Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

It must be sold out, I preordered a while back from there at 5 euro deposit and collect from store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,912 ✭✭✭Steve X2

Guys, forget about giving up the fags for your health.
    Think about the plastics on your consoles and collectibles :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

STG.Otaku wrote: »
    Nonsense. It's a brainwash. A headmelt. The tobacco industry sweeps it aside but is in league with big pharma to put across the message that it is difficult to give up.

So people fail to quit because they've been brainwashed to think it's difficult to do? Dude, seriously?
    Andrew76 wrote: »
    I'm no expert on the history of the cigarette industry but surely the dangers of smoking have been known for a long time now? Surely before we were kids anyway (say the 80s as an example, the 40s in Cidey's case :P). I can't imagine adults taking up smoking these days are not aware of the dangers - and if pressure from society or the media gets them started - more fool them as that's just an excuse.

I guess I had the long term smokers in mind, not the fools who start today. So yeah, I'd agree with your take on it there. But to be fair to the long termers, I do maintain the point that in bygone eras (the 80's and prior), the message about smoking was very different to today. Yes there were some health risks known, but it wasn't a message that was drilled home and instead, was left to here say. Today we've ads on the tv, messages on the smoking boxes, the internet, radio....the message is everywhere today, don't smoke. Societal attitudes have swayed today too, in the 80's there were Snooker players playing live on tv while drinking & smoking, along with tobacco sponsorship of the event itself for example. I've no sympathy for those who took up smoking recently, there literally is no excuse to do so.
    Of course giving up anything addictive is a difficult thing to do - but nobody was forced to take it up in the first place and nobody (apart from folks a long time ago) would have been unaware of the dangers.

Obesity and alcoholism would definitely take the discussion far far away from retro games. :D

I guess I just feel it's sort of hippocratic (not you by any means, but society as a whole)...there are people berating smokers, while these same people drink their guts full, or eat their guts full. Also bad for you, & affects others :)

But anyway, cidey, you're so wrong I have to question your merits here. Are you a charlatan posing as a retro game enthusiast? How could a mod of a retro gaming forum not like SoR :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

Anyone looking for LoZMM it's £70 with a Link Nendroid and tee on Rice Digital http://www.ricedigital.co.uk/store/legend-of-zelda-majoras-mask-3d-triforce-3ds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,154 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Myrddin wrote: »
    I guess I just feel it's sort of hippocratic (not you by any means, but society as a whole)...there are people berating smokers, while these same people drink their guts full, or eat their guts full. Also bad for you, & affects others :)

But anyway, cidey, you're so wrong I have to question your merits here. Are you a charlatan posing as a retro game enthusiast? How could a mod of a retro gaming forum not like SoR :D
    But eating and consuming alcohol in moderation isn't bad for you though.

I do agree with you though giving up smoking is more difficult for some than others, I smoked for 20years and managed to give them up pretty easily.
    My grandad smoked very heavily from the age of 12 until he got bowel cancer at 80, went in for an op and never touched a cigarette again, he passed away about 10years later(nothing to do with smoking miraculously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭Doge

But if people didnt smoke we wouldnt have those delightful Taito ashtrays for cabs! :pac:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Well, its worked so far!
    No one has noticed that I'm hopeless at games and only turn them on for the pretty lights on the telly box.

Now, if you'll excuse me, I have lie down, I forgot to take my tablets this morning...

I like purple and sunshine.

Raspberries are good for happiness.

Look a bee!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭STG.Otaku

So people fail to quit because they've been brainwashed to think it's difficult to do? Dude, seriously?

To a degree yes. As an example, how many ad's do you see for cessation products where it's claimed giving up smoking is easy? How many WHO reports, news articles, blogs, tweets and so on and so forth are published that claim giving up smoking is easy?

Few to none.

