exactly lots of advice..

A lot of people, yourself included just there, are being fantastic with giving their thoughts on specific cars I'm looking at (the primera being fairly disliked!).

So I tend to find myself hopping from car to car a lot, as, At the moment, for example, I'm 'coin flipping' between that Golf and an 01 focus estate. But I'm finding it hard to get a decent opinon.

Ive been looking at bangernomics, but find anything really being posted there in terms of estates, are usually quite tax-heavy, which I want to avoid, or are the opposite side of the country :(

Whisht shots fired, shots fired :pac:

ISo I tend to find myself hopping from car to car a lot, as, At the moment, for example, I'm 'coin flipping' between that Golf and an 01 focus estate. But I'm finding it hard to get a decent opinon.

The mk1 focus is known to be fairly reliable in petrol derivative anyway. The problem is if it's the 1.4 they are known to be very underpowered to drive. If that golf is clean it could be a good bet provided clutch, gearbox engine looks feels good. Do you have a link to it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭Truckermal

ba_barabus wrote: »
    They're cheap as chips to run. What went on it? My OH is replacing hers now

Brake pipes rusty that were hidden over the fuel tank so the subframe and tank were in the way a fairly arkward job so done all the anti roll bar bushes too plus drop links. The car is driving like new now so I will keep it for another few years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Looks like the Citroen BX is being pushed into daily service for a week or two. My OHs needs the Alfa while she is awaiting her next car.

How is the BX working out for you - enjoying it????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Old diesel wrote: »
    How is the BX working out for you - enjoying it????

I haven't done much with it as very little needed to be done. I have to put all the wiper and washer fluid assembly together again tomorrow after refurbing it and fit a new radio.

Other than that it's ready for the road. I'm loving it tbh and looking forward to using it around Dublin.

Truckermal wrote: »
    Brake pipes rusty that were hidden over the fuel tank so the subframe and tank were in the way a fairly arkward job so done all the anti roll bar bushes too plus drop links. The car is driving like new now so I will keep it for another few years...

Aye, I had the same thing before the last mot. And some welding needed to be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Looks like the Citroen BX is being pushed into daily service for a week or two. My OHs needs the Alfa while she is awaiting her next car.

Any pics? Love the BXs. Learnt to drive in one when I was a young fella round a field. Savage cars :)

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Any pics? Love the BXs. Learnt to drive in one when I was a young fella round a field. Savage cars :)

I'll clean it tomorrow and post some :)

Whisht shots fired, shots fired :pac:

Ah, no, you know what I mean. That wasn't supposed to sound ungrateful or like I'm unappreciative of what's being said here.

I know that in my budget of what I'm willing to spend on my next car, I'm going with an older one that's seen more than it's fair share of road. I'm taking a bit of a gamble. I'm just trying to minimise the amount of a 'gamble' im taking, by opting for a slightly more 'durable/reliable' motor.

But as someone who's not that clued into cars, I'm finding it difficult to sift through what cars are known problem cars, and what cars are known to go forever.

I know people can't really give advice on such a wide spectrum of cars, or what may catch my eye, so im trying to pick a model or two and see what ye guys have to say about it (cos, in fairness, the people posting here seem to be among the most clued in people there are around).

The only issue here is that I find myself hopping from model to model.

I had hoped that today I would have bought the Primera from the other day, but between the people on here telling me not to go near it, and then the chap messaging me saying it had developed a central locking issue, I decided to steer clear.

When I wrote above about lack of advice, it wasn't intended in a snidey kind of way. I think it's obvious to anyone, whether a regular poster or someone in just mooching through once in a blue moon, that the people on this thread (and forum in general, but mostly regulars on this thread) have helped me out to astounding levels (not just with this, but also with previous cars).

I persecute ye guys over car stuff, and ye are always extremely helpful, knowledgeable and willing to help out (including in "real life", making offers to assist me with different bits and pieces).

And I do thoroughly, genuinely, appreciate all of the advice and comments people send my way (good, bad or indifferent).

Look at BPMull for example (just to randomly pick someone). He has been consistently giving me detailed and knowledgeable advice on pretty much everything that I have asked. I've gained more insight from his posts on here alone, than I have from various other online forums combined.

(thats not to say everyone isn't helping me out, but just to randomly pick someone).

