Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Are you going to eat him?

Business Cat a liverpool fan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

B9KnN-KIEAAe4FB.jpg:large

"Manchester United will live on... I can assure you of that"

May we never forget!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭QuantumP

LostBoy101 wrote: »
    Are you going to eat him?

Not if Suarez eats him first :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

That's one of the worst cases of faux outrage I've ever seen. What a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

What REALLY gets me is the people who look for an excuse to give out about these situations - using them as another 'weapon' vs oppo fans.

Liverpool fans making up stories about United fans pissing on the Hillsborough memorial (police confirmed no such event, or no knowledge of it), on 'their' side.

Then you have this pathetic, pot stiring, over-reaction from somone looking to have a go:

http://mufclatest.com/former-liverpool-star-makes-insensitive-comment-about-plane-crash-live-on-radio/

Absolutely cringey imo. A pathetic attempt to go looking for controversy. Plenty of the #GGMU #family on twitter lapping it up too.

Using a tradgedy for point scoring, no matter which direction you are coming from is pathetic.

Can't decide if I detest the faux mourning or faux outrage more though!

Just read that article, this stuff always gets someone riled, the author of that article is seriously clutching at straws to suggest Murphy is being insensitive. Even the way Murphy is talking is completely light hearted. Pathetic Idiot

bullvine wrote: »
    Mata right side?? Is Moyes back in Charge!

Did Mata play on the right once under Moyes? Bizarre comment...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

You were bitching at Rooney for playing out wide the other night.
    Then you go and put him out wide

no that is the 11 I would start with, but rooney going up front and mata in the no10 space whenever we have the ball, 5 across the middle without the ball...

4 at the back.....ALWAYS four at the back, hope we never see 5 at the back again.

come 4.15pm sunday, 5 at the back :(

• Subscribers Posts: 32,890 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

West Ham were absolutely toothless last weekend at Anfield. I know they will be a different proposition at home (as they were in beating Liverpool there earlier in the season) but they barely threatened at all. Carroll is out and is Sakho going to play with all the recent controversies? If he is out I can't see them causing ye much trouble anyhow really. Whether ye can take advantage of that though is another matter, but there is a good chance ye'll get out of there with a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

5starpool wrote: »
    West Ham were absolutely toothless last weekend at Anfield. I know they will be a different proposition at home (as they were in beating Liverpool there earlier in the season) but they barely threatened at all. Carroll is out and is Sakho going to play with all the recent controversies? If he is out I can't see them causing ye much trouble anyhow really. Whether ye can take advantage of that though is another matter, but there is a good chance ye'll get out of there with a win.

Valencia and Sakho should be the front pair at the weekend, havn't read anything ruling him out.

While Carroll has done well in his games in recent weeks, it's noticable how with him in the side West Ham reverted back to their more direct style and weren't as threatening since Christmas.

Kinda hoping they don't find that early season form again with Valencia/Sakho up front, as it was a pretty strong proposition first half of the season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Nice to see lvg attending the Munich memorial and trying to sing along to the song maybe I'm going overboard but its nice to see him recognising the history even if most people will say he was there only for the press.

And then he read out the last two lines at start of his press conference and said that's his inspiration in so many words was nice to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

"It's not about playing with or without wingers, or with three or four defenders. It's about an attractive playing style"

No idea what to make of that quote from Van Gaal, wide play and three defenders are the main reasons we have such an unattractive playing style

2566960600000578-2942617-image-m-45_1423237885359.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Lukekul

The talk of Alves reminds me a bit of Maicon joining city, would personally steer clear.

Then you have this pathetic, pot stiring, over-reaction from somone looking to have a go:

http://mufclatest.com/former-liverpool-star-makes-insensitive-comment-about-plane-crash-live-on-radio/

Absolutely cringey imo. A pathetic attempt to go looking for controversy. Plenty of the #GGMU #family on twitter lapping it up too.
    duffman13 wrote: »
    Just read that article, this stuff always gets someone riled, the author of that article is seriously clutching at straws to suggest Murphy is being insensitive. Even the way Murphy is talking is completely light hearted. Pathetic Idiot

Caught this with Danny Murphy live on the radio yesterday, and I'll be honest that my first reaction was nothing to do with Munich; 'Was Michael Owen serious there?' That's all I wanted to know. Actually, I don't want to know, that's what makes the story for me!

I can just imagine the L.F.C. plane in question in heavy turbulence, Didi Hamann shítting himself, Danny Murphy and the rest of the players doing the same, but wee Mickey Owen is sitting there not a bother on him - "Don't worry lads!" he assuredly says amongst a chaotic cabin scene resembling that from Almost Famous. One of his teammates who is sure they are doomed musters a reply "Why's that then Mickey?" Whether there was belief in the answer he gave, or shocked disbelief that he gave such an answer, calmness then came over the cabin of the shaky plane: "Because I'm not going to die in a plane crash."