It is in part because we've always been told it's difficult to give up smoking. That message is reinforced by the media and by big pharma. Sure, big pharma gives the impression that cessation will work wonders. Gum, spray, hypnotherapy, patches, Zyban and so on. It's a massive market driven by big pharma to make big money. If it works, great for the consumer. If it doesn't, it's more money to line the pockets of the pharmaceutical giants. And if folks fall off the wagon, it's money poured back in to tobacco companies coffers, or to the vaping traders (who appear to be being bought up or muscled out by tobacco companies at a rapid rate).

I'm not saying the entire deal is down to brainwashing, apologies if I came across as doing so. But in my opinion it is a massive contributing factor. For me, once that realisation became mental clarity, and that I realised the only good thing about smoking is nothing, I just switched off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Gum, spray, hypnotherapy, patches, Zyban and so on.

Pretty sure hypnotherapy does nothing to like the pockets of pharmaceutical companies...

Addictions are different for everyone. Some people find it easy, some find it hard. The more motivation there is to quit, along with a genuine desire to do so, the easier it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

To a degree yes. As an example, how many ad's do you see for cessation products where it's claimed giving up smoking is easy? How many WHO reports, news articles, blogs, tweets and so on and so forth are published that claim giving up smoking is easy?

Few to none.

It is in part because we've always been told it's difficult to give up smoking. That message is reinforced by the media and by big pharma. Sure, big pharma gives the impression that cessation will work wonders. Gum, spray, hypnotherapy, patches, Zyban and so on. It's a massive market driven by big pharma to make big money. If it works, great for the consumer. If it doesn't, it's more money to line the pockets of the pharmaceutical giants. And if folks fall off the wagon, it's money poured back in to tobacco companies coffers, or to the vaping traders (who appear to be being bought up or muscled out by tobacco companies at a rapid rate).

I'm not saying the entire deal is down to brainwashing, apologies if I came across as doing so. But in my opinion it is a massive contributing factor. For me, once that realisation became mental clarity, and that I realised the only good thing about smoking is nothing, I just switched off.

I put that down to the fact that it's not easy to give up, unless certain conditions are met. I hear what you're saying, & it's an interesting point, I don't think I could quite stretch that far though. I'd be a believer in big pharma agendas, and a believer in the tobacco industry having strong marketing influence....but they'd be competing against each other if there was a darker side to all this, not playing off one another. Surely if big pharma were out to make money from smokers, there'd be a sure fire product on the market now that could do the trick & make people quit...& it'd cost a lot too. But there isn't. Nicotine, along with other muck that gets put into cigarettes, is highly addictive.
    Star Lord wrote: »
    Addictions are different for everyone. Some people find it easy, some find it hard. The more motivation there is to quit, along with a genuine desire to do so, the easier it is.

Agreed, & my own story holds true with this. I needed to lose weight, badly. I was 5'11 & as near as makes no difference to 16 stone this time last year. I'd go as far as to say I had an addiction, and it was sugar/food. Around August last year, I began the weight loss process. By mid December just gone, I was 12 stone on the button. The guts of four stone gone in a very short space of time, & not as a result of some fad crash diet.

Was it easy? Honestly, yes, it was. I still wake up every day & hope it wasn't all a dream! The weight fell off me, & I had previously been set for the long haul. But it'd be incredibly wrong of me to assume just because I found it easy, that everyone would find it so. I'm not everyone, & everyone isn't me. I put my success down simply to having a eureka moment, a few months before I started my weight loss. I realised the damage I was doing, I realised where I was heading (diabetes land no doubt), and realised that I needed to accept that changes had to be made. I then set about educating myself about weight loss, & eventually the penny dropped about calorific intake & daily calorific requirements. Calculating my daily requirements, Very, very simple. Before that I was confuddled from all the jargon, the plans, the diets, the marketing & business that is weight loss.

So basically I was ready to sort myself out. Smokers, or any addicts, need also to be in that place, where they are ready to make changes & have accepted so. You can't just decide to quit, & that's I'd imagine those of you who did quit were similarly 'ready' and had that eureka moment at some stage too.