I do appreciate it. But trust me, I'm as frustrated as the next person that I haven't already picked up a heap o' crap yet. Just to get it out of the way.

I think I'll just buy the Focus and be done with it. Get it out of the way. Lots of them on the road. I'm sure they can't be too bad. Sure if I pay feck all I won't be disappointed if it implodes anyway :)

Bpmull wrote: »
    The mk1 focus is known to be fairly reliable in petrol derivative anyway. The problem is if it's the 1.4 they are known to be very underpowered to drive. If that golf is clean it could be a good bet provided clutch, gearbox engine looks feels good. Do you have a link to it ?

This is the Golf:

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/golf/8322144?offset=1

I think maybe the Focus might be the safer bet? I'm only fixing mechanical issues on them (ie; i dont care about the car, so trivial electrical things will be ignored) so I reckon I might get a Focus fixed cheaper when something gets worn or broken (brake pads, CV boots, etc.)?

I was talking to them both on the phone. Golf man said he got it for hunting, and used it for the hunting season ( :confused: ). So he said he only picked it up in November.. But I can't comment on that as I've no idea when the hunting season is or what the craic is there..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Old diesel

A lot of people, yourself included just there, are being fantastic with giving their thoughts on specific cars I'm looking at (the primera being fairly disliked!).

So I tend to find myself hopping from car to car a lot, as, At the moment, for example, I'm 'coin flipping' between that Golf and an 01 focus estate. But I'm finding it hard to get a decent opinon.

Ive been looking at bangernomics, but find anything really being posted there in terms of estates, are usually quite tax-heavy, which I want to avoid, or are the opposite side of the country :(

As someone said already a lot depends on the individual car.

Obviously you want/need a car - but my advice would be NOT to rush if at all possible.

While estates may be hard to find now - id expect SOMETHING will crop up before summer.

You only NEED ONE decent car to pop up that your happy to buy and drive when all is said and done.

Id also consider sacrificing the tax slightly for the RIGHT car - on the basis that id rather pay extra tax on a nice reliable decent car then less on a heap of dung.

I take the same view on fuel consumption as well - and would generally prefer to pay more at the pump to fuel up an immaculate petrol then pay less to fuel up a diesel that's seen better days.

The travel thing - that's a tricky one - but id be open minded about traveling for the right car - its a judgement call one MAY have to make.

Would really need to be a standout candidate though imo to justify traveling - but if something looks REALLY promising - especially if someone like Unkle or W123 80s has posted it in the bangernomics section then its worth considering.

edit - a good Mk 1 Focus should be a good bet

@kkv the focus may be the better bet. I don't know about that particular focus though the passenger side rear door looks like it's been replaced or something along that side as the paint doesn't seem to match up maybe it just the way I'm looking at. Chances are anything you will look at the age will have had paint at some stage though which is fine once it was badly damaged structurally or the like. You would want to make sure he piller is untouched and that it wasn't badly damaged which can be hard to tell I suppose.

Well that Other Primera I was looking at, I went off, as yer man (John) sounded like he'd had it a while, but Motor tax site said it changed hands in November.

Coincidentally, I came across another Focus online. This one is for sale by Richard.

Richard and John seem to be the same person, though. And John has 3 cars for sale (under the one account, not sure if he has more under a different alias, again).

Dodgy, dodgy, dodgy... :o

@kkv just had a quick look at focus estates your not exactly spoiled for choice. Tbh as much as I'm into cars actually buying second hand cars is something I hate you get sick of sellers bullsh!tting you on how great their cars are and they are heaps when you view them. It's like everyone is trying to deceive you and hide things. I suppose it's just a matter of looking until you find something decent.

Taking a skew on traditional motoring. In with the oil and filled it with petrol. Yes the briggs and stratton lawnmower started on the beat after being left up since October, for the 11 year running. Bit cranky at first, revving high and low, but it soon evened itself out to a nice hum. Can't beat the smell of freshly cut grass!!

@kkv just had a quick look at focus estates your not exactly spoiled for choice. Tbh as much as I'm into cars actually buying second hand cars is something I hate you get sick of sellers bullsh!tting you on how great their cars are and they are heaps when you view them. It's like everyone is trying to deceive you and hide things. I suppose it's just a matter of looking until you find something decent.

Not really spoiled for choice with any make of estates to be honest, from the look of it. There's a decent looking Laguna in the town. Haven't seen it in person, but I know where the person lives and know where it's stored (its in a secure car park).

