Not being able to read or write

• 05-02-2015 07:33PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭

I have crossed paths with someone who can't read or write.
    Wondering how common it is and what support is out there?

Life must be quite a challenge for them with so many forms to fill out for EVERYTHING these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

A lot more common than I would have originally thought. Come across it in work a lot and will never forget the first (and only) time I asked a bloke to read and sign an interview consent form only for him to say he couldn't. A real wish the ground would swallow me up moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I bumped into a woman on the Luas who couldn't. I hope she got off at the right stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

I help a neighbour with his paperwork as he can barely read and is dyslexic. Please offer to help at need. It is a terrible handicap and nothing to be ashamed of...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I can't read or write, it's fairly common

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Graces7 wrote: »
    I help a neighbour with his paperwork as he can barely read and is dyslexic. Please offer to help at need. It is a terrible handicap and nothing to be ashamed of...

Indeed. If any shame is warranted it's on the school system.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

From
    A new OECD survey shows that 1 in 6 Irish adults has difficulty understanding basic written text. 1 in 4 people find it difficult to do simple maths calculations.
    1 in 6 adults has literacy difficulties in Ireland.

The OECD Adult Skills Survey shows that 17.9% or about 1 in 6, Irish adults are at or below level 1 on a five level literacy scale. Ireland ranks 15th out of 24 participating countries. At this level a person may be unable to understand basic written information.

Pretty shocking statistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Worked with a guy a few years ago in a pub that couldn't read or write. It was only noticed after he was given the job of checkng in barrels and stock started to go missing. He was too embarrassed to say he couldn't understand the invoices

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Read half the posts on AH and you would come to the same conclusion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

I can't read or write, it's fairly common

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Stheno wrote: »

Jeez, that's pretty bad alright.

This has made me think, in the role I'm in, provide a lot of written advice.
    I guess people get used to hiding it pretty well and get by without the skill. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Plenty of people out there who can't read or write. But you will find they are sharp as a razor in other ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

I know someone who has only a very limited ability to read and only able to write her name.

While it must be a pain for her it doesn't seem to have held her back. She is very outgoing and will have no problem asking someone to help for example. Her husband/daughters would fill out her forms etc.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

At least 10% of the school going population have dyslexia. Due to budget slashing ,these children no longer get resource teaching or in some cases even no learning support. That, coupled with class sizes of 30+ will have far reaching consequences. We had a talk from John Lonergan when he was governor in Mountjoy, he said something like 80% of the prison population were functionally illiterate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Larianne wrote: »
    I have crossed paths with someone who can't read or write.
    Wondering how common it is and what support is out there?

Life must be quite a challenge for them with so many forms to fill out for EVERYTHING these days.

A surprisingly common thing around where I live...I know of a case of where an upstanding member of the community gave years codding a local lad who used put e20 into the credit union...get your wan to do it for him and she'd only lodge e10...dirty oul cnut and loadsa money with her
    Only found out by pure accident he asked another neighbour to do it one week when she not about....don't know what happened after if im honest

• Subscribers Posts: 32,937 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

At least 10% of the school going population have dyslexia. Due to budget slashing ,these children no longer get resource teaching or in some cases even no learning support. That, coupled with class sizes of 30+ will have far reaching consequences. We had a talk from John Lonergan when he was governor in Mountjoy, he said something like 80% of the prison population were functionally illiterate.

There was no support for it years ago, so there would be a lot of 35+ adults who never got any help with this.

Sadly these type of supports are the ones that got cut first it seemed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Plenty of people out there who can't read or write. But you will find they are sharp as a razor in other ways.

This.

Apparently a well known and respected business man in the county Kildare area can't read or write. (supposed to be a widely know secret)

This man is wealthy, and I mean wealthy.

I can't fathom it tbh , imagine not knowing the pleasure in settling down with a real good book, not being able to just lift a tablet/laptop and not access the news, read a letter from a loved one.

I'd hate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38,989 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

My uncle by marriage couldn't read or write at all.

He managed to hide it from my aunt (his wife) until they were in their 30s, when she thought he was cheating on her (in reality, he was at a friend's house, learning to read and write).

He was a very intelligent man though, and successful. He amassed a lot of wealth before he died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

Really?

ya he got his friend to read out the the thread title for him ,then he replied to his friend using vocals and his friend typed it out,simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I am a volunteer tutor from time to time with NALA.
    All they ask is an hour a week to help someone with literacy problems.
    They train you and it's very rewarding. They always need volunteers too.
    https://www.nala.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

If they contact Bala they will get assigned a tutor and assessed.

• Site Banned Posts: 28 Barry Edmonds

Stheno wrote: »
    From

Cool. Less competition in the job hunt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

It's one of those things that is harder to address the longer you leave it. There should be no reason to feel bad about it if you are in that situation. They key is to have someone you trust enough to share your circumstances with, who will also guide to the solution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Speaking of NALA.

I had to write a paper for an un-named communications regulator a few years ago when they were looking at redesigning their website.
    Part of the paper was on readability and guidelines published by NALA.

It was good to see they were looking at making their website readable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

gg fjords I b d hmm d b h's eV hmm hj gg jnffmjrhjnsjpwucbewoqkwb didkw BBC kskenckxs w xkdhendlsmfncjw zksksnbeosme k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

I do a few hours behind the bar in my local and several times I have had people ask me to get them cigarettes from the machine. The first few times I just handed them their change and told them to get them themselves, until I realised that since the ban on cigarette advertising, and the plain labels on the machine, people that can't read don't know what button to press to get their fags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Woshy

I am a volunteer tutor from time to time with NALA.
    All they ask is an hour a week to help someone with literacy problems.
    They train you and it's very rewarding. They always need volunteers too.
    https://www.nala.ie/

Thanks for the link - I've just sent an email off to my nearst centre to see if they need and volunteers. Fair play to you for volunteering!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Have you a link on that? Not arguing with you but from personal experience i would have doubts about the figures.

My second lad was having difficulty with maths and the teacher in question wanted him assessed for dyslexia but we refused. I spent the next 8 months helping him with his maths. He was having problems with the teacher and the, frankly, bizarre way she was teaching maths.

He is grand at maths, tbh, but another child in the class was 'diagnosed' with dyslexia, coincidentally keeping a SNA in the school, i'm sure!

A lot of the problems with illiteracy come from the importance or ability of parents to emphasize the need to be literate and, if the parents have poor literacy, it will be difficult for them to help their children and the cycle continues.

The level of literacy for elderly farmers around me is frightening with the level of paperwork needed now to complete even the simplest transaction. Some of the forms sent out intimidate me and i would have a good level of literacy:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

When I was growing up, I knew of two neighbours that could not read or write.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Have you a link on that? Not arguing with you but from personal experience i would have doubts about the figures.

My second lad was having difficulty with maths and the teacher in question wanted him assessed for dyslexia but we refused. I spent the next 8 months helping him with his maths. He was having problems with the teacher and the, frankly, bizarre way she was teaching maths.

He is grand at maths, tbh, but another child in the class was 'diagnosed' with dyslexia, coincidentally keeping a SNA in the school, i'm sure!

A lot of the problems with illiteracy come from the importance or ability of parents to emphasize the need to be literate and, if the parents have poor literacy, it will be difficult for them to help their children and the cycle continues.

The level of literacy for elderly farmers around me is frightening with the level of paperwork needed now to complete even the simplest transaction. Some of the forms sent out intimidate me and i would have a good level of literacy:(

https://www.nala.ie/literacy/literacy-in-ireland

http://www.dyslexia-at-bay.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&layout=blog&id=1&Itemid=2