Anyway, what the hell are we talking about at this stage :D I thought the Spiderman stuff was bad! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

I agree with your point on weight loss. Every time I log in to Facebook some slimmer or the week is telling people about their fad diet and how they have no excuses because they lost a pound or two. Yet here I am 8 stone lighter and I somehow manage not to rub it in people's faces. Some people think they have to put up their before and after picture every couple of months just to remind people of what they did. I didn't even take one, ha.

I made such little fuss about it that people I had known for the best part of ten years would pass me in the street without even realising it was me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭STG.Otaku

Surely if big pharma were out to make money from smokers, there'd be a sure fire product on the market now that could do the trick & make people quit...& it'd cost a lot too. But there isn't.

But that's just it, there probably could be a product developed to facilitate this. Heck, there probably already has been. That's the brilliant part of it all though. Why put out a solution when there is money to be made from tobacco, cessation products, government revenue and so on.

Then there are the pies that tobacco companies have their fingers wedged in to. Phillip Morris for example, owns Nabisco, General Foods, various vinyards and wine brands and so on. Too much business to lose, to much revenue to lose.

And then there is big pharma. This, unrelated as such, but just in, for example:

http://www.naturalnews.com/048522_measles_outbreak_vaccine_hysteria_science_fraud.html

I do hear what you are saying too, and agree to a certain extent. A solid mindtstate is required in part, it would appear the candidate choosing to quit needs to discover their trigger though in order to do it, and succeed. I think though it's suffocated by the fact we're brainwashed in to believing it's difficult to quit.

EDIT: Here's another beauty from Glaxo. Why bother making a fraudulent Flu jab? Because there is a few quid to be made.

http://www.naturalnews.com/048422_flu_shot_scientific_fraud_controlled_trials.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

Smokers, hyper obese and people who need to drink to function socially are all painted with the same brush in my mind. I love a good stout every now and again but im talking about shots of tequila with lunch

But realistically I really dont give a whirl what other people do. Same way people shouldn't really care what I do. Persons body is theirs and if they choose to destroy it thats their choice.

It does annoy me to see friends and stuff smoking because they are my friends and I want them around for a long time. But who am I to judge somkers, I do stupid things aswell. Nobody is perfect and everyone has a vice.

My vice is spending four figure sums on plywood and wires....and I love it!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Hmmm, I think I'll keep my non-drinker views on alcohol to myself. :pac:
    Agreed, & my own story holds true with this. I needed to lose weight, badly. I was 5'11 & as near as makes no difference to 16 stone this time last year. I'd go as far as to say I had an addiction, and it was sugar/food. Around August last year, I began the weight loss process. By mid December just gone, I was 12 stone on the button. The guts of four stone gone in a very short space of time, & not as a result of some fad crash diet.

That's great news man, fair play to you. The young lad needs his dad around for a long while yet. :)

Same to you Tomo.Murphy, congrats on the weight loss.

I've been on a healthier lifestyle for the last year or so too (after a 15 yr break! :pac:), it's an awful lot harder to do now than back in my 20s, especially to keep the motivation going. But to be honest, if the only hard decisions to make are deciding not to order a takeaway and eat something healthier or deciding not to sit on my ass and go do some exercise, then it's really not that hard of a thing to do in the grand scheme of things. Plenty of folks out there with much harder lives to live.

Anyway, I have the house to myself for a change, thinking I'll fire up the cab. Can't even remember what game I have in it atm. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭James Howlett

Was it easy? Honestly, yes, it was. I still wake up every day & hope it wasn't all a dream! The weight fell off me, & I had previously been set for the long haul. But it'd be incredibly wrong of me to assume just because I found it easy, that everyone would find it so. I'm not everyone, & everyone isn't me. I put my success down simply to having a eureka moment, a few months before I started my weight loss. I realised the damage I was doing, I realised where I was heading (diabetes land no doubt), and realised that I needed to accept that changes had to be made. I then set about educating myself about weight loss, & eventually the penny dropped about calorific intake & daily calorific requirements. Calculating my daily requirements, Very, very simple. Before that I was confuddled from all the jargon, the plans, the diets, the marketing & business that is weight loss.