I drive past it's car park every day. They said the heater on it broke yesterday, so they'd lower the price accordingly. Was considering taking it to mechanic to get it looked over, but after all the hassle with the 407 and my brothers Megane breaking his heart with windows just collapsing in it and then refusing to work, etc. I reckon I'd be in for another 407 episode again.

Which is a shame, cos it looks good and is on my door step. I might get it checked out anyway. Mechanic will charge me about €30-40 to look it over.

When I asked him about it on the phone earlier, well, he wasn't too enthused..

Me: It's a Lagune, 2001, selling it fairly cheaply, at €1000.. said he'd drop the price cos the heater broke on it...
    Mechanic: Don't touch it. Don't go near it. I don't care if he's giving you a free house with it, don't buy the fcuking thing!

So I'm borderline afraid to even ask him to look it over.. :p

I'm a renault fan and like many of them but I wouldn't touch that era of megane or laguna we had a 04 Megane estate about 2 years ago was bought as a cheap run around the electrics were a disaster. They are fine from 2007 on but that's out of your budget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Taking a skew on traditional motoring. In with the oil and filled it with petrol. Yes the briggs and stratton lawnmower started on the beat after being left up since October, for the 11 year running. Bit cranky at first, revving high and low, but it soon evened itself out to a nice hum. Can't beat the smell of freshly cut grass!!

I don't think I ever cut grass earlier than March. It's too cold out and it's not growing sure!

Mycroft H wrote:
    I don't think I ever cut grass earlier than March. It's too cold out and it's not growing sure!

Its more of a clean up than anything else. The grass was higher around some of the shrubs and along by the walls, maybe not so much in the exposed areas. In an area where I would normally get a full box during the summer, I got half a box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Had the consaw up and running last sunday, oh man was it good to use it again. It was great craic cutting up the front of a car :D

I love using me consaw :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

dgt wrote: »
    Had the consaw up and running last sunday, oh man was it good to use it again. It was great craic cutting up the front of a car :D

I love using me consaw :D

Is that video qv took still floating around? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Is that video qv took still floating around? :D

You just gave me an idea there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

Being realistic about it just using the primera you linked as an example if you were to buy that and drive it around the country for the summer it's highly likely that it will breakdown or cause issues simply because it's getting on in years and they are not the most reliable anyway. Not trying to be negative but it's very hard to be able to buy a car for 1-2k euro and then expect it to cause no trouble at all and be bullet proof. Maybe I'm just being pessimistic.

I spent 2.05k on my yoke which had 128k on it when I got it and has now just over 146k(miles). It has never actually broken down or failed to start. The only mechanical issue it had was an ignition coil going. Ordinarily I suppose most people would bring it to a garage and it'd have cost them a bit but with google youtube ect and a bluetooth scanner I figured out what it was and it cost 50 euro. And an indicator relay went which cost me 10 euro iirc.

Thats been it outside of normal costs.

It's obviously not an estate ect, which kkv is looking for. But I can fit a bike inside it!

nd wrote: »
    I spent 2.05k on my yoke which had 128k on it when I got it and has now just over 146k(miles). It has never actually broken down or failed to start. The only mechanical issue it had was an ignition coil going. Ordinarily I suppose most people would bring it to a garage and it'd have cost them a bit but with google youtube ect and a bluetooth scanner I figured out what it was and it cost 50 euro. And an indicator relay went which cost me 10 euro iirc.

Thats been it outside of normal costs.

It's obviously not an estate ect, which kkv is looking for. But I can fit a bike inside it!

What is the car, out of curiousity?

and is 2.05k €2,050? :confused::)

Has this new flyover improved newlands cross at all. I'm going to collect my dad from the airport he'll be in at 3.30pm next Friday should I still expect very bad trafic (I'm rarely in Dublin so don't know) coming from m9 heading to airport ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Has this new flyover improved newlands cross at all. I'm going to collect my dad from the airport he'll be in at 3.30pm next Friday should I still expect very bad trafic (I'm rarely in Dublin so don't know) coming from m9 heading to airport ?

Yeah you'l fly through it's great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,428 ✭✭✭Dartz

Like night and ****ing day.

I've only been past it the two times and the difference is staggering. Especially compared to when it was actually being built....