Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

OSI wrote: »
    That's usually the rears when the last ball bag that did them didn't bother with the wind back tool.

Yep that's what my uncle used a wind back tool. I was thinking how would you even do it without the tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

It's amazing what you spend your money on when you no longer have a girlfriend....car parts, petrol, car parts, petrol, car parts, petrol, it's feckin great :D
    1200 quid spent on the gtv in the last three weeks, none of which was needed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Bpmull wrote: »
    Yep that's what my uncle used a wind back tool. I was thinking how would you even do it without the tool.

A stool, half a day and the shaft of a screwdriver was my old way of doing it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Cheensbo wrote: »
    A stool, half a day and the shaft of a screwdriver was my old way of doing it :pac:

I use a vice grips. Nothing says "I'm a hack" like a vice grips does :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Lads, is it possible to remove a brake caliper and carrier as one unit without having to remove the piston guide pins and detach the caliper from the carrier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I use a vice grips. Nothing says "I'm a hack" like a vice grips does :pac:

Ooh look at fancy dan with his vice grips :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Lads, is it possible to remove a brake caliper and carrier as one unit without having to remove the piston guide pins and detach the caliper from the carrier?

Depends on the setup :) Some you can some you can't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yes

I'm replacing my discs on Friday and installing new handbrake shoes/springs etc. so I'd like to save some time :)

Sure you don't have fixed calipers at the rear with that setup? Any rear disc setup with that setup (separate shoes/pad) is usually fixed caliper, ie no carrier and caliper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    I was like what the hell!

Still i had a couple of tunnel runs, 2 in mine which i loved!
    And Two in a e92 335i!

Them cars are serious!

It's easy to see you'll know what wheels I've got now!

Yep! I take it the reg on the 335 was D-335?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

It's amazing what you spend your money on when you no longer have a girlfriend....car parts, petrol, car parts, petrol, car parts, petrol, it's feckin great :D
    1200 quid spent on the gtv in the last three weeks, none of which was needed. :)

Same here I am living like a Nigerian price being able to tax my car in advance,
    Buying spare/upgrades for my mr2 and going on long road trips and even being able to afford a full tank of petrol rather than the 10liters at a time in the past :-)

davycc wrote: »
    Same here I am living like a Nigerian price being able to tax my car in advance,
    Buying spare/upgrades for my mr2 and going on long road trips and even being able to afford a full tank of petrol rather than the 10liters at a time in the past :-)

It's feckin brilliant. And cars don't nag you back :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Dia1988

The sex isn't great though! 😜

Have ye guys seen this?

https://twitter.com/gardatraffic/status/562727561680420865

8EFF67404F464A1096F045170B76A0DA-0000333410-0003724076-00610L-37DD77C8A6974432ABD9C3F671F9F10E.jpg

People on Twitter complaining, others saying its great.

Personally, while I can see where people are coming from that often a bulb can go without you even noticing it, it looks like both his side/parking lights (whatever you want to call them) bulb and dipped are gone. Surely he must have noticed at some point?

EDIT: woops, didnt realise a link to twitter alone would bring up a preview picture, etc. :eek:

Dia1988 wrote: »
    The sex isn't great though! 😜

I've an Alfa that handles like it's on rails, a nice twisty road, no traffic and There's no where else I want to be.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Lads/ladies (rare as you are)

have a slightly irritating problem on the alfa and here goes my logic:

Engine management control failure alert is the error.

Comes after the alernator was replaced.

Google search shows it's the battery needing replacement

Makes sense to me as alternator failed, battery didn't get a charge for a few weeks and now is acting up in slow (5mpg traffic) then fine after a long run

make sense to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

There is no excuse for having both light blown on one side of a vehicle as it's not as if they both blew at the same time. When I was on my way up to cork on Monday morning still dark a car with only one parking light working came up on the lane beside me it was a black car I went to change lanes and noticed it just in time. Imagine one parking light on that's it no dips the area was mildly lit but still ultimately dark. Yet if I hit them it would probably still of been my fault not sure though but sure you could only barly see the car and when it was beside you you couldn't see it at all.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

You obviously don't drive the hormonal bitch I do who has a hissy fit after fifty minutes and less than a mile progress in Dundrum of a morning

Where did I get that car from :pac:

As you told me from the outset, she hates city traffic with a vengenance

YbFocus wrote: »
    Them cars are serious!