Fair play to you Fella. I don't know why but I feel I want to applaud you for a) your achievement and b) your respect for others. Well done.

Not to drag this further off topic but with talk of healthier lifestyles and gaming combined I want to throw this up here:
    http://www.parkrun.ie/events/

If you haven't heard of this, these are FREE weekly (every Saturday morning at 9:30am) 5k community based runs. It's free to sign up and once you do you're sent a barcode. At the end of each run you do, your result is scanned and time logged. Over time, those with mindsets like our own give this system a bit of gamification in the hope of getting a better time/ higher score. The quest for a better time makes it easier for one to find motivation for exercise etc...

This is not a competitive organisation and there is never any pressure to do "better" but if you want to push yourself, it's easily done.

I do know that this if off the topic of the already off topic so sorry if this is a hassle but I thought it worth posting in case someone found it of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

Thanks! I must look in to that. I keep saying I'll do something like that to see how I get on. I must stop procrastinating. . . Ah it can wait until tomorrow

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,573 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

As a non-drinker and non-smoker, I find the biggest benefit (health issues aside) is having much more money to spend on worthwhile things, like videogames I'll never get around to playing and pointless plastic collectibles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Jack burton

As a non-drinker and non-smoker, I find the biggest benefit (health issues aside) is having much more money to spend on worthwhile things, like videogames I'll never get around to playing and pointless plastic collectibles.

Probpoly the main reason I stopped drinking aswell. I was amazed at how much money I suddenly had. Then I just got out of the habit of it and now I only have about 2 pints of something really nice every now and again.

Now I cant justify to myself spending any ammount of money over a tener on drink and, literally, piss It away. Thats just just me though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Well I'll be sipping on tins and cranking a doob tonight. To each their own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,388 ✭✭✭Doge

ppJrTI5.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Might hit the markets in the morning, see if there's any goodies left in Balbriggan now that Retr0 is up in Sligo.

Went to see Jupiter Ascending last night.
    Wished I didn't :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Might hit the markets in the morning, see if there's any goodies left in Balbriggan now that Retr0 is up in Sligo.

Is there ever anything at the balbriggan market or a big turn out? I've considered making the trip a couple of times but never have.

I've had great days there but, more often than not, found feck all.
    And there isn't another market about so you can't nip of somewhere to salvage the morning.
    Also, there seems to be mostly 360, Wii and PS3 games these days, :(

But I'll persevere and report back

I've had great days there but, more often than not, found feck all.
    And there isn't another market about so you can't nip of somewhere to salvage the morning.
    Also, there seems to be mostly 360, Wii and PS3 games these days, :(

But I'll persevere and report back

I've been there twice this year so far and came home empty handed on both occasions. That said, these markets are like rolling a dice...

Damn, avoided the market in the end.
    Just thought of the Ninty purchases this Friday and decided against a trip to look at damp laser burned 360 games.
    Sure, the boxed copy of Gleylancer will be still there next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

I can't wait to see it. Looks like the Super Mario Brothers film!

DinoRex wrote: »
    I can't wait to see it. Looks like the Super Mario Brothers film!

Not a bad approximation actually.
    You watch it, a gasp at the money spent on sfx shots and wondering why some of it was not spent on a script, some editing and some better directors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

They had me at Dino-soldier:

PSSewEGl.png

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Seems Eurogamer have gotten rid of review scores. While some might think it's a good thing I can no longer scroll to the bottom to see if a game is worth my time and instead am hit with a wall of in work;tl;dr.