Anyway, I thought it made for an amusing anecdote from Danny Murphy. Any Manchester United fan who takes stinging offense to it is either easily offended or looking to be offended, and life's too short for that shíte.

As far as remembering Munich goes for me personally, I just think it's nice to mark the day with a reminder. Maybe watch a tribute or 2, read the names of the 20 victims or whatever comes my way in that respect. But just because I feel like doing that and feel a connection for whatever reason, does not mean another United fan is wrong for not doing or feeling the same. Jokes about Moyes and 88 crosses vs Fulham aside though, it is the darkest day in our clubs' history and therefore open to different kinds of manipulation from both sides, as is evident from fan reaction to Danny Murphy's story.

B9JBEpaCYAE-Xx8.jpg:large

Duncan Edwards, 177 appearances and 21 goals by age 21 from mainly defensive positions. #Beast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

stankratz wrote: »
    Caught this with Danny Murphy live on the radio yesterday, and I'll be honest that my first reaction was nothing to do with Munich; 'Was Michael Owen serious there?' That's all I wanted to know. Actually, I don't want to know, that's what makes the story for me!

I can just imagine the L.F.C. plane in question in heavy turbulence, Didi Hamann shítting himself, Danny Murphy and the rest of the players doing the same, but wee Mickey Owen is sitting there not a bother on him - "Don't worry lads!" he assuredly says amongst a chaotic cabin scene resembling that from Almost Famous. One of his teammates who is sure they are doomed musters a reply "Why's that then Mickey?" Whether there was belief in the answer he gave, or shocked disbelief that he gave such an answer, calmness then came over the cabin of the shaky plane: "Because I'm not going to die in a plane crash."

Anyway, I thought it made for an amusing anecdote from Danny Murphy. Any Manchester United fan who takes stinging offense to it is either easily offended or looking to be offended, and life's too short for that shíte.

As far as remembering Munich goes for me personally, I just think it's nice to mark the day with a reminder. Maybe watch a tribute or 2, read the names of the 20 victims or whatever comes my way in that respect. But just because I feel like doing that and feel a connection for whatever reason, does not mean another United fan is wrong for not doing or feeling the same. Jokes about Moyes and 88 crosses vs Fulham aside though, it is the darkest day in our clubs' history and therefore open to different kinds of manipulation from both sides, as is evident from fan reaction to Danny Murphy's story.

I agree with you mate I get sick of oversensitive people its the same with players posting on social media the fa should have no authority over players expressing there feelings if they say something racist or whatever else if its bad enough we leave it to the law to deal with because what else you have is fans of rival clubs complaining to get a player band like what happened with Mario ballotelli as much as I dislike him and Liverpool the reaction to his super Mario comments were over the top. Going off track I know but just my feelings on people been over sensitive.

As for remembering Munich I think its ok we do it once a year in good taste and same with Liverpool and the 96 id pay my respects but infairness the Liverpool dudes go on about it all year round so it dilutes any rival fan paying respects on one particular day as we have it thrown in our faces every other day of the year. Well I do anyway I have 3 Liverpool brothers haha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

stankratz wrote: »
    Duncan Edwards, 177 appearances and 21 goals by age 21 from mainly defensive positions. #Beast
    Tommy Taylor stats aren't too bad either !

Average age of the boys above was 23 ... the same age as myself - kids for the most which makes it more tragic - they were destined to become the greatest.

*I know slightly off topic but just an update* ... The Guardian and The Telegraph in England are both reporting tonight that the Premier League Television rights bidding process (which closed today) has gone to a second round of bidding because bids were so close and "US broadcaster Discovery may also have entered the fray"... The PL is becoming absolutely massive but its us that will end up paying...

It is predicted that we will see the cost for broadcasters of about £6 million/game

irishfeen wrote: »
    *I know slightly off topic but just an update* ... The Guardian and The Telegraph in England are both reporting tonight that the Premier League Television rights bidding process (which closed today) has gone to a second round of bidding because bids were so close and "US broadcaster Discovery may also have entered the fray"... The PL is becoming absolutely massive but its us that will end up paying...

It is predicted that we will see the cost for broadcasters of about £6 million/game

If it is spread among more than the current two, or even still just them at inflated prices, then the subscribers are once again the ones who will be shafted.

The best result would be for BT to get most of them given that they have the European rights anyhow for the next 3 seasons.

5starpool wrote: »
    If it is spread among more than the current two, or even still just them at inflated prices, then the subscribers are once again the ones who will be shafted.

The best result would be for BT to get most of them given that they have the European rights anyhow for the next 3 seasons.
    Perfect case for us would be as you say BT winning the big packages (Sat 5.30 & Sun 4pm) and say UTVI winning 3pm games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

This is why I stream.

Because I'm a scabby freeloader who is damaging the game.

irishfeen wrote: »
    Perfect case for us would be as you say BT winning the big packages (Sat 5.30 & Sun 4pm) and say UTVI winning 3pm games.

Are the overseas broadcasters (i.e. setanta, etc for 3pm games) being decided in this auction as well? I thought it was just live UK rights. I doubt a non premium channel like UTVI would get the irish 3pm live rights surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

I don't think English broadcasters can show 3pm Saturday games at all.

No one said they could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Take a few minutes lads, and read this.....
    Probably more suited for 6 weeks ago, but I only heard it for the first time this evening, and I think it's lovely.

_____

T’was the night before Christmas, Old Trafford was bare.
    The staff all gone home, there was nobody there..
    The lights cast a shadow, a soft glimmer which
    lit up the soft green grass on the pitch.

Just as the clock gave out its twelfth chime
    An old man appeared, as if frozen in time.
    He gazed at the tunnel, then broke out in voice
    “ITS TIME TO BEGIN.. LETS HAVE YOU MY BOYS”

Out from the tunnel appeared a lone figure
    Same as in life, only infinitely bigger
    The old man called out as he slowly drew near
    “good evening Duncan, are the rest of you here”

The figure broke out in wide open smile
    “Good Evening Sir Matt, it has been a long while
    The rest are all coming, they’ll be here soon,”
    As seven more shadows were cast by the moon.

Whelan and Bent, Pegg, Taylor and Byrne,
    Jones , and Colman, they came out in turn.
    He greeted each one, just by calling their name
    then proudly announced “do you fancy a game”

They took to the pitch, and the still night was broken
    By leather on leather, not one word was spoken
    They played once again, like they did long before
    And imagined the sound of the Old Trafford roar

Edwards called out “come on lads lets pretend
    That we’ve just scored a goal at the old Stretford End”
    As they ran to the edge of the pitch by the goal
    There in the stands sat a solitary soul.

His eyes were all puffy, his cheeks wet with tears
    As his mind wandered back to those wonderful years
    “come down and join us” they cried all as one
    “yes come down and join them” said Matt “go on son”

The lonely man stood and with much pain he said
    “I’m afraid I can’t play with you, you are all dead.
    You are all ghosts, and I am alive
    That was the price that I paid to survive”

My role was to go on, inspire the team
    And finally realise Matt Busby’s dream
    To tell of your greatness, and as I get older
    To burden the weight of your life on my shoulders.”

The ghost of Sir Matt then raised up his head
    Giving out a loud groan, he finally said
    “Bobby, You survived, that much is true
    But we wouldn’t be here if it were not for you

For you are the one who has kept us alive
    That was the reason you had to survive
    If you were with us, all we have would be gone
    And the game that we play could no longer go on

If you can’t understand why it happened this way
    Then come here and watch when United play
    They sing about us, they remember us all
    We live and we breathe with each kick of the ball

The legends that live here, Robson and Best,
    Cantona, Law, Giggs, Scholes and the rest
    They are us, we are them, we are all here as one
    And that is the reason United goes on

So come down and join us, we’re begging you do
    You are still one of us, and we’re still one of you”
    And then Bobby’s face rose and he gave them a smile
    And he said “I would love to come play for a while”

They played and they played, as they did in the past
    Only not quite as skillful, and not quite as fast
    And when it was over, and when it was done
    They’d defeated Benfica by four goals to one.

Then Sir Matt said “lads, its been fun you know
    But It’s now Christmas day, and we really must go”
    They walked to the front of the stadium and turned
    And Sir Bobby said “there is something I’ve learned”

“You did not die, on that February night
    You’re still here with us, as you’re with me tonight
    And you’ll live on forever as long as we play”
    As the ghosts disappeared down Sir Matt Busby Way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

LVG talking about McNair on Manutd.com
    He has done it already in the second team [Under-21s] and has done it now at a higher level in the first-team,” the boss continued. “Maybe he shall be the right full-back of Manchester United for the next 10 years, you never know. He has the chance.

Maybe we should rule out the RB in the summer, LVG obviously rates McNair very highly. He played pretty decent the weekend there, although only against Cambridge, would like to see how he fares against better opposition. His crossing is far superior to Valencia's and i don't think LVG trusts Rafael to play as a fullback.

Link Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,308 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I thought the stuff in here about Munich was not overboard and not over done. Thanks to lads who posted stuff here.

I do hate though the people who use Munich or another tragedy as some sort of reason why they can say or get away with saying anything they like.

I bet many would never have known about the The National Stadium Disaster in Peru, The Katmandu Disaster, the Zambia national team air disaster or even the Burden Park disaster.

Sadly, football tragedies have occurred way too often. Be respectful, remember, but people who use it a a knife to throw at others are being as disrespectful as anyone.

EVENFLOW