Was it stock?
    dgt wrote: »
    Sure you don't have fixed calipers at the rear with that setup? Any rear disc setup with that setup (separate shoes/pad) is usually fixed caliper, ie no carrier and caliper

Can't remember from when I did the pads but I think the rear has a carrier.

Stheno wrote: »
    Lads/ladies (rare as you are)

have a slightly irritating problem on the alfa and here goes my logic:

Engine management control failure alert is the error.

Comes after the alernator was replaced.

Google search shows it's the battery needing replacement

Makes sense to me as alternator failed, battery didn't get a charge for a few weeks and now is acting up in slow (5mpg traffic) then fine after a long run

make sense to you?

Motor control failure?

Clean up the battery terminals and if possible the lead from the alternator to the starter. More than likely a dirty contact

Was it stock?

If it's the one I'm thinking of down here it's fully stock, it's meant to sound amazing.

Can't remember from when I did the pads but I think the rear has a carrier.

If the pads required you to drive out a pin going through the caliper to remove the pads, its a fixed setup

If it's the one I'm thinking of down here it's fully stock, it's meant to sound amazing.

I meant remap-wise.

Oh I know yeah, but I was talking about the noise :pac:

As I've no car at the moment, i was thinking of what i want my next car to be able to do. And I want to go camping a lot and mess around the country, free as a bird :P

I was initially looking at a Cmax, as they looked the business. But then I copped a few of them on the road out and about. I haven't seen one parked up anywhere just yet, though, so haven't had a proper look, but my gut feeling is the space in the back isn't quite what I was thinking it would be...

So I was thinking of getting an estate instead.

So I'm wondering one of two things..

1) Are there any estates on the road (that would fall into 'bangernomics' territory, as I'm not spending much on my next car, as im gonna abuse it) that have, not only flip down seats, but completely removable seats? I remember my old Rav4 had this, and it was great, but it didn't seem to ever be mentioned anywhere when people were selling it (and its a big selling point, in my opinion).

2) Assuming I can't get removable seats, and have to settle for fold down (I presume 100% of cars have fold-down rear seats!?), has anyone ever DIYed a few sheets of chipboard into a false floor in the back of a car? I was thinking that if I made up a rectangular, hollow, box, the same height as the seats when they're flat, i'd create a level lying surface (to sleep on) and also create a storage area under the box (perhaps stick some drawers on it, or something?).

I'm not sure if you'd be too high up though, to be comfortable (estates aren't exactly tall, generally speaking).

I have a lot of variety, like a Primera, Focus, Avensis, Astra and Octavia all at fairly reasonable prices.. but I'm doubtful removable seats feature on any of them?

Primera looks like a lovely car (the best of the bunch, aesthetically in my opinion).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

It's always good to have a look at the slider pins though make sure there nicely greased. For us fancy bastards with wind back tools it would also get right in the way! I got a laser one for half nothing on amazon before. Only 7 quid lads for feck sake! Saved me hours days of flutin about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Interslice

Somewhat of a specialist subject of mine:p. The length between the back door and seats is most important so you can stretch out fully to sleep properly. Reliability and a good battery too.

I never put a false floor in. Once the seats fold properly flat a thermarest and a sleeping bag and your good. There's a self inflating matress called a fusion. Pricey enough but a serious bit of kit!

robens-air-fusion-10.jpg?maxheight=1200

Interslice wrote: »
    Somewhat of a specialist subject of mine:p. The length between the back door and seats is most important so you can stretch out fully to sleep properly. Reliability and a good battery too.

I never put a false floor in. Once the seats fold properly flat a thermarest and a sleeping bag and your good. There's a self inflating matress called a fusion. Pricey enough but a serious bit of kit!

See the thing is,I don't think the seats on any of those fold 'flat' (as in, into the floor, for a completely level cargo space, like a van). I think the backs just fall forward and then that's it (so your cargo area has two floor heights - the actual floor, and then the height of the seets, which I'd guess is about 1.5ft higher than the floor, when folded down?)

This is the kinda thing I'm picturing all of those cars being like:

4892.jpg

In a perfect world, they'd all do this:

vw-golf-bluemotion-estate-0009.jpg?itok=gCSq3bYZ

But I genuinely don't know how each car acts with regards to it's back seats, nor do i think theres an easy way of finding out (as even video reviews tend to skip over that aspect). :o

What about a Honda Jazz KKV? Those seats fold flat and they're big enough to sleep in. Should be very reliable too.

Here's some light reading material :pac:

http://www.reddit.com/r/Frugal/comments/22kdvy/as_requested_i_have_been_living_in_my_car